Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I hate this guy

• 06-07-2006 12:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bNF_P281Uu4

So annoying. Nothing makes your life seem more worthless than videos like that, they should be banned. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I wish I had as much money (and time) as him to travel around the world though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

He's got a website, you should contact him and tell him what a bastard he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

from the looks of it a number of people have already. Whats the worst thing about it is he says things like "its really not that hard" or "anyone can do it, its not that expensive". I think he made 2 videos, the first was from a trip he paid for, when it became amazingly popular, a travel agency then paid for him to go to some of the most obscure places on the planet... plonker, I hate him almost as much as Micheal Palin, although his shows are quite entertaining. Whereas this guy spends thousands to dance like an ass all over the planet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

L31mr0d wrote:

So annoying. Nothing makes your life seem more worthless than videos like that, they should be banned. :mad:

eh... what's wrong with it? He doesn't have to work, he just travels to wherever he likes, does a funny dance, and has it all paid for. Sounds like a good living to me. Is it better to work at a desk job doing boring work 9-5?

Ruu wrote:
    I wish I had as much money (and time) as him to travel around the world though. :)

He gets feckin financed by some chewing gum company to do this!!! :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

eh... what's wrong with it? He doesn't have to work, he just travels to wherever he likes, does a funny dance, and has it all paid for. Sounds like a good living to me. Is it better to work at a desk job doing boring work 9-5?

uh.. yeah, that was the OP's point.

Oh right *goes and gets his reading glasses*

:o Cheers boss!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

ye gods.. when you actually point **** out civilly and make an effort not to be an arrogant sarcastic bastard when replying.. people respond better and tend not to curse at you.

that is ****ing groundbreaking :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Good clip but I didn't really care for the music that accompanied it.

I think I would have used this instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Swimming with the jelly fish was kinda dumb, tho, in all fairness. Aside from that, fair balls to him for getting that type of contract.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

That's a cool video. I really like that guy. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Yeah, leave him be tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

L31mr0d wrote:

wow he has travelled...lucky bas...

I'm envious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,295 ✭✭✭gucci

hes travelled the world, looked like he had fun everywhere he went but hey.....what has he done with his life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

That guy is cool, fair play to him! I met an Aussie in portugal last week doing the same thing, he mentioned me in his blog as "the big friendly Irish blokes responsible for my hangover".

I'm so jelous though. Someday....

gucci wrote:
    hes travelled the world, looked like he had fun everywhere he went but hey.....what has he done with his life?

i think last year while on vacation from the vacation...
    he went into Iraqi and saved 20,000 starving children from certain death

gucci wrote:

Enjoyed it?

...Or did I miss the irony of that post too? :confused: God I'm not on form lately...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Oh come on folks, the guy had a nice job that he quite and spent 6 months traveling to 39 countries on his own savings.

Get over it guys, he had the balls to do what he wanted to do....so NOW he has some kind of deal with a travel agency, then good for him man. He took the first major step and it paid off.

Give the guy a little credit for doing something fuc*ing cool with his life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭EWheelChair

This guys a software programmer, he saved up abit and then just quit his job to go traveling.

Fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Mad Mike

I vote for the video anyway - I think it is great.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

I love the videos. I think there's a bit of jealousy in this thread...

http://www.wherethehellismatt.com/

Interest enough site.
    How do you afford all this travel?
    I saved up at my job for a few years and then quit. That’s the simple answer.

It also doesn’t cost as much as a lot of folks think. Aside from the flights, I spend less on any given day than I would sitting at home paying utilities, car insurance, parking tickets (I get a lot of parking tickets)...

If you visit regions like Southeast Asia, Eastern Europe, South America, and most of Africa -- and you’re willing to rough it a little -- you can get by on dollars a day.

More recently, with the crazy and unexpected response to the first dancing video, I’ve been lucky enough to find help getting to those hard-to-reach places. So no, I didn't fund the whirlwind, seven-continent escapade with the money I tucked away designing videogames.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Nice video, fair play to him.... cant dance for shít tho. :D j/k

CC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

sinecurea wrote:
    I love the videos. I think there's a bit of jealousy in this thread...

Thats the point??? We can all get in the position to travel like that guy, but most of us don't. Not for want, just for situation. I don't hate him because he did it, I hate him because I can't.

L31mr0d wrote:
    Not for want, just for situation. I don't hate him because he did it, I hate him because I can't.

So shouldn't you hate yourself, or your own situation? I imagine with enough time and saving and a bit of sacrifce you could do it if you wanted dude, unless you have a wife or kid or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

L31mr0d wrote:
    Thats the point??? We can all get in the position to travel like that guy, but most of us don't. Not for want, just for situation. I don't hate him because he did it, I hate him because I can't.

its not because you can't but more you don't want to.

If you actually wanted to go somewhere in the world it is very easy to plan it, and if you plan it correctly it can be very cheap.

L31mr0d wrote:

ah but the difference between you and him is

he had the balls to change the situation
    and that's why you hate him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I'm one up on him.....I've been to area 51.

Infact I came from Area 51....beat that Mr Matt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭quad_red

There are some Sour Grapes on here.

He is one jammy git. I would give my left bollock to get to go to the places he has. Yeah, maybe the dance is a bit naff. But he's got a sense of humour anyway.

In the world we live in it baffles me that anyone could really hate someone as innocuous as this guy.

L31mr0d wrote:
    We can all get in the position to travel like that guy...I hate him because I can't.

Pardon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

cool life but he cant dance for **** :D i would love to get the money together to do it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

He seems harmless enough but i wouldnt advise him to try that dance in front of the spire in dublin,he'd be kicked to a pulp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭zag

Degsy wrote:
    He seems harmless enough but i wouldnt advise him to try that dance in front of the spire in dublin,he'd be kicked to a pulp.

"Hee Yur, Ye won be dancin now in a minuh, ye bleedin' w***nnnnkarrr...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Sparky-s wrote:
    I'm one up on him.....I've been to area 51.

Infact I came from Area 51....beat that Mr Matt.

he's been to area 51 :D

zag wrote:
    "Hee Yur, Ye won be dancin now in a minuh, ye bleedin' w***nnnnkarrr...."

Lookit de state a yer man dancin,"heeeyer,you doin de dancin,we're gonna baitcha round.C'meeyar,i'm ****en tellin ya,if we hafta run after ya yer a bleedin dead man"
    "He's leggin ih"
    "Geddim lads"
    "Arrrgh..all i wanted to do was entertain..aiieeeeee!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

I think it was a class video, proves what they say about the irish being begrudgers, he made his few bob, and could afford to do it, fair play to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭DamoKen

L31mr0d wrote:

I really hope that's sarcasm of some sort? If not it's the saddest, most apathetic begrudging statement I've heard in a long long time. You can't do it?.., too bad, but to hate someone who can? :rolleyes: .

I find stuff like that inspiring, makes me want to just get up and get the hell out of here
    [turns off pc, reaches for hat and coat]

DamoKen wrote:
    I find stuff like that inspiring, makes me want to just get up and get the hell out of here
    [turns off pc, reaches for hat and coat]

Yep. Totally agree. I mean, it's the type of thing you say you'd do for the laugh, but never actually do it, and there you go, someone has done it, so fair balls.

I wish I had the balls to do it, I'm buying a house at the moment, and half-thinking about giving it up, and spending the money going travelling.......but I don't have the balls!!

I apologise for my excessive use of the term 'balls' in the above post:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

hAHA,i liked that video, put a smile on my dial.

Me too i'm ashamed to admit but he did deserve something to happen to him for being so bloody smug

tbh, i find the video to be strangely uplifting. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

Fair play to the man....I'm jealous out..
    I've been to Ephesus and want to go to Machu Picchu someday....might even dance if I do :)

Really enjoyed the video...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Dec McC

He was also in dublin doing his dance but his camcorder got robbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

Haha, good for him I'd love to travel to all those places except that scary looking place with the burnt out cars :eek:

It was funny when he was trying to dance on the rock in the middle of the cliffs in Norway I'd be terrified to ever crawl across that :p