Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbags with Doberman dogs

• 05-07-2006 10:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭

Ive noticed a lot of scum these days seem to have dobermen dogs. A football match my friend was at had these scumbags standing around the side of the pitch with their dobermen mutts beside them. There was trouble at this particular match where the homeside were beaten and the other team needed security to get out.
    Ive also noticed a few lads carrying these mutts in their cars, and at least 2 of these lads ive seen, that have them in their cars all the time are scummers.

Just wondering whats the idea of this. Is it just a trend, for their image, do they think it makes them look hard or is it somethiong more, like a symbol to their fellow cronies that they`re druggies or dealers or something. Perhaps someone can enlighten me. Whatever they are, they`re definitely sad bas-tards and on the increase.

Roll on National culling day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Don't think it's any kind of sign, although have never seen it, most of the scum around here seem to have pitbulls. Dobermanns (Dobermenn?) are actually very friendly animals btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭dmck2886

I personaly like doberman's and im not a scumbag, boxers are the choice of scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

I think thats probly true in the cases you have seen but my mate had a pitbull and always had it with him even in the car and it wasnt coz he was a scummer (i cant afford to have scummer mates) but more coz he loved the dog. my uncle was the same when he had his doberman.
    neither were visious dogs by the way. more likely to lick ya to death then anything else.

Don't get me wrong, I had Dobermann when I was a kid, bad enough that some ppl think that everyone in a tracksuit is a scumbag without being judged on your dog ;o)

I never had a dog put if i was to get one it would probally be a dobermann, OP you have no right to judge people by what type of dog they own and you definally dont have the right to call them sad bastards. In my opinion your the sad one for getting worked up on such things that have absolutly nothing to do with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Rudolph Claus

Im not saying everyone with a certain breed of dog is a scumbag. And when i used the term sad bastards i meant it in the context of knobs/scumbags standing at the sideline of a pitch roaring at people and intimidating and causing trouble with their doberman dogs beside them with studded collars and all that malarky. These people were/are obviously scum. And the lads in the car that i know of are scum.

I didnt say anyone that owns 1 of these dogs is dodgy. Also, i made a mistake, thes 2knobs in the cars i mentioned have Pitbulls. And i aint getting worked up, just wondering if there was a particular reason why these scobes have pitbulls,etc.

They get dogs like that because they like them dogs, why does anyone buy a particular breed of dog?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

dmck2886 wrote:
    I personaly like doberman's and im not a scumbag, boxers are the choice of scumbags.

Cheers boss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ball ox

christ whats with all the pc crap, you know what the guys trying to get at and know he's not generalising anybody

OP it seems to be just an image thing really. Hard men feel they look harder when accompanied by a hard dog. The studded collar thing is also just about looking hard.

I suppose it's also possible that some scummers keep them to fight them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Nuttzy wrote:
    I didnt say anyone that owns 1 of these dogs is dodgy. Also, i made a mistake, thes 2knobs in the cars i mentioned have Pitbulls. And i aint getting worked up, just wondering if there was a particular reason why these scobes have pitbulls,etc.

They probably have pitbulls ect, because they like pitbulls ect, apart from that some people that buy them that you would call "scumbags", i.e. people that live in a rough area, buy them for protection. If you live in an area where you are likely to get jumped if your on your own obviously this is less likely if your walking a dog that can rip someones throat out. But its mainly because they like dogs and they like that particular breed of dog. I hate these fukking "scumbag" threads. Ridiculas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

I know what your trying to say and without trying to sound PC , i think you worded your post in a wrong.I also have noticed alot of doberman dogs around lately,alot more than usual ,im living in Galway.Im a dog owner myself and i have noticed this especially out walking my own dog.
    As long as the dog is properly trained,socialised with other dogs ,looked after well and excercised everyday then i dont really care what breed people have.My main worry is that some of the more dodgy characters that are getting them as a means of intimidation and aggression,which without proper training can lead to a very powerfull unpredictive dog.
    Having said that it can happen with any breed.All in all though i have not come across any poorly trained doberman yet,their owners pay a premium price for them so im sure they would want the best for their dog,i hope.

PS.Doberman Dogs are far from mutts.If you find them intimidating then its the look their owners and breeders have given them,docked tails and ears give them a more aggressive look.Thats a whole other topic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You dont see that many dobermanns around these days, yiz sure you're not on about rottweilers?

dobermann=lanky skinny
    rottweiler= big thickset

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

dmck2886 wrote:
    OP you have no right to judge people by what type of dog they own

wait for it......

dmck2886 wrote:
    boxers are the choice of scumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

By law such dogs are meant to be muzzled when in public, never allowed off the lead in public and must never have anybody under 16 holding the lead. PItbulls and german shepards are also on the list of controled dogs.

If anybody has a boxer as an intimidating dog more fool them. They are named boxers because of how they play fight and how playl alot. They have pretty useless bites too AFAIK. They are quite nervous dogs like greyhounds. There are always bad natured ones but breed traits do come through.

Like gold chains and soverin rings certain dogs are used to compliment the skangers image. The item itself may not scream you are a skanger but the assoication is made. Wearing a scumbag track suit and walking a doberman expect people to think you are. If I see somebody wearing the same type of close connected with skanger/scumbags i assume they wish to be like them. If I wanted to look like a theift I wouldn't were a black and white strippy top

By law such dogs are meant to be muzzled when in public, never allowed off the lead in public and must never have anybody under 16 holding the lead. PItbulls and german shepards are also on the list of controled dogs.

If anybody has a boxer as an intimidating dog more fool them. They are named boxers because of how they play fight and how playl alot. They have pretty useless bites too AFAIK. They are quite nervous dogs like greyhounds. There are always bad natured ones but breed traits do come through.

Like gold chains and soverin rings certain dogs are used to compliment the skangers image. The item itself may not scream you are a skanger but the assoication is made. Wearing a scumbag track suit and walking a doberman expect people to think you are. If I see somebody wearing the same type of close connected with skanger/scumbags i assume they wish to be like them. If I wanted to look like a theift I wouldn't were a black and white strippy top

Woah, generalising a bit aren't you? How can you call someone a scumbag because they walk a certain breed of dog? You see people wearing tracksuits and you assume you they are a scumbag, I only wear track bottoms when I am crashed around house but sometimes will walk over to shop for the paper in them and you're trying to call me a scumbag for this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Bambi wrote:
    You dont see that many dobermanns around these days, yiz sure you're not on about rottweilers?

dobermann=lanky skinny
    rottweiler= big thickset

Yup ,Dobermann.
    In fact i just passed a guy walking his not half an hour ago,nice doggie.

Weird, i saw one only t'other day and remarked to the owner how rare it is to see them these days. used to be tons of em around in the 80's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I never see dobermans either :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭Lexie

Jeez people relax. We all know what the OP is getting at. And yes I do agree with the OP. Theres a huge increase of scummers with Pitbulls/Dobermans/Rottweilers etc and they are using these dogs to promote a harder image. My neighbour whos a guard also agrees!

Dont think the OP is suggesting everyone with these dogs are scumbags. You would defo know the difference between a scummer and a normal law abiding person, so dont be getting your knickers in a twist if you own one of these breeds of dogs. I myself am the proud owner of german shepherds and I dont look like a scummer (at least I think I dont).

Lexie wrote:
    You would defo know the difference between a scummer and a normal law abiding person

how?
    Lexie wrote:
    and I dont look like a scummer (at least I think I dont).

I thought you deffo knew the difference? :rolleyes:

Collie D wrote:
    Woah, generalising a bit aren't you? How can you call someone a scumbag because they walk a certain breed of dog? You see people wearing tracksuits and you assume you they are a scumbag, I only wear track bottoms when I am crashed around house but sometimes will walk over to shop for the paper in them and you're trying to call me a scumbag for this?

Woah yourself,did you read what I said? I didn't say they were ascumbags or even close. I also did not say you are scumbag for wearing a track suit. In fact everything I said pointed out how people take up apperance.

Everybody know what your average scumbag looks like. If you dress the same or in a similar manner expect people to assume you are a scumbag. It is never really one item but a combination.
    I personally would not buy an item of clothing I thought was nice if it was associated with the scumbag look. This is becasue I would not want to be associated with such people. Why anybody would choose to dress in a similar fashion to what is a scumbag look strikes me as strange. If I see somebody with gold chains, burberry, soverin rings and a doberman I think there is a scumbag trying to look hard. Not one thing and most importantly becasue they know that image is associated with scumbags they either are themselves or want to be thought of that way.

During the Dublin riot I didn't see many Goths but I did see plenty of celtic jerseys,track suits etc... which I accurately expected to see.

1st Possible Difference:

People out walking their dog dont hang around the streets with the dogs. OK you might stop to chat to someone for a couple of minutes, but the scummers will still be there an hour later!

2nd Possible Difference:

Not all, but some scumbags travel in numbers. Ok I go walking with my friend and her sister, but we actually walk. Ya wont see us dipping into laneways or Jeering others. Plus, they have this odd bouncy walk. Must be a "Hard" thing.

Why "possible difference's" all of a sudden?

I thought you "deffo" knew the difference between a scummer and a "normal law abiding person"? Enlighten me here, how i should know for "deffo" if someones a scummer or a law abiding "normal person". I mean if you can spot whether someone abides by laws just by looking at them im sure the gardai would love to be let in on the secret :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Oh come on, everyone knows what a scumbag looks like. Everyone that matches that description may not, in fact, be a scumbag, but they sure do look like one.

I think that was FillSpectre's point. If you knowingly dress like a scumbag, don't be surprised if people think you are one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

How to identifie a scumbag:(if you don't know)
    Shoe's=Reebok classics
    Pants: jeans or nike tracksuit pants
    Top: Ben Sherman shirt or a stripped jumper.
    Hat: NY yankies hat
    The female specie will commenly where a suit that looks like patjamous with reebok classics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

hardly a new thing.
    scumbags have always kept vicious or big dogs.

My apologies, I didnt mean to say "law abiding". Just didnt know how to define non-scumbags. Anyways, when I said "possible", I meant that their description/identity doesnt always follow the same pattern but will fall into most of the common descriptions.

As from most people posts here Bambie, you would "Defo" spot a scummer a mile away.

Good description Plug. :D

Oh and dont forget Plug, the hat is usually positioned so that the peak is nearly pointing straight up.

Bambi wrote:
    Why "possible difference's" all of a sudden?

I thought you "deffo" knew the difference between a scummer and a "normal law abiding person"? Enlighten me here, how i should know for "deffo" if someones a scummer or a law abiding "normal person". I mean if you can spot whether someone abides by laws just by looking at them im sure the gardai would love to be let in on the secret :rolleyes:

Haha very good. I bet this topic is in at least a hundred other threads and the same thing is said over and over again. Basically, a person should be judged by their actions rather than appearances or where they come from.

Plug wrote:
    How to identifie a scumbagif you don't know)
    Hat: NY yankies hat

Damn I like that symbol because of "Highway to Heaven" and I was going to buy one and then find a former teenage werewolf to be an angel and have some soppy adventures

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Collie D wrote:
    Haha very good. I bet this topic is in at least a hundred other threads and the same thing is said over and over again. Basically, a person should be judged by their actions rather than appearances or where they come from.
    Like that granny in the FBD Business Insurance ad.

Lot's of indicators, variables such as the amount of low karat gold on display, presence of a tracksuit, peaked cap, the angle the peaked cap is tilted at, how they walk.

Scumbag is the wrong word though, it's pretty broadly applied to working class, which is unfair. There are LOADS of people who would dress/act in the manner above, but are perfectly sound, few of my mates over the years would have been like this. As long as you're not picking a fight you've nothing to worry about :)

It's the wild-eyed scobies you need to worry about, the problem is, it's pretty hard to tell if someone's actually a looper-scumbag until you're too close to them.

Haha, my point exactly thanks for the example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

Nuttzy wrote:
    Ive noticed a lot of scum these days seem to have dobermen dogs. A football match my friend was at had these scumbags standing around the side of the pitch with their dobermen mutts beside them. There was trouble at this particular match where the homeside were beaten and the other team needed security to get out.
    Ive also noticed a few lads carrying these mutts in their cars, and at least 2 of these lads ive seen, that have them in their cars all the time are scummers.

Just wondering whats the idea of this. Is it just a trend, for their image, do they think it makes them look hard or is it somethiong more, like a symbol to their fellow cronies that they`re druggies or dealers or something. Perhaps someone can enlighten me. Whatever they are, they`re definitely sad bas-tards and on the increase.

Roll on National culling day.

i'm sure you and your labra-doodle look great and completely non "scummers"

mong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭#Smokey#

dmck2886 wrote:

boxers are a very placid dog and i know this because i have one.they are not the choice of scumbags. i have seen that most scumbags have rottweilers or pitbulls.I have never seen a scumbag with a boxer dog.a dogs a dog it should not be judged for its owners behaviour