Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ucd's winning streak continues.......

• 03-07-2006 12:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭

If we needed further proof that we go to the best university in the country this was further reinforced at the weekend. Not only did Irelands best hope for the olympics ,whose hurdling career was spawned in UCD, come 2nd in the cork games ,1st year class rep and vet student,Catherine Milligan won the coverted crowd of miss northen Ireland. I for one am proud that these talented,intelligent and focused women represent our college so well on both sides of the border.Keep it up girls!!

crowned.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

panda100 wrote:
    I for one am proud that these talented,intelligent and focused women represent our college so well on both sides of the border.Keep it up girls!!

crowned.jpg

yes, she's very pretty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

She's alroii! ye wudint say naahhhoowww!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

How degrading to women. I'm disgusted that you see this as an achievement. You make me sick panda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

panda100 wrote:
    I for one am proud that these talented,intelligent and focused women represent our college so well on both sides of the border.Keep it up girls!!

haha, yea cos that's why she won.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I think she's taking the p*ss........ I hope she is...!!! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

na she's not:)

DaveMcG wrote:
    I think she's taking the p*ss........ I hope she is...!!! :confused:

roffle....I doubt it tbh.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Wow, I can't see this thread lasting long. Well, It might last a bit longer in The Cuckoos Nest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Truely she is the pinnicle of female achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

[choking up]

I'm just so proud to be in the same university as a pretty girl.
    I mean, we women have come so far, it's so refreshing to see young womne remembering to look their best when all that studying threatens to distract them.

[/choking up]

gimme a break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Blimey there's a lot of jealousy on this thread.

I say well done to Ms Milligan. Her sandwich making skills are clearly unparalleled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Roffles at Panda and Double Roffles at the Feminist :D but seriously on an important note those girls are great . Keep me up all night. Sure isnt that what they are for !

Blimey there's a lot of jealousy on this thread.

Ascribing a dislike of beauty contests to jealousy is unbearably lazy thinking.

Roffle at this entire thread.

Ascribing a dislike of beauty contests to jealousy is unbearably lazy thinking.

Actually the fact you only clarified that now shows which one of us is lazier. ;)

I also would like to add to this discussion, if I may

Spam spam spam
    Crap spam crap
    Spam crap spam.

Actually the fact you only clarified that now shows which one of us is lazier. ;)

Lazy acting, yes. But I'm not a lazy thinker

(Also I'm pretty much sure that nobody wants me to go all feminist on yo asses and explain why beauty contests are problematic).

I'm pretty sure this thread should die before the mudslinging and hole filled weak arguments begin.

oh lovely, its the cuckoo's nest.

Women are arses for parading themselves around like objects. However these are the less informed women who arnt as intelligent as the feminist types who feel they need to condemn MEN for creating this horrible society where women feel they MUST enter these degrading and totally voluntary pageants.

Fair Fucks to the Hotties IMO . You got it you flaunt it girlfriend.!

and sexy blonde hot miss N.Ireland has indeed got it.

Who's condeming MEN?

sorry, bit of a Bush style pre emptive strike there

Lazy acting, yes. But I'm not a lazy thinker

(Also I'm pretty much sure that nobody wants me to go all feminist on yo asses and explain why beauty contests are problematic).

I'm not a lazy thinker either, I'm just not a mind reader.

Well if you're not a mind reader then why did you presume to say that I was jealous?

I think its pretty clear to assume that people who are anti peagant would be jealous? Not that im saying that you are, just defending MNG. On a simular note I hate Johnny Depp and Brad Pitt am I jelous? Probably!

It was a logical conclusion based upon your comments and indeed the comments of panda who started the thread.

Your post wasn't based upon the beauty pageant but upon the actual girl:
    I'm just so proud to be in the same university as a pretty girl.

Are you surprised that I concluded you were jealous based upon a comment like that?

I though that that what I said was quite obviously sarcasm, motivated by a disdain both for ranking women in accordance of prettiness unless one has the expressed desire to sleep with them (in such cases it can be considered necessery) and my bemusement at the fact that the winner of a beauty pagent was being singled out for praise when firstly we have pleanty of pretty girls (and boys) in ucd, and secondly, said pretty girls (and boys) are not in ucd to be concerned with their prettiness.

Well I've no problem with people having a disdain for beauty pageants but it came across like disdain for the girl herself which I felt was unnecessary.

Tbh it doesn't make a whole lot of sense to be disdainful of beauty pagents without having just a little smigin of disdain for those who participate in them.

I don't get how anyone can have disdain for people they don't even know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭antSionnach

:D:D This girl is going into 2nd yr veterinary and has posted on boards. Shes going to see this!!!!! hahahahahahhahahahahahahhahahhahhhahhahahah

Ahem.

Rory Marvin

Well I wouldn't say anything behind someone's back I wouldn't say to their face.
    That said you'll note I said 'smigin' and it regards only to what I do know about her, that she entered a beauty contest, an action which I am disdainful of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

I don't see why thats considered an achievement its just a load of girls degrading themselves. Sure they may be beautilful, but as a girl, I find beauty pagnts disgusting. But yes she is very beautilful.

why dont the two girls here disagree with beauty peagants?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I wasnt actually taking the piss when I wrote what I wrote. I wasnt trying to equate her achievment to coming up with a cure for cancer or ending world hunger but in a small way its still an achievment and she should be congratulated for it. I hear through mutual aquaintences that she is no dumb blonde and anyone who has ever met Roassana Davidson will know she is extremly intelligent. The miss world competitions are no longer based on just looks,all though they do play a part, and can really give people a stepping stone in life.For instance look at some of the prizes she won for being crowned miss northen Ireland:

Direct Entry to the Miss World Final and all expenses paid trip to the contest.
    Junction One gift cheques to the value of £1000
    Use of a Ford Focus from Lindsay Ford, taxed and insured for a year compliments of Open & Direct
    easyJet return flights to Warsaw, Poland for the Miss World Final
    Weekend break for two to one of the 19 easyJet destinations direct from Belfast

An opportunity to travel and meet people from all over the world.What student wouldnt jump at the chance for that!A lot of people get judged by how they look and the miss world over the last year has proved that being blonde and good looking doesnt equal being thick and stupid,Something which is encountered everyday in UCD.The stereotype of the dumb good looking d4's in UCD is awful and at least Miss Northen Ireland this year is proving that just beacuse your beautiful on the outside doesnt mean your horrible,thick and ugly on the inside.

Prettymonster,If you are so agains beauty pangents why didnt you protest outside the student bar when the rose of tralee came to host the speed dating for Irish week.I distinctly remembering 'feminist' such as chris bond and Darren Cogavin on here talking about how she great she was so whats wrong with miss Northen Ireland? Women of UCD should be proud of her achievmnet and not putting her down. As I said before her achievment doesnt equal winning the nobel peace prize but it should still be recognised. Fair play to her,i say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Truely she is the pinnicle of female achievement.

As I said there are a lot more people in UCD who do far greater things im sure,so I have her 'acheivment' fully in perspective. However,its something in the public eye and theres no reason why she shouldnt be congratulated for it.

I didnt start this thread to discuss beauty pagents and I have no intention about debating the merits or lack of merits of them.I just wanted to give a bit of encouragment to a UCD'er entering an international competition. Anyway if she reads this I hope she knows that some of us are behind her and hope she gets far so she can represnt Northen Ireland to the best of her abilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

This thread needs more nudity.

*Moons thread*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Really it is more like bushes then moons, when did the moon become covered in scrub bushes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I can't believe UCD is still winning after all these years.

What will those crazy college kids think of next?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Sarky wrote:
    This thread needs more nudity.

*Moons thread*
    *flashes sarky*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

[RANT]

Gee big deal Panda

NUIM has a graduate that won Miss Ireland (Niamh Redmond) as does UCD IIRC (Chris de Burghs spawn, UCD methinks)? NUIM has a Eurovision winner in Eimear Quinn (The Voice) and they only have 6,500 students at any one time...

Blah blah, aren't we great with all of our "achievements"...

Each third level institution has high achievers. Two years ago NUIM was the only university in Ireland with a candidate shortlisted for the Royal Institution UK and Ireland post-graduate scientist of the year (there were three Cambridge post-grads, one Bristol, one Manchester and one NUIM shortlisted). NUIM has a Nobel Peace Prize winner as a graduate, woo hoo, big deal.

This "aren't we so superior to the others?" attitude is completely childish. Be proud of the achievements but don't feel superior about them.;)

[/RANT]

Have a nice day now y'all, y'hear? :D

Oh yeah, loved some of the other posts here :D

panda100 wrote:

Prettymonster,If you are so agains beauty pangents why didnt you protest outside the student bar when the rose of tralee came to host the speed dating for Irish week.I distinctly remembering 'feminist' such as chris bond and Darren Cogavin on here talking about how she great she was so whats wrong with miss Northen Ireland? Women of UCD should be proud of her achievmnet and not putting her down. As I said before her achievment doesnt equal winning the nobel peace prize but it should still be recognised. Fair play to her,i say.

A) I actually have better things to do than protest every little thing that annoys me.
    B) 'feminists' (and indeed, plain old feminists) are free to disagree with each other on all matters, we are an equal opportunities ideology.
    C) Love them though I do I neither want to, nor have to, agree with Bondi and Cogsy on everything.

And no, I'm not going to be proud of her achievement. I'm immeasurably proud of many women in ucd I'm not going to cheapen that pride by handing it out like it's going out of fashion.

This thread cheapens UCD and pisses me off. Will you two please stop making UCD look like a pompous gimpfactory in the cuckoos nest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

I know her as she's in the SU same as me, she's a very pleasant girl and very beautiful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Hey, does anyone know where I can score some ILLEGAL DRUGS? I'm looking for ILLEGAL MIND-ALTERING SUBSTANCES, can anyone help me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

The drugstore?

[^_^]\m/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,706 ✭✭✭Matt Holck

I think her haed's a little big

Scraggs wrote:
    The drugstore?

[^_^]\m/
    Aw man, that was like, a totally new kind of weak.

Like, Super-Weak. Or Lametastic. Or some-such.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Lame to the Max my good friend

I Have A Boner

Fúckstick.:D