Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

flashing in the sky

• 02-07-2006 11:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭

can anyone else see the flashing in the sky tonight over what seems to be Dublin South West/Naas Rd area.
    I'm in Kilmainham and can only see the flashes but not where its coming from. Can't hear thunder but is that what it is, or is it summat else.
    Its too bright to be a crane i thinks, prob be something very obvious, but I'm too lazy to get up and go for a walk lol :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Lightning perhaps? Been lots of thunderclaps and the weather is right for some storms..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

according to the lads over in the weather bit, its coming up south. couple flashes out my way aswell but no thunder/ rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭The Free Man

i think i just heard some thunder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

keep it in the weather forum folks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Its UFOs and theyre coming to devoure us all........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

i can see and hear it and im in swords,no rain very strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Yeah I saw that flashing there about 1/2 an hour ago.. thought it was fireworks?! I'm up beside the airport...

... que x-files music :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Plug wrote:
    Its UFOs and theyre coming to devoure us all........

well i for one can think of no more rational explaination...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Flashes here every few minutes, it's lightening!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

Jehova is coming. Youre all fooked for spending so much time on the cursed internet. Nice knowing you!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Gazza22 wrote:
    Flashes here every few minutes, it's lightening!

My flashes were yellow, I've seen some wierd lightning in my time but never yellow lightning...

Sellafield ey...
    Global Warming ey...
    Feckin immigrants ey...

Edit - Oh fook, I've just heard the thunder there.. we're all doomed. The birds have flown, the dogs are barking aaahhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Thought I saw a few blue flashes or something this evening. Although, I assumed it was a garda car going past or something but I would have heard the siren or the car.

Have yet to hear any thunder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

Bugger. War of the Worlds time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

ah christ, not this again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

I remember seeing flashes on a few occasions, in the east, which I now know was lightning over the Irish Sea, and that was seeing it from the midlands, Speed of light, speed of sound no comparison.

You'd need a very keen ear to hear them raps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

I've heard lots of thunder but haven't seen lightning..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭greenteaicedtea

http://www.inthenews.co.uk/news/news/science/asteroid-narrowly-misses-earth-$443834.htm

maybe it was that? But the article says it wouldn't be visible without a telescope.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Yeah there was lightning last night. It only took one flash and the feckin power went out... :mad: Thank feck for generators...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

stupid storm. i think it wrecked my sky+ box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

The storm was wonderfull, forked lightening and flashes streaking across the sky and lots of heavy rain.
    It was great to stand out in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

There was a storm? right, clearly slept through that...

I hope the bunnies got shelter.
    oh, and the homeless i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭SingingCherry

I noticed it last night but I didn't hear any rain or thunder to go along with it. I mentioned it to co-workers this morning and they all looked at me funny (I'm 85% sure this was because of my mentioning the light in the sky) so I'm glad I'm not the only person who saw this. I'm over by Heuston Station and I didn't know what to think or where it was.