Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lithuanian skull made of quite stern stuff really....

• 01-07-2006 10:09PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭

Have just passed a deeeelightful hour observing from my window into the back yard of a house occupied by an indeterminate number of our (extremely drunken) Baltic brethren as they pumelled each other into a bloody pulp....an extremely entertaining evening was had by all and definitely far more rewarding than watching a football match....and may I say that the Lithuanian cranium is an absolutely amazing piece of biology...it appears to be able to effortlessly absorb the kind of punishment that would have many a mere mortal in intensive care...very impressive indeed......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

toomevara wrote:
    Have just passed a deeeelightful hour observing from my window into the back yard of a house occupied by an indeterminate number of our (extremely drunken) Baltic brethren as they pumelled each other into a bloody pulp....an extremely entertaining evening was had by all and definitely far more rewarding than watching a football match....and may I say that the Lithuanian cranium is an absolutely amazing piece of biology...it appears to be able to effortlessly absorb the kind of punishment that would have many a mere mortal in intensive care...very impressive indeed......

Ya what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

he saw a bloke getting battered.

Sofaspud wrote:

ya i figured as much but why OP? was it a row or some thing they do to pass time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭plenderj

Without however the normal effects of such battery apparently ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I hope you didnt have to clean up the mess and why were they in your backyard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Lord knows why they do it but by Christ do they enjoy it, and they're bloody good at it too. Not my back yard incidentally, house next door....The gardai intervened before someone could be murdered, but dang, they are crazy ass mofo's.....Reckon its all those neat spirits they imbibe uncut....animals for it...anaesthetises em completely.....

toomevara wrote:
    Lord knows why they do it but by Christ do they enjoy it, and they're bloody good at it too. Not my back yard incidentally, house next door....The gardai intervened before someone could be murdered, but dang, they are crazy ass mofo's.....Reckon its all those neat spirits they imbibe uncut....animals for it...anaesthetises em completely.....

no wonder so many of them are turning up dead so.

yeah, no stranger to the odd ruck myself, having spent many years on the receiving end of various **** and knobjockeys in the bar trade, but the amount of punishment these headbangers can take without blinking an eye is astonishing. If a Lithuanian ever fronts up to you my advice is fain a heartcondition ala Withnail and flee cos that's what the f**k i'll be doing in future.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

i used to live in toomevara... no lithuanians there back then unfortunately. Just the locals... Sounds like its gotten more interesting now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

toomevara wrote:
    yeah, no stranger to the odd ruck myself, having spent many years on the receiving end of various **** and knobjockeys in the bar trade, but the amount of punishment these headbangers can take without blinking an eye is astonishing. If a Lithuanian ever fronts up to you my advice is fain a heartcondition ala Withnail and flee cos that's what the f**k i'll be doing in future.....

Will do, love that scene!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

"perfumed ponce" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

toomevara wrote:
    eastern european people do not fight aty all.
    you sir, are a racist.

every foriegn person entering this country is a model citizen. not one of them is a law breaker. how dare yu suggest otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Sofaspud wrote:
    Sounded like an orgy at first - probably because he used the word "pummel"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 DannyBoy.Lt

Have u never seen irish fighting? have you never seen irish peeing in a public place? have you never seen drunk irish teenager?
    Do you realy believe that lithuanians, russians and polish are the only ones responsible for all the crimes in Ireland?
    I am lithuanian, graphic designer. never killed anyone, never raped anyone, got attacked in dublin by irish do ....

Should i start calling every irish person i meet an alcoholic just cause i see loads of drunk people on thursday, firay, saturday night?

Don't judge the whole nation by a small part of it... Crime has no rase or nationality.

Next time you want to make laugh out of someone please first try to put yourself in their shoes.
    PEACE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Have u never seen irish fighting? have you never seen irish peeing in a public place? have you never seen drunk irish teenager?
    Do you realy believe that lithuanians, russians and polish are the only ones responsible for all the crimes in Ireland?
    I am lithuanian, graphic designer. never killed anyone, never raped anyone, got attacked in dublin by irish do ....

Should i start calling every irish person i meet an alcoholic just cause i see loads of drunk people on thursday, firay, saturday night?

Don't judge the whole nation by a small part of it... Crime has no rase or nationality.

Next time you want to make laugh out of someone please first try to put yourself in their shoes.
    PEACE

ugh... you just took bits of what he said and made up the rest to argue against... i can take at least half of that in quotes and say "that's not what he said", whatever lack of interest/agreement i have with the overall tone of this thread, but i'd just be stating the obvious.

And "do" isn't "though". it's a completely different thing.. it's not even pronounced the same and requires force of will to figure out what word is supposed to be there... damn txt spk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,652 ✭✭✭✭Victor

DannyBoy, welcome to boards, take a seat, relax.

I think toomevara was more stereotyping in relating the particular story than being a outright bigot. There is many a fool of many a nation who does stupid things when drunk and yes us locals have a reputation too.
    passive wrote:
    ugh... against... thing.. there... damn txt spk...
    dude .... whats with the full stops ... do they make you feel big when you pick on people's speeling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

Chillax at the cacks Danny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I liked the little 'PEACE' message at the end. Made me feel that maybe there IS hope after all........

Maybe we should release a charity single and REALLY change things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

Hmm what should we name it? What more can we say about foreigners... Only joking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 DannyBoy.Lt

passive wrote:
    And "do" isn't "though". it's a completely different thing.. it's not even pronounced the same and requires force of will to figure out what word is supposed to be there... damn txt spk...

Thank you for your remark, it will improve my english...
    Would you like to start learning lithuanian ? I wonder how good your spelling would be :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

dude .... whats with the full stops ... do they make you feel big when you pick on people's speeling?

Ellipses... They were ellipses... Not full stops. It was punctuated to express the way I would actually be saying those words; in an exasperated & tired manner. And I didn't nitpick his spelling so don't pretend that I did.

Having already covered my irritation at his post, i briefly mentioned a problem I had with do (being pronounced "doo" rather than "doh", even pretending for a second that it would be okay if it was pronounced "doh") being used in place of the word though..

(edit: I apologise completely and sincerely if you using "do" was actually a mistake due to english being your second language, rather than lazy txt spk you've picked up on having become comfortable with the language. Perhaps i got the wrong impression. And I have no particular desire or need to learn lithuanian, but if i'm ever posting on a lithuanian forum i'll try use the right words and go to you for advice :)...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Thank you for your remark, it will improve my english...
    Would you like to start learning lithuanian ? I wonder how good your spelling would be :)

Unless he needs to go to lithuania to get a job it wont really be an issue :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Did you take any fotos?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

They make up about 70% of the muscle marys at my gym,tough-looking bastards most of em,if i was ever looking for some hired muscle i reckon they'd be a good place to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

*phew*

You had me worried there for a minute. I thought you meant Irish guys fighting. As we all know, drunk Irish blokes would never, ever kick the f*ck out of....oh.
    toomevara wrote:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I used to work out in Swords and there was some gigantic east European popeye types there. Would make great bouncers, you're right. Nobody would have looked croooked at these lads.
    Degsy wrote:
    They make up about 70% of the muscle marys at my gym,tough-looking bastards most of em,if i was ever looking for some hired muscle i reckon they'd be a good place to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Danny, I'm all up for going toe to toe with Vilnius' finest.

how do you say "how's your sister ? " in Lithuanan.

will that do it ?

PEACE

Oh wonderful, so now as well as drunken, pointless violence, I have to add a complete sense of humour bypass to the list....bugger......As a Lithuanian living in ireland you'll be aware that we Irish have.... ahem...a certain propensity towards alcohol and violence ourselves on occasion...of which we're all well aware.

This is the after hours forum, its all tongue in cheek(look it up)....feel free to give vent to your own rantings, we're all big enough to take it without a po-faced, over sensitive knee jerk reaction...At no point in my post did I cast aspersions on Lithuania or Lithuanians. i have a number of Lithuanian friends and man, to be frank, they rock...(especially the ladies).....

My post was merely a straightforward relation of an event which I had witnessed first hand, which happened to involve Lithuanians...it could just as well have been an angry group of buddhist Tibetans....it happened, I saw it and I called it as I saw it...its called freedom of speech, now I know you've only recently thrown off the soviet yoke over there and maybe you've still got some residual difficulty with the concept....

keep the idiotic, low brow and rankly offensive accusations of racism to yourself...Its the last bastion of the politically correct, to be used to slander someone who's making an argument they dont like...or cant handle...

what's the Lithuanian for chicken ?

Pal wrote:
    what's the Lithuanian for chicken ?

"vista"....I think...with a squiggly doo hickey over the 's'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Its amazing the shape alot of them are in. I'm sure if you compared the ratio of muscular Irish men, to "normal" Irish men or to slim Irish men, it'd be pretty poor, whereas pretty much every second eastern european male here is not only slim, but fcukin built up as well.....alot of them in my gym, biggest and meanest looking guys there most of the time.

:rolleyes: See the pair on the front page of today's Irish Times.

big girl's blouses the lot of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Archeron

HavoK wrote:
    Its amazing the shape alot of them are in. I'm sure if you compared the ratio of muscular Irish men, to "normal" Irish men or to slim Irish men, it'd be pretty poor, whereas pretty much every second eastern european male here is not only slim, but fcukin built up as well.....alot of them in my gym, biggest and meanest looking guys there most of the time.

aaaah, but take into account the number of flobbedy Irish gut busters, and then drop THEM out of planes on to the muscley Marys, and the Paddies will definitely come out shining.

Archeron wrote:
    aaaah, but take into account the number of flobbedy Irish gut busters, and then drop THEM out of planes on to the muscley Marys, and the Paddies will definitely come out shining.

We've got lots of the muscle mary's knockin round down here in Tipp, and the thing is, when I see a large group of them knocking around it all looks, well how can I put this delicately...rather gay, shaved heads, singlets..the classic 'hello sailor'.

There's a bar in my locale which has been comandeered by the Balts and going in there of a Saturday night is like wandering into the Blue Oyster. Indeed I would go so far as to say that the eastern european invasion must be like manna from heaven for the homosexualists among us...

....except for the fact that they're all violently homophobic...hmmmm hang on its all starting to make sense..the body worship, the iron pumping, the exagerrated male bonding rituals, hmmm think we may be dealing with some serious issues there...as one Lithuanian friend once pointed out (not unlike us 20 years ago, there was no such thing as a Lithuanian Gaylord up to about 10 years ago)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Pal wrote:
    :rolleyes: See the pair on the front page of today's Irish Times.

big girl's blouses the lot of them
    They're not Lithuanian they're Starvin......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

Pal wrote:
    how do you say "how's your sister ? " in Lithuanan.

No idea. But, at a guess I'd say the Lithuanians sister is damn fine :D