Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fake €50

• 01-07-2006 8:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭

Asked for cashback on my laser card in a well known shop and recieved a dud 50. Didn't realise until a couple of days later and went back but they said there was nothing they could do as i could not prove i got it off them. what do you think i should do? thinking of trying to spend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Dec McC wrote:
    Asked for cashback on my laser card in a well known shop and recieved a dud 50. Didn't realise until a couple of days later and went back but they said there was nothing they could do as i could not prove i got it off them. what do you think i should do? thinking of trying to spend it.

That sucks, i wouldnt try and spend it, maybe get your bank to rint out a report or something for you that shows it was that store where you got that 50, not out and out proof but its a start. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

spend it in the shop that gave it to you.
    if they were dumb enough not to spot it the first time...

seriously though, just go back and throw a wobbler at the manager. ask for surveillance tapes and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

In a busy pub ask some punter for change of a 50, or else a longue girl. They wont have the scanner thing so wont check it.

If you do try and spend it, use in some small convience store. Alot less likely to check it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Got a dud 50 from a bank teller! I sh*t you not! withdrew money from my account in the branch and the stupid dick must have taken it in earlier and was looking for an oppertunity to fob it off!

Well I took out a fair bit, can't remember what I was paying for, but got about 400 out, so he counted it 50, 100, 150, 200, 250, 300, 350, 400 infront of me, but did it really fast that he slipped the dud in the middle..I just saw i got the correct amount of notes, never occurd to me to check if the money the bank was giving me was real ffs!

So I went back a day later, same crap, they know I withdrew money but there's no proof I got it there.

Anyway, I spent it...was in a bar, dark enough, and they don't have a UV light over the till...a busy barman grabs your money, stuffs it away, gives you your change, happy days, a pint and 45 euro in real money.

Feel bad that I passed it on, but 50 bills ffs! And the bank!! the club will just pass it on again anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

DubGuy wrote:
    Got a dud 50 from a bank teller! I sh*t you not! withdrew money from my account in the branch and the stupid dick must have taken it in earlier and was looking for an oppertunity to fob it off!

Well I took out a fair bit, can't remember what I was paying for, but got about 400 out, so he counted it 50, 100, 150, 200, 250, 300, 350, 400 infront of me, but did it really fast that he slipped the dud in the middle..I just saw i got the correct amount of notes, never occurd to me to check if the money the bank was giving me was real ffs!

So I went back a day later, same crap, they know I withdrew money but there's no proof I got it there.

Anyway, I spent it...was in a bar, dark enough, and they don't have a UV light over the till...a busy barman grabs your money, stuffs it away, gives you your change, happy days, a pint and 45 euro in real money.

Feel bad that I passed it on, but 50 bills ffs! And the bank!! the club will just pass it on again anyway.
    remind me never to buy a pint with a €500 note ever again.
    (yeah, i did it once for a laugh).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Just keep trying to use it, someone will take it eventually :), this happened to me a lot back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

A couple of years ago a friend printed out E200 notes for me and one side was blank, I wrote tuff sh!t on that side:D The expression on peoples faces when they pick it up, priceless, should try it to your friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Report it to the police, tell them where you got it at what time and who. It may be quite possible the shop is laundering them for you know.

You can try fobbing it off but if you get caught your royally fuked.

Just keep trying to use it, someone will take it eventually :), this happened to me a lot back home.

The people he is trying to fob it off then are legally obliged to confiscate it I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,814 ✭✭✭✭JPA

It may or may not be the law or merely some stores policy but some places will keep the fake note and won't give it back.

JPA wrote:
    It may or may not be the law or merely some stores policy but some places will keep the fake note and won't give it back.

Ya wasn't sure if it was a law or not but where i used to work we had to hold em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

if you can pass it on fair enough but the law says if your caught the teller /cashier etc has the right and the obligation to confiscate it (fraud and forgery act 1990). i work in foreign exchange an ive got my own collection of the things. havent seen one for quite a while so i guess the forgery season must be upon us. you'd be amazed what people will forge, i even got one or two northern 20s.

by the way if you get one from the bank and leave the counter they'll just confiscate it and say tough luck. onus of proof isnt on them once you leave. likewise if you get it from a ATM machine. bloody thing didnt give me my money once and it took a weekend to get the fecking cash off em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭NADA

I got a fake twenty once. My mam gave it to me and swore it was real but I knew it wasn't. Flogged it in the chipper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Got a dud £20 in my pay packet once. Only found out when I went to lodge it in Post Office. Fair fucks to the post mistress. Picked it out right away from a bunch of 20's, no UV or anything.

No probs getting boss to replace it. But of course that meant someone had taken it in from a customer at some stage during the week. Turns every pub in the village had been stung with duds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

julep wrote:
    spend it in the shop that gave it to you.
    if they were dumb enough not to spot it the first time...

yeah, get a mate to buy you credit or something you can 50squids worth of handy enough in the same shop...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Bring it to the bank.... They should replace it, they do insure themselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

A fake fifty's one thing. A coin that looks like a euro another :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Damn ten francs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Put it in the church collection basket, it'll never get checked, the perfect crime..... ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Lump wrote:
    Bring it to the bank.... They should replace it, they do insure themselves!

Nope, they can't. Think about. The law on counterfeit money is harsh but its the only way it can work; whoever ends up with it is fucked and you can be charged for knowingly passing it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Dec McC wrote:

Key word thinking of trying to spend it!

1. Rent man or some guy you get clothes off and pay back everyweek.

2. Taxi.

3. Shop in the a$$ hole of nowhere.

4. Go into shop pay for something with 100 euro note get 50 back walk out but walk straight back in and say you think they gave you a fake note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

4. Go into shop pay for something with 100 euro note get 50 back walk out but walk straight back in and say you think they gave you a fake note.

Now that just might work

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

Zillah wrote:
    Nope, they can't. Think about. The law on counterfeit money is harsh but its the only way it can work; whoever ends up with it is fucked and you can be charged for knowingly passing it on.

I love the name Zillah,

Conjures up images of 1850s Deep South. On a plantation with slaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Or it could back fire, and you get done for passing off fake 50's

John

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

just spend it if you can,

and as far as the pub not checking it coz they dont have a UV light over the till there is a very easy way to check a note just by touching it, and damn near fool proof.

id always check a €50 or €100 note if the punter looked at all dodgy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Dec McC

I'm going to a race meeting soon and i think i'll try and pass it off there. Bookies on the track don't have any special checks do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Hobbes wrote:
    Report it to the police, tell them where you got it at what time and who. It may be quite possible the shop is laundering them for you know.

You can try fobbing it off but if you get caught your royally fuked.

Lord Voldemort is laundering fake fifties?

Race meeting probably not a good idea, some of those trackside bookies are miserable, money hungry, auld ****es and would probably spot a dud a mile off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Yea I reckon they'd be well up on dud notes and can spot one a mile off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭dubmick

Dec McC wrote:
    I'm going to a race meeting soon and i think i'll try and pass it off there. Bookies on the track don't have any special checks do they?

No but they might batter you if they cop it as opposed to confiscating it.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Plug wrote:
    A couple of years ago a friend printed out E200 notes for me and one side was blank, I wrote tuff sh!t on that side:D The expression on peoples faces when they pick it up, priceless, should try it to your friends.
    This is gold. Must give it a shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

surely its not very PC for people to promote how they should pass on counterfit money. i've seen threads on here locked for less. and a lot less at that!

but here's my t'pence...
    - get rid of it to any foreign national. preferably one who looks new!
    - whilst still driving, buy a herald at the lights. flash it in good time so he can prepare the change!

T&#225 wrote: »
    surely its not very PC for people to promote how they should pass on counterfit money. i've seen threads on here locked for less. and a lot less at that!

but here's my t'pence...
    - get rid of it to any foreign national. preferably one who looks new!
    - whilst still driving, buy a herald at the lights. flash it in good time so he can prepare the change!

Think I'd rather have a dud fifty than a load of fifty and twenty cent coins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

There's a couple of bookies in Leopardstown that I certainly wouldn't try on.
    If you do just make sure you can run fast! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Dec McC wrote:
    ah christ spend away...
    i regularly buy a couple of them for the ould concerts and festivals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

what really annoys me is that if you get a dud from a shop or ATM and bring it to a bank or a shop and they recognise its a dud they will takeit off you and you get nothing - ridiculous and hardly encourages people to report conterfeits. Id just spend it somewhere - they will pass it on themselves again or whatever. If they bring it to their bank they might get money back for it cos they are a company but you wont so just go for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

oh yeah dont try it with a bookie they know by feelign the notes. my old boss coul dtell a dud just by picking it up freaked me out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Smoggy

In a busy pub ask some punter for change of a 50, or else a longue girl. They wont have the scanner thing so wont check it.

If you do try and spend it, use in some small convience store. Alot less likely to check it.

That's snide !!!!!
    What happens if the lounge girl gets stcuk with that 50 !?! The same witha small shop, these are people who cant afford to loose €50. The only shop you should spend it in is the one you got it from in the first place !!!! or at a push a big corporate place where 50 is a drop in the ocean !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭MR DAZ

Get a lap dance and shove it down somewhere;) ....then leave (quickly) with a smile on your face

im tellin you the best way to change it is with a new foreign national.

go into burger king on a friday nite, preferably with a big queue, in dublin and your laughin all the way to the bank

sure down here in cork (the lower harbour area) one can still £100 sterling for €10... the ould northern bank notes... and no problem spending them in the UK. this will be my 8 trip to the UK to buy goods. hehehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

oh yeah dont try it with a bookie they know by feelign the notes. my old boss coul dtell a dud just by picking it up freaked me out
    I work in a cash office and I found two fake 50's at the weekend while counting up the tills. I can tell them immediately just by touch. Anyway, for anyone in Kilkenny, keep an eye out, there seems to be a lot of fakes on the go. A friend of mine got a fake 50 out of a BOI ATM.

are they the one's taken from the northern bank raid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

btw, there are a few Latvian coins around as well - they look exactly like 2 Euro coins (if you're not checking closely) - Not funny, I think!

are they the one's taken from the northern bank raid?
    they sure are.

galah wrote:
    btw, there are a few Latvian coins around as well - they look exactly like 2 Euro coins (if you're not checking closely) - Not funny, I think!
    turkish lire too :D

they sure are.

I'll have a few off you, a grand sterling for a hundred euro, deal of the century. Going abroad soon so could change it over there, almost worth the risk of a rubber gloved hand up your hole if they think you're a terrorist

lads surely you cant advertise to sell them on here. i mean, the mods will go crazy if you're seen to be promoting such a thing in this thread.

over to the "For Sale" threads before the mods get u's...

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

im tellin you the best way to change it is with a new foreign national.

go into burger king on a friday nite, preferably with a big queue, in dublin and your laughin all the way to the bank

Yeah, cos those europeans have never seen the currency we use before ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

lads surely you cant advertise to sell them on here. i mean, the mods will go crazy if you're seen to be promoting such a thing in this thread.
    Would you like some help trying to find your sense of humor?

Kiera wrote:
    Would you like some help trying to find your sense of humor?

Who was joking? I want that cash