Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Night Clubbing Cork

• 01-07-2006 2:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭

Greetings

I done a similar sort of post last week on the Limerick forum and it was a great help.

What nightclubs are down in cork? Where do you go? Wheres good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

Fast Eddies have Go Deep every Saturday with Greg and Shane.
    Savoy gets in some big name dj's too. Wouldn't know much about the alternatives...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

They all suck major ass, imo.

The list includes:

The Savoy
    Fast Eddies
    Redz
    Rafterz (students only)
    Cubans
    Havana Browns
    The Qube

I'm sure there's more but I can't think of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭radiospan

Some specific nights:

Freakscene at The Qube (Wednesday nights, rock/alternative)
    Innercity at Fast Eddies (Friday nights, house/electro)
    Go Deep at Fast Eddies (Saturday nights, house with Greg & Shane (the guys from the legendary, now closed, Sir Henry's)

There's one as well at the White Rooms in the Bodega (don't know much it though)

There's also a certain British chain "super-club" in Cork I'm not mentioning. :mad:

Anyone know if Club One is re-opening? Vibes/Mangans hasn't been mentioned yet either. Most of them are the same old crap apart from the specific nights I listed aboue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭^whitey^

plazzTT wrote:
    There's also a certain British chain "super-club" in Cork I'm not mentioning. :mad:

He's referring to Blu Bambu ... pretty run of the mill. Never have any exciting DJ's from the few times i've been there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

There's a new club above Clancy's as well - the Liquid Lounge. It was nice enough and even had table service but the music was apalling. I haven't been there since Christmas and I haven't heard anybody else talking about it so for all I know it's closed already.

There's a new club above the Classic too. Never been in - all I heard about the place (from a psycho Polish bouncer who has since been fired) is that it's full of posers.

An Cruiscin Lan have delusions of being a club too. It's a late bar but they actually have some pretty decent gigs on. Last I heard they have an 'alternative' DJ in on Fridays which is supposed to be good too, but I'm always busy Fridays.

There's also the City Limits. I've only been there on a couple of Saturday nights and the atmosphere was really more like a late bar than a club, but the DJ is hot and she plays great music. Must look up who's in the Comedy Club this week........

It's quite a list when you stop to think about it. I'd say everywhere's been mentioned by now except for the gay clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭radiospan

It's quite a list when you stop to think about it. I'd say everywhere's been mentioned by now except for the gay clubs.

The Other Place, Instinct. Is that place Taboo (off Patrick Street) still open?

So that makes 15 or so clubs in Cork.

Half Moon Club, Everyman Palace. Someone else will have to tell you about these i've never been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Kazbah

Kickback on Fridays in the Everyman is a good night.
    As is Goldsoundz at the Bodega.

Noone mentioned City Limits aka The Comedy club

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

im sure taboo is long closed, i could be wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭youthacademy

tom-thebox wrote:
    Greetings

I done a similar sort of post last week on the Limerick forum and it was a great help.

What nightclubs are down in cork? Where do you go? Wheres good?

did you do this same discussion on limerick? did you find about the distinct lack of nightclub variety??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

:D Nobody's mentioned Mangans! Kip... or that place that's next to it... Club Renaissance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Fast Eddies have Go Deep every Saturday with Greg and Shane.
    Savoy gets in some big name dj's too. Wouldn't know much about the alternatives...

are thoes two still going.... jezzzzzzzzus they must be in their 40,s now...

they will or have ended up like the old perv in Henry's years ago.

Aspiration wrote:
    :D Nobody's mentioned Mangans! Kip... or that place that's next to it... Club Renaissance?

No they didnt and for good reason. Now you have. :mad:

If you like night club brawls with bouncers with an IQ of 2 then be sure to go to Mangens but if you value your life don't bother heading down that end of the lane at night.

^whitey^ wrote:
    No they didnt and for good reason. Now you have. :mad:

If you like night club brawls with bouncers with an IQ of 2 then be sure to go to Mangens but if you value your life don't bother heading down that end of the lane at night.

I apologise. :p It's pretty dire alright though, dunno how they're still getting business. I dunno, most clubs in town wreck my head. They go from one extreme (Blambu) to another (Mangans). :confused:

Aspiration wrote:
    I apologise. :p

Sorry about that rant :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Are the Half Moon still doing club nights? Haven't been since Camouflage finished there (a damn shame really, especially with the way Freakscene's gone a bit, well, rubbish). The Savoy really should be a better club than it is, the venue is great but I've yet to be in there on a regular night without the music being pretty crap (even by cork club standards).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭odhran

All the clubs in Cork are fairly rubbish, although in my inebriated state, I do seem to have a certain penchant for Fast Eddies... Oh, the shame! Freakscene in The Qube (Wednesday nights) can be worth a look, but it tends to be very hit-and-miss.

^whitey^ wrote:
    Sorry about that rant :)

No problem :)

Fast Eddies is strange. For a club I hate which plays chronic music, they had a Chili's cover band playing for CIT's Christmas Day last year... although then and again, the band weren't great either, and I do suppose it was CIT who organised the whole shebang.

As Fysh said, the Savoy is a good venue but my god the music in there is dire. Freakscene is getting boring, they play the same tracks week in, week out. The place on the second floor is more entertaining to be honest.

No, I think I'll stick with the Brog/Fransiscan/Quad for a bit longer...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

was in the savoy last night (satruday), music was as to be expected but the place was packed and there was good atmosphere (even if there was a drought on elegible males...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Deer

On Saturday my friend and I visited the following:

The Classic - crap
    Havana Browns - worse - that place should be shut down.
    Fast Eddies - had a good old dance there but not impressed by the crowd.
    The Qube - oh dear!

Oh yeah was in Scotts on Thursday night - oh how I laughed!

I am constantly disappointed at the level of crapness of the nightclubs in Cork. If I had money I'd open up my own. There's absolutely no talent around in Cork either! Then again myself and my friend were so demented the other night that we probably couldn't see them or else they were running from us!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

I was in the Savoy on Saturday night. The smoke coming from the floor was from me because i was on fire. Yowwww

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭JaneHudson

So what's the best alternative or interesting music club of a weekend? The white rooms? Anyone know of any place that does jazz or latin music?

Yeah - I totally need the name of an interesting club too. And one with interesting and intellectually and sexually stimulating men that frequent said club in Cork - be there one?:)

Deer wrote:
    Yeah - I totally need the name of an interesting club too. And one with interesting and intellectually and sexually stimulating men that frequent said club in Cork - be there one?:)

No.

Oh dear. Guess I'll have to stick to drinking myself stupid so that everyone I talk to is intellectually and sexually stimulating.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Deer wrote:
    Yeah - I totally need the name of an interesting club too. And one with interesting and intellectually and sexually stimulating women that frequent said club in Cork - be there one?:)

I frequently wonder this, too. And apparently the answer is no. This is, allegedly, why house parties are the answer. (Though I never understood that, as it implies that, while unable to find attractive & interesting & presumably single folk in a nightclub, you somehow have access to a large reservoir of them when throwing a party at your house).

I'll settle for somewhere not crap with a late license and a propensity to play metal or hard rock (ie not Freakscene with its "well, we play Green Day so we're punk" music policy and crap choice of venue).

OI, im an interesting and smart chick that occasionally visits clubs, i take vague offence that we don't exist :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

Deer wrote:
    On Saturday my friend and I visited the following:

The Classic - crap
    Havana Browns - worse - that place should be shut down.
    Fast Eddies - had a good old dance there but not impressed by the crowd.
    The Qube - oh dear!
    you must have spent a fortune?
    The Classic - if you went upstairs - €12 (approx)
    Havana Browns - €14 - on a sat night anyway
    Fast Eddies - I have no idea, I haven't been there since college, and it cost me £5!
    The Qube - what is it, €5 after 11.30, is it more on a Sat night?

so that's €30 - €40 just on going to different venues?
    unless you are a garda, or you were out with one who could get you in for free, I don't see the point, that's a crazy amount of money, when there's perfectly good late bars that you can go to for free! The Bodega, the Bróg, the Quad, the Slate, even the Oak is better than paying your way into Havana Browns on a Saturday night!

Oh - I know - we drank a bottle of cava and half a bottle of vodka before we even went out so we were a bit restless to say the least. And my friend is a wagon - she dragged me!

Was in Bodega. Could have stayed there quite happily. Didn't pay for Qube or for Classic. Not with guard though. Fast Eddies was €15.00 because of some DJ night. Can remember arguing with the lady at the ticket desk about that.

Can I just reiterate though that I personally feel that Havana Browns is the village of the damned - and not in a fun anything goes debaucherous way:mad: I refuse point blank to ever darken that door.

Think I'll try the Savoy after Cork week. Is the music good?

Where is the Slate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

Deer wrote:
    Think I'll try the Savoy after Cork week. Is the music good?

Where is the Slate?

I've only ever gone to Gigs in the Savoy, so I've no idea, the Slate is next door to the Quad, it used to be Molly's and after that Bar Rhumba...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭shnaek

Deer wrote:
    Oh dear. Guess I'll have to stick to drinking myself stupid so that everyone I talk to is intellectually and sexually stimulating.

I think that's the policy in Cork and lots of other places these days. Let's play such sh*te music that the feckers will have to drink themselves into a state where they can blank out this crap.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭iPink

Is there no club in Cork that plays decent hip-hop, rap or reggae?
    I was in the vaults in Dublin last year & the music was fantastic, the crowd really cool & it's an amazing place too!

Deer wrote:
    with interesting and intellectually ...stimulating men

You're joking? How're you going to meet someone interesting in a club? The typical conversation is something like :

BLOKE : Hi!
    GIRL : What?
    BLOKE : I said HI!
    GIRL : Oh, hello.
    BLOKE : What's your name?
    BLOKE : WHAT'S YOUR NAME?
    GIRL : WHAT?
    BLOKE : Oh, **** it.

How're you supposed to be interesting and intellectual when you can't hear a word that's being said?

This used to be fun in the old college days when you'd just dance around a bit then lob the gob at any girl you whoose eye you could catch. :)

Gets old fast though.....

You're joking? How're you going to meet someone interesting in a club? The typical conversation is something like :

BLOKE : Hi!
    BLOKE : I said HI!
    GIRL : Oh, hello.
    BLOKE : What's your name?
    BLOKE : WHAT'S YOUR NAME?
    GIRL : WHAT?
    BLOKE : Oh, **** it.

How're you supposed to be interesting and intellectual when you can't hear a word that's being said?

This used to be fun in the old college days when you'd just dance around a bit then lob the gob at any girl you whoose eye you could catch. :)

Gets old fast though.....

Smoking room....... :)

Smoking rooms are horribly full of smokers

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

Clearly what must be done, is for all the Cork boards users to band together and create a co-op alternative, multi-genre club! with smokeless smoking rooms!

To be honest I've always found cork clubs to be really samey. Music is way too loud, they let too many people in, and there's very little range in what you get to hear.

Tazzle wrote:
    they let too many people in

That's my main problem, right there. I hate being pressed up against a bunch of sweaty randomers. I like a bit of room to move if I'm dancing!

Deer wrote:
    Smoking room....... :)

What Tree said.

I hate it when a club is too crowded. I spent most of New Years Eve periously close to some big guy's armpits. He smelled like a bear and seemed to follow me around the place. Sometimes I go straight on the tear after a long shift and probably don't smell so fresh but this guy reeked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

Goldsounds which is the alternative music freakscene club on in the White Rooms (Bodega) on Friday nights is having a special night on Friday July 28th, it'll be moving for a one off to the Savoy and only 6 euro in, good music guaranteed.

"Lob the gob", eh? I am intrigued by your ideas. Do you have a newsletter I can subscribe to?

Seriously though...what a phrase. Would it have to be detached from the rest of you or does your body tag along comet-style?

(And yes, I know I'm taking this in the direction of frivolous nonsense. Discussing the possibility of a decent club in cork with a clientele diverse enough for all of us to meet people we like/find attractive in there, as well as having music to cater to all our tastes and at the various volumes we require, is only going to make us more depressed at the state of Cork's nightlife. Instead, I bring you nonsensical discussion about things that don't matter. So it's just like the pub!)

id imagine teh body would tag along. often lobbing the gob is done in hope of finding other useful body parts in your bed later that evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭DilbertPartII

Tree wrote:
    id imagine teh body would tag along. often lobbing the gob is done in hope of finding other useful body parts in your bed later that evening

Its better than giving her the "hook" (heavy oo) as my friend from county kerry used to say... I leave that to your imagination...

all i can think of is hooks for calving (had lots of ppl ringin me lookin for vets tonight)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Sputtering

You know the way Club One closed down? I hear they're opening up a new one. Is that true?

Savoy is great craic cos you always bump into people you know there :) Thats always class but once you lose your friends in there be prepared to spend the rest of the night looking for them. Lovely place though. No. 1 in my opinion :)

DO NOT GO TO REDZ... Who remembers such catchy phrases from inside there such as "I'd like to give a big shout out to Caoimhe from Regina Mundai celebrating her 17th birthday"... just not right!

I leave that to your imagination...

ewwww! I thought I was disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭odhran

comet wrote:
    Goldsounds which is the alternative music freakscene club on in the White Rooms (Bodega) on Friday nights is having a special night on Friday July 28th, it'll be moving for a one off to the Savoy and only 6 euro in, good music guaranteed.

I really want to try it out, but I'm cursed with working Friday nights. Is the music actually alternative? By the way, if any of you were accosted by a tall (and extremely drunk) guy with long dark hair at Freakscene on Wednesday night, I wish to apologise... I'm never touching After Shock again :)

i may be found bounciin around in the savoy tonight if i can make it through the night w/o crashin coz im so shattered

woooo for the bouncing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

D-Generate wrote:
    I was in the Savoy on Saturday night. The smoke coming from the floor was from me because i was on fire. Yowwww

I actually laughed out loud. You sad bastard :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

Cubins - worst place ever. So bad it makes Havan Browns seem less crap, but still awful, and The Savoy seem like its slightly better also. Not much though.