Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stabbing

• 01-07-2006 7:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Right, last night my younger brother went off to a party up the road with about 20 of his friends. The party ended at about 2 or 3 AM and the group of 20 decide to go get some munch in a near by resteraunt. Walking down past a well known park in South Dublin, four lads jumped out and ambush the group demanding their phones. Before they could even reach in to their pockets three of them had been stabbed. All three ended up in the emergency room while the rest of the group made it safely away to nearby houses.

What in the name of holy bejesus goes on in someone's head that they think it might be a good fucking idea to stab someone? You hear about stabbings on the news etc. all the time but the reality of it all has only hit me now. Some prick wanted to put a blade in to someone else because he thinks he's hard. I can't understand in any context how anyone might see this as a reasonable or justifyable action. Can someone please explain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Sorry to hear about about that. It just's best not to think about the mentality of people like that - I often wonder myself, its impossible to try and even comprehend how some people are such scum. Do they go home later thinking "What a great night, I stabbed someone?" As I said, its just impossible to comprehend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

What park was it near?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Binomate wrote:
    Right, last night my younger brother went off to a party up the road with about 20 of his friends. The party ended at about 2 or 3 AM and the group of 20 decide to go get some munch in a near by resteraunt. Walking down past a well known park in South Dublin, four lads jumped out and ambush the group demanding their phones. Before they could even reach in to their pockets three of them had been stabbed. All three ended up in the emergency room while the rest of the group made it safely away to nearby houses.

What in the name of holy bejesus goes on in someone's head that they think it might be a good fucking idea to stab someone? You hear about stabbings on the news etc. all the time but the reality of it all has only hit me now. Some prick wanted to put a blade in to someone else because he thinks he's hard. I can't understand in any context how anyone might see this as a reasonable or justifyable action. Can someone please explain?

Thats absolutely disgraceful, sorry to hear that. Are your brother and his friends ok? Did you go to the Gaurds, what did they do??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

The Park was Bushy Park. Gardaí and Ambulances were called and from what I heard, people were arested who were hanging around the park, found with blood on their clothes. Caught red handed so to speak. Wouldn't suprise me if they get away with it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

sorry to hear about that, but it's good to see that someone was arrested.

when i was stabbed, i called the cops and told them where the guy who stabbed me was. they wouldn't do anything about it because i had been drinking. told me to come back in the morning.

the guy who stabbed me was in his early 30's. his reason for stabbing me? i'm from Leixlip and he doesn't like people from Leixlip. i kid you not.
    there really has to be something wrong with you if you stab someone.
    i hope those pricks get locked up and ass raped in the joy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Holy ....:eek: That is truly unbelievable. They stabbed them before they even had a chance to give up their phones? It just shows how little regard the scum* have for normal civilised behaviour. My initial knee jerk response is hoping that one day scum like that pick on the wrong person who puts them in a box, but sadly that's no solution either. Loooong jail terms may be the only deterrent, but even that's debatable. Jesus I don't know. I really don't. I'm glad they were caught and hope they get what's coming to them, but sadly that may prove a vain hope. Hope the injured are allright.

*They are scum, some people are just a waste of breath and resources, regardless of upbringing and I'll have no truck with some in the bleeding hearts brigade who by trying to explain it only serve to partially condone this kind of thuggery.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Those people are idiots. Wtf? Even if you *are* drunk why the holy hell do you have a knife on you? They'd better not get away with it.

Gods, I'm down the road from bushy park... that's scary...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Thats feckin terrible mate, i wish them well. If they decide to press charges don't hold your breath on a trial in the near future. I'm only back from jury service about an incident which happened 2 1/2 years ago so obviously these things drag on for ages. Something similiar strangely enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

julep wrote:
    when i was stabbed, i called the cops and told them where the guy who stabbed me was. they wouldn't do anything about it because i had been drinking. told me to come back in the morning

that is ridiculous :mad: :mad:

Mossy Monk wrote:
    that is ridiculous :mad: :mad:
    indeed.
    i wasn't too badly wounded. stanley knife in the hand.
    the thing is, he was still there in the pub, with a knife that he had already used to stab someone and the cops just left him there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

It is soon coming to the stage where people in our cities will have to carry handguns to stay safe.

And it was nothing short of a thundering disgrace that the Government voted down the FG bill to allow householders use Violence to defend their homes as necessary. I was so looking forward to defending my home from Fianna Fail canvassers this time next year. Lock and load lads. :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Currently overseas in the metro that surrounds Los Angeles. This tragic incident would not be all that unusual here with the gang problems they have. Sad but true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Diarmiud

julep wrote:
    indeed.
    i wasn't too badly wounded. stanley knife in the hand.
    the thing is, he was still there in the pub, with a knife that he had already used to stab someone and the cops just left him there.

That is unbelieveble. Did you complain to the guards about their lack of action?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Binomate wrote:
    the group of 20 decide to go get some munch in a near by resteraunt. Walking down past a well known park in South Dublin, four lads jumped out
    Damn southsider scumbags. :rolleyes:
    That's amazing though... you'd think there'd be safety in numbers... that 4 scumbags would see 20 people and think "aahh, better not".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Yeah but the scumbags had blades, which probably made them think they were invincible. Plus, if things turned sour for them, all they'd have to do is stick someone, and the sight of that would make the majority of people back straight off and let them go.

\pimps Vigilante Squad idea once more.

/edit: passed my 2000 post mark and I didn't even notice. Aw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

I think they got a suprise when they realised there was so many of them and only 4 of them so they panicked, stabbed them and ran...

Diarmiud wrote:
    That is unbelieveble. Did you complain to the guards about their lack of action?
    i spoke to them on the street that night and asked why they wouldn't go and arrest the guy who stabbed me.
    they said there was nothing they could do because i had been drinking.
    i just didn't know what to say after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

julep wrote:
    they said there was nothing they could do because i had been drinking.

Thats just bullsh!t...so you dont have a right to protection just because of the type of liquid you have consumed?

In no other country would that be accepted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Awfull to hear about the stabbing, i really do wonder about the mentality of some people that they think there all tough and have this need to go out and harm someone for the sake of a stupid phone, however saying that it does kinda seem that they would have just wanted to go out and hurt someone given the fact that they didnt let the people get the phone s in the first place. its just sick in the head. Im glad to hear the guards reacted so quickly and arrrests were made. Hope all involved are okay.

Julep in relation to your case that just sounds mad, i dont understand why the guards did not respond just because you were drinking. what do they think ? that because you were drinking you might have instigated the whole thing or you were incapable of dicussing the matter properly. Im sure at that stage you were farelly sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Steoob

try not to take this the wrong way but you weren't there OP so maybe your not gettin the full version of the story.. people are known to lie to cover up something that they dont want to tell their family...

but if its all true then im truley shocked, i always walked around the parts of the south side thinking i was as safe as houses..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭dmck2886

Of late scumbags are running riot and the Garda can't/won't do anything about it, its a bit sad when you can't walk around your own area at night without the fear of being a victim of little scumbags who are trying to make a name for themselfs. I think people should be allowed to carry the likes of pepper spray, stun guns and tasers to protect themselfs. The laws need to be changed either be more hard on the scumbags that make peoples lives a misery or to allow people carry pepper spray, stun guns, tasers and the like.

dmck2886 wrote:
    Of late scumbags are running riot and the Garda can't/won't do anything about it, its a bit sad when you can't walk around your own area at night without the fear of being a victim of little scumbags who are trying to make a name for themselfs. I think people should be allowed to carry the likes of pepper spray, stun guns and tasers to protect themselfs. The laws need to be changed either be more hard on the scumbags that make peoples lives a misery or to allow people carry pepper spray, stun guns, tasers and the like.

People will never be able to carry things like stun guns etc around, as it will just probable lead to more problems for the garda. Its true what you say that its sad that you cant walk anywhere without been on your guard, but to be honest i suppose to some extent you have always had to just be carefull, dont be walking around the streets on your own pitch dark at night if you can. My sister was mugged very close to where we live on a busy road, did anyone stop to help ? no. she s okay now, but its unreal what some "scum" (no matter where your from) will do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Pepper Spray is legal to carry here isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭dmck2886

Heyes wrote:
    People will never be able to carry things like stun guns etc around, as it will just probable lead to more problems for the garda.

Well if the garda done their job and put these scumbags behind bars on their first offence people wont have to resort to carry stun guns etc to protect themselfs

dmck2886 wrote:
    Well if the garda done their job and put these scumbags behind bars on their first offence people wont have to resort to carry stun guns etc to protect themselfs

Yes true, however our prisons wouldnt be able to cope with the amount of people going in.. Its unfortunately a vicious circle that is badly run by our governement funding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Glad someone was caught in the original case, OP. People who go out and do this sort of thing just look for victims for the hell of it, they obviously dont think of any consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Binomate wrote:
    people were arested who were hanging around the park, found with blood on their clothes. Caught red handed so to speak. Wouldn't suprise me if they get away with it though.

Sorry to hear about your brother and his friends.

You could be right - they possibly will get away with it.

However if it was your brother that did the stabbing then he probably wouldn't get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

If this is the same 15 or so lads hammered drunk that I saw walking down towards Eddie rockets last night at about 3:15, then I'm sorry to hear that mate. None of them were doing anything wrong besides being a bit merry. But quite a lot of lads from other areas nowhere close use Bushy Park as a place to mug people because its impossible for the cops to catch them in there. I either avoid it and walk beside the school on the road or end up running very fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Bring back the vigis......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

JAYsus. Sorry to hear about that, hope everyone's alright. I live literally 3 minutes from Bushy and never had any hassle there myself, but I may be avoiding it from now on. Especially those late night strolls near the river :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

Some people are just complete scum that don't deserve to live, really. That's just how it is. I got my face kicked in about 2 months ago because some lad wanted my phone. I'm not the fighting type, so I didn't put up any resistance. Didn't bloody change the outcome, I couldn't leave the house for 3 weeks because I looked lik the elephant man. It was an amazing experience to witness humanity in it's lowest form. I wish I could say that most of them will get what's coming to them, but most of them won't, they'll live on their lives being scum and ****ing enjoying it... It is rather hard to be happy in including yourself as part of the human race. If these people are part of it, I don't want to me :\

Sorry to hear about that man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Binomate wrote:
    All three ended up in the emergency room while the rest of the group made it safely away to nearby houses.

Its great that the remaing 17 ran away.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Bring back the vigis......
    or maybe use all that energy to get the politicians to give the cops a bit more power over these scumbags and name & shame inept and lazy cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, bushy park is a dodgy one at night. As said, plenty of scumbags come down from Finglas (and of course from Templeogue/Terenure) because the people and Gardai don't know them there and go down the back because it's next to impossible to get caught by the Gardai in there.

It's one thing someone just being a thug and assaulting people for money, but having zero regard for human life is another step down the ladder altogether.

Carrying weapons to defend yourself is generally a bad idea - more often than not, the weapon will be turned on you, and even if you manage to use it, you'll probably find yourself in the dock and paying compensation to some worthless piece of **** who'd sooner stab you in the head than look at you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

julep wrote:
    or maybe use all that energy to get the politicians to give the cops a bit more power over these scumbags and name & shame inept and lazy cops.

Well I was gonna say "more jails, tougher judges, less rights for criminals, and harsher sentences", but I'm sure someone will respond to that with "more love, education, cuddles, care, and forgiveness".

Just chuck them in jail and throw away the key! I don't care what underpriveledged background you're from, or how much your dad drank, you stab someone, you go to jail for minimum 8 years.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

I'm pretty sure almost every scumbag in the Knocklyon/Terenure/Templeogue area are scobies from Whitechurch doing the rounds.

Only time I ever passed bushy at that time of night in anything travelling less than 50 km/h was a few years back on a bicycle. And it sobered me up to no end. A really dangerous place at that time of night.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Well I was gonna say "more jails, tougher judges, less rights for criminals, and harsher sentences", but I'm sure someone will respond to that with "more love, education, cuddles, care, and forgiveness".

Just chuck them in jail and throw away the key! I don't care what underpriveledged background you're from, or how much your dad drank, you stab someone, you go to jail for minimum 8 years.
    no, i'm with you on that one.
    i had a fairly rough childhood and i committed some crimes (nothing too serious) when i was younger, but i was always willing to face my punishment. thankfully i never had to go to jail though.
    it's a cliche, but, if you can't face the time, then don't do the crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

DaveMcG wrote:

The 'more love, education...' etc argument is only brought out when the perpetrators are from underprivileged backgrounds.

If a posh dude does the stabbing then the same woolly liberals will be screaming for him to be locked up for life.

The theory that the middle / upper classes get treated easier by the courts is b*llocks.

Real-life example: Anabels case vs New Ross murder of Swedish flower seller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

seamus wrote:
    Yeah, bushy park is a dodgy one at night. As said, plenty of scumbags come down from Finglas (and of course from Templeogue/Terenure) because the people and Gardai don't know them there and go down the back because it's next to impossible to get caught by the Gardai in there.

Finglas? You sure you dont mean tallaght? Thats where most of the scum would come down from.

Find it a bit strange that 4 lads where sitting in the park at 3am waiting for bystanders to walk past to mug/stab them. Fair play to the rest of the lads for legging it off though, that was well sound of them....

Where abouts did it happen? Near the main road? Going through/near any park at 3am is always a dodgy idea.

no possibility it could be locals?

everyone seems to be placing the blame elsewhere. there are scumbags in every town in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

julep wrote:
    no possibility it could be locals?

everyone seems to be placing the blame elsewhere. there are scumbags in every town in the country.

If you knew Terenure/Templeouge, you would know that if it was locals the lads would know who they are.

Bushy park is extremely inaccessible but located quite close to many commoditys such as off-licenses, shopping centres and restarants/chippers. Of the many parks in Dublin it's is the best to drink in if your a scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭poobum

Binomate wrote:
    The Park was Bushy Park. Gardaí and Ambulances were called and from what I heard, people were arested who were hanging around the park, found with blood on their clothes. Caught red handed so to speak. Wouldn't suprise me if they get away with it though.
    kind ainteresting i heard about dat...but what wud of been only a nite b4...my mate got put in hospital by 4 guys...for no reason! he was walking home from my sis 21st...when he was walking by and one of da lads smashed him in head with brick...split head open...he went to ground den one tried to strangle him...and they stamped on his head for few mins till ppl stopped it! da guys ran off...they er looking for a fite...they are scum! my friend nearly died! and likely wud of had it not been stopped! its horrible! disgustion stuff....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭poobum

krazy_8s wrote:
    If you knew Terenure/Templeouge, you would know that if it was locals the lads would know who they are.

Bushy park is extremely inaccessible but located quite close to many commoditys such as off-licenses, shopping centres and restarants/chippers. Of the many parks in Dublin it's is the best to drink in if your a scumbag.
    cept tymon!(think its how spelt)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

How very strange. I've gone for literally hundreds of late night walks in Bushy park and I have not once seen another living soul. This was a few years ago mind you. Perhaps I was there too late, im talking three/four/five o'clock in the morning. Maybe all the scumbags had gone to bed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭oulu

You dont know that, how can you think that scumbags only come from certain area types, did you not hear about the guys outside of annabells a few yrs back.scumbags is not a social factor you either are or are not a scumbag.
    CuLT wrote:
    I'm pretty sure almost every scumbag in the Knocklyon/Terenure/Templeogue area are scobies from Whitechurch doing the rounds.

Only time I ever passed bushy at that time of night in anything travelling less than 50 km/h was a few years back on a bicycle. And it sobered me up to no end. A really dangerous place at that time of night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

If this happened in Singapore, those scumbags would probably now be in jail where they would be treated how they deserve for a couple of years then they'd be hanged. Harsh? Maybe. But with the death penalty as a deterant, the crime rate out there is far lower than here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

oulu wrote:
    You dont know that, how can you think that scumbags only come from certain area types, did you not hear about the guys outside of annabells a few yrs back.scumbags is not a social factor you either are or are not a scumbag.

*yawn*

Most violent attacks are by skangers.

Anyway - didn't the victim in the Anabels case throw the first punch? No one is saying he deserved to die but if he started the fight then that should be taken into account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

*yawn*

Most violent attacks are by skangers.

Most ridiculous generalisation I have ever seen. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭oulu

to be a skanger is somebody rich nor poor who attacks an innocent person
    *yawn*

Anyway - didn't the victim in the Anabels case throw the first punch? No one is saying he deserved to die but if he started the fight then that should be taken into account?
    Most violent attacks are by skangers