Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The boy with divine powers

• 29-06-2006 10:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭

"15 year old Ram Bahadur Bamjan has been meditating under a banyan tree in Central Nepal since 15th May 2005, earning himself the name ‘Buddha reincarnate’. His family say he has had no food or water and he will continue to meditate for another six years until he gains enlightenment. Doctors say no person could survive this way for more than two weeks.

As tens of thousands of pilgrims flock to the site, The Boy With Divine Powers will explore whether this is an extreme demonstration of power or no more than an elaborate hoax.

For the first time ever, cameras have been allowed beyond the 50 metre fence that guards Ram. Filming him 24/7, we will be able to see if he leaves the tree or is somehow getting food and water. Doctors will also view the footage and give their views on what is happening to his body and how he might be enduring what is deemed physically impossible. "

It's on Discovery Channel now for anyone who wants to watch. I don't know what's going on. Madness.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Wow, thats insane. No way could it be real...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I bet David Blaine is livid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I'd say hes longing for a burger and some chips. :) I must check it out and see if its on telly here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

He's gone missing now i think, saw something about him on sky news months ago.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ram_Bamjan

"Disappearance

Bomjon, after about ten months of meditation, went missing on March 11, 2006. It is unclear whether or not he voluntarily left for the local jungles or was abducted. Some believe he ventured farther into the jungle to seek a more serene place for intensive meditation. There is an ongoing investigation.[6] Police abandoned the search after the possibility of foul play was eliminated. Interestingly, the authorities froze the bank account of the local committee managing the crowds, which had now gathered more than Rs. 600,000.[7]

On March 19, the Chairman of the Om Namo Buddha Tapaswi Sewa Samiti (ONBTSS), Bed Bahadur Lama, and his colleagues allegedly met with Bomjan about 2 miles (3 kilometers) south-west of his meditation site. They say they spoke to him for thirty-minutes, during which Bomjan told them there is no peace here and he would return in six years. He left a message for his parents telling them not to worry. He has not been seen nor heard from since."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

He's probably a robot

Enlightenment! Pfft.... get some sex and beer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

As soon as I tuned in they were discussing money...

It would be cool if it was real.Just to prove that there is things that can be done that not all of us can comprehend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

so as soon as the cameras came in, he went missin?

btw, this was posted today, yet the news clipping from kaisersose says he went missin on march 11th?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Wacky stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

so what was the conclusion of the documentary, for those who havent seen it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

Just to prove that there is things that can be done that not all of us can comprehend.

Yeah. Like going out for a few drinks with £85 and coming home adrunken mess with £2.70. Im bitter.

That meditaion boy is is very cool. I would kill for that kind of concen..... la la la la

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Between 5:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. nobody is allowed to see him, and a screen is erected for that purpose. Many people speculate that he eats and drinks during this time.

Case closed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Case closed?
    Yep

and thats the end of that!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

Wait! What about all the meditation? At least 12 hours a day under a tree that can be proven, and hes just a boy! Its all very odd!

"Surely some revelation is at hand;
    Surely the Second Coming is at hand.
    The Second Coming! Hardly are those words out
    When a vast image out of Spiritus Mundi
    Troubles my sight: somewhere in sands of the desert
    A shape with lion body and the head of a man,
    A gaze blank and pitiless as the sun"

Hes a deity, a deity I telle ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

That was a very interesting documentary. That boy had some serious meditation skills. Just to clarify, the film crew did observe him uninterrupted for four days/nights straight and confirmed that he didn't drink or eat anything. Four days being the time in which it takes a human to die from not eating and drinking.

The brother (who runs the more side showy aspect of the thing) seems a pretty shady character but a nonetheless impressive feat for the boy at the centre of it all, regardless of how much of it is a scam or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭DOLEMAN

It's always funny how these people with incredible powers live in places where there is a lack of education, scientists etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

That was a very interesting documentary. That boy had some serious meditation skills. Just to clarify, the film crew did observe him uninterrupted for four days/nights straight and confirmed that he didn't drink or eat anything. Four days being the time in which it takes a human to die from not eating and drinking.

The brother (who runs the more side showy aspect of the thing) seems a pretty shady character but a nonetheless impressive feat for the boy at the centre of it all, regardless of how much of it is a scam or not.

i saw a bit of this before i fell asleep.

weren't they pushed back to a 50m mark at night fall and that their infra red cameras couldn't spot the boy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

Cremo wrote:
    i saw a bit of this before i fell asleep.

weren't they pushed back to a 50m mark at night fall and that their infra red cameras couldn't spot the boy

Yes but they were allowed back in a few days later and filmed him constantly for almost 100 hours I believe. It really was something to behold. It made me think about finding out more about eastern methods of medidtation and yoga.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Four days being the time in which it takes a human to die from not eating and drinking.

Piffle, four days?Where did ya get that from. The hunger strikers lasted on average 61 days with no food, they took water and a bit of salt. It would take a number of weeks to die with no food or water at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

dubtom wrote:
    Piffle, four days?Where did ya get that from. The hunger strikers lasted on average 61 days with no food, they took water and a bit of salt. It would take a number of weeks to die with no food or water at all.

The important point is that the hunger strikers took water while this boy appears to have not. You can last far longer without food than you can without water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

dubtom wrote:
    they had medical experts on and they said that 4-5 days is the timeframe someone can go without food and water. you last longer when you take water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭jobonar

I bet David Blaine is livid!

LOL! :D he's just jealous!

freaky stuff tho doubt its true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

This boy has a wiki page, where it goes into detail about water deprivation. Aparently, some guy went 16 days without water in the Guinness Book of Records.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭dream brother

As much as I'ld like to believe this, I've always had suspicion about things like that, but it would be kool to see it happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

DOLEMAN wrote:
    It's always funny how these people with incredible powers live in places where there is a lack of education, scientists etc...

Not really. The lack of education and scientists may be useful in helping people to get in touch with the sacred.

MM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LB6

Well I fell asleep just after they had the time lapse camera on him. What happened in the end? Is he still there? Supposed to be staying there for 6 yrs I think.