Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever been in while your abode was robbed?

• 28-06-2006 10:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭

I woke up one night to the blast of my alarm, and the sound of my patio door sliding.
    Jumped out of bed, grabbed the hand axe from under the bed and went downstairs like something out of an episode of 24. No-one there, nothing taken, but patio door open.

Next day I told my neighbour, he said he saw a very big fella legging up the road after my alarm went off. I didn't press him on why he never rang me or the cops...

Anyone else experienced anything like this, and what about having a weapon at the ready?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

A hand-axe! Jaysus all I have under my bed is a stack of porno mags and a load of *ahem* used tissues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

A mate of mine was having trouble sleeping one night, tossing and turning. Around 5.30am he opened his eyes to see someone standing in the bedroom door. Now this guy, who is built like a tank, leaps out of his bed screaming...grabs the guy and gives him a few digs. Half asleep and holding onto your man the first thing he shouts is "WHERES THE F**KING CAT?" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Brother To God

Guys broke into my house through the roof,I was downstairs and did not even notice,i usually lock my door,it seems they went up through the attic and cut down through into my room,I went into my room and saw no one,saw the mess and all my missing stuff and cried,I think it was builders working near by as they had the right tools for the job,what made it worse was paying one of them to repair the hole as if they had not robbed me enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

democrates wrote:
    Jumped out of bed, grabbed the hand axe from under the bed

Hand axe! Fair play! I've got a few pairs of shoes and a guitar under mine.

On topic: No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I have a sword somewhere down the back of my bed... along with lots of missing remote controls..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

democrates wrote:
    I woke up one night to the blast of my alarm, and the sound of my patio door sliding.

Is that one of thosepatio doors without the added bolt where they can simply liftit off its tracks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭democrates

OctavarIan wrote:
    Hand axe! Fair play! I've got a few pairs of shoes and a guitar under mine.

On topic: No
    And I bet you love jammin' "I'm a sole man". Sorry

But I am conflicted on the whole "If it's me or you it's you every time" approach vs not wanting to kill some poor sod robbing for a fix.

Is that one of thosepatio doors without the added bolt where they can simply liftit off its tracks?
    I've added the bolt myself since - you know what you're talking about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

:rolleyes: This has never happened to me.

Also I can categorically state that while I've purchased over 250 litres of Nitric acid over the last five years - this was purely for scientific experiments!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Can someone clarify this one?

A person breaks into my house.
    I use excessive force to restrain him.

I know that I can be prosecuted for this but does that mean that the burglar will be not charged with breaking into the house in the first place?

Or does the 'punish the retaliator not the person who starts the fight'* theory kick in?

* very common in modern Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

I'd love to find someone in my house, They'd get such a surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Giblet wrote:
    Same here... but then my house is completely made of donkeys and people tend to be surprised by it.

Nice one Charlie H....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Never been robbed but have my hockey sticks waiting, dieing to give them a go! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭Sparko

No, thank god. I've had nights where I thought someone had broken in and I grabbed my hockey stick from under the bed and went rushing down but there was no-one there. Just those random noises houses make..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

I have a sword somewhere down the back of my bed... along with lots of missing remote controls..

yep, ya dont know what fun is till you've been jabbed in the ass by a sword at 4am sure ya dont?! ;)

I've so many damned things at hand it would probably take me 20 mins to choose my weapon, by which time I'd prolly be dead.....umm....../me sees flaw in master plan.

b

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Giblet wrote:

Yeah, but surely you don't sleep in the bondage gear all the time?* :D

* I couldn't resist, it will be worth the ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

About five, maybe even six years ago. My house got broken into while everyone was asleep. The top window in the front room was left open and the burglar reached in and opened up the main window, then went into the office and kitchen and opened every single press. He never closed them in fear of them making any noise. The mother thought one of the kids were playing a practical joke until she noticed her bag and car missing from outside. There was 20 pounds in the bag and he took the car keys from near by.

The car was about 10 metres away from the house in the middle of the raod in the estate. He opened the door and pushed it a bit to avoid making any familar noise outside that might wake up anybody in the house. Must of got disturbed or freaked out a bit.

A few neighbours came down the next morning when they saw the gaurds and a load of them said that they awoken by dogs barking in the middle of the night. We even had a dog! Little terrier that slept in a room next to the kitchen! She must not have barked while he was in the house!! ffs!

About a month later we were told that the guy who robbed us gave himself to the gaurds and admitted to robbing about 20 houses nearby. He lived nearby and i knew from my kids days where everybody hung around in groups. The ****er got off as he went to rehab to get off pills and hash. He's a known scumbag drug dealer now. All the windows in his house have been smashed by parents nearby and his famillly moved away. That's the only way to sort that kinda ****e out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

I remember I fell asleep in the sitting room watching telly and finding some guy halfway in my living room window.

"Just doing my aerobics" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

back in october/november.

Our next door neighbour was throwing a house party, we were heavily involved in setting it up (providing entertainment, drinks etc) and there is a common car park between all the houses behind the back gardens. So we were moving in and out of our house into the next door neighbour's house setting stuff up, and at one point early in the party i popped back to our house to make a sandwhich. While cooking up my meal for the day i heard a noise upstairs. a sort of rustling. So i went upstairs and looked around, i was under the assumption that one of the cats owned by the other people on our street had come into the house in search of food. Or it was a mouse. But i assumed it was an animal all the same. Banged around to see if i could scare it out of one of the beds. nothing happened. I shrugged went back downstairs got my food and returned to the party.

an hour later my housemate, feeling ill parted from the party and went home. about 3am or 4am i returned.

next morning i got up to do some filming, discovered that the 1 grand worth video camera i had borrowed from my university was gone, as was my own camcorder and digital camera. My housemate also had his camera stolen.

It turned out that our back area which should have been sealed from any outsiders had only days before hand been opened up cause one of our neighbours complained of the noise cause by people using the electronic door beside his house at ungodly hours, so the door was removed completely. So our sealed car park was open on the night of the party. Cause we had to move stuff into our neighbours for the party, our back door was left unlocked as we were going back and forward.

Someone had sneaked into the house while we were moving stuff over. They were the ones making noise when i returned and had hidden in the closet (we found the next day the box in the closet had been crushed from someone standing on it.) because i thought it was an animal i didnt look in any of the rooms which were closed.

i wonder what would have happened if i had opened the closet (I was standing in front of it looking into my housemates room for at least 5 minutes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

A plumber on the job one day came in and said his place was robbed,they took nothing from house but his van keys.They drove off with van full of his tools(mostly cordless stuff),then they had the neck to drive back to house and drop empty van back in middle of night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

No but I'd absolutely cack myself if they did. I thought there was someone a few weeks ago so I did my Jack Bauer assessing the area before entering throughout the house but there was no one there. I had a locker door in my hand too, but if I found someone I probably would have just started crying and not slept for a good year or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    Can someone clarify this one?

A person breaks into my house.
    I use excessive force to restrain him.

I know that I can be prosecuted for this but does that mean that the burglar will be not charged with breaking into the house in the first place?

Or does the 'punish the retaliator not the person who starts the fight'* theory kick in?

* very common in modern Ireland.

I believe once they come upstairs their fair game, you have the right to protect yourself and property. I remember years ago a case where a fella shot a burgular on his stairs with a shotgun and killed him, as far as I know he got off with it. The guy in question is a well know starter motor fixer with a few shops about the place.
    Only had one instance of been robbed. We were getting an attic conversion and the front door had been removed to get the new stairs in. Left off all day it was because the carpenter was busy with other stuff. I was out getting something and everyone else were in the attic. Someone strolled in and robbed 2 mobiles and a purse. Funny thing was my new 20D camera and lenses were sitting on the same table as the purse and phones but wasn't touched. Reckon it was someone who just seized the moment. Passer's by all got the evil eye for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I stabbed an old lady in the face when she broke in to my house. I was homeless at the time, so when I say she broke in what I really mean is she was feeding the ducks in the park, minding her own buisness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Kernel wrote:
    Yeah, but surely you don't sleep in the bondage gear all the time?* :D

* I couldn't resist, it will be worth the ban.

Ah come on, what kinda mod do you think I am. I'd sooner have sex with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

A Knacker once stole my super soaker when I was about ten. Other then that, I've not been robbed thankfully...

Although recently, my mother got a brand new car. Two days after getting it, she woke to hear it being revved up at 6am. Looked outside, car is driving away, two little minks inside....she's in shock.

Then out of nowhere, a garda card drives around the corner, blocking the car into the driveway.

Neighbours had heard the guys trying to get into the car and rang police.

All ended well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

a friend of mine had his house broken into a while back. they took nothing but the keys to his Subaru Impreza.

where were the keys? in his jeans, on the ground beside the bed, while he was asleep in the bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Giblet wrote:
    Ah come on, what kinda mod do you think I am. I'd sooner have sex with you.

/Me backs away slowly.

Hmmm.. actually it might help me get through the boards survivor. I'll have to see how the vote goes, you beast you! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭shnaek

Slurms wrote:
    A hand-axe! Jaysus all I have under my bed is a stack of porno mags and a load of *ahem* used tissues.

Reckon those tissues would be a more potent deterrent to the would-be burglar than the axe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i live in a council estate. in its 30 year existence, there have only been five burglaries and one of those was some guy breaking into his next door neighbours house, taking a bottle of vodka and leaving an apologetic note.

we tend not to steal from our own. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Binomate wrote:
    I stabbed an old lady in the face when she broke in to my house. I was homeless at the time, so when I say she broke in what I really mean is she was feeding the ducks in the park, minding her own buisness.

You got that one from viz, didn't ya:D