Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorbikes in multi-storey carparks?

• 28-06-2006 11:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭

Do the various multi-storey carparks in Dublin allow motorbikes to park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

..mmm good one. Well, if they had any brains, they would. Even it was a flat fee of, say Eur1.00, and shove it into an otherwise unusable space, it'd be worth it.

OTH, you may find they CAN'T exclude you...........let me explain...

a few years ago my wife and I rolled up to the then-new multi-storey car park in Roches Stores in Galway. We were on Vespa PX's, 1 each. Doing the shopping, as you would........

Anyhoo, the barrier wouldn't go up. So I press the button, and a tinny voice says 'no motorbikes'. I reply it's a public car park, and I ain't leavin'. Knocked off the bikes, put them on their stands.......and waited. You'll gather a queue of cars is now gathering, behind. The next thing the Tin Man says is 'no ****in' motorbikes !!'. Well that was the last straw, so I told him he either opened the gate, or he'd have to deal with the now-getting-irate 5+ car owners behind us (he could see them on his cctv, see.........), and it was a public car park, and that was the end of it. So, it opened. We then parked 2 -to-a-spot (and paid once.........), and went shopping. On leaving, and having a ticket to pay to get out, I went looking for the manager........he was most apologetic, and said there was no 'no motorbikes' rule - he did mention a possible barrier sensor problem - and he validated the ticket for free,. and said he'd admonish Tin Man for his attitude.

I then presented the ticket to the m/c outside the Tin Man's hut and eyeballed him, slowly, and we sauntered out. Most excellent.

You see, in a lot of cases, these multi-storey car parks have a component under their planning permission where the HAVE to allow public access. By default therefore, they cannot EXCLUDE you on the grounds of your vehicle type etc, so you have right on your side.

But still, it'd be nicer not to argue, and to have a common sense approach, and if an enterprising Multi-storey owner would just survey all the 'dead' corners in his premises, put a hoop on the wall, you'd even pay for the service......and your bike'd be warm and dry as well.

So, I'd just ask in the nicest possible way, haveing scoped out the place first.......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

there was a post about this in the winter. Jervis Street car park (not the shopping centre the one across the road) lets bikes park there and a friend of mine parks in the UGC carpark...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Darando

I agree they should be available. the only problem I can see if we expect to pay a flat rate (i.e special rate- different to cars) how would that work? Machine only gives out one ticket type. i.e they dont know if you are a bike or a car. You think that a company would introduce either

a) a person to sit and give special tickets to bike? (i know they have a someone for problems but - the old "that nots my job description chesnut - i want more pay") - no chance- profit margins down.

b) new machines? no chance

all this for a few quid.

Therefore only option is full rate as for cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I always assumed that i'd be charged standard rate (ie same as a car) if I parked in a car park in the city centre.

Being a tight ass I never choose that option, why bother?, plenty of places to park for free. Personal favourite was outside Cineworld - rationale was plenty of people around, Garda building around the corner and right beside Jervis and the Illac centres.

For the Grafton street shopping you can park beside the Molly Malone sculpture, again pretty safe place to park, and finally for Stephens Green shopping centre nice area at the top of Grafton Street for bikes.

If any car parks did do special biker rates though would be preferable I suppose though - dry, safe location for yer wheels.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Stigster

So, what are the rules for parking a MC anyway? I assume I can't park just anywhere, and certainly not on the sidewalk. And no-parking-zones of course. But the restrictions are easier than for cars, right?

(I'm just movin' to Dublin in a few weeks, so, yeah. I'm a noob - but with good reason. :-P)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I always park for free in the Dublin airport multistory when I'm going away for a weekend and as they only have half barriers can just get through without needing to activate the sensor. Admitedly thats not much use for parking in the sity centre. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Garibaldi

Hmm...the parking rules. Probably just to park it somewhere that, in your estimation, it won't get damaged or stolen. Beyond that, I've never seen or heard of a bike being ticketed or taken away by anyone with official power to do so. And I *always* park on the pavement because carpark attendants (whenever I use carparks, that is) keep giving me **** for parking in a car bay.

That said, I believe that the central reservation on O'Connell Street is a no-bike zone, but that doesn't stop bikes from parking on it. So, the rule seems to be that there are no rules. Feel free to correct me, though. I've just never come across a case where any legitimate rule has been enforced.

First and most important rule is wherever you park it, have it locked to something - bike rail/lampost ro something immovable. (2 reasons, a) clampers cant tow/lift it and b) thieving gits cant lift it into a van!!)

On location, someone said at molly malone or top of Grafton Street at Stephens Green. Was told some stories of a good few bikes going walkies from both places. Bikes either not locked or not locked to anything. Although lots of people, wouldnt look out of place for someone being down at the wheel (i.e.messing at a lock or something.) or a delivery van pulling up.

Bottom of Dawson Street at Trinity always a good option but usually full. Or at the top of Dawson Street opposite Elverys - bike rail also (was building work there a good while ago so not sure if its still there - should be). Other spot is on the Stephens Green just beside Baggot street - another few bike rails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭demosuzki

dubadubdub wrote:
    Do the various multi-storey carparks in Dublin allow motorbikes to park?

DCU / Helix has a bike only place in the multi story

-ds

demosuzki wrote:
    DCU / Helix has a bike only place in the multi story

-ds

Hey, that's perfect! I'm attending DCU. :D What is the charge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭demosuzki

Stigster wrote:
    Hey, that's perfect! I'm attending DCU. :D What is the charge?

as a student the 7 times 'in and out' is a tenner
    but it seems to last for about 3 months.

-ds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

robinph wrote:
    I always park for free in the Dublin airport multistory when I'm going away for a weekend and as they only have half barriers can just get through without needing to activate the sensor. Admitedly thats not much use for parking in the sity centre. ;)

Yes, loads of bikers do that in Dublin Airport and they usually go out via the side of the bus lane exit barrier.

On entering, AFAIK I don't think the sensor would activate for a bike anyway as it only issues a ticket if a vehicle is a certain size. This is not an "anti-bike" measure. It's merely to prevent people from walking up to the entry point and pulling a ticket for a vehicle already parked up for a while and then paying with that ticket.

(If you walk up with a length of chipboard it will issue a ticket alright :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Yes, loads of bikers do that in Dublin Airport and they usually go out via the side of the bus lane exit barrier.

On entering, AFAIK I don't think the sensor would activate for a bike anyway as it only issues a ticket if a vehicle is a certain size. This is not an "anti-bike" measure. It's merely to prevent people from walking up to the entry point and pulling a ticket for a vehicle already parked up for a while and then paying with that ticket.

(If you walk up with a length of chipboard it will issue a ticket alright :D)
    Now that's good to know! You little weezle you! :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I got a ticket on a bike parked at the top of Grafton Street. I had asked the guards at the Dáil where would be a legal and safe place to park, and was told the top of Grafton Street. I came back 2 hours later to a ticket.

I went round to Pearse St. to track down the guards, only to be faced with the 'we told you no such thing' attitude.

Heel of the hunt - I went to court, told my tale of woe and got the Probation Act.

I subsequently got a letter from a Garda Sergeant telling me there was NO legal parking spaces for motorcycles in the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,450 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Well, there is Prince's St but it's tiny and van and skanger-ridden. Some (like near the Shelbourne) are on the pavement so technically illegal, but do seem to have been put in with motorcycles in mind, and bikes are tolerated.

MAG are working on this at the moment (both street and private car parks) but for now, stick to the well-known places. Ticketing at them is possible but very rare.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

How much is a parking ticket in Dublin/Ireland? Any difference on a car and a bike?

Stigster wrote:
    How much is a parking ticket in Dublin/Ireland? Any difference on a car and a bike?

AFAIK most on-street bike parking is free.

Car Park Prices from www.aaroadwatch.ie :

Parking tariffs in Dublin City

Zone 1 €2.50 per hour
    This is the middle of the city centre, where there's a very high demand on spaces.
    The area includes any area between Fitzwilliam Place south of city to Parnell St north of city taking in Merrion Square, Stephen's Green, Aungier St, Abbey St, and the Quays.

Zone 2 €2.00 per hour
    Consists of the outskirts of the city centre where there is high demand for parking spaces. Zone 2 includes Mount St, Baggot St, Haddington Rd Harcourt St, Christchurch , Dorset St, Gardiner St Lower areas.

Zone 3 €1.30 per hour
    This zone includes Ballsbridge, Ranelagh, Donnybrook, North Circular Rd areas. There is an average demand for parking in these areas.

Zone 4 €1.00 per hour
    Suburban areas such as Rathmines, Terenure, Rathgar, Rathfarnham.

Zone 5 60c per hour
    Some suburban villages such as Irishtown & Sandymount.

Motorcycles are specifically prohibited from using pay-and-display spaces.

By ticket I presume the other poster meant parking fine, usually it's €40. http://www.transport.ie/upload/general/7424-1.pdf

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

robinph wrote:
    I read on another list that the security cameras in the Dublin Airport short-term multistorey carpark are not functional. This was discovered after a rider had his bike, panniers etc. stolen from the carpark. Bike was secured using a chain to something unmovable. Bike was a BMW GS too, so not an easy one to lift into the back of a van.. I believe the victim in question was told by the Gardai that it is a regular occurrence, for both cars and bikes, so be wary!

ninja900 wrote:
    Motorcycles are specifically prohibited from using pay-and-display spaces.

By ticket I presume the other poster meant parking fine, usually it's €40. http://www.transport.ie/upload/general/7424-1.pdf

Thanks, both posts was very informative. :-) €40 is better than the €62,50 I'm used to.

(Now I realize what my Irish friend meant when she said I'd have to loose the american accent when moving to Dublin. Even my written english bears the mark of Uncle Sam... :-S)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

spurious wrote:
    I got a ticket on a bike parked at the top of Grafton Street. I had asked the guards at the Dáil where would be a legal and safe place to park, and was told the top of Grafton Street. I came back 2 hours later to a ticket.

I went round to Pearse St. to track down the guards, only to be faced with the 'we told you no such thing' attitude.

Heel of the hunt - I went to court, told my tale of woe and got the Probation Act.

I subsequently got a letter from a Garda Sergeant telling me there was NO legal parking spaces for motorcycles in the city centre.

You got the Probation Act for a parking ticket...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Dub13 wrote:
    You got the Probation Act for a parking ticket...?

fupping cnuts

K-TRIC wrote:
    fupping cnuts

I think Dub13 means that he simply doesn't believe that - neither do I.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I think Dub13 means that he simply doesn't believe that - neither do I.

By that I ment the Garda Shicaroony are Fupping Cnuts, I have absolutly no time for them and their selective law inforcement.

Selective law enforcement sounds a lot better to me than the alternative. It's the difference between getting pulled over and getting a telling off (hopefully leading to improved behaviour) and a speeding fine for 5km/h over the limit from a Gatso (which just leads to resentment.)
    God help us bikers if the Gardai ever did get the manpower to enforce zero tolerance policing, for one thing you'll never be able to park on the pavement again, in Dublin city centre there are practically no 100% legal motorcycle parking spots, but parking is almost always tolerated where it does not pose a problem.
    When the UK cops want to start harassing bikers (e.g. near a pub where bike meets happen regularly) they start measuring number plates and looking for exhaust compliance stamps, you may or may not think that's fair enough on those who break the law but the problem is that they hassle ALL riders in order to enforce it.

Are Gards actually more lenient towards motorcyclists? On my way to my sister's there was a Garda checkpoint and I was a little worried cos I had no proof of insurance on me and no Tax (having just got the bike on Saturday)... When I got level with the Gard he just signaled me to go without even looking at the bike. Does this usually happen at Garda checkpoints or do you think they were only out to check for seatbelts?

First off, bikes dont need an insurance cert to be displayed either on the bike or the rider like a car does.

Secondly, never been asked for tax at a checkpoint, usually waved through. My tax disc is in a small glove box on the bike. If asked I could produce it. However if they gave me grief over non-display a story about it gettign wet/robbed etc.. usually does the trick. (although still must be able to show it!!!)

Delighted to see it's common practice! :) I knew about the insurance not having to be displayed but it's mostly the Tax I was worried about... I should be getting the papers soon though and I soon as I get my Tax disc I'll colour photocopy it for the bike and keep the original on me. Like you said, between getting wet or stolen there's just no point in having the original on the bike...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭numorouno

most guards dont bother m/bikers at all. and if the guard is a biker himself youl get no bother at all imo. they knew what its like to be driving a bike so they cut some slack unless d biker is doing the complete dog al2gether.only guards who give some grief would be some young guards who dont like bikes/bikers. my expierance would be in the south of the country only. not sure about dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Delighted to see it's common practice! ...

Occasionally they do specific checks on just motorcycles.

Just for you to keep it in mind.

I find it best to approach a checkpoint with the presumption of being stopped rather than the other way around (despite mostly it being the other way around).

I carry the tax and insurance disc in my pocket because the tax disc was stolen off my bike year before last. *nod nod wink wink*.

Actually I would rather not have it stolen in the first place so hence the precaution of keeping it on my person. I do know though of one instance where a garda did ticket a friend for not displaying their tax on the bike.

L.

nereid wrote:
    Occasionally they do specific checks on just motorcycles.

Just for you to keep it in mind.
    Don't worry, I wouldn't be riding knowing I wasn't 100% legal! :)
    nereid wrote:
    I find it best to approach a checkpoint with the presumption of being stopped rather than the other way around (despite mostly it being the other way around).
    That's what I did yesterday. I stopped and put my visor up but he just waved me through so I gave him an aul nod... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

I carry the tax disc with my licence. I've only ever been asked for it once. Normally it's a case of waving through or they ask where's the tax disc. I just tell them it's in my pocket and they normally just tell me to go on. The last time I was at a checkpoint the Garda was asking what the bike was like and how it was to drive. Ended up with him just saying to be careful with my Girlfriend on the Pillion seat.

Now you see, that's nice! That's a proper Gard IMO. Nice, friendly and full of good advice! If only they were all like him... :rolleyes:

Ended up with him just saying to be careful with my Girlfriend on the Pillion seat.
    So he gave you some "riding tips" then? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭numorouno

they are a public "service" after all! :D

ninja900 wrote:
    So he gave you some "riding tips" then? :D
    LOLLL :D

Some Gards obviously do provide some top quality service! Hope it helped anyway! :p

K-TRIC wrote:
    By that I ment the Garda Shicaroony are Fupping Cnuts, I have absolutly no time for them and their selective law inforcement.

Nice to see a mature and balanced perspective. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

My tax disk was robbed before too, the cops aren't too strict on it I suppose cos it's only €60 anyway.
    But I'm with Krusty here, i heard a few storys about Dublin Airport, i'd just take the aircoach or taxi, no way would i park there.
    I heard a dublin corpo guy on the radio and he said motorcycles are allowed to park in any bicycle parking area. That probably won't hold up in court though!

Paparazzo wrote:
    I heard a dublin corpo guy on the radio and he said motorcycles are allowed to park in any bicycle parking area. That probably won't hold up in court though!

"Dublin corpo guy" => There's your problem right there :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭Wossack

Stigster wrote:
    Thanks, both posts was very informative. :-) €40 is better than the €62,50 I'm used to.

(Now I realize what my Irish friend meant when she said I'd have to loose the american accent when moving to Dublin. Even my written english bears the mark of Uncle Sam... :-S)
    Is a parking fine the same as a clampers release fine? Cause those are 80e :mad: :( :mad: