Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Investigation - Ross Castle - 12th August

• 27-06-2006 8:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭

Paranormal Investigation: Ross Castle - Saturday 12th August 2006

Myself, Stevenmu & ODonnnell will be heading the trip.

Ross Castle is on the Cavan/Meath boarder.

The night will cost approximately €53 each incl. breakfast on Sunday morning. There are cooking facilities, beds, etc. This is a working guesthouse but we will have it to ourselves for the night - guaranteed.

This is not a first come first served trip. It has to go on my credit card so I'm not leaving myself open to people not showing. I may try work out people getting payment to me in advance to cut down on this. If people are interested post here.

This will be a one night event with a group of 10 people.

Please only out yourself forward if:

a) you are available on this date

b) you can get to the Castle (transport isnt provided but i'm sure some lifts can be sorted amoung us)

c) you are willing to pay approximately €53 (this is ball park though not likely to change)

Sorry it has to be done differently that the usual but this is set to be a great night and the place is pretty much booked solid for the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Not sure i can go.. however i found this. Come american chick who went there and got some stuff on camera.
    http://www.dchauntings.com/id25.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Yeah there is another thread here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054951176

Its more for Ross in general so we'll keep this one for arranging the trip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

ahh 6th that's the day I get back from holliers! you waited till I left before you organised the trip!
    Anyway I can't make it even thought I said I'd go on the next one , but I wont be here, thanks to all for organising this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

That's like a week before I'm going to be in Ireland, you bastard! ;)

Seriously though, leave it with me, and I'll see what I can do... I might actually stay in Ireland for 5-6 weeks now, instead of the 4-5 I was initially planning... Oh sugar... I just realised that I need to be at Charleville for the 5th & 6th... this is turning out to be mad now!

Here, leave it with me; I think I need to arrange a few things...

any budge on the date lads? maybe a week or two later?

Its pretty much booked up for weekends, i'm trying to sort something bu ti'm away from the 18th August & Odonnell is away alot in September/October (right?).

Kennett will be doing a Charleville trip in September from what i know but thats another thread ;)

Like i said i'll recheck the dates.

it's fine , Heffo9 and I wont be around during those dates, but we'll go there another time, don't change anything, if you guys sorted that out the other night then just leave it the way you have it, I understand that it's difficult to sort these things out sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

I will most definitely come. I just need someone to get me there and take me back home as I never had a drivers licence.

Stoner wrote:
    it's fine , Heffo9 and I wont be around during those dates, but we'll go there another time, don't change anything, if you guys sorted that out the other night then just leave it the way you have it, I understand that it's difficult to sort these things out sometimes.

Actually we didnt really talk about Ross the other night. I rang them yestherday and they told me that it was pretty much booked out. Was lucky to get the night we did, its a working B&B so i guess its not as easy to get as Charleville.

As i said this isnt an open investigation as such so once we see who's interested we'll pm people an invite. If it goes well theres a good chance there will be another in either late sept or oct.

Ok well I'm putting this on my credit card today so i hope the interest builds a bit.

As i said we want 10 people in all so far its:

6th
    Stevenmu
    ODonnell
    Kennett
    tj-music

So what about some of our newer members?

btw monkeyfudge, you up for this one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭blahblah1234

Count me in definitly, can make the date and the place and the price.

ok can you drop me a pm, bit of info like :)

ok this is booked. €250 non refundable deposit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭blahblah1234

So, were still going with ten,.....

Like i said its not a first come first served we'll be letting know closer to the time. Its not just open to boardsies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

This sounds cool - I'd be interested!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭New_Departure06

When you're there maybe you could try to set up some controlled-experiments e.g. place object on piece of paper and draw around it. Then leave it alone perhaps in another room where it won't be disturbed. Then return and see if anything has moved the object off the outline?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭odonnell

yeah mate im gone summer hols to sweden two weeks in september, and then over to glasgow in october... basically the lead in to my 'busy' time of year, but given the fact ive not stopped in about three months...the term 'busy' is a laugh.

Jools isnt gonna go for it, as you know shes a photographer not a spirit chaser... although damn, her camera would be handy. But since i mentioend it to her just then shes giving me the evils.

Ill hook up with ya mark, and steven, soon i hope to get it all onto the table. Ive got another possible attendant too.
    Drop me a line guys, email is best...

Ed

Ok as it stands it as follows:

6th
    Stevenmu
    ODonnell
    Kennett

with tk123 as a maybe

As i need 10 people for this and its only 4(ish) weeks away I went on EastCoast laast night and offered up places to some listeners if they want to get in touch with me - this means if anyone is interested they want to let me know for definate very soon before it fills up. Louise, one of the presenters for the show and co-founder of the Irish Tarot Academy is interested in coming along which will bring alot to the trip.

Is there something up that i dont know about? People are usually jumping at these trips:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

any room for me? can i play with the radios again? the prospect of spending the night in a tower house appeals to me

You're in Grimes ...... was waiting to see if you took an interest ;)

Ok so its:

6th
    Stevenmu
    ODonnell
    Kennett
    monkeyfudge
    Grimes
    Louise
    kshiels
    tk123

1 space left. Anyone now with an interest can pm me as there is 1 place and possibly alot more interested people (not all on boards) so its not a case of first come first served - sorry).

*Edit: oops forgot kennetts name on the list but he didnt spot it ;)

We're going to Ross Castle, we're going to Ross Castle! *dances* :D

Nah seriously, I'm gonna be interested in seeing what happens there...

i know two swedish pole dancers that might be up for it....

Hmm... sounds good :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭imprezza

I'd love to come along with you guys, 2 of us. I thought advertising is banned from the boards didn't I see someone being banned and hassled over it?

6th pays the Mods in sexual favours in order to "bend" the rules a little bit. Its a paranormal trip for the users of the forum, none of the €€€ goes to 6th's pockets (as far as we know :D ) so then its cool.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Exactly, it's not a product or a service being offered. It's just something that some of us do and we invite others to come along and do it too. The castle costs, iirc €540 for the night, that cost is spread evenly between everyone going.

It's kind of like getting a group together for a football match at an all-weather pitch. Someone gets the idea, organises it and books the pitch, and everyone throws a few quid in to pay for it.

6th:

Is the price going to go up if you dont get your quota of ten people. I think the 53 euro is a bit steep which has led to the slow demand for places on the trip. Its all economics you see :) .
    Anyway to anybody thats in two minds about this there is usually fantastic fun to be had on these trips whether there be heavy activity in the location or just a few bumps in the night. Half of it for me is the fantastic weather out there and the historical aspect of the trips.Well worth the price if you ask me. Id be honoured if I could give the historical background of the place when we get there.

I'll also be coming alone on this trip so no minding my girlfriend for the night (who has boohoo left Ireland for 3 years as of monday :( and I will bring some equipment this time, promise. Also that means that my car has 4 available places for anyone that needs it, even if my wheels arn't as jazzy as stephenmu's )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

A girl in my office is interested in going. I told her to think about it and give me a definite answer next week.

wouldnt mind doing another podcast ? I could use one for my show on Belfieldfm in september.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Yep... more podcasts all round!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭imprezza

Grimes wrote:
    6th pays the Mods in sexual favours in order to "bend" the rules a little bit. Its a paranormal trip for the users of the forum, none of the €€€ goes to 6th's pockets (as far as we know :D ) so then its cool.
    Ah thanks, I'll keep that in mind ( sexual favours I mean :-) . None of the money went into Mysterias pocket either, she said in her posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Yaaay I can't wait - a cool castle and a nice drive up on the bike!! :D

can I come on your bike. I can sit on the back and go wwweeeeeeee ! Looking forward to it now. Have my spiel on norman towerhouses all ready.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭kshiel

Looking forward to going now and getting loads of good tips from ye guys and girls. This will be my first investigation so I will be mainly there to watch and learn and get involed any way possible.

We're still learning ourselves in many ways, so you may find that there's something new that we are open to trying, and you never know.,, we could learn something from you, as well as you learning from us. It works two ways :)

ok Quick post, am back from my little break and very relaxed.

Grimes: Would be great if you could take the historian role for this one. Place has a fantastic history.

As for the price, it will not go above €53 and may infact be only €50, this includes the rbeakfast next morning.

As for lifts, well its not looking good for me taking the car but i know a few people might need them as public transport to this place is still something i have to look at.

Andy, when are you gonna be in dublin from?

6th wrote:
    Andy, when are you gonna be in dublin from?

Well, I'm aiming to be in Dublin on the 3rd of August, but plan to head to Charleville at some point that day, as I've offered to help out at Castlepolooza, and don't intend to be back in Dublin till the following Wednesday (9th), figured I might do a little more work, as well as taking a little break of my own! I'm going to start learning stuff while I'm over here too, will prolly be a good idea, I thought.

Catch me on MSN at some point, and we can discuss things in more detail.

6th

Due to reasons of health I am not allowed to fly so my hols are cancelled, if possible myself and Heffo9 are interested in going on the 12th, now that I have my Ghost hunting book by R Southall .

Best regards

Stoner wrote:
    6th

Due to reasons of health I am not allowed to fly so my hols are cancelled, if possible myself and Heffo9 are interested in going on the 12th, now that I have my Ghost hunting book by R Southall .

Best regards

We're at 9 at the moment and unlike Charleville Ross only take set numbers. I'm not 100% sure if that one place is left as I have to get in touch with the other organisers.

If its one place left would either of you want to take it, mind you if someone drops out (as happens alot) then I can let you know when there are 2 places.

hows that sound?

Sounds great thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Dr_Darkness

I would love to go with you guys to Ross Castle but unfortunately I can't. I am up to my eyes at the moment with planning to move house etc. so I can't make it this time :( Hopefully fingers crossed, everything gets settled and myself and the husband will be able to go on the next trip with the group. Hope you have a good time down there and catch something on camera or video. ;)

Ok here's the list of people going on this:

6th
    Stevenmu
    ODonnell
    Kennett
    monkeyfudge
    Grimes
    Louise
    kshiels
    tk123

If everyone on this list could confirm they can go that would be great. Anyone now with an interest can pm me. If we get 10 people it will be €50 each including the breakfast.

As for transport if anyone who is driving down could say then we might be able to sort out lifts?

There's 1 space left and would like it filled this week - monkeyfudge any news on the girl from your office?

ok i'm gonna offer the last place to someone on the sceptics forum if someone doesnt take it!!!

6th if the place is still going can I go

Please 6th I'll be good and I wont say that stuff you think is very interesting is "a load of B--X " again, ever.

ok people, its looking like there will be 2 trips to Ross next month, this sisnt just open to boards so the level of interest isnt represented well here. I have to wait for Stevenmu to get back to discuss the final 10 for this trip.

Stoner ..... a load of boxes? Anyway like i said steven should be back soon enough so if you can hold out i'll be in touch when he gets back. ;)

Are we excited yet?

in what way?

looking forward to the Norman tower house. My favourite types of houses and my little talk on them . woooop