Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lego - The Coolest Toy Ever?

• 27-06-2006 12:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭

Sorry Mods if After Hours isn't where this should be posted, but I didn't see a Toy's Forum as such. It's also not exactly Retro as it's still very much on the go.

I was browsing through boards a while back and I wandered into the Requested Forums section and saw that Grimes and many others would love a Lego forum. I hadn't thought about Lego in years but it got me thinking that I was very lucky when I was a kid growing up in the 80's in that my folks used to buy me Lego quite reguarly. I began thinking about all the great pieces I had and how I loved putting them together and then taking them apart and trying to come up with some designs of my own.

I really couldn't get this out of my head and I had a big desire recently to buy some Lego. I know that's sad but I really wanted to do it. So I rather embarrassingly owned up to this in work and was fully expecting to be ridiculed by the lads, when lo and behold the four I was talking to, including the main manager in his mid thirties and the assistant manager admitted to loving it and even messing about with it these days.
    I'm afraid I gave in to my desire and went out and bought a piece of Technics Lego for €10. It was a tractor. Well I spent about an hour or so putting it together, in between watching tv and being distracted by the missus who's just learning how to type. I had great craic and it brought back some of the fun of my childhood.

The point I'm getting to I guess is that it's excellent value for money with some of the sets costing less than €4. The design of some of them, particuarly the Technics stuff is very clever and I love the fact that it helps make kids think about what they are doing. It's great for the imagination and I will DEFINETLY buy Lego for my kids when I get around to having them someday.
    It's excellent value for money, it's cleverly designed. The kids have to construct it to make it work, hopefully inspiring their imaginations. There are so many possibilities. When your finished with one thing, just build another.

Is it the best toy ever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Dr. Bill

Your easily amused!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭YeAh!

You should get one of those massive sets that would keep you going for ages. I remmember this one, turned out to be a big wheel shape and you made a car do a loop-the-loop. Really good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Dr. Bill wrote:
    Your easily amused!!

You have no idea.

YeAh! wrote:
    You should get one of those massive sets that would keep you going for ages. I remmember this one, turned out to be a big wheel shape and you made a car do a loop-the-loop. Really good!

If this sudden facsination doesn't die off, I might just end up shelling out €100+ for the bigger sets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

eo980 wrote:
    Sorry Mods if After Hours isn't where this should be posted, but I didn't see a Toy's Forum as such. It's also not exactly Retro as it's still very much on the go
    Aye; add your support:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054920827&page=3 :)

Done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Dr. Bill wrote:
    Your easily amused!!

YOu will soon slip up, they all do...

I played with lego a LOT when i was younger, had bucket loads of the stuff passed down by my brother. We would spend the day building stuff, the aim being to use every piece. We didnt make it somedays...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭YeAh!

YOu will soon slip up, they all do...

I played with lego a LOT when i was younger, had bucket loads of the stuff passed down by my brother. We would spend the day building stuff, the aim being to use every piece. We didnt make it somedays...
    So thats why you call yourself 'Endurance Man'!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah I had lego when I was younger... It really is great :) I had quite small pieces, but loads of them, so the things I could build were virtually limitless! :D

Ah ya f*ck, ya gave me the urge to buy some now! :D I won't though... People think I'm wierd enough :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Lego is the best.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Ah ya f*ck, ya gave me the urge to buy some now! :D I won't though... People think I'm wierd enough :p

Ya Will Ya Will Ya Will Ya Will............ go on, don't let me be the only weirdo who admits to this on this thread. Save me from my own humiliation. The cheapest set I saw cost less than a tenner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Lego ftw! \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Nothing beats lego, nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Seconded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭PlayGirl

lego is cool. still have a bagfull of it upstairs i think.. oh and wat does "ftw" mean?..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Lego have ceased trading or are scaling down or something.. So all things retro yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

PlayGirl wrote:
    lego is cool. still have a bagfull of it upstairs i think.. oh and wat does "ftw" mean?..
    For Teh[sic] Win

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=ftw

Try sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

pfft the lego in the pictures isn't lego at all. :p

lego has to be unsorted and be in standard shapes (cubes, cuboids etc.)

none of these fancy pieces with crosses in them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Loved lego, even had names for my lego 'family'. Used to love designing and building different houses. Had one of them lego train sets and everyone kept falling over it. got hours and hours of enjoyment from it!

Giblet wrote:
    Lego have ceased trading or are scaling down or something.. So all things retro yeah?

Really? I didn't read that, where did you see it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Lego is the coolest, bestest toy ever, and nothing will ever better it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I have 2 tv boxes full of lego, I thought it was the best thing ever for kids, still is tbh. I moved on now to rc models(petrol) You build them up like lego, a bit more complicated and drive them like mad:D Not cheap tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Ah, lego. Many a long afternoon I spent wading thru buckets of bricks creating my city. Hours of fun.

Couple of links for you:

This one lists nearly every set ever made by Lego

This one can provide instruction sheets if you're missing them.

And this was the first set I got. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

I just have fond memories of getting lego for Christmas, aswell as my cousins and brother - and taking all the boxes and disappearing for over 6 hours while I made every single set

Call me a sucker (since they all asked me to do it) - but dammit I had so much fun. And as for Lego Technic - I always wanted that racing car one - the one with the big chunky tyres

I had this one

http://www.lego.com/eng/create/technic/productPage.aspx?family=technic&productNumber=8421

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Yeah my parent sold their house recently and had to clear out the attic found two black bags full of lego and the big red technics car. Couldn't force myself to part with them so now they are in my attic

Most definetly my favourite of all the sets I had:

http://www.brickset.com/search.aspx?Set=6941-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Loved lego
    My mam always asked me when I was a kid.
    "What are you doing there"

"Building a house"

They use so many lego bricks to build a house.
    I was always amazed aswell at the massive lego monster they had in the toy shop. It must of took some time to build.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=668

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Lego rules the earth with a tiny plastic fist! Well, it's more of a cupped hand but anyway.

One time I arrived at a friend's house. There was a small piece of 'boat' Lego on the table which I proceeded to deconstruct and rebuild in my own design. He then told me that he, our other mate and I had all built totally different things with the same pieces. He'd built a fast speed boat type thing (he's a cop), my mate built a very efficient functional boat (engineer) and I built an abstract piece of art that was a not-boat (programmer).

In summary, Lego is a window to the soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

My first big Lego castle: http://www.brickset.com/search.aspx?Set=6080-1
    cost me the equivalent of £50 in Legoland itself in Billund, Denmark in the late 80s. Man, I couldn't wait for the holiday to be over so we could get home and start building - my brother bought the Robin Hood Forest Hideout and other stuff as well! Some good battles were had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Sparky-s wrote:

Nice one Sparky!!! A Lego forum at last!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I had that Lego castle too ionapaul! I got it off Santa one Christmas!

I also had a tavern type thing that connected into the castle when you opened it up at the back.

Ah, good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Lockster

It's funny that I just saw this thread now as it was my 5 year old son's birthday last week and one of his friends bought him a lego police boat. As he is a little bit young to put it together himself we sat down and did it together. I pretty much put it together while he sat and watched, passed me the pieces etc. I can safely say that it was the best quality hour or so that we have spent together in ages. I'd forgotten quite how good lego was, even the detail inside the boat was incredible. We even filled the bath as soon as we had finished to make sure that it worked. Even though he didn't actually build the thing he has been playing with the boat non stop since then and it has pride of place in his bedroon.

The bad news is that the company that owns Lego is in deep financial trouble as they are finding it increasing difficult to compete with computers, playstations etc. They have not made a profit for about 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

I remember one year I got some Jungle Island Lego set from Santa. It was by far one of the best pressies I ever got cause it took ages to build and it was so much fun. Me and a few of my old friends would always be in my house on rainy days building it. There were secret passages and trap doors and everything, it was so cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

ah, i spent many a long hour with my lego as a youngster.

the building blocks of a young engineer. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I had a lego family too but they were accident prone because I had a lego hospital as well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

woo hoo a Lego Forum. I have already posted :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Serbian

A friend of mine owned ridiculous amounts of Space lego (including the segments that had a road running through the moon), some of the best fun ever with that. Later on, I had a college project where we had to program a Lego robot that could get out of a random maze. We even had a lego branded programming client and light sensors, really brought back the childhood memories for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

Gotta Love the Lego!

Not mad on all the latest fiddly lego bits - they're tiny and my big clumsy fingers can't handle em!

Love this:

[URL="<http://www.skizzers.org/andy/lego.html>"]<http://www.skizzers.org/andy/lego.html>[/URL]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Kermitt

LEGO rules all - last set I bought was at my confirmation!! Technics truck -loved it. Went looking on the shop site and found this baby!!

http://shop.lego.com/product.asp?p=B8421&cn=48&d=11&t=5

I'm tempted to buy it, looks class!! Not sure my GF would be too impressed though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

That's a real shame to hear they are going bust. I have two boxes full of Lego up in the attic, mixture of vanilla and technic, and probably some meccano in there too (I know it's a different company, unless it's a subsiduary?). Will definitly be buying a piece shortly thanks to this thread! I will get a big one too if it means Lego can survive until I have kids! (A fair few years away....I hope)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

still have some lego I couldnt bear to part with here in my room.

A truck I made and my lego version of an airwolf helicopter!