Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever broken into your own house?

• 24-06-2006 3:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭

I've just broken into my house.

I forgot my keys for the first time ever, and I found myself outside my home, door locked, and nobody to answer the bell...

...so I climbed my side wall into the back garden, with the intention of sleeping until later on the grass. But then I thought, I wonder if my window is open. My window opens on to a flat roof at the front of the house. I saw the small window was ajar. I scaled the wall easily using my own bin, and reaching through the small window, opened the big window and slid through.

It took, 30 seconds thought and a minutes effort. That easy. I'll lock the window in future, and bring a key! Any similar stories?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭democrates

A neigbour of mine living with his folks came home drunk without his keys and broke into the house by smashing the kitchen window.
    His dad came down the stairs and the son said he had fought off a burglar, guards called and everything, son hailed a hero, except my dad had seen the real event after the scuffing around the back garden woke him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

ah, not drunk enough to break stuff thankfully. Your da rat out the neighbour?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

democrates wrote:
    A neigbour of mine living with his folks came home drunk without his keys and broke into the house by smashing the kitchen window.

Been there, done that.

my parents were not amused...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Never had to do anything too damaging, had to take off the window a few times and squeeze myself in though.

theCzar wrote:
    ah, not drunk enough to break stuff thankfully. Your da rat out the neighbour?
    No, not his style, when the father told my dad the hero story on one of the following days he gave the standard 'be the hokey!' feedback, left the man with the feelgood factor, his son was a bit of a disappointment otherwise. I thought that was cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Had to kick in the door once. It opened remarkably easily (yes, I have since moved).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

i know a bloke who apparently does this on a regualr basis . climbs in his kitchen window at the back and falls asleep half way thru. his ma came down one mornin and found him asleep half way in the window. crazy ****er in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

It must be an interesting experience to wake up like that. :eek:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Just broke into my house(back door/window) as I forgot my key. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i've done this hundreds of times.
    once i had to lift a 12 year old neighbour up through a small window in the kitchen as i was too big to fit through it myself.
    i've also broken a window to get in.
    leaving your key at home can be expensive.
    funnily enough, the 12 year old that i got to get through the window was the one to fix the window i broke. it was 6 years later and he was working as a glazier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Next door neighbour locked herself out, had to climb in kitchen window and ended up in the sink (as it wasunder the window)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Not "broken" in, but I was locked out, and only the little window into the kitchen was open, and I couldn't get up to it (I tried). So I just went up and tied a big piece of string into a big circle, dipped it in through the window and lifted the handle things that prevent it opening.

Pretty straight-forward. I'm thought briefly about becoming a professional burgular after that, but the plan never manifested itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

Actually something funny happened me a few years back, I called to my Mams house and she had gone to the shop or something but had been expecting us, she had left a front window slightly open and my wife was in a hurry for the bathroom so I climbed in the front windows except my tracksuit slid on the leather sofa under the window and I was propelled accross the living room floor, recieving major carpet burns on both arms. Couldnt do it again if I tried!! Everyone saw the humor bar me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Yes, when my son was young he liked to lock doors.
    I stepped out to the car to get something.
    I knocked, I pounded, I pleaded.
    Son stood there laughing and could not unlock it!
    We had guests over in the kitchen with hubby, music on loud, they didn't hear me.
    I finally broke a window in the back door and unlocked it to get in.
    Hubby said "Jeesh! Why didn't you knock??" Grrrrrr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I regret breaking into my own house because I sent my parents into a state of paranoia that our house was incredibly easy to rob.
    Climbed over the gate into the back garden. There's a small window above my big one, which was open ajar. It's not big enough to get through, so I had to use the wheely bin to stand on while I got my arm down far enough to open the big one. Felt like a great achievement at the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

My sister locked herself out a while and called me, she'd left a window open in the back,( I just can't understand how people can do that) but an 8 ft wall had to be climed first.I realised that I'm not the boy I used to be, we eventually had to borrow a ladder.:o I used to get up walls that size with a skip and a hop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭DemonOfTheFall

Almost every day, I don't bother to carry keys.

You can open the doors of every house in my estate by putting your hand through the letterbox.... LOL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i remember having to climb in the back kitchen window, tiny, but sure i was tiny then myself, the phone was ringing inside and when i got in i answered it, and it was aunt telling me my other aunt just had a baby boy..he's 11 now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I have never broken anything, but I have pick my own locks a few times and those of people who have asked.
    Most pvc back doors and most standard front door are easy enough to do,
    really you need ones that can be tripple locked to be secure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

About 6 months ago I went outside in my PJs to bring to the curb, and accidentally closed the door behind me. With no phone to call anyone who had a key, and not knowing a number to call even if I had a phone I found myself with the option of either waiting 10 hours outside hoping my brother would be dropping by that evening or breaking in. I figured my best option, the one which would result in the least damage, was to get in through the conservatory and hope the inside door was unlocked.

One of the windows of my corservatory is small, about 3'x15" made up of 6 small panes of glass that rotate. Unfortunately it's probably been a decade since anyone has tried to open it, so it was rusted firmy shut. I had to pry open the metal frames of each of these, and try to tap out the glass without breaking any which took the best part of an hour. Nest came the tricky job of climbing through this tiny gap located 5 foot off the ground with only a pair of small window sills to balance on. Thankfully there was a ladder beside the window on the inside making things a bit easier. It still took about 20 mins.

Once inside, wouldn't you know it, the inner door was locked. Not wanting to let myself me stopped there, I noticed a garden fork leaning up against a wall. I slipped the prongs of the fork into a 1cm gap between the doors and proceded to lever the door out of it's lock. After about 10 mins of careful work the door popped open with just a few dents door frame, and a bent lock.

I have since made changes to the windows to ensure such a feat cannot be repeated, and always remember to bring my keys with me whenever i take the bins out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Ive had to climb in windows a good bit but never involved breaking or lock picking etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

I've had to "break out" before. I locked my door on my room, and when i was opening it again, the key snapped in the lock. No-one would be in the house for about 12 hours so I looked out my window and saw that my brother had left his window open but I would have to get out onto the roof of the kitchen. The thing about this is, there's a large window on the roof of the kitchen and it is outside my room. So I had to step out onto the glass and make my way across about 15 feet of it to get to the other window. Scary!

I later found out that you could throw bricks at that window and they would bounce off it, but I didn't know that :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭derek27

one time i got locked out and every door and window was locked... i didn't want to break any windows or doors cos as you'd expect i'd have to replace/repair them... so i got a brainwave... i had a pneumatic drill in the garage so i drillid a hole through the wall in the house thus saving the windows and doors! what a genius! :D

no seriously now...

one time i had to take the jack out of the car andd make a hole in the window of the back door cos there was a key inside. proved very difficult requiring many repeated blows with a heavy iron carjack because it was that glass thats reinforced with steel wire. i was a bit alarmed by the fact that it didn't arouse any neighbours (housing estate) so anyone could've gained access to my house by similar means and probably get away with it.

other time involved the front door... letterbox was at the bottom... i got a paint roller that was on an extension from the garage (kind of hook shape) and fed it through the letterbox then manouvered it up to pull the handle onthe inside of the door... that worked a treat... no damage whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

Some mates done it when I used to live in Galway.
    They got back from town before me (3 am-ish). They found a broom out the back with a hook on the end of it.
    One went around the back and was able to see all the way through the house. The other stuck the broom and his hand through the letterbox (he ended up with a bunch of cuts for his trouble!).
    So the guy out the back was shouting over the house to the guy with his hand in the letter box "left a bit, up, left more..... down a little......." etc etc etc.
    Eventually he caught the door latch and was able to jimmy it open.

By the time I got home, not long after them, they were sitting in my front room with a couple of cans cracked open. :D

I learned my lesson ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Yeah I once forgot my keys too, so I decided to 'break into' my house.
    The only window open was a top one, so I got the ladder from around the side of the house and climbed up and dragged myself through the window. With nobody holding the wobbly ladder, it was kinda scary (i was quite young at the time).
    It also made me realise how easy it was to break into my house. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

There was several ways of breaking into my house. We used to have dodgy windows with a top part you can open (small enough for a cat to get through, but no bigger) and a dodgy side door that if you knew how (;)) you could jimmy it open.

I'm guilty of forgetting my keys quiet often. During the day I would climb onto a small flat roof over a bay window type thing at the front of my house and reach in the small type window and open the bigger window. That's my folks room.

At night, when drunk, that's a poor idea, as I found out, so I found other ways...sometimes there was the same situation at the back of the house where we have a larger flat roof..I could do the same rwach in technique as both were rarely there, especially my sis who has her own place...so that's a good point o' access...also, the side door "jimmy" was an option, although difficult to get too as it's in kind of a ally along the side of my gaf and bolted doors etc.

But point being, I had several areas of easy access to my house, but in the 30 odd years my parents have owned the house, we've only been broke into 3 times (1 half break in as me and my dad caught a 15yr old kid in my bro's room cause we heard a few bangs upstairs, I was 17 at the time, we gave him a couple of smacks and called the gaurds, held him there untill they arived, a week later we had a brick through our front window :D Knackers, gotta love 'em)

But now, ffs our house is a fortress...about 4 months ago i was home at about 6am (it was bright) and WAY TO late/early to ring the doorbell, and absolutely NO way in!! All the windows have been replaced, Massive bolted side door, with 2 thick wooden doors between the front garden and back gearden and every corner you turn a sensor light comes on!!

I slept in the shed. (which was locked, but I have a hidden key ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

A mate of mine often used to climb in his bedroom window and fall asleep.
    His head would be on the pillow and his legs outside :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Forgot keys one night so when myself and family went home hey presto no keys.Went through neighbours and seen bathroom window open,got ladder out of garage and had my son who was around 5 at time with me climb up ladder while i was sort of behind him/holding him.

He got through window,got caught a little but didnt panic.He went down to front door and let my wife and daughter in.He was made up and so were we.We called him a Hero and he loved it.Brought him up to smiths toystore next day and told him to pick whatever he wanted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Haha! That's brilliant! You may be breeding the next generation of stelth robber, but enjoyed the story!! :D I'm sure "got stuck a little" means "I shoved him through the fuc*in window nd he landed on his face"...but at least you bought him a prezie!! Cheaper then replacing a broken window!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭New_Departure06

A long time ago I mistakenly locked myself out of my house. Luckily I found a window I had left open to my bedroom so I climbed in. Does that count?

DubGuy wrote:
    I'm sure "got stuck a little" means "I shoved him through the fuc*in window nd he landed on his face"...but at least you bought him a prezie!! Cheaper then replacing a broken window!!

Actually your not far off there DubGuy,I had to put him in feet first and he thought he wasnt going to fit(Hell I thought it too) until he turned his head and he slipped in no worries on top of the sink.Phew!!! My son,my hero.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Yup - I'm not bad at breaking in - prised open a closed PVC window with a metal clothes hangar to break in once, that took a good hour to do!
    Also knocked in my own door once with a fire extinguisher - leaving large circles on the frame :)

lol, maybe I should have posted a thread, "anybody who hasn't broken into your own house"

Some good stories here! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Dancing_Priest

Ah yes, breaking in....
    Well I remember my first year in college in galway, 2 of the boys were locked out and very very drunk, so drunk in fact that they never even bothered knocking the the door to see if anyone was home. the long and the short of it was they just smashed the door open, the result being that after that, you only had to lean slightly on the door to get in, so there was no subsequent problems in that dept.. quite the opposite in fact, woke up many a morning to find random strangers playing mario kart after a heavy night....
    As for the house last year there was quite a precarious little window about 6 feet up which I climbed through many a time, once when everyone was home and watching TV, but I was too drunk to bother with something as simple as a doorbell.
    One of they boys who was too big, even shoved a 14 year old through it and proceeded to 'share' the kids dope with him and the king of the culchies who was just back from a court appearence relating to a trifeling matter regarding a television set and a third story window. We got the window repaired after that in case the dodgy little miscreant ever attempted to gain illegal access in light of the incedent, you just cant trust kids these days......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

julep wrote:
    i've done this hundreds of times.
    once i had to lift a 12 year old neighbour up through a small window in the kitchen as i was too big to fit through it myself.
    i've also broken a window to get in.
    leaving your key at home can be expensive.
    funnily enough, the 12 year old that i got to get through the window was the one to fix the window i broke. it was 6 years later and he was working as a glazier.

It took you 6 years to fix the window ?!?!!? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

had to break in a few times

scary how easy it is to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

When i was like 12 i came home from school and forgot my key, i was really pissed off so i kicked in the front door and then i fixed it up looked fine just a minor crack... so i thought i was home free, but apparently the neighbours saw me and ratted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I also had to do this a few times. If a window was open usually the top piece (tiny as it is) I would get a bit of string and loop it and use it to open the bigger part and go in through that then. One time as I was in the process of doing this a Retired Guard who was passing by say me and rushed in to stop and arrest (Citizens Arrest??) me. Anyway I made him walk next door to the neighbours and they vouched for my identity.

I haven't had to do it for a long time since now though. I was often tempted to keep a spare key hidden in my own little secret place should such an emergency arise again, but was afraid it might get found and someone would use it to break in.

How many people here keep a spare key hidden for such an emergency??

netwhizkid wrote:
    How many people here keep a spare key hidden for such an emergency??
    Never. Had a paper round when I was a lad and it's surprising how many people in council estates had a key hanging on a piece of string behind the letter box. A few had a key in the front door. Back then people had very little worth robbing anyway, plus the working class were much more open to socialising with their neighbours and any local thieves wouldn't generally sh1t on their own doorstep. Heroin and prosperity changed all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

ziggy67 wrote:
    I had to do it last year.

I'm renting a room in a house with a few other lads in it. I had been on nightshift & woke up about 5pm, realised my phone was in the car, went out in my shorts, t-shirt & slippers (this was winter BTW) closing the door behind me.
    Only then i realised that not only did i not have my car keys but i didn't have my house keys either! Climbed the back wall and went into the shed hoping someone would come home. By 6.30 no-one had & i had to leave for work at 7.00 so i got an axe that was in the shed & smashed in the window by the door, reached in & unlocked it.

Then i kind of boarded the window up, got ready for work & left a note saying that i was woken up by someone breaking into the house & they must have ran away when i came downstairs.
    The housemates thanked me and the landlord paid for a new window. :)

and then you wrote about your subterfuge on the internet? oh oh :eek:

I broke into my house last night to rob another bottle of vodka from my room

My ditzy mate dropped the first one ..I could have killed her

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

I came pretty close..... came back to the house (the whole family was gone to spain or something) and was after forgetting my key. It was about 3am and was mistin' - you know the kind of hairspray rain that gets everywhere and pisses you off.

Anyways, one downstairs window was slightly open (you know the new ones you can tilt backwards a bit?) and I decided to try and break it, cos I definitely wasnt staying in the feckin' shed.

I started pushin at the window for ages tryin to break it gently (as if that would make a difference) and was pushin and pushin and I could hear it creakin - just about to snap....... and I just stopped for a sec to ask meself was I sure i wanted to bust me window open.

I looked over to the mothers car (she didnt bring it to spain obviously) and decided to see if it was open so I could sleep in it. Stupid woman left her feckin car open!!! So I sat in and warmed up a bit and figured out what the buck I was goin to do, then I saw a key in the change area where you throw loose change. So i tried it in the front door and it feckin worked.

I'm pretty lucky i have a silly mother who doesn't give a **** about home security! Imagin if I busted the feckin window or called a locksmith or something, with the fecking key about 2 meters away from me the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Not a house but did lock myself out of an office building once when I was doing security there. It's the Irish hq of an international finance company in Dublin and I was doing the evening shift alone. Went out to lock up another part of the property and when I came back to let myself into the main building, the keycard wouldn't work.
    It made the reassuring beeping noise but the door wouldn't budge. Oh Boll*x!!
    Tried every emergency door in the building but all locked. It was now 11pm and I was due to finish at 11.30. I hadn't a clue what I was going to do. Ring the security company and say 'Eh, bit of a problem over here. You see I've done the silliest thing...'.
    All the windows looked locked too but in my desperation i walked around and attempted to open every one. It was looking bad till one window gave a bit of movement. Yes! I'd forgotten that I hadn't been able to close down one window on my patrol and had planned to close it later. Still, it was hard to get the leverage to push it open from the outside. I summoned up some strength from somewhere though and forced it up. I was in. I've never known relief like it!
    I was hoping nobody driving by saw some lad climbing in the back window of a building and would call the guards. Somehow I wasn't spotted.
    Smooth... I hated that job.

Ah sure I remember when I lived with grandparents,the house key was on a bit of twine just behind letter box,so open it a little and pull twine up to open front door...Ah the good auld days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭uberpixie

Once broke a drunk first year neighbour back into his house.

He had come back from town early and was very drunk and very sick.

Used a butter knife to jimmy a window open at the back of the house and help him through the window.

Was far too easy.

My house mates gave me a few funny looks when they found out:D.