Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whey protein etc while loosing weight?

• 21-06-2006 1:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering. something.
    I used to be 76kg a few years back when 23/24 (im 6 feet tall). Then a number of things happened. Firstly i started drinking beer (had not previously since i was 18). I also got married so i went to the gym less and less and then i moved to westmeath when my gym was in Blanch so never went :D

Anyway i joined again last month and was shocked to find i was 103kg :eek:

Jaysus i did not think i would be over 16 stone... im not THAT fat!!!

Anyway since my wife got a job in Blanch im back working out at westpoint 4 or 5 times a week. This time though im doing a little more weight training as well as aerobic weight loss machines.

Anyway question is this: I have heard that protein can help you shed pounds by helping turn fat into muscle (as long as you work out of course!!). So is this true? If i took something like Whey protein would that help me loose the fat and turn it back in to muscle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Nothing that I know off can turn fat into muscle….it would be an odd kind of alchemist who could pull that off.

Whey protein will help you burn fat and build muscle however. I would suggest you post your complete diet so we
    Can have a look at it and make sure it's okay. Whey is good, but it's only a supplement and the rest of your diet
    Need to be solid.

Here is the general low down on whey protein and the human body.

1) When you work out, you breakdown muscle. In order to repair the muscle it needs protein and amino acids.
    2) You get these from meat and whet etc
    3) Whey is quickly digested in the body so it gets to your system fast, this makes it great for the morning and for after your workouts.
    4) Protein is thermogenic, in that it takes more calories for your body to break down protein that for other macronutrients.
    5) Whey shakes are low in calories etc, meaning you can still be working off a calorific defeceit while taking them.

That’s about it really I think. Post you diet and workout for more detailed help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Saruman wrote:
    Anyway question is this: I have heard that protein can help you shed pounds by helping turn fat into muscle (as long as you work out of course!!). So is this true? If i took something like Whey protein would that help me loose the fat and turn it back in to muscle?
    'fraid you heard wrong. Fat cannot be converted into msucle- they're two entirely different types of tissue.

But you can lose fat and gain muscle, and whey will help do that. All whey is is a by-product of cheese making (i.e. curds and whey). It's a high quality protein source not a magic wand :p

Lose fat with good diet and exercise. Gain muscle with good diet and exercise.

If you need help with either the diet or exercise part post up your current eating habits and stats and your exercise regime so that we can pick apart.. I mean give constructive criticism on it. Oh and kudos getting back in teh gym in the first place ;)

Ah damn ye Dragan getting in there before me.... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Yeah... i was not actually of the mind it would turn fat into muscle :D Pretty much as dragon said
    Whey protein will help you burn fat and build muscle however
    I was probably not clear enough.
    As for my diet... well its actually pretty health. I do not eat red meat (bad for my system). I eat a lot of fish etc and a party Vegetarian diet too. Started eating more chicken.
    I rarely have fast food though every now and again i just have to have some but it will always be chicken/fish or non meat based.
    My vice is tea (decaff and good for me) and bickies (bad for me :D)
    Oh and alcohol is probably the killer.

On a side note i broke the 100kg mark and last night was 99.9kg... not that it means anything but im heading in the right direction... oh to be 76kg again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

Saruman wrote:
    On a side note i broke the 100kg mark and last night was 99.9kg... not that it means anything but im heading in the right direction... oh to be 76kg again :D
    Good to hear. On the diet side, yeah alcohol doesn't help alright - try to keep it to a few beers a week. As for the biscuits, I suggest you read the nutritional information - most of those things are absolutely stacked with calories. As in a couple of biscuits + cup of tea = calorie content of a decent meal (generally eaten right when you need it least, while watching telly before bed).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭Patto

1. Diet. As you say if your diet is pretty good and pitched 500-1000 Cals below you daily requirement you will lose weight. If you are 6 foot tall and active you can probably eat up to 3000-3500 a day and maintain this. There is a sticky somewhere where you can work out the maths.

2. Get your body fat measured. If you are 100+Kg at 6 foot and average build and given that you were once 76Kg then I reckon at 100Kg you are probably carrying about 30% body fat. You should be aiming to get this down to 12% i.e. 76-78Kg.

3. Training. The best way to burn fat is low intensity training i.e. all the boring stuff, gentle jog, brisk walk, slow cycling etc. And better again first thing in the morning on an empty stomach. If you want to maintain a good level of strength or even gain a little strength while loosing all this body fat then you should A. lift weights at least twice a week, B. maintain a high protein diet. A good way of maintaining a high protein diet is by taking protein shakes. You should be aiming to consume about 180g of Protein a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭les_steaks

Hi lads, excuse my ignorance but are there any down sides to taking these supplements?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

les_steaks wrote:
    Hi lads, excuse my ignorance but are there any down sides to taking these supplements?

Nah as long as they are good products and that you don't become over dependant on them, as it was said above your diet should primarily consist of whole foods.
    To the OP, being 6 foot tall I think 76kg's is the last place you'd want to be 85 would be nice!

Can you recommend a good product? Should you only take on nights prior to morning workout and post workout and avoid on other days? What are the best whole foods to provide protein naturally? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Diet is the main thing, find your maintenance level and take 500 off. I find LIIS (65-75% of Max HR for 45 mins) first thing in the morning works great. You could also have a thermogenic stack and some Aceytl-L-Carnitine 30 mins prior to the LIIS, helps release fat for burning. Stick with good products though. ON and Reflex are 2 I would recommend.

Also, without your diet being spot on their is no point buying supplements as you are just wasting your money. Supplements are as the name says. Stay off the beer, its the worst ever. When you eat on top of beer the fat more or less goes straight on as the body is too busy dealing with the alcohol!

Sorry, what's LIIS? Low Intensity..??:D

With regards to weights as opposed to cardio, what is a low intensity workout? High reps, low weight?

Would such a supplement be suitable if you did not necessarily want to bulk up just burn fat and tone up what's there? What happens when you stop taking it? Does you body become dependant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭Patto

les_steaks wrote:
    Sorry, what's LIIS? Low Intensity..??:D

With regards to weights as opposed to cardio, what is a low intensity workout? High reps, low weight?

Never heard of low intensity weight lifting. Never heard anyone round here recommending it.

Would such a supplement be suitable if you did not necessarily want to bulk up just burn fat and tone up what's there? What happens when you stop taking it? Does you body become dependant?

Protein is Protein there is noting in a whey protein shake that you cannot get from eating fish, eggs, chicken etc.

Don't worry if you are running a 500 cal deficit and loosing weight you will find that you have to consume a hell of a lot of protein just to hold on to your existing lean body mass. That's for a man, it is even more difficult for women. You will not tone up without a high protein diet.

In reference whey protein shakes. What happens when you stop taking it? Depends on the rest of your diet, if as a result you are not getting enough protein your body's ability to repair and maintain muscle becomes compremised. If you maintain a suffiecent protein intake then nothing. Do you become dependent? NO (again think of it as a chicken breast).

"I'd aim for 40% Carbs, 35% Protein, 25% Fats and spread out your intake over 6 meals and possibly try and only eat your starchy carbs early in the day"

Hope I don't sound as though I'm looking to be spoonfed here but if anyone had a few minutes, I'd really appreciate if they could put down a simple sample daily diet that meets this (40, 35, 25 over six meals) split. Sorry but terrible at this kinda stuff and really want to make the most of training etc..

Cheers, Les

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 madmurdock

Hello to all, new to the board,

Diet looks good dave, as I'm sure you'd agree it's best to try and eat 6 small meals throughout the day rather then 3,

Protein supplements can be great for someone who is constantly on the go, but to be honest the 4 areas which have to be correct first are....

Diet
    Hydration
    Sleep
    Good training,

Without these, you can take all the supplements in the world and it won't make a difference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

madmurdock wrote:
    Without these, you can take all the supplements in the world and it won't make a difference

Quoted for TRUTH!!!!! :D

Cheers Dave, don't think my diet is too bad but was brought up on the traditional three meals (including massive dinner in the evening!) but that makes far more sense, pleanty of pointers there, appreciate that, cheers, Les