Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lip w/ Ring

• 19-06-2006 2:58pm

Just thinkin about getting this done.. not worried about the initial "pain" or anything - Just wondering if I can like em.. use my mouth after i get it done :) (Side of my Lip)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

Yup,
    Had one done about a year ago. Left it in for 6 months then took it out when all them little emo fagets started wearing them.

GaRtH_V wrote:
    took it out when all them little emo fagets started wearing them.

haha! So your saying theres not much of an after pain so much that it hurts to use/move your mouth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

i got mine (side of mouth) done 3 weeks ago tomo. i was eatin a twix straightaway after!! obvouisly its a bit awkward but i didnt find it hurtin when i ate. unless ya bite it! i was playin with it that evenin!!
    it depends on the person a friend of mine got his done last week and it hurts him to laugh and eat! so ya never know which ya will be like!

Just got mine done today, was surprised it didnt hurt much, it doesnt hurt to eat and stuff but its just awkawrd to eat and other things :rolleyes:

Overall im pretty happy, just dont really like the ball on it but what can i do about that now =)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

good for you! once your used to havein it ya wont notice its there at all!!#
    didnt like ball either at first but used o it now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

anyone else getting the innuendo!? or am i mad!

I had my labret pierced for 2 years, I really liked it. Just dont play with it too much, that caused me alota problems initially. Enjoy it :)

Thanks lads :P I kinda turned the ball more to the inside of my mouth, doesnt really go well on the outside with me ;)

Wilburt wrote:
    Just dont play with it too much, that caused me alota problems initially.

What kinda problems did you get? I aint playing with it at all really, havnt touched it once, except with solution to clean it ofc.

It says on the leaflet i got to not like.. touch anyone elses mouth for like 6 weeks - Is there a high risk you could infect someone with this type of piercing? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

No, they could infect you. You're the one with a fresh piercing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭j0e

yeah also no oral sex till it heals :D

j0e wrote:
    yeah also no oral sex till it heals :D

So crude :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Well, no *giving*... :p

hahaha

The problem i encounterd was that the skin on the inside of my lip began to cover the flat back, basically my body was trying to eat the piercing :eek: It was due to the fact that I was sorta playing with the back of it, like just touching it with my tongue. It encouraged the skin to grow over the bar.

However it was easily sorted... i just stopped playing with it also broke half a panadol and placed it over the skin which disolved it gradually.

You have a ring though so you wont encounter that problem :D

Ye just today i noticed my skin inside my lip tryin to kinda counter the skin around the ring and its trying to grow back but we'll see for now ;)

Well if you have any problems just contact your piercer or ask on here

Ye just today i noticed my skin inside my lip tryin to kinda counter the skin around the ring and its trying to grow back but we'll see for now ;)
    Naa you'll get that, i still have a tiny lump on the inside of my lip from my piercing

Thanks for the advice.. saves me going to town :)

They never mentioned anything about drinking? like beer and stuff - should I not? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Its not advised to drink with a new piercing. Its not the end of the world tho. I drank with mine, and its fine.

Drinking is grand, you've had it a few days now!
    The only reason they advise you not to drink is because it thins the blood and slows the healing process. Also yeast in an open wound is never good!

GaRtH_V wrote:
    Also yeast in an open wound is never good!

Yeah someone said to be about gettin a yeast infection or somethin and i was like ughh. The last place I want an infection is my mouth!

Well its been in now just over a week and ive had no problems - i can move it perfectly now and i can move my mouth fine, delighted i am. Just a small bit of scabbing but that was expected. Ive been overly cleaning it, just making sure its ok :P