Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Something strange happened this morning.

• 19-06-2006 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭

Got into my car this morning and before I could close my door a husky hound jumped over me into the passenger seat and sat there as if it was expecting me to drive it somewhere.

Very friendly dog but none of the neighbours own it (that I am aware of) and it had no collar and looked like a pedigree.

Took a little while to get it out of the car as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

you should have played "red rover" with it before chucking it out of the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭matu

maybe it was a test from God who knows or maybe the dog was just looking for a lift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Maybe it was the Littlest Hobo :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Jaysus, you'll have to keep that dog so, maybe it was a sign.....be a bad thing to give it away! :D:D

yep that dog was sent to you for a reason maybe to save your life, just like

http://www.vfw6110.org/lassie.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Huskie, I'd love one, is it a dog or a bitch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

That's a gorgeous dog! If it's still there when you get home put up some ''Found'' posters around the area. I'm sure someone some where is devestated! If no one comes for it then keep it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭fabcat

He must have just been looking for a wee spin in the car, restless huskys tsk, maybe tomorrow he'll wanna settle down ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Maybe it's your daemon?

Keep it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

matu wrote:
    yep that dog was sent to you for a reason maybe to save your life, just like

http://www.vfw6110.org/lassie.jpg

True :D , maybe in the time it took you to get the dog out of the car, it resulted in you avoiding some terrible event, did the dog disappear then? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Nice dog, i would keep it, they are worth a decent penny to if you're ever in a fix :p .

yep very true someone out there is missing a dog you should have took it in and gave it a good home until someone came looking for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Cujo?
    Except a completely different dog. And devoid of rabies. And not even remotely connected to the book/film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

fabcat wrote:
    He must have just been looking for a wee spin in the car, restless huskys tsk, maybe tomorrow he'll wannasettle down ;)

But until tomorrow he'll just keep moving on :)

Now I've got that feckin song playing in my head...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

Hobbes wrote:
    Got into my car this morning and before I could close my door a husky hound jumped over me into the passenger seat and sat there as if it was expecting me to drive it somewhere.

Very friendly dog but none of the neighbours own it (that I am aware of) and it had no collar and looked like a pedigree.

Took a little while to get it out of the car as well.

You just threw him back out??? Whatever other appointment you may have had that morning it would have been more than nice to just bring it to a vet or someone who might look after him rather than throwing him back out again. If something happens to the dog I hope his spirot haunts you and chews on your balls!! Outrageous!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Relax.. I gave him some food to get him out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Holy Crap, First thing I'd have done was gone for a change of clothes as that would definitely freed my bowels up with fear. A Wolf in your car, Holy Bejabus :eek: I am fairly cynophobic even though I have a dog of my own but she is 13yrs and only a small terrier that is half deaf. Someone could have put the dog into your motor to take the p*ss too though. I once found a tiny puppy abandoned in a field and I took him home and looked after him till I got a new home for her and she turned out to be a cross between a Pomeranian and an Alsatian. Some match hey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

You could of become the new Turner and Hooch. o_O

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0098536/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

You just threw him back out??? Whatever other appointment you may have had that morning it would have been more than nice to just bring it to a vet or someone who might look after him rather than throwing him back out again. If something happens to the dog I hope his spirot haunts you and chews on your balls!! Outrageous!!

HAHAHA. Would in my sh*te go out of my way for a stray dog. Though since it was a huskey I'd probably have kept it.

netwhizkid wrote:
    Someone could have put the dog into your motor to take the p*ss too though.

The dog wasn't in the car when I came out, it just came out of nowhere and jumped into the car when I had sat down and about to close the car door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,991 ✭✭✭✭fits

I actually cant believe you just threw it back out like that!

Someone out there has probably lost their beloved dog! You should have taken it to nearest vets or kept it until you could bring it to a rescue..

Cant believe some of the replies on here:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

fits wrote:

Someone out there has probably lost their beloved dog! You should have taken it to nearest vets or kept it until you could bring it to a rescue..

Cant believe some of the replies on here:mad:
    Or the little girl around the corner looking for her lost dog would not have turned the corner to find him sitting on the ground.. instead some fecker drove off with him....
    Jaysus!!!

By the way that is an amazing looking Dog!! I would love one.

would a vet look after a lost dog or would they just send it to the dog pound?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I would have kicked him tbh. it was never invited into the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭DamoKen

maybe he was trying to tell you something. is there any old abandoned mineshaft or well close by?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

matu wrote:
    would a vet look after a lost dog or would they just send it to the dog pound?

They might treat it or whatever but then probably off to an animal shelter I would say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

You did it all wrong. That dog must have had plenty of meat on it, could have kept you going for quite a while. If that's not your thing, then you could have sold it to the local chinese restaurant. There's a chinese place in Limerick that's right next door to a veterinary clinic, they have lovely dog on the menu.

fits wrote:

Someone out there has probably lost their beloved dog!

1. I didn't throw it out. It was already stray it just felt the need to get into my car.

2. If they loved the dog so much next time they should put a collar on it so I can tell who owns it.

3. If its still there this evening it will be going in the back garden and fed while I check who owns it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭fabcat

Hobbes wrote:
    1. I didn't throw it out. It was already stray it just felt the need to get into my car.

2. If they loved the dog so much next time they should put a collar on it so I can tell who owns it.

3. If its still there this evening it will be going in the back garden and fed while I check who owns it.

Number 3 seems to be quite a sensible solution. All joking aside, I hope he gets home ok.

Hobbes wrote:

Fair enough to number 3. I lost my own dog before, and went through hell trying to get him back. I was worried sick.
    Huskies and other expensive popular breeds are being stolen a lot at the moment he could have been stolen and the collar removed.
    Bit sensitive about the lost dog thing...

If hes still there this evening, put a post up on irishanimals.com.

number 3 is a good one but hopefully the owner will have found him.

Failing that I've always wanted a Huskey...

Speaking of which, one of my neighbours breeds them I think. He has a few of them floating about the place.
    I use "floating", because they're fluffy like clouds. Ahem.

/edit: Does the word fluffy make anyone else laugh? No? Just me then..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Huskeys are gorgeous dogs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Spike wrote:
    Failing that I've always wanted a Huskey...
    In first with a starting bid of €25.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭the Shades

If it isn't a very old dog it's probably been chipped, especially if it's a pedigree huskie, so if you bring it to your local vet he can scan it and should be able to tell you who the owner is then and there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Ruu wrote:
    Maybe it was the Littlest Hobo :eek:
    Ruu is right - you're bunched now without him! There's bound to be a bully/robber/smuggler/bad guy waiting for you when you go home and you won't have the dog to save you! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

This is so weird, I lost my dog this morning, he slipped out of the garden when my Dad was putting something from the garage into his van. I found him by lunch time and he's a cross between a wolfhound and a greyhound and he LOVES sitting in the passenger seat! See the pic attached, does this look like the culprit??? :eek:

LOL that would be funny if that was the dog in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Do you live up Palmerstown way by any chance, I know a guy who owns 2 of them up there, damn expensive dog btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Darragh29 wrote:
    This is so weird, I lost my dog this morning, he slipped out of the garden when my Dad was putting something from the garage into his van. I found him by lunch time and he's a cross between a wolfhound and a greyhound and he LOVES sitting in the passenger seat! See the pic attached, does this look like the culprit??? :eek:

My god that dog rocks. I've been thinking of getting an Irish Wolfhound. Does anyone know how much one costs?

dubtom wrote:
    Do you live up Palmerstown way by any chance, I know a guy who owns 2 of them up there, damn expensive dog btw.

Yip, I live in Palmerstown but I only have one of these dogs, I couldn't handle two of them! It's so weird cos when I found him he was trying to get into someone's car as the driver was trying to get out but Gene (my dog) was trying to jump over the driver and get into the passenger seat and the driver looked a bit taken aback and annoyed! Woudn't be surprised if it was my dog as he wasn't wearing a collar when I found him this afternoon but was wearing one last night last time I saw him...

sjones wrote:
    My god that dog rocks. I've been thinking of getting an Irish Wolfhound. Does anyone know how much one costs?

I rehomed this dog about two months ago, I went up to the DSPCA shelter in Mount Venus Road in Rathfarnham one day a few months ago looking for a dog as our last dog was put down recently. This dog had been in the shelter for a while and was badly in need of a home, nobody wanted him because he was surrounded by cute puppies and had lost a lot of weight when he was a stray and his coat was in bad nick so he looked a bit the worst for wear. I saw the potential in him though, he has a beautiful nature, but he is a lot of work, especially when I bring him for a walk... Doesn't eat as much as you would expect, but has a habit of destroying anything that he can chew and our back garden has started to look like a mine field, holes being dug everywhere!

Darragh, be careful with him. I own a lurcher too (well he's a whippet) and they are very much in demand with certain people. A lot of lurchers are stolen!
    Mine is microchipped and has a phone number tag on his collar.

He's absolutely beautiful by the way. I love him!:)

fits wrote:
    Darragh, be careful with him. I own a lurcher too (well he's a whippet) and they are very much in demand with certain people. A lot of lurchers are stolen!
    Mine is microchipped and has a phone number tag on his collar.

He's absolutely beautiful by the way. I love him!:)

Thanks Fits, he is a cutie isn't he! I have some better pics of him I might stick up if I'm not straying off the thread subject! I didn't know how fast he was when I took him, when I got him home and brought him out to a nearby field, he must have wanted to stretch his legs when I let him off the lead and I couldn't get over the speed of him. I didn't know they were so fast. Everyone loves him around here, but some people are afraid of him when he runs up to them, he is very friendly but when he is running towards you, it's like a scene out of Hound of the Baskervilles!!! I brought him down to Sandymount Strand last weekend and a woman threw an absolute hissy fit when he ran up to her, he scared the bejesusers out of her! Some kids as well find him a bit intimidating even though he is the friendliest dog I've ever seen.

Put them in the animals/pet issues section. I can put up some of my fella then too!
    I think I might come and steal your fellow myself though.

fits wrote:
    Put them in the animals/pet issues section. I can put up some of my fella then too!
    I think I might come and steal your fellow myself though.

I'm afraid that some day we'll be out somewhere with him and someone will come up and say "hey, that's my dog!". My bro took a few pics of him last week, I'll scan them in and stick them up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

our jack russell got into the postmans van one day and the postman came back an hour later to say he just noticed her when he looked in the mirror.

She went to a house a mile or so down the road the other day and made herself at home and played with some young kids there for a while and then came back when she was whistled.

The people called in to ask if she was ours and to say they had put up notices everywhere asking if anyone had lost her.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

Dogs are vicious killers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Dogs are vicious killers.
    They pale in comparison to humans in that department.

Or badgers.