Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Got my name taken by 2 Gardaí last night....

• 18-06-2006 2:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

Ok so last night I was over in a friend's house with 3 friends and at about midnight one of my friends had to go home so 2 of us said we'd walk with him to the bus stop. We'd had a bit to drink so we were slightly drunk but I don't think we were visably disorderly. Walking towards the bus stop one of my friends hopped in a trolly that was just lying there(we were close to a supermarket) and was pushed along in it by my other friend for about 50 metres or so. Anyway we got to the bus stop and waited for a while, then determined that he'd missed the last bus and he decided to stay in the friend's house that we'd just been at. On the way back we saw the trolley again and this time the one who'd been pushing it on the way there got in and was pushed by the other. Then he got out of the trolley and proceeded to keep on wheeling it(God knows why) across the road. I was about 50 metres behind him and my other friend was about about 10 metres behind. I wasn't really watching them closely but suddenly I see the friend who had the trolley walking towards me without the trolley and he muttered something about a police car ahead. He was walking an alternate way back to the house we'd been at earlier. I didn't see any police and didn't really know why he cared(I didn't know he'd been wheeling the trolley all that time), but I followed him anyway and had to hop over a barrier to catch up with him. Suddenly a Garda walks up to me and asks me, "What was all that messing with the trolley back there?" I said I wasn't involved and was walking well behind my other two friends. Then he accused me of seeing him coming and hopping over the barrier to avoid him, which was not true and I denied it, to which he replied with a sarcastic, "Yeah".

So I was brought over to the side and another garda walked up with my friend who had walked a good bit further than me and hadn't heard the garda calling him due to him listening to music. My other friend had ran when he saw the gardaí coming and got back to the house ok. The gardaí took both of our names,addresses and dates of birth and searched us.

Now I'm 17 and my friend's 18. I gave all correct information apart from my date of birth, I added a year onto my age as I was afraid they might call my parents or that there might be bigger implications if they noticed I was a bit drunk(which they most likely did). I had nothing on me when searched.

My friend, however, was searched and they found a gram of Salvia on him. Salvia is a legal drug, but they presumed it was weed and seized it.

They told us to put the trolley back and let us go and walking back to the house my friend explained that he was wheeling the trolley, saw the police car, wheeled the trolley to the side, left it there and walked away from the car. My other friend had legged it as soon as he saw the police getting out of the car. He thinks the police saw none of the pushing each other around in the trolley, just my friend walking towards them wheeling the trolley and him abandoning it and walking away.

I'm annoyed with myself that I didn't ask them exactly what we'd done wrong, I'm presuming it's just for taking the trolley, but I wouldn't have thought they'd have taken our names for that, I would have expected them to simply tell us to put it back. Would it have been because we attempted to evade them?

Also, did they have the right to search us? Did they have the right to take my name and address as I actually had nothing to do with it?

And what happens now? I'm presuming they'll just forget about it. As for the Salvia, they said they'd test it to see what it was, will they actually? I'm thinking they might just throw it away and forget about it. If they did test it and found out it was legal would we be able to get it back?(Not that we're going to try, it's cheap and we want as little contact with the Gardaí as possible.)

I'm just really confused about the whole thing right now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Oh im sure they'll test it!!!
    They'll test it good!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Will you get it back? Are you insane?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 col1

Oh sweet Jesus,theres people being bombed in Iraq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭andrew1977

dont worry about , the coppers have far more important things to do then worry about a couple of drunks on a saturday night who didnt really do anything .
    they had every right to search you i think, if they suspect you of something they are well within their powers to root through your pockets

forget about it , you wont hear from them again, unless you call down to the garda station looking for your "legal " drug to be returned to you
    My the coppers would love you to turn up at the station !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 blah0000

Will you get it back? Are you insane?

As I said, we dont' intend to try, just for discussions sake, as it is a legal substance.

I know this isn't the most serious of issues, but I've never really gotten into trouble with the gardaí before, I'm a bit píssed off and confused as to why they took our names and searched us for stealing a fecking trolley....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Wow, I bet you feel special.

Get over it, kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭andrew1977

1. STEALING A TROLLEY = THEFT = CRIME
    2. DRUNK AND DISORDERLY = CRIME
    3. PUBLIC NUISANCE= CRIME
    4. POSSESSION OF A POSSIBLE ILLEGAL SUBSTANCE = CRIME

Do you need me to go on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

They may have had a call from someone about you pushing each other about, if you were causing noise.
    I was stopped by the guards a few times when I was young, drunk, and walking home. Generally they just talk to you for long enough to make sure you're not going to get belligerent, then send you on your way. They've even taken my details a few times, nothing ever came of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Salvia!? **** man, that stuff is crazy!!
    This picture is what soem guy saw while on it!

Oh and never mind the gardai nothing will come of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,589 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

andrew1977 wrote:

All Caps = Crime :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭AOR

you'll prob get 15 years, maybe 10 if your lucky

Crucifix wrote:
    They may have had a call from someone about you pushing each other about, if you were causing noise.
    I was stopped by the guards a few times when I was young, drunk, and walking home. Generally they just talk to you for long enough to make sure you're not going to get belligerent, then send you on your way. They've even taken my details a few times, nothing ever came of it.

Thanks, that's all I really wanted to hear.
    Slurms wrote:
    Salvia!? **** man, that stuff is crazy!!
    This picture is what soem guy saw while on it!

Oh and never mind the gardai nothing will come of it.

Indeed :D

We lost our gram worth €15 and the chance to do it that night though :(

Anyway, I guess I'll just forget about it now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

If they had refused to let the Guards seach them, would they have been within their rights? :\

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭derek27

AOR wrote:
    you'll prob get 15 years, maybe 10 if your lucky
    hahahaha comforting remarks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Just keep your nose clean in future eh OP, EH, EH!!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭adox

You were probably stopped for being off your trolley!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Aard wrote:
    If they had refused to let the Guards seach them, would they have been within their rights? :\
    they would have been taken to the station and probably detained over night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

The gaurds do make a big deal of nothing:rolleyes: I was searched for sitting on a wall with friends, they arrested my brother for not giving his name, they arrested me and a friend for driving a motorbike down the canal, they searched me, my brother and a friend for sitting down in a park down from huoston station(they had a half ounce but trown it away in time), I have had a load of brushins with tyhe law for pointless stuff:( Anyone else have more things to say what happened to you?

julep wrote:
    they would have been taken to the station and probably detained over night.
    I suppose it's just better to fully comply with what they say then.

The Salvia thing is a bit worrying ... I wonder if the Guards belived them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

andrew1977 wrote:

He's not guilty of any of those.

Plug wrote:
    The gaurds do make a big deal of nothing:rolleyes:
    then...
    I was searched for sitting on a wall with friends, they arrested my brother for not giving his name, they arrested me and a friend for driving a motorbike down the canal, they searched me, my brother and a friend for sitting down in a park down from huoston station(they had a half ounce but trown it away in time), I have had a load of brushins with tyhe law for pointless stuff:( Anyone else have more things to say what happened to you?
    so, basically you broke several laws and are complaining about the cops doing their job?
    Aard wrote:
    I suppose it's just better to fully comply with what they say then.
    yep. no point whatsoever in arguing with them. they are the ones with the power.
    even if you are in the right, just go along with what they say. you will have time later to rectify everything.

Spike wrote:
    He's not guilty of any of those.

Yeah, I was with my friend, but I wasn't even right beside them. I essentially did nothing...

Not that it matters though, not like I'm defending myself in court over it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Salvia is LEGAL= no crime
    the Trolly was already out = NO crime
    They werent being disorderly = no crime
    And im guessing there werent that many people around at that time at night so they werent being a public nuisance + no crime.

jesus dude dont worry if i were you id ask for my salvia back the guards have the right to seize it if they think its illegal but they have no right to keep it if it isnt.

yeah. look for the drugs off them.

they won't be keeping an eye on you after you look for them back. honest.

julep wrote:
    so, basically you broke several laws and are complaining about the cops doing their job?
    Nope not exacly:)

Patricide wrote:
    Salvia is LEGAL= no crime
    the Trolly was already out = NO crime
    They werent being disorderly = no crime
    And im guessing there werent that many people around at that time at night so they werent being a public nuisance + no crime.

jesus dude dont worry if i were you id ask for my salvia back the guards have the right to seize it if they think its illegal but they have no right to keep it if it isnt.

Considering it was a only small amount I doubt that they'll actually test it. It'll probably be disposed of, and I don't think it's worth fighting a battle over a gram of salvia worth €15......

julep wrote:
    yeah. look for the drugs off them.

they won't be keeping an eye on you after you look for them back. honest.
    Why would they keep an eye on you if Salvia is legal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭peepsbates

you are better off just leaving it now i doubt you will hear from them again, if a cop wants to search you for whatever reason or they suspect you of anything you are better off letting them get on with it,arguing just gets you arrested. as for the salvia id ask for it back for the laugh seeing as its legal, just out of curiousity like:D

Plug wrote:
    Nope not exacly:)
    possesion of an illegal substance, loitering and driving on a public path are all crimes.
    Aard wrote:
    Why would they keep an eye on you if Salvia is legal?
    the way they look at it is, if you take one drug, you are likely to take other (potentially illegal) drugs and they get more arrests and therefore a further step towrds promotion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭jimi_t

Not to get into a big thing about corruption or anything...
    But whats to say they "test" the Salvia and it comes back positive? I'd be slightly worried about it and at the end of the day it's the word of 3 drunk (even if you weren't they'll say you are) teenagers against 2 gardai as to what they took off you.
    And if you were in a right state of mind to give them the wrong DOB why in gods name didn't you do the same for your name and address? Not that I'm condoning it or anything but in for a penny in for a pound :rolleyes:

julep wrote:
    possesion of an illegal substance, loitering and driving on a public path are all crimes.
    They didn't know we had that on us but they searched us anyway.
    Whats loitering:confused:
    Yeah the motorbike incident was a bit of trouble. The guards were screaming at us, ye little bastards, running like hore's, scumbags and all sorts of stuff. They were very abusive to us:(
    And they wonder why there called pigs.

jimi_t wrote:
    Not to get into a big thing about corruption or anything...
    But whats to say they "test" the Salvia and it comes back positive? I'd be slightly worried about it and at the end of the day it's the word of 3 drunk (even if you weren't they'll say you are) teenagers against 2 gardai as to what they took off you.
    And if you were in a right state of mind to give them the wrong DOB why in gods name didn't you do the same for your name and address? Not that I'm condoning it or anything but in for a penny in for a pound :rolleyes:

Well it's quite easy to take a year off your DOB, I'd have struggled inventing a different name and address.

The way they spoke to us thinking it was weed(waffling on about not being able to get J1 visas and going to the US etc.) gave me the impression that it was just a warning.

Comes back positive for what? For illegal substances in it? Salvia is perfectly legal, and I know a place or two in town where you can get it (legally (with ID of course)). The cops could hardly lie about what was in it, because then it'd go to court, and they could just get themselves in trouble. Why would they lie anyway (other than promotion opportunities)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Plug wrote:
    They didn't know we had that on us but they searched us anyway.
    Whats loitering
    Yeah the motorbike incident was a bit of trouble. The guards were screaming at us, ye little bastards, running like hore's, scumbags and all sorts of stuff. They were very abusive to us
    And they wonder why there called pigs.

Loitering = hanging about where/when you shouldn't be. You were searched because you were loitering, which looks suspicious. And they had reason to be suspicious as you did have whatever on you prior to seeing them. So stop complaining that they "searched you for no reason" or whatever.

Very abusive towards you? Here, have some sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

So basically, a drunk 17 year old and a bunch of his mates are messing around with a trolley, get caught with what looks like weed and only get their names taken?!

Jesus, you should try sue.

And Plug, they searched you but you did have a half ounce, but you were lucky enough to have thrown it away.

Jesus, they did well on that one I suppose, especially if you had kept it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Wouldnt worry about it.They obviously done it to put the sh1ts up you which they obviously succeded in doing seeing as you posted here.Forget about it.

Giblet wrote:
    And Plug, they searched you but you did have a half ounce, but you were lucky enough to have thrown it away.
    Jesus, they did well on that one I suppose, especially if you had kept it.
    My brother was rolling and my friend just copped a aluminus jacket, he looked over and saw 2 gaurds, they were about 10 yards away then they ripped us out of it and didn't find anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

adox wrote:
    You were probably stopped for being off your trolley!
    Damn you I wanted to make that joke :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Being off your trolley in public, 6 months. :D

/ Edit beaten to it. I'm loosing it.

Plug wrote:
    My brother was rolling and my friend just copped a aluminus jacket, he looked over and saw 2 gaurds, they were about 10 yards away then they ripped us out of it and didn't find anything.
    any chance you are high now?

julep wrote:
    any chance you are high now?
    An ounce between 5 of us, what do you think:D Also a bong(a nice blue one that cost E40)could help us on our way. Though all of this talking, I would never touch heroin or lsd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭exiot

A friend of mine was arrested in Limerick a few months ago for kicking a stone accidently at a police car, he was drunk. He was in a cell for 3 hours, he still has no record.

I got my name taken from the Gardai last year when I bought drink and was walking with a few friends, had no ID, confiscated the drink, searched my friend, took everyones names.. nothing happened.

exiot wrote:
    A friend of mine was arrested in Limerick a few months ago for kicking a stone accidently at a police car, he was drunk. He was in a cell for 3 hours, he still has no record.

I got my name taken from the Gardai last year when I bought drink and was walking with a few friends, had no ID, confiscated the drink, searched my friend, took everyones names.. nothing happened.
    Happens to the best of us;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

andrew1977 wrote:

Yes actually, keep going on.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

usually for drunk and disorderly they just throw you in the car and drive around the town tryin to put the ****s up ya. then they leave you off and maybe they call you the next day depends on what youve done. it takes something serious to get a recors. ive been arrested 3 times and still no record. (they get to know you though)

kano476 wrote:
    usually for drunk and disorderly they just throw you in the car and drive around the town tryin to put the ****s up ya. then they leave you off and maybe they call you the next day depends on what youve done. it takes something serious to get a recors. ive been arrested 3 times and still no record. (they get to know you though)
    Like wise. Its very funny when they arrest or search you when you've done nothing wrong:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

exiot wrote:

About a year ago I was playing football with some friends, on a cul de sac where we always played, and one of my friends kicked the ball over a wall, and went to get it. While he was over the wall, the guards pulled up in a car, rolled down the windows and started doing the usual "What's the names, lads?"

This was a very appropriate time for the guy who went over the wall to kick it back over, I just saw it flying over the wall towards the car, "bollocks."
    They saw that it was an accident, and started laughing about it and stuff. I don't know what my point is.

I had my name taken (notepad type thing) a few times, mostly trespassing, just hanging around in a schoolyard (at night, not perving) or sitting on a wall somewhere, nothing really comes of it.

they just try to frighting youngsters by taking names etc, dosen't seem to work tbh:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Plug wrote:
    they just try to frighting youngsters by taking names etc, dosen't seem to work tbh:rolleyes:
    yeh, we're just too bad-ass :)

No harm in going to the station and apologising to the Garda. It won't cost you anything, and if it is taken any further most Judges really like that kinda stuff - unless you intend to contest anything. They might get some minor public order summons out, along the 'drunk and being a danger to yourself' line.