Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US: Season Finale **Spoilers** (<- no sh1t sherlock)

• 13-06-2006 7:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭

Ok so it ends with..

Caution! Below here contains huge big fυck off SPOILERS with feckin bells hangin' off them!!!

them running across a field with cops closing in from all sides. How the fυck do they escape?

Obviously they do if season 2 is about them on the run, but from what I could see it looked hopeless which makes me fear that the writers are going to come up with some silly contrived beginning to season 2.

Any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Font22

i agree completely! the cops are so close to them and surely there is no way they can escape the helicopter! i'm still addicted tho and cant wait for the next series!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭im...LOST

I have a feeling that the season will pick up about a week after season 1 finale and we won't get that question answered.

Just a hunch though

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Well, between Smallville, BGS, Grey's Anatomy, House, 24, Alias an of course Lost, I held off on watching Prison Break until all the above had finished so I could watch the season in one run......just over a week of fine viewing.

Thoughts, overall a great program, I think T-bag is a great character/actor, and that plank of an M+M clone did actually crack me up because he was so bad. Did not like the flashback episode, didn't feel there was a need for it.
    But sweet fiddlers fook, what an ending, could not believe such a complete and total tosspot of a way to end such a great series, really really p1ssed off with it, just stared at the screen in disbelief, very very disappointed

Hope that tatoo man had some back-up plan that gets them out of the field, or maybe the previous post will happen, maybe with a flashback as to how they got away a la McGuyver.

Overall 8/10, 0.5 points deducted for that sh1te ending

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Flashraziel

Maybe he has more tatoos on his legs that tell him how to evade the police?
    I dont know if the second series will work. But then again I was one of the people who spoke aginst lost by saying " how long can they make people on a beach interesting?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Maybe he has more tatoos on his legs that tell him how to evade the police?
    ROFL

I was very disappointed by the machiavellian attitude Michael exhibits in the last few episodes... Whatever he needs to do to free Link he'll do, and seriously f*cking up the life of Sarah Tancredi is part of that... Not cool.

Aside from that, I'm glad vanilla ice seems to be escaping cleanly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

My theory is that Abruzzi will shoot one or two of the guys, prob that Spinach dude and C-Note and then he will take Scollfield at gun point and he'll negioiate his way out of the standoff by giving up the two guys he shot for a police car and a 2 minute head start.

There you go! That's it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

Yeah i must say i was disappointed with the 'make it up as you go along' approach taken for the last few episodes, didn't like the way he used the Dr.
    Will be interested in what they can do with next season, espically since they seem to have no way out, the only credible way would be for them to get captured and then their dad somehow rescues them. I can't see Abruzzi getting out alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

ROFL

I was very disappointed by the machiavellian attitude Michael exhibits in the last few episodes... Whatever he needs to do to free Link he'll do, and seriously f*cking up the life of Sarah Tancredi is part of that... Not cool.

Aside from that, I'm glad vanilla ice seems to be escaping cleanly :)
    Yeah, was really dissapointed about the doctor.

Wonder How far Haywire will get on his bike :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭balkieb2002

LOL prob farther then the rest of them, like that other chump in the back of the truck :)

Seems the people who didnt follow the "cool gang" seem to have better chance of escaping!!

Also to OP if ya hover over your topic with the mouse you ruin the end for everyone so i suggest rewording it!!

Oops. Not able to edit it any more. Maybe the mod could insert this line first:
    Caution! This thread contains huge big fυck off SPOILERS with feckin bells hangin' off them!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭sarahn11

watched the Finale there this morning, have to say it was good...they whole second half of the series was Great in fact, will be tuning into series two anyway!!!

loved the t-bag outcome....he had it coming to him!!

Can't see how they are going to scape, unless maybe the jet was a decoy, and they is another jet/helicopter somewhere......i dunno....

Not cool about the Dr....was very pissed off with that!!!

i have to say i really enjoyed the political aspect of it, thought it portrayed the cut throat world of politics today...also 'the company' was a very nice touch!!!

all in all, i will watch season two, because i really need to know what happened!!!how they escaped!!.....and did Dr.Sarah die......hope not....she was hot!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 greendaysean15

they might be back on the to jail and theyll break out the police van with t-bags finger bones working as a key for the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Noelie wrote:
    Yeah i must say i was disappointed with the 'make it up as you go along' approach taken for the last few episodes

I thought the same, it screams that it was originally one series, but when it started to get big the network demanded it was dragged out for longer.

Also Im finding the political aspect of it pretty boring. The show is called prison break, not the west wing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Okay I just watched the final ep last night and could not believe it. I was sure there had to be one more episode or I was missing the ending. What a way to end a 22 episode series, the whole thing just seems pointless now. I must say I thought it started to go seriously downhill towards the end. With that whole crap outside the prison getting more and more time and more and more contrived and the whole thing just feeling a bit dragged out. The firts half was some of the most compelling televison i have seen since the sopranos but I feel seriously let down by the second half and especially that crappy ending.

Also their is not a chance in hell they could possibly escape now. It will have to be something immensely stupid. Or will they be caught and the second serious will just be a rehash of the first with them trying to escape again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Babybing wrote:
    ..The firts half was some of the most compelling televison i have seen since the sopranos but I feel seriously let down by the second half and especially that crappy ending...
    A tad harsh on it there.. sure the season finale was disappointing as a whole (.. i'd be the first to admit it) but the second half of the season far from let me down. The season finale had it's moments - T-Bag's comeuppance, Haywire riding away on the little girls bike with his arms open.

And the second half of the season had some fantastic episodes: need i mention the episode before the season finale where actually escape through the prison... fantastic TV! :eek: And the re-introduction of Haywire... my favourite character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I don't know what people expected. We know there is a 2nd season so the 1st series couldn't of ended as a conclusion. It had to be cliffhanger esque. I suppose if there was 1 argument, It would of been to finish the series on the 2nd last ep, when it showed them escaping. That would of set up the 2nd series nicely, and gave a sense of satisfaction to the audience.

The last episode was just a teaser to let people know what S2 will be like. A manhunt :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

that would of near damn god killed me if they finished on the 2nd last episode. the wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭randomchild

To be honest I really liked the ending,it really sets up what the 2nd season is going to be about. And I am pretty sure Scolefield if prepared for this setback (EVERY contingency...). Mabey that mexican guy we saw him talk to in the flashback episode will be a part of it? Or perhaps more unlikely the thing he buried in that grave in the same episode?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I actually enjoyed the last episode. Always knew they were going to dump Haywire. When he took the little girls bike I thought he was going to do something a bit more sinister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

The unfortunate thing about prison break is it is a 13 episode show, no more. Thats what it was originally planned for but in typical american fashion when fox saw the response they said we'll milk it. If the show remained that way I think it would have been much tighter and better. The format only lends itself to around 13 episodes but they dragged it out and now their making a second series! What is it gonna be like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Where is the proof that it was scheduled for 13 eps originally? From what I remember it was 22 all the time, but Fox didn't believe it was going to be a success so put the first 13 episodes on first, and then scheduled the last 9 eps in about 6 months time. It was a huge success so they brought forward the 9 eps to March.

I thought it was a well planned out series. If there is a program that doesn't plan its whole season, it would be 24. Look at how often that takes a completely different twist and direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Maybe the escape will rewind in a Dallas-esque "it was all a dream" type deal :), and the good doctor will still be alive*.

*Yeah, right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

I don't think it was dragged out much at all, not compared to Lost or other shows anyway.

It certainly looked like they had no way of escaping the cops when it ended, so I'm thinking we'll have another prison break or perhaps it will turn out to be more of a political show in the second series with the politics getting them out??

Great show IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

o I'm thinking we'll have another prison break
    they can't go back to prison as they'll all be thrown in the shoe they'll never get into genpop to try and escape again.
    perhaps it will turn out to be more of a political show

i hope not tbh, the amount of politics they have in it now is fine, anymore and i think i'd lose interest rapidly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

petes wrote:
    I actually enjoyed the last episode. Always knew they were going to dump Haywire. When he took the little girls bike I thought he was going to do something a bit more sinister.

Did that bit remind anyone else of Steve Buscemi in Con Air?

Don't think there's any way they could go back to prison. For one, if they are caught then they won't be so stupid to send schofield back to the same prison. And if they're sent to a different prison... Well if schofield designed that one too then that'd be just stupid.

They're gonna escape. I dunno how buy they're gonna!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

skywalker wrote:
    Did that bit remind anyone else of Steve Buscemi in Con Air?

YES! My first thought was, will he start singing "he's got the whoooolleee world..." do you think it was a homage to con air? remarkably similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭balkieb2002

They're gonna escape. I dunno how buy they're gonna!!!

Ye its obvious most if not all of them will escape! Whats made it even more obvious is the guy from invasion (William Fichtner) is gonna be playing the federal agent tasked with hunting down the newly-escaped prisoners so if no-one (other than haywire and other guy) espcapes whats the point of him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

I just watched the whole series over the past couple of weeks and, though I thought it was terrible to begin with (thought Schofield's acting was dire, but the deadpan style grew on me), I thought it was excellent overall.

Not sure on the merits of the flashback episode, but thought it was interesting at the time, and the context it provided meant I had no sympathy for T-bag or surprise at Abruzzi.

Agree they had to leave it on a cliffhanger ending, but I do think they made a mistake by making it look like such a foregone conclusion that the cops will get em. No matter what happens (and I wouldn't be surprised if Schofield's dad comes to the rescue in some bizarre manner) we'll all feel like it's just too far fetched. If they had have ended it just a little earlier it might lend itself better to whatever plotline they come up with next (and I think it's clear they don't know what that is yet).

Really liked that Schofield's plan didn't all go as well as expected - always thought his 'no contingency' arrogance would come back to haunt him, but it made it seem more realistic. Likewise his treatment of the doctor - I felt it was unusually pragmatic for American TV: he knew it was her (albeit with an exceptionally low chance anything could work out between them) or his brother and chose his brother. That felt harsh but real to me, and I was surprised to see it in a big network show.

By the way, maybe it's been asked before in previous threads but what happened to LJ in the end, and why, oh why, did nothing come of the photo of the secret service agent he emailed from his phone?

Overall very enjoyable series, but let down by the end of the finale (thought the finale up to the very end was excellent), and I'd be skeptical of the next series working out (blatantly extended for commercial, not creative reasons, just like Lost and pretty much any shows that are hits), but I'll be tuning in next season to find out!

the good thing is that it can't go futher than next season. No way are we looking at season 3 - "LJ's Break Out".

One thing i want to know is....the guy who provided Abrussi with the 4X4 also provided him with a gun under the seat...why not a phone to make sure the plane would be there :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭JustCoz

I just watched the series finale there, I almost couldn't bare to watch, thought I was going to have a heart attack! If they get caught and brought back to Foxriver I'm gonna stop watching it though. The whole thing will be a repeat of series 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Metacortex

Oh wow!

I've just spent the last week watching the entire series and i just finished watching the finale about 5 minutes ago.

What an unreal show!

And the ending, how the hell are they going to get away!
    The suspense in the last three episodes is unreal and so much stuff happening - Tancredi, Veronica finding Steadman, the new president.
    I don't think they'll get caught again, it would be a bit redundant but at the same time i can't see how they're going to get away.
    Im curious as to whether T Bag will be caught, he is such a good character, i knew Abruzzi wasn't going to let him get away in one piece.

Thank God series two is starting next month. I don't have long to wait to find out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Metacortex

Forgot to mention, i can some sort of race going on in series two between T-Bag and the rest of them to get to that 5 million dollars, if they are indeed split as a group.

Metacortex wrote:
    Im curious as to whether T Bag will be caught, he is such a good character,
    I doubt it very much. I can see his bid to get revenge on yer wan that turned him in being a major storyline in season 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

The night before last at 11pm I watched from episode 8-22 straight..I just couldn't go to sleep after an episode ending-just had to know what happened in the next one. Next i know its like 12hrs later:D

Was brilliant stuff!! God all the emotions that i went through:o:)

Come on season 2!!!!!!

Ya they're gona geta away...but how?!!!! ahhh!!!

They have a lot of storylines to go with in season two though.
    Hope it will be as good now!!

nah man, no way will we be seeing the inside of a prison cell in season 2. It's going to be a race to the money, a bit of vegence and then a race to Mexico

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

I think they won't get very far away in the first few episodes. When Michael finds out that the doc is in a bad way, he'll want to see her and Linc will want to keep an eye on LJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

agamemnon wrote:
    When Michael finds out that the doc is in a bad way, he'll want to see her and Linc will want to keep an eye on LJ.
    I doubt Michael will find out about Sara anytime soon realy - besides the hospital staff.. the only ones i'd presume would really know would presumably be selected prison staff - and i doubt her father would want to brag about it to the press.

Regarding LJ... doubt there's a whole lot Linc can do. Presumably LJ is being kept in a correctional facility for young offenders - being parentless / guardianless and arrested.

But i would imagine Linc / Michael will find a way to get in touch with Veronica.. so maybe stuff will go from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Word has it the 2nd season will be called "Prison Break: Manhunt". I suppose if they changed the name completely, the thicker viewers wouldn't be able to find it in the tv listings.