Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenager repellent ringtone

• 13-06-2006 10:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭

The teenager repellent Mosquito (still experimental) is now going to be turned into a ringtone.

The Mosquito emits a high-frequency pulsing sound that inventor claims can be heard by most people younger than 20 and almost no one older than 30. The sound is designed to so irritate young people that after several minutes, they cannot stand it and go away. The device is to be used at shops etc where groups of teens would hang out, smoke and make customers uncomfortable.

Now this sound is being offered as a ringtone that the teacher can't hear (unless he or she is also young).

Hmmm, I'm 31, might get the repellent for outside of my house in the city. Effing Buckie brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

They tried that out at some shop in England iirc but it was taken away as people weren't sure about the legality of such a device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I was reading about this recently and made up my own ringtone using it.

I can hear it just fine and I'm 28.... I'm guessing it's a pretty poor idea to have in a shopping centre.

But a good few other people in my office can't hear it.

I can't hear anything above 17khz though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭NutJob

Im 24 and its just a bad idea. You want one of these
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long_range_acoustic_device

If ur going to assault teenagers do it propperly burst some eardrums and least then when you get sued for assault its all worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Somebody posted the noise there on a website recently.I can hear it fine and it didnt bother me, in fact it didnt bother most people only those that had the volume high with headphones on:D

padi89 wrote:
    Somebody posted the noise there on a website recently.I can hear it fine and it didnt bother me, in fact it didnt bother most people only those that had the volume high with headphones on:D
    Yep... but have you seen the speakers that this company markets? They're pretty hefty looking and I'd imagine that the sound is very loud at the location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

NutJob wrote:
    Im 24 and its just a bad idea. You want one of these
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long_range_acoustic_device

If ur going to assault teenagers do it propperly burst some eardrums and least then when you get sued for assault its all worth it.
    Well, the LRAD also uses a high freq noise.

I had a look on Da Net and now want "The brown note"! According to an urban legend it's an infrasonic frequency that causes humans to lose control of their bowels due to resonance. :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Yep... but have you seen the speakers that this company markets? They're pretty hefty looking and I'd imagine that the sound is very loud at the location.

So, how's that gonna work with a mobile phone then?

Ivan wrote:
    So, how's that gonna work with a mobile phone then?
    Well it wasn't designed for that. It was built to deter teenagers from hanging around shopping centres... but the teenagers hijacked the sound and have started using it as a ring tone that their teachers can't hear.

The company that made the tone caught on to this and are now selling the sound as a ring tone on their website.

I genreated a 16khz tone and saved it as an MP3 and put it on my phone yesterday. I can hear it pretty clearly when it rings, but a good few people older than me can't... so it is amusing.

I saw it on a news report cant remember if it was sky or the beeb.But they basically tested it on a load of kids outside the shop and it didnt bother most of them.

Double post.

biko wrote:
    Well, the LRAD also uses a high freq noise.

I had a look on Da Net and now want "The brown note"! According to an urban legend it's an infrasonic frequency that causes humans to lose control of their bowels due to resonance. :D

They tried that experiment on some naff science programme on Sky once.The guy from top gear presents it, didnt work unfortunatly.
    I wonder if its possible though? I know really really deep heavy bass can turn your stomach queesy.
    Ever hear the Chemical Brothers Base Test???? Jesus thats mental through a good sound rig.They should use it for knocking buildings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

Apparently classical music has the same effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭trillianv

pork99 wrote:

Whenever me and my brothers got too rowdy in the house or my mom wanted us to clear out for awhile (we were all pretty close in age) she would just throw on some Mozart or Beethoven fairly loudly---Opera works well too or Yodeling :)

I am not that old yet, 27, but I find it rather annoying when a lot of people, adults and teenagers, congregrate below in our complex's carpark at 2 am on a Saturday. I sometimes wish I had a high powered water hose :D

pork99 wrote:

:D Classical,thats just great.I enjoy a bit now and again but sher it would be just too uncool for the teens.Mid-West radio should also do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Jesus, 16khz isn't audible by 30 year olds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Is the noise generated by this ringtone similar to those "ultrasonic" insect repellent things? I'm 20 and they annoy the shat out of me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

Any links to the sound?

I found Teen Buzz here http://www.infowing.ch/web/sounds/mms/248-teenbuzz.mp3 but I cant hear it :( Is there a sound?

Eh, mods I hope it's ok to link. Can't see any copyrights issue if it's recorded live and put up on the net. Maybe it's considered a bootleg? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

biko wrote:
    I found Teen Buzz here http://www.infowing.ch/web/sounds/mms/248-teenbuzz.mp3 but I cant hear it :( Is there a sound?

Eh, mods I hope it's ok to link. Can't see any copyrights issue if it's recorded live and put up on the net. Maybe it's considered a bootleg? :D
    yea there is a sound :) dont listen too long it would make your ears bleed, mine are hurtin now

I can't see it being too reliable if it's 16kHz - a lot of audio systems would filter out frequencies that high before they get to the speakers, and it's questionable wether a lot of mobile phones would be able to reproduce sound that high even moreso, as the speakers on them are generally crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

When I play it normally I can't here anything, but play around with my sound card settings and there is definatley something there.

I'm 19 btw.

I downloaded it from the CNN news-story, here. I listened to it and bloody hell I could hear it. It hurt a bit and that wasn't even on loud. Even when it wasn't exactly audible there was a feeling of hearing something high pitched, but underwater, as though I could feel the sound. Even 10 minutes later it was still messing with me. I listened to it again a moment ago and it's still very annoying. Ah! Goddamit! It's still at me!

biko wrote:
    I found Teen Buzz here http://www.infowing.ch/web/sounds/mms/248-teenbuzz.mp3 but I cant hear it Is there a sound?

Eh, mods I hope it's ok to link. Can't see any copyrights issue if it's recorded live and put up on the net. Maybe it's considered a bootleg?
    I listended to that one. It's completely different to the CNN one. I can hear it perfectly but it doesn't hurt and isn't annoying either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

I downloaded it from the CNN news-story, here. I listened to it and bloody hell I could hear it. It hurt a bit and that wasn't even on loud. Even when it wasn't exactly audible there was a feeling of hearing something high pitched, but underwater, as though I could feel the sound. Even 10 minutes later it was still messing with me. I listened to it again a moment ago and it's still very annoying. Ah! Goddamit! It's still at me!

I can hear that one perfectly but it doesn't bother me at all :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Umiq88

yeah can hear it (18) really high pitched beeping noise

Hmmm, I can hear the CNN one. Ear pierching.
    I'm over 30 btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Yeah in that first link i couldn't hear anything but my god could i hear it in that second link. (I'm 19) Ow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

I think I have this on my phone. A mate of mine got it in England off some Chavs a month or 2 back.
    After playing it in school I had to send it to everyone and all we could hear constantly was the noise goin. Very interesting to read that people over 30 supposedly can't hear it, cos one time in English some of "the lads" were playing it and were pissed cos they weren't getting a reaction from the teacher.

EDIT: After listening to the links I defintiely have it on my phone. Except my one is just uner a minute long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

I had this blaring, and it didn't hurt at all. Made my nose feel a bit weird afterwards, but that's because its sorta blocked? My headache has worsened a bit though :). (17) This wouldn't annoy me tbh, maybe I need giant speakers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

play the cnet one at the same time as the other one

Since my last post I now feel like I'm recovering from a mild, and very annoying, headache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Ack those tones are irritating. I wouls smash anyone's mobile who had this.

Smashy smashy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭BlueSpiral

biko wrote:
    Holy Crap!

feckin' hell, my poor ears.
    /me runs away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

trillianv wrote:
    Whenever me and my brothers got too rowdy in the house or my mom wanted us to clear out for awhile (we were all pretty close in age) she would just throw on some Mozart or Beethoven fairly loudly---Opera works well too or Yodeling :)

I think I saw a news story once about a suburban train station in the UK where they actually used piped classical music to stop teenagers congregating on the platform

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Crimson...

Aw man my ears, i can still hear it squeaking that sound would defnitly make me move away from wherever it was playing (17btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I have had a headache and a need to keep touching my ears for the last 2 hours just from listening to the Cnn mp3 file. I cant believe somebody would willfully wish this on anybody else.

P.s: Besides a hangover this is the first headache I have had in nearly 4 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

I can hear both of them. The former is a LOT more irritating than the Cnet one. A *lot*.

I've a ****ing headache now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

I can't say it bothered me greatly. My mum can sort of hear it though.

I can hear both of them - http://www.infowing.ch/web/sounds/mms/248-teenbuzz.mp3 I think is a lower frequency than the other, but it's a more coarse/annoying sound (probably a square or triangle wave). The other one just reminds me of the noise a CRT TV makes (except 17kHz instead of about 15.6kHz), but it's still very annoying when loud. Can't play them on my phone though, so I only heard it through my hi-fi which can allegedly go up to 20kHz (from CDs at least - doesn't specify with analogue inputs like from my PC).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

I recall in my school the intercom was emitting a high pitch noise for about a week, and the teachers wouldn't believe us. That was great, I thought school was torture without adding actual torture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I'm 32 and I can hear both of these perfectly...although the CNN one is a lot more annoying and a directionless "phantom" noise to me. I don't think I could bear it for much more than a minute or more...no headache though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

The teenbuzz one is bollix, its sounds just like an old printer printing, am sure anyone can hear that.

The cnn one is better, jaysus me head listening to that squeel!!

I'm 35 by the way so not sure either of the sound samples are valid- more likely the crappy speakers used to play them are not reproducing the higher frequencies accuratly (i'm listening on my Sennheise HD580's so the sound IS accurately reproduced).

I reckon someone making a fast buck here.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

fuk sake! me bleedin head! that teen buzz one wrecked me head! i hav a pain in the back of me brain now! me ears feel like they need to pop. if that went public, and me local shop or pub used it, i feel i'd have to get a law suit out to stop them usin it! jesus, thats effective. i'd definately leave anywhere straight away if i heard that!

PS 23

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Chaos_Path

i cant hear that teenbuzz one but as soon as i clicked play my ears hurt a little.
    in 23.

sooooo oooold....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

hey, why dont they build a theme park or something instead of repelling teenagers with this potentially damaging...thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I listended to that one. It's completely different to the CNN one. I can hear it perfectly but it doesn't hurt and isn't annoying either.

Thats the same sound I get off the old TV, my dell charger and my netopia modem.

Btw the dog loved that link :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

trillianv wrote:
    I sometimes wish I had a high powered water hose :D

Once I was sitting on the steps of an apartment complex with my girlfriend drinking a few bottles on a warm day, some guy attacked us with a hose and told to to fup off.....funny now, not at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

yea there is a sound :) dont listen too long it would make your ears bleed, mine are hurtin now

There was a sound :eek: I couldn't hear anything :confused: And I am 18.

I can hear teh 10second link perfectly, but the "teen" one thats 4 seconds long I cant hear anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I couldn't hear it, untill I turned the volume up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I wonder what child welfare people will say, it will have babies and younger children screaming.