Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alice in Chains gig over the weekend!

• 12-06-2006 8:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭

Anyone got an info. about the AIC gig over the weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

they were supposed to play on stage 2 at ten past six, instead they must have started before half five on the main stage and only played for 30mins or so because i only caught the last five songs. the band were excellent, and there were a lot of people there to see them, everyone seemed to know the words to their songs....and i think putting them on the main stage for the hour would have been best....also you could have upped stone sour to the main stage and just got rid of every other band on the bill....now that would have been a gig

cantrell then came out later to play nothing else matters with metallica but someone must have messed up because his microphone wasnt working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

They came on at 5:20 and did 40 mins.......agree with Motley, the bands that should've been on the main stage yesterday were Stone Sour - AIC - Metallica......

the AIC set was

We Die Young
    Them Bones
    Man In The Box
    Down In A Hole
    Again
    No Excuses
    Rooster
    Would?

I thought they were excellent - can you edit the thread name - sounds like you're saying they are doing a gig here......

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Did Anselmo sing any of the songs for them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Fcuking mental! We starting cheering in the line when we found out they were going to be on the main stage. :D

Would say more but i'm in work after getting 2 hours sleep when I came home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭dream brother

wish i'ld been at that! found out too later, the setlist seems pretty damn good too! Would and Again would of been the songs that I would of liked to jump around to. Any idea if they'll be back??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

NIBBS wrote:
    We Die Young
    Them Bones

Grand, that means I only missed two songs, which wasnt band. Overall I enjoyed this...despite the unpleasentness of realising they were on the other stage and having to fight the crowd to get into the main arena. Really wanted that T-Shirt, no ATMs around the RDS worked, so I couldnt get it:( You know the one with the dog on it? if anyone else got it and wants to sell please pm me, just outta interest.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭shnaek

Amazing gig. Class the way Jerry came out into the crowd after the gig. Wish they could have played an hour. Aitkens hands were tied by the management of download. They got the list and that was it. They couldn't change it.
    Was it not William Duvall who was singing with them? He was class. Not Layne, but well able for the vocals. Really worked the crowd well. Loved the way he came out into the crowd and sang crowdsurfing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

No phil never guested:( :(:( .And did anybody see the size of the small tent.It would have been a joke if alice had to play there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Heh, we were in the tent waiting for Bloodsimple when Alice in Chains on the main stage was announced, and nearly the entire tent was evacuated. Felt a bit sorry for Bloodsimple...but the guy didn't announce it in timt damnit, because the first song we could hear was Man in the Box. Amazing though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

Ahh man, what a fùckin gig.
    I've been waiting to see Alice In Chains for goddamn years and they didn't dissapoint!
    Was it actually William Duval(sp?) singing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

yeah it was,i met him on the way out,a cool guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Having emailed aiken etc, and posted here about the possible danger of crushed people at AiC if they were on the small stage at the RDS, does anyone think , now in hindsight of course, that they were way more popular than was suggested here, and elsewhere.
    Certainly I expected seripous crushing if they were on the small stage, but I didnt expect that many people to be there for their performance on the mainstage.
    Do you reckon there were serious injuries prevented by their being on the mainstage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭princess penny

holy **** that was an excellent show! I thought Will was brilliant, really brought his own thing to the music but didnt change its effect at the same time. I've heard rumours about them working on a new album together, so hopefully we'll see them again as they got a great reaction from the crowd yesterday.

God damnit did cantrell really come out for nothing else matters? i had to leave :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Kersh wrote:
    Having emailed aiken etc, and posted here about the possible danger of crushed people at AiC if they were on the small stage at the RDS, does anyone think , now in hindsight of course, that they were way more popular than was suggested here, and elsewhere.
    Certainly I expected seripous crushing if they were on the small stage, but I didnt expect that many people to be there for their performance on the mainstage.
    Do you reckon there were serious injuries prevented by their being on the mainstage?

I was against moving them to the main stage, but sure they were grand there in the end. They certainly pulled a crowd.

The tent was security-ridden and heavily monitored with regards to the amount of people entering and leaving so, no, I doubt there would have been a problem if they were still there. Just loads of people would have missed out on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Brilliant show, wish it had been longer though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Evil Sausage

Yeah, they put on a tremendous show. Loved the way he stood in the crowd at the end of Would. Absolute magic!

Thinkin of going over to the gig in London in July. I have a stop over in London the night before so might extend my stay and take it in. Would love to see a full show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Arucard

great show, tho i would have loved to hear Angry Chair! hats of to DuVall, he did a great job on the vocals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

I'm really pissed about this now :( Had to listen from behind a fence to shelter from the scorching heat while all my mates were in the pit. Didn't get to see any of this magical crowd surfing you're all talking about, but it sounded great even from where I was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭seanironmaiden

Jesus, they were feckin' class. Fair F*cks to Will, I was real impressed by him. Only a longer set could have made it better. The talkbox for Would sounded class. I went nuts when they played it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Kersh wrote:
    now in hindsight of course, that they were way more popular than was suggested here, and elsewhere.
    Tbh I was amazed that they were so far down the bill, I would have rated them a close second to Korn and think they should have been promoted to their slot when they pulled out. But then maybe I'm just a little behind the times, never heard of most of the other acts :o

Odd thing is that I haven't read any good opinions on Avenged Sevenfold, which would show beyond any doubt that AIC should have been put in the Korn slot.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Amazing. Was great when they came out. Everyone just started goin mental. Man in the Box was my favourite. I love that chorus. I was thinkin today about headin to London for that gig but its sold out. William Duvall was right beside me when he came up the the crowd for Would? and the pics wont upload cos they a tiny bit too big in size. was crazy. Also got one of Jerrys picks:D
    Nibbs wrote:
    Odd thing is that I haven't read any good opinions on Avenged Sevenfold

Its because there was none. I even fell asleep immediately after they played Walk and i was crushed up in the front row

nice one Mushy, you must've been right in the middle of the front row ......

I was in so much pain when they came on that I could only stand for the first few songs, but the sound was great when I sat down in the middle of the crowd (beside the sound tent).........regretting not getting tickets for the UK show when I saw them, hopefully they'll do a few more......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭robnubis

After this weekends performance at Download do ya think alice should do thier own gig here in Dublin soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

yes.

simple as :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭smog

Would love it .. but not a chance ..

I thaught cause of the grea reception they should really do a smaller gig here, cause the new singer is a f*cking god send, they have really maintained their sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Steoob

the new singer is a complete prat.. prancin around makin a mockery of what the band used to be... ive no liking for the present AIC coz cantrell's turning into a moron as well

instead if found Alice Unchained... omg they rule they just are AIC like lol.. they sound EXACTLY the same as AIC used to... and theyre still around with no assholes playing to the crowd, dancing around, saying "cmon people"... nothing alice in chains were ever about.. they were dark... o well

heres a link to Alice unchained audio section btw.. http://www.alicetribute.com/unchained/audio/audio.html

Steoob wrote:
    the new singer is a complete prat.. prancin around makin a mockery of what the band used to be... ive no liking for the present AIC coz cantrell's turning into a moron as well

instead if found Alice Unchained... omg they rule they just are AIC like lol.. they sound EXACTLY the same as AIC used to... and theyre still around with no assholes playing to the crowd, dancing around, saying "cmon people"... nothing alice in chains were ever about.. they were dark... o well

heres a link to Alice unchained audio section btw.. http://www.alicetribute.com/unchained/audio/audio.html

that's bull****...........fair enough, you think a band has lost something because they are no longer in a dark place and some atmosphere or whatever isn't there.......but there's no way on earth that the performance on Sunday was a mockery of what the band used to be, they put on a really good performance, and to think that a tribute band would be any better is madness, they didn't write the music, nothing wrong with Cantrell either, maybe he's allowed enjoy himself a bit ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

nice one Mushy, you must've been right in the middle of the front row ......

Directly in front of cantrell to be exact!

How can ya say they were bad? It was amazing. And why does everything have to centre round Jerry? Séan played great and I found it a pleasure to see him at last. And Mike was his usual self, bopping around, having fun. I found the sound to be perfect where i was( i did have a speaker about two feet from me) and was able to define everything perfectly. It was a truly enjoyable experience to hear these great songs played

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭princess penny

haha that message of negativity just comes across as desperately contrived as it is just completely unjustified....enough said! :-b

Yeah i fecking just saw their website, they were at Bruxelles, and guess what i ****ign saw them that morning!!!! I was going by Bruxelles and i saw a guy who looked like Mike, but i kept going but it turns out they were there and it was him!!! i couldve met him! ahhHH!

tbh i think ppl are getting this gay ass Kurt Cobain syndrome thing about Layne, ppl move on seriously, Jerry is still alive and he is the creative force of AIC.

and this new singer Will, is great,s ounds really liek Layne and has kept the sound of the band intact. i really hope that he decides to ditch his lame ass band "Come with fall" and stays with alice.