Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Download Ireland Day 2 (Metallica)

• 10-06-2006 4:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭

Stage One
    Metallica
    Korn
    Avenged Sevenfold

Stage Two
    Stone Sour
    Alice in Chains
    Bloodsimple
    Wicked Wisdom
    Living Things
    10 Years

What are people going to see and then, later, what were ppls taughts on the acts and the general 'Irish Download Festival 2006' overall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

360* wrote:
    What are people going to see and then, later, what were ppls taughts on the acts and the general 'Irish Download Festival 2006' overall

10 Years, Wicked Wisdom, Living Things are all a given since they'll be on before anything on the main stage. Then im gonna check out Avenged Sevenfold, and come straight back for Alice in Chains and Stone Sour (provided I can get back in) before heading to the main stage again for Metallica. This will **** me up a bit in terms of missing Bloodsimple and Korn but you cant have it every way.

In terms of the festival overall I think yesterday was excellent, except Funeral for a Friend should have been scrapped, and Bullet for my Valentine should have been placed on the main headline slot.

Also, there should have been a minimum of 6 bands on both stages on both days and the main stage should have had more then 3 bands...perhaps 5, and if people had to make a choice who to watch then so be it, considering its a festival. Oh, and the entertainment left little to be desired on Sunday, such as only the PSX Tent, which i didnt check out...and the fact that theyre were an abundance of smoke venders, bars and food trucks but no other light entertainment from the music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Korn arnt playing jonathan davis is sick

Anyone want to buy my ticket off of me and a chartered bus from waterford €60 the lot,it cost me €95.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Korn arnt playing jonathan davis is sick

Aye I've been told, Jonathan collapsed on stage in England afaik, Alice in chains will take their place on the main stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

He never got on stage in the uk

So youre telling me that at 9am on the morning of the gig the main support act are not playing, I didnt want to see Korn anyway, but this is a ****ing outrage! i mean this is a serious kick in the balls after the Motley Crue incident with Aiken, the rolling stones incident, and the fact that Korn fans will be gutted....many of whom are prob in the line getting pit passes right now, and i dont suppose ur average north side security guard will have been informed of the cancellation or they will have put signs up for people to see...no, thats right, its ireland we're talking about

YEah he never got onstage in england.

i heard. its an outrage

They got corey taylor from slipknot to fill in even though the set was only about half an hour long. If they did that here i would still go to see it but they arent doing anything now.!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

it's just bad luck, that's all - it's not something you can pin the blame on the promoters, people get sick, he was taken to hospital, so the only one you could blame is himself - and that would just be ridiculous.............
    at least AIC are now on the mainstage......

amd it was announced at 9 last night........and has been on the radio and Aikens site etc.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 floor_pie

Can you still buy tickets.If I go to RDS with cash can I buy from ticketmaster booth in cash or will i need credit card?ARe they sold out.
    Just decided now but RDS secretary doesn't know and ticket master won't answer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 bk86a

Amazing! Savage! I don't know what to say ... They rule!!!

M.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 bk86a

Do you know what exactly did they play? Any playlist? I would like to set a compilations of songs from their concert at RDS. Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

1.Creeping Death
    2.Fuel
    3.Wereever I May Roam
    4.The God That Failed
    5.The Unforgiven
    6.Battery
    7.Master Of Puppets
    8.Thing That Should Not Be
    9.Welcome Home Sanitarium
    10.Disposable Heroes
    11.Leper Messiah
    12.Orion
    13.Damage Inc

14.Sad but True
    15.NothiNG Else Matters(With Jerry Cantrell)
    16.One
    17.Enter Sandman
    18.Whiskey In The Jar
    19.Seek And Destroy

I put the Master of Puppets album in bold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Im still not even slightly pissed i didnt go this year, im just looking forward to unholy alliance so much its not funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭god's toy

My good god they were mind blowing this time round!

all I can say is WOW!

Bring on the new stuff!

See you next time guys, it's been fun!
    sup[1].gifyourockemoticon8ni.gifguitarist.gifband2[1].gifroxx2[1].gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

The show was good, they were tight as ever.
    Puppets album withstanding, I'm not sure of the rest of the set.
    And it felt like there was less energy there this year...or is that just me?

The show was good, they were tight as ever.
    Puppets album withstanding, I'm not sure of the rest of the set.
    And it felt like there was less energy there this year...or is that just me?

energy from them or us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Us.
    Maybe there's just less excitment, having seen them for the thrird time in four years, in the same venue, with little other then the setlist changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

JC 2K3 wrote:
    15.NothiNG Else Matters(With Jerry Cantrell)

i'd have paid to see that alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

OMFG! what a setlist! I wish I went to see them now. how were KoRn?

[EDIT] sorry, just realised KoRn didn't play [/EDIT]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Enter Sandman kicked ass.

The fireworks added to the show at the end.

Thought they weren't gonna do Whiskey in the Jar, . . . .and then they did. :D

Oh yeah, was weird singing Happy Birthday to James' daughter who is 8 today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Enter Sandman kicked ass.

The fireworks added to the show at the end.

Thought they weren't gonna do Whiskey in the Jar, . . . .and then they did. :D

Oh yeah, was weird singing Happy Birthday to James' daughter who is 8 today.
    Obviously your first time seeing metallica if you were blown away by enter sandman and if you thought they could get away with not doing whiskey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Cremated

Very good gig, got to say i enjoyed this more than last year, but not as much as the first year,

but good set list, and i was in shock thinking they weren't going to do Whiskey,
    but we got a good chant going and they did it :D

but loved it all, slightly annoyed that Korn didn't turn up, but Davis was sent to hospital? well so i heard,

great show, looking forward to the next one,

but my eyes are now ****ed from all the grass, ( hayfever )
    so sick of it :(...

also singing happy birthday at the end was a surprise, but i think it went well :D...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭thewing

What's the f*cking deal with whiskey?Would have prefered to hear eye of the beholder to be honest...chants of f*cking "Whiskey" by all the 15 yr olds whose first 'tallica album was garage inc....muppets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Dr. Dodger

I thought it was absolutely incredible. They were on top form and belted out the songs. I could've stayed there all night. In contrast to that crap that played the RDS on Friday they were in a league of their own. And to the people who are still talking about how they play the same place every year, all I can say is they will fill it everytime when they can play gigs like that and we won't be complaining.

The worst thing about the gig was them tards that were screaming for Whisky. I know its good that we have a unique song that they play over here but there are dozens of 'Metallica' songs that they could have played instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

Metallica were in very good form. Very professional performance. They must have put a lot of practice in ahead of this tour! Best performance since the point depot 1996?-1998?

I was very disappointed not to see Korn, being a big fan, I was really looking forward to seeing them for the first time!

Also it would have been nice to have heard the new song from Metallica!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

thewing wrote:
    What's the f*cking deal with whiskey?Would have prefered to hear eye of the beholder to be honest...chants of f*cking "Whiskey" by all the 15 yr olds whose first 'tallica album was garage inc....muppets

Im 27 and i was chanting whiskey
    It's a sweet renditon and personal to the irish gig
    It was a f'in savage gig
    Some people would not be happy if they played every song they have....
    I mean you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Twigy

Wow!! The gig was so amazing!! Very uncomfortable at the beginnig because i was so close to the barrier and there was a an unbelievable amount of pushing going on. But once we moved back,really enjoyed it. I though the atmosphere was great and the weather was amazing.
    Have to go again next year. Hopefully the supporting bands will be a bit better. Alice in chains was pretty good,but the other band (can't remember the name,thats how good they were) were a waste of time really. Anyone at the second stage? The bands there any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

Awesome. Just awesome.

This was my fourth time seeing them play and I've never seen them in such top form.

As for the entire Puppets album - man, that just left me speechless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

Praetorian wrote:
    Metallica were in very good form. Very professional performance. They must have put a lot of practice in ahead of this tour! Best performance since the point depot 1996?-1998?

saw them in the point in 96 alright, thought this gig was as good as that one but the smaller venue in 96 gave it the edge. That and a stage hand catching fire when setting off the pyrotechnics! (he was ok after)

Excellent gig. bit pissed that Korn not turning up fecked up the running order and nearly missed Alice in Chains!! They were class. New singer was excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

fifth time seeing them and f*ck me was it a cracker of a gig. I managed to walk straight in to the pit chancing my arm too, so spent the entire time up the front without the hassle of queuing at 6am in the morning ;)

For anyone with doubts of energy from the crowd, there was energy-a-plenty in the pit. Oh, and I was chanting for Whiskey too ... and in case you are wondering, I am not one of the
    thewing wrote:
    15 yr olds whose first 'tallica album was garage inc....muppets

I missed all the support acts. Was looking forward to seeing Avenge Sevenfold (or whatever their name is) after a lad I work with gave me a listen to some of their stuff. Anyone hear them?

Right, need to get my head together. Job interview in less than two hours :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Masterrrr

Masterrra

Like I was posting on another thread. MOP was unreal. Id say they were practicing like crazy to get back "in shape". Even the harmonies sounded on the button. All the stuff from the black album just sounded so tame after puppets.

Class gig, really enjoyed it. Would have paid just for MOP TBH.

Im not sure what the obsession with whiskey is either, a cover of a cover.

I'm 27, and don't want to hear whiskey.I would be delighted if they played every song they had.It was a savage gig, but don't like when whiskey is chanted, forcing them to play it - they were booed 3 years ago after an awesome f*cking set for not playing it, which was utter boll*x.Proving they didn't intend on playing it, james f*cked up the first verse."first produced my rapier, then produced my rapier" he sang, even saw him smile over at rob...they were f*cking awesome last nite, orion/disposable heroes/seek and destroy best of the nite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Gah! Was hoping ye would all say it was terrible. Would have loved to have seen MOP live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭peter1892

It was excellent - great setlist, the band really seemed to enjoy playing '...Puppets' in its entireity.

I thought AIC & Avenged Sevenfold were good too.

To be honest, I could have done without hearing 'Whiskey...' again. Last time they dropped 'Dyer's Eve' (which they've only ever played live a handful of times) in order to do 'Whiskey..' and while it gets the crowd going & a lot of people like it, I would rather hear them do something else! Only a minor complaint, I still enjoyed it...

Strange thing with the curfew - while I was on the Dart home The Eagles were still on stage at Lansdowne!

I hear ya about the curfew, heard them blaring out...could have got another 30 min out of 'tallica!!!

Savage gig, my highlight was when Jerry Cantrell and Metallica sung Nothing Else Matters, although I couldnt hear him at all and the stage was soooo dark for this song! Anyone in the back was ****ed too. Certainly a better performance than 2004, although I was a little upset they didnt play the new song, considering I would have liken to heard it live....perhaps they felt it didnt go as well as they would have liken to play it in Berlin???

One more thing, when Ulrich said he'd be back next year, and I'm asuming that they will because they were in 2004 when they said it in 2003....I was a little pissed, a metallica concert is supposed to be a great event that happens roughly every 3 to 4 years for some fans, and seeing them 4 times in 5 years might not be something i want....i think personally unless i see them abroad or its a Vicar Street thing (i.e. any venue asides from the RDS) I'll stay out of this one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gaui3d0pnbz86o

i found the support acts nothing to write home about, expected better from both ailce in chains and avenged sevenfold, second stage had some energy inside the tent but from outside the tent it was hard to see in due to being so bright out and so dark in! though it didnt stop some people trying to start a pit outside the tent on those white/grey tiles( ha ha to the guy who got dropped on his head)

Metallica..... what can i say. carslberg dont do concerts but if they did it would be a concert like that! amazing, on top form, MOP from start to finish, excellent they all gave it so much, I dread to think of the amount of non stop practice needed, poor Robert Trujillo's fingers looked in bits from playing that bass so hard, at times his face looked in pain but he never stopped! the rest of the set list was excellent even if fuel was a tad predictable to be played, still as enjoyable as ever. twas my fourth time to see them, and easly one of the best.

and the responce to Cliff Burton (RIP) on the big screen shows he is never forgotten.

floor_pie wrote:
    Can you still buy tickets.If I go to RDS with cash can I buy from ticketmaster booth in cash or will i need credit card?ARe they sold out.
    Just decided now but RDS secretary doesn't know and ticket master won't answer

i didnt see a ticketmaster booth but my mate was selling a spare ticket, which is a shame, cause he never sold it in the end. hope you made it, twas a good night

**** sake, I had a spare ticket in my pocket inside in the gig...a mate pulled out leaving me with it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭shnaek

I thought the gig was unbelieveable. Was afeared they'd play a lot of new stuff - but to hear master of puppets in it's entirety played with such reverence was beyond cool. And where i was standing the energy in the crowd was savage. Perhaps further back it wasn't. Anyways - I am left with a mighty buzz after seeing AIC and Metallica play inspiring sets that could only have been better by being longer (and by me being in the pit!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Cremated

thewing wrote:

I aint the biggest Metallica fan in the world, but i do happen to think that song is a good choice to do in Ireland, and i feel they like doing it,

and a lot of people were chanting Whiskey, not just the odd one or two '' 15 yr olds ''
    probably in the 1000's,

and it went very well, and to call them tards is a bit O.T.T tbh...

It was a F**king great day,i was in the q from 6 in the morning but it was worth it!
    Alice in Chains were great,but they should have been longer,Especiallly that A7x didn't even play the full hour they were given!And i met Willian DuVall on the way out,he was a really cool guy

A7X just had terrible songs,and what was with the ten minute solo where he stopped for a minute and then started again.it was very boring for me.But then the played walk which was fun

And Metallica were just awesome,it was the best gig i have ever seen them,i was chanting whiplash instead of whiskey!!

I think if they come back next year it might be if download attempt to turn it into a full blown festival.....i hope anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

was an amazing gig alright,AIC were savage,good to finally see them in action,AX7 wer ok,their cover of walk was good though and as for metallica....AMAZING!!!!!!!!!,got 4 plecs(one from when hetfield was playin orion) and met lars as well,great show,roll on next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

thewing wrote:
    I'm 27, and don't want to hear whiskey.

Fine. Then cover your ears or something. Or don't go to their gigs. Everyone has a song that they don't want to hear. The rest of the crowd (judging by the chants) wanted to hear Whiskey. You didn't. That's no reason to start calling it the act of little 15 year olds who somehow aren't *real* Metallica fans.
    but don't like when whiskey is chanted, forcing them to play it - they were booed 3 years ago after an awesome f*cking set for not playing it, which was utter boll*x.

Eh ..... they came to Ireland, and it's odds on that the crowd will want to hear a song from their hometown. THey weren't forced to play Whiskey. And to prove that point, they didn't play it three years ago and told the crowd they weren't going to. Contrast with last night if you will.

And to further underscore the point of chanting song names, every time I've seen them (either recordings or live) up until they released Garage Inc. the chant was always for master of puppets. For Ireland that changed to Whiskey. Big deal. Same sh*t, different name.

As for the booing three years ago, yeah that was w*nk.
    Proving they didn't intend on playing it, james f*cked up the first verse."first produced my rapier, then produced my rapier" he sang, even saw him smile over at rob...

That proves nothing other than James made a mistake. They've made plenty of them over the years with songs they play night in night out at gigs.

Lemming wrote:
    Fine. Then cover your ears or something. Or don't go to their gigs. Everyone has a song that they don't want to hear. The rest of the crowd (judging by the chants) wanted to hear Whiskey. You didn't. That's no reason to start calling it the act of little 15 year olds who somehow aren't *real* Metallica fans.

Not everyone, just using this board as a yard stick
    And Metallica were just awesome,it was the best gig i have ever seen them,i was chanting whiplash instead of whiskey!!
    To be honest, I could have done without hearing 'Whiskey...' again. Last time they dropped 'Dyer's Eve' (which they've only ever played live a handful of times) in order to do 'Whiskey..' and while it gets the crowd going & a lot of people like it, I would rather hear them do something else! Only a minor complaint, I still enjoyed it...
    Im not sure what the obsession with whiskey is either, a cover of a cover.

And at the end of the day, they played it, so your happy and it didn't spoil my night(it's not the song, it's the chanting and the fact that a band I love is left open to being booed).
    Eh ..... they came to Ireland, and it's odds on that the crowd will want to hear a song from their hometown. THey weren't forced to play Whiskey. And to prove that point, they didn't play it three years ago and told the crowd they weren't going to. Contrast with last night if you will.

And to further underscore the point of chanting song names, every time I've seen them (either recordings or live) up until they released Garage Inc. the chant was always for master of puppets. For Ireland that changed to Whiskey. Big deal. Same sh*t, different name.

Does this mean from now on, every time they come to Ireland they will have to play it?If they did a jig and lepped around in leprachaun outfits would you be happier?There are chants for different songs at every gig, but just cos they are in Ireland doesn't mean they have to lash out that cover every time..

As I said, awesome gig, loved every minute of it.Bring on the new album..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Amazing gig. That girl flashing her tits was awesome lol. So happy they played all of Master Of Puppets coz that meant I got to hear Disposable Heroes, one of my favourite songs. The best song of the night was Sanitarium. Love that song. The riff after the second chorus is brilliant.I was at just outside the pit and I was right at the edge of a mosh pit that opened up. Was absolutely crazy. I got so many bruises. One dude had blood all over his face. Was amazing gig though!

anybody got any pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭gqma0

Fourth time I see them in concert in Ireland. Seen them twice in the depot 96 and 98 and twice at the RDS.

Seen they're in their 40's now, they're still performing very well. Lots of classic of Puppets. Always impressed by Trujillo. I still listen to violent and funky from Infectious grooves.

Fairplay to the girl in bikini and the guy p**ssing on the barrier. Will he ever know he's been on big brother ?