Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats wrong with supporting England in the footy?

• 10-06-2006 9:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭

I lived in England briefly before I cam do Dublin with my parents and was just wondering - why is there such stigma attatched to supporting England in the World Cup here?

We were in a student bar today, my mate and I to see how England got on against Paraguay and there were people there watching the game alright... but just hoping to see England get trashed. I wouldnt even like to repeat some of the comments I heard.

I cant understand it. And none of that 800 years ****e! British tyranny wasnt 800 years at all and everyone involved in it has died long ago. I have no doubt the RA songs you tend to hear in late night taxis are just empty words of course, but sober people during the day hurtling abuse at a neighbouring football team... why?! Most countries support their neighbouring team, even past invaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

InFront wrote:
    I lived in England briefly before I cam do Dublin with my parents and was just wondering - why is there such stigma attatched to supporting England in the World Cup here?

We were in a student bar today, my mate and I to see how England got on against Paraguay and there were people there watching the game alright... but just hoping to see England get trashed. I wouldnt even like to repeat some of the comments I heard.

I cant understand it. And none of that 800 years ****e! British tyranny wasnt 800 years at all and everyone involved in it has died long ago. I have no doubt the RA songs you tend to hear in late night taxis are just empty words of course, but sober people during the day hurtling abuse at a neighbouring football team... why?! Most countries support their neighbouring team, even past invaders.

Was just talking about this with a friend of mine earlier. I don't understand it either. I'm an arsenal fan myself and there are hundreds of thousands of footy supporters in dublin that support utd, arsenal, liverpool etc.....can't understand why they become hypocrits when the WC is here!

I am supporting England :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

first off, it was 800 years of invasions followed by oppression.

now, to answer your question, i don't see anything wrong with it. i mean, half the people here watch english football every week. i don't see why the same people don't support england, or why they would boo them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The same people chanting and giving out about England are probably supporters of the Premiership, the ironing is delicious :) Barstool 'RA tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

There is no problem ,just most people dont, id like to see them do well in the Cup though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

it's just the ignorant irish nation. i bet if you ask a dubliner why they don't like England they won't have an answer better than "I just bleeeedin' do riiie"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭the Shades

It might have something to do with the English still going on endlessly about winning the thing 40 years ago and not letting it drop. Or you might as well ask why do the English have such a negative attitude to the Germans when it comes to soccer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

InFront wrote:

You didn't read your histroy books? I,d like to see Poland doing better:)
    Oh....maybe this aswel. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ntc0kgshzYk&search=ireland%20vs%20england There always at it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

We'd be hearing about it for the next ****ing 40 years that why!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

sinecurea wrote:
    We'd be hearing about it for the next ****ing 40 years that why!
    best suggestion yet lol. Fair enough I suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

its rivalry, same as any other neighbours, same as being from meath i like to see dublin lose in the gaa, perfectly natural

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Just watched the news there - the main story was the 1-0 result in their opening match!

/update [after 5 minutes of football] - "In other news, 3 people committed suicide in..."

quality news...

Plug wrote:
    You didn't read your histroy books? I,d like to see Poland doing better:)
    Oh....maybe this aswel. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ntc0kgshzYk&search=ireland%20vs%20england There always at it!

gwan the gardai! should have brought in an armoured car and shot the whole lot a them.

wonder what odds you'd get on england fans being involved in a riot at this years world cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Apparently, it;s something to do with the media and going on about 1966 years. These same ignorant people, though, 1) fail to realise that the Irish media do exactly the same thing, e.g. Ryle Nugent harping on about Delaney (1956) and Tracey (1984 runner up, I think) and someone else in the distant past and 2) continue to watch football matches on British channels even when they are also televised by RTE.

I think we get a certain sence of securtiy and self-worth from hate and bitterness.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

we hate them cos there ghey and drink tea with little hats on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

el rabitos wrote:

Hope that was sarcasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It wasn't even English.

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Hope that was sarcasm.

no, i REALLY spell gay "ghey" and think all english people wear little funny hats and drink tea.

...thats sarcasm.

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    Apparently, it;s something to do with the media and going on about 1966 years. These same ignorant people, though, 1) fail to realise that the Irish media do exactly the same thing, e.g. Ryle Nugent harping on about Delaney (1956) and Tracey (1984 runner up, I think) and someone else in the distant past and 2) continue to watch football matches on British channels even when they are also televised by RTE.

I think we get a certain sence of securtiy and self-worth from hate and bitterness.

Not to the extent that the english go on about winning the world cup, in the run up to this years world cup all there was on english channels was programmes about the 1966 world cup.

The picture and sound quality are usually always better from english channels than rte, whats wrong with watching a higher quality picture when you dont have to pay anything extra for it?

What I get from seeing england lose is joy not security or self worth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

draffodx wrote:
    its rivalry, same as any other neighbours, same as being from meath i like to see dublin lose in the gaa, perfectly natural
    exactimundo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

el rabitos wrote:
    surprised your not in the pub drunk,paddy;)

el rabitos wrote:
    no, i REALLY spell gay "ghey" and think all english people wear little funny hats and drink tea.

...thats sarcasm.

Whatever... lowest form of wit and all that.

county wrote:

i really wanted to, but all my green clothes were in the wash, and i couldnt find that packet of lucky charms i bought earliar...dont go anywhere without me lucky charms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I dont watch the premiership or refer to some english football team as "we" ( lol) , so i love to watch the english being stuffed. As do lots of Scots and Welsh people i know, mainly because the english media etc only need a few victories before they revert to pathe jingoism and start crowing on like queen victoria never died. More than likely lots of french and germans love to see the english being stuffed too :D

oh yeah and also 800 hundred years etc, the ould enemy and all that, forgive your foe's but never forget who they are :p

draffodx wrote:
    gwan the gardai! should have brought in an armoured car and shot the whole lot a them.

wonder what odds you'd get on england fans being involved in a riot at this years world cup?
    I'd like to shake your hand Mr;)

MrJoeSoap wrote:

Whatever... lowest form of wit and all that.

whatever....*flicks hair*

draffodx wrote:
    Not to the extent that the english go on about winning the world cup, in the run up to this years world cup all there was on english channels was programmes about the 1966 world cup.

The picture and sound quality are usually always better from english channels than rte, whats wrong with watching a higher quality picture when you dont have to pay anything extra for it?

What I get from seeing england lose is joy not security or self worth

Not over months, but when it comes to jingoism, George Hamilton just does my ****ing head in. He's even worsethat Clive Tyldesly, and that is bad.

Our sence of anti-Englishism is what I mean be security and self-worth: part of being Irish seems to be hate and that can never be good. Why do you get joy from England losing (and DON'T say the media - I'll never accept that as anything more than a convenient excuse)

Bambi wrote:
    I dont watch the premiership or refer to some english football team as "we" ( lol) , so i love to watch the english being stuffed... mainly because the english media etc only need a few victories before they revert to pathe jingoism and start crowing on

That happens when we (Ireland) win ANYTHING on the international scene! And the World Cup is a lot more to gloat about in fairness, in my opinion, than the Tour De France etc. (Sean Tracey still a household name)

Why do you get joy from England losing (and DON'T say the media - I'll never accept that as anything more than a convenient excuse)

Ill second that

feck sake as i said before, its just rivarly, i also get joy out of dublin losing in the gaa, i also get joy out of big teams getting beaten by under dogs, seeing other people/teams lose is fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

So, did the bland and tans lose, or what? I don't care who wins, as long as England loses. I don't even care if *shudder* France wins *shudder*, just once England loses.

Oh, and why? Because I don't like what england stands for. Mainly nice people now but not back 50 years ago or so.

=-=

OT, but I also hope that Dublin lose in the GAA. Why? Because the Dubs are scum. Sure, they are mainly nice 50 years ago or so, but now... don't get me started:p

the_syco wrote:
    So, did the bland and tans lose, or what? I don't care who wins, as long as England loses. I don't even care if *shudder* France wins *shudder*, just once England loses.

Oh, and why? Because I don't like what england stands for. Mainly nice people now but not back 50 years ago or so.

=-=

OT, but I also hope that Dublin lose in the GAA. Why? Because the Dubs are scum. Sure, they are mainly nice 50 years ago or so, but now... don't get me started:p

1958 must be sick and tired of you by now

draffodx wrote:
    feck sake as i said before, its just rivarly, i also get joy out of dublin losing in the gaa, i also get joy out of big teams getting beaten by under dogs, seeing other people/teams lose is fun!

Fair enough, calm down! It's what this nob-end below waffles on about that I mean be self-wroth. Not sure if he in particual is genuine or not, but real people like him do exist.
    I mean, what exactly "does England stand for"? And Irealnd wasn;t a particualy free or nice place in the 50s either, if my parents recollections are anything to go by...

the_syco wrote:

=-=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

county wrote:

Its because the attitude that existed when we were occupied by the English still exists, take this comment for example.

I don't watch any of the English soccer and I certainly won't be supporting them in the world cup.

They have been going on about the one time they won the world cup. Germany won 3 times and you don't hear them going on about it.

Why the hell should I support some country just because we are neighbours, to be honest England has done absolutly nothing for us ever apart from fuck us over to the extent that we lost our own language.

K-TRIC wrote:
    They have been going on about the one time they won the world cup. Germany won 3 times and you don't hear them going on about it.

Because we don't speak German and/or live right beside them and have all their TV stations on our television....

K-TRIC wrote:
    Its because the attitude that existed when we were occupied by the English still exists, take this comment for example.

I don't watch any of the English soccer and I certainly won't be supporting them in the world cup.

I think that was a sarky reply to an equally sarky comment. And of course you don't hear about the Germans - three times and the novely wears off a bit and we don't have German media freely availoable here.

InFront wrote:
    That happens when we (Ireland) win ANYTHING on the international scene! And the World Cup is a lot more to gloat about in fairness, in my opinion, than the Tour De France etc. (Sean Tracey still a household name)

Ill second that

Who's "we" white boy?:p

I'd have said self hate was more a defining trait of this mythical irish character than hate. Most notably manifested in all the apologists who only use "we" whenever they want project some negative tag onto the national consciousness. John Waters has yee post colonial lads taped.

Strange though, i dont remember anyone banging on about cuchulain or that oul s*** when sean kelly was pushing pedals. If we'd ran around about singing Sean South and Skibereen every time Sonia OSullivan picked up a medal you might have a semi resonable comparison but you dont. Dont remember any irish fans rioting or banging on about world wars either. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

For generations there was resentment to the English here in Ireland. 800 years worth of resentment. It is not likely that this 'inherent' resentment would 'breed' itself out since we regained independence. However, it is slowly but surely turning. I think that is a good thing.

I don't want them to win the world cup either, but I'd like to see them do reasonably well.

K-TRIC wrote:
    QUOTE]

Anyone whos played St Killians Deutsche Schule boys will argue that.
    Why the hell should I support some country just because we are neighbours, to be honest England has done absolutly nothing for us ever apart from **** us over to the extent that we lost our own language.

They took in Irish immigrants that would otherwise have crippled the country. I get the feeling English people look at us in bewilderment when they get verbal abuse from Irish people. Lots of other colonies lost languages and suffered extremism under past leaders (now long dead), maybe youre right it must just be the 'neighbour factor'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭raheny red

The barstoolers will be back supporting an English team back in August in a pub near you :rolleyes:

And if we won the WC I would harp on about it for the rest of my life for **** sake. You can't blame them, it's the great prize on the planet. Who was that Irish swimmer in Seoul '88/Barcelona '92 - well people are always going on about this for winning a heat.............a heat for **** sake :rolleyes:

Rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

raheny red wrote:
    Who was that Irish swimmer in Seoul '88/Barcelona '92 - well people are always going on about this for winning a heat.............a heat for **** sake :rolleyes:

Rant over

I think you made the point I was going to make. who the fcuk IS that guy you're on about? No one knows, not even you...

Bambi wrote:

Bit random, Who are you calling white boy... no freckles and factor 30 here im afraid;)
    Most notably manifested in all the apologists who only use "we" whenever they want project some negative tag onto the national consciousness. John Waters has yee post colonial lads taped.

?? I dont understand this comment at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

crosstownk wrote:
    For generations there was resentment to the English here in Ireland. 800 years worth of resentment. It is not likely that this 'inherent' resentment would 'breed' itself out since we regained independence. However, it is slowly but surely turning. I think that is a good thing.

I don't want them to win the world cup either, but I'd like to see them do reasonably well.

My resentment is there because I know how they treated us and has nothing to do with the world cup.

The French and the Dutch still resent the Germans for the treatment they received during the war and I doubt it will disappear anytime soon.

I really don't see how the oppression we recieved from the Englsh is anything to do with us not supporting them. If it was a case of us being neighbours then why don't we support the French ??

Originally Posted by raheny red
    Who was that Irish swimmer in Seoul '88/Barcelona '92 - well people are always going on about this for winning a heat.............a heat for **** sake

Rant over

hehe if people were really harping on about it then you'd know the name :D

if we won the World cup, i'd party for a year and that would be it, of course we'd talk about it for years to come but we woulldnt go to every world cup after winning it an act like its rightfully meant to be ours.

The english give me the impression that they believe there some sort of soccer superpower and believe they should win it everytime even though they've only ever won it once

werent most irish people that emmigrated to england illegal emmigrants and were treated very badly?

InFront wrote:
    Bit random, Who are you calling white boy... no freckles and factor 30 here im afraid;)

?? I dont understand this comment at all

dont worry you're just missing a few reference's kemosabe

K-TRIC wrote:
    If it was a case of us being neighbours then why don't we support the French ??

Because we have little/no French media in Ireland, very few ties with the country, speak a different language, and most importantly with the issue at hand... we don't follow French domestic soccer.

draffodx wrote:
    hehe if people were really harping on about it then you'd know the name :D

Dr Gary O Toole, yes? Even I, an immigrant who cant swim has heard of him:D

Bambi wrote:
    dont worry you're just missing a few reference's kemosabe

Kemosabe? Oh thats clever, and very grown up.

What I didnt understand in your statement was whether the "ye post colonial lads" you were referring to were asians or irish people?

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Because we have little/no French media in Ireland, very few ties with the country, speak a different language, and most importantly with the issue at hand... we don't follow French domestic soccer.

the only reason we follow english domestic soccer is because we have easy access to it, if we had easy access to other domestic soccer we'd support teams there.

our own domestic soccer is of such a low quality and lacks advertising so soccer in england is the best choice to follow

i personally dont follow english soccer anyway, its boring! so is the world cup so far

Bambi wrote:

I'd have said self hate was more a defining trait of this mythical irish character than hate. Most notably manifested in all the apologists who only use "we" whenever they want project some negative tag onto the national consciousness. John Waters has yee post colonial lads taped.

Strange though, i dont remember anyone banging on about cuchulain or that oul s*** when sean kelly was pushing pedals. If we'd ran around about singing Sean South and Skibereen every time Sonia OSullivan picked up a medal you might have a semi resonable comparison but you dont. Dont remember any irish fans rioting or banging on about world wars either. :confused:

Who's 'white boy' for a start?

No, it's hate. Self-hate is more catholic than mythical Irish.

Hating is a negative enough tag to project onto a naiton, Who the **** is John Walters?

You've never leistened to Ryle Nugent 'commentate' have you...?

Irish fans last seen rioting in O'Connell Street a few months ago. You choose not to notice. I know this is nothign to do with football, but a) neither is English hooliganism in the broader sense and b) does it really matter?

:confused: you and me both...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

the Shades wrote:
    It might have something to do with the English still going on endlessly about winning the thing 40 years ago and not letting it drop. Or you might as well ask why do the English have such a negative attitude to the Germans when it comes to soccer?

Yup, that does it for me. 1966 was mentioned 9 times today on sky news and BBC devoted an hour to it. And all this anti-german b****x pisses me off aswell from the English. Its the Arogance and the hype that makes you want them to fall hard. Some of you wont agree with that but at least im being honest.

Remember Bertie said he is not supporting them because 'we'd never ever hear the end of it' and you know what he is right.