Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why does my cat always have his tounge sticking out?

• 07-06-2006 4:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭

He's 15 (ish) years old and has been doing it for the past couple of years.

Just wondering, after readin the cat panting thread thought it might have the solutiuon but it dosnt.

he's black, and its not heat releated, does it during the winter too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭fabcat

my cat always does that, usually after yawning or cleaning herself, it's so cute though, I usually just stick my tongue out back at her and she eventually puts it back in :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭le-dub

I take you have'nt brought it to the VET yet? I'm only guessing here, but it is possible that your cat had a mild stroke, which would cause the tongue to hang out. I would say tho something has happened along those lines and you should really get your cat checked out by the VET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

No no no, it's not hanging out like he's had a bleedin stroke!!! He does put it in and he drinks nice an normal. He just has it out a lot, that's all, like he forgets to but it back in. And why are you shouting VET at me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭fabcat

Chill out people!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Ours do that occasionally too, usually after they've been washing or something, it only sticks out a little bit maybe 2 or 3mm. They soon pop it back again. Nothing to worry about, I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

like he forgets to but it back in.

:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭MrJones

because your cat is a muppet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 qwert99

Your kittie having his tongue sticking out sometimes isn't really something to worry about, it's usually a sign that they are happy and content. My cat used to do it when he was younger after grooming himself and doing his "kneading" when sitting on your lap. It's sort of an involuntary thing that reminds them of when they were kittens and were being fed by their mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

My miniture yorkie does it and he is really old too, its becuase his teeth are lose and falling out, poor old man that he is LOL Wouldn't surprise me if your cats teeth where he same 15 is a grand age :)