Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Watch out for your children in Monkstown...

• 07-06-2006 4:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭

A few hours ago some British knackers moved into the park next to the Monkstown/Salthill Dart station. These bastards just pushed the big rocks out of the way with their cars and put their two caravans and whatever garbage that comes with it onto the grass. The Gards had a talk with them (five or six Gards) but drove off after a while. There goes the neighbourhood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Why is this in AH?
    Why are you writing this at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Have to agree with mod wannabe biko ;)

Firstly, their nationality should not be an issue , I'm Irish in Britain and hate hearing about "Irish pikeys" all the time :mad:

Secondly, the term "knackers" is quite offensive when directed at members of the travelling community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

qwertz wrote:
    A few hours ago some British knackers moved into the park next to the Monkstown/Salthill Dart station. These bastards just pushed the big rocks out of the way with their cars and put their two caravans and whatever garbage that comes with it onto the grass. The Gards had a talk with them (five or six Gards) but drove off after a while. There goes the neighbourhood.

...so why should we watch out for our children...? Exactly? Are they sex offenders as well (who specifically target chilren)? Might our children see them and want to run away with them?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Fridge

They steal gates, not children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Dublin forum? Troll forum? Not again Forum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Yook

r3nu4l wrote:
    Secondly, the term "knackers" is quite offensive when directed at members of the travelling community.

You mean knackers right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

I was Irish living in Britain as well, and the moment anyone complained about Irish pikeys to me, I warned them.

"You don't know what your dealing with until its too late, and its not going to be fun". These guys know their rights, but they don't know their obligations. This is the characteristic of a skanger. A nasty sociopathic element.

The Gardai had a talk....(sighs). I wish the Gardai would deal with them the same way the Malaysian police deal with problems like that.

A good dose of some Internal Security Act here, some accidentally planted drugs there, copyright piracy, fines, and they'll be doing 20 years.

GRINS.....No more problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

You could come home and find your children up on blocks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

qwertz, mein gut, you're right!!!!111, here's a photo taken with a D70 from the DART, [shudders]..

British Knackers, in DUBLIN.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Ahh Sure theres being a halting site where i live for years you stay out of there way they will stay out of yours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,743 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Monkstown/Salthill is one of the most exclusive areas in Dublin, these guys are cute they know they'll get a payday to leave , and the wealthy residents will willingly oblige , so that there darling James and Sonya won't have to mix with these smelly people. Its always a case of not in my backyard, the richer the area the more extortion can be raised. Basically it is a society problem, the travellers should not extort money and should live by the law, and societies standards, clean up there rubbish for instance , whilst the settled community need to be more tolerant , and not use abusive terms such as knackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

The settled community is doing fine. Of course they can afford to pay.

Now where is there a decent police force, with Alsatians, Cattle Prods, Tear Gas, Bulldozers.............

Not in Ireland unfortunately.

I used to be so nice, sweet and liberal, but time has taught me that there is one solution to anti social elements. Scare the living **** out of them, screw human rights, and everyone has a more pleasant life. It does'nt matter whether its in Monkstown or Mulhuddart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

you obviously never had a problem with them.
    i'll be back in a bit with some pictorial evidence of the damage they did in Leixlip.sorry, forgot to tick the box. that was directed at biko.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

julep wrote:
    i'll be back in a bit with some pictorial evidence of the damage they did in Leixlip.sorry, forgot to tick the box. that was directed at biko.
    Maye he has maybe he hasnt but there has already been millions of threads on travellers with the usual arguments from both sides.Its never anything new just the usual crap.So please save your photos for yourself instead of dragging out this ever boring topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Ask them if they want to buy a bit of carpet.

padi89 wrote:
    Maye he has maybe he hasnt but there has already been millions of threads on travellers with the usual arguments from both sides.Its never anything new just the usual crap.So please save your photos for yourself instead of dragging out this ever boring topic.
    you've been posting here a mere 3 months.
    how would you be aware of these threads?

pictures here: http://kildare.iwai.ie/leixlipspa.html

the knackers had parked just up from this area, blocking the main pathway to the general public.
    they repeatedly hassled anyone walking by where they had parked and were there for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Kernel wrote:
    Ask them if they want to buy a bit of carpet.

Eddie Jordan started out by selling carpet remnant.. :)

julep wrote:
    you've been posting here a mere 3 months.
    how would you be aware of these threads?
    Do you think that everyone that reads the boards has to post?????? EH?If you must know ive got too much time on my hands."A mere 3 months!",ewe your so much better than me..lol.If you look at the thread menu you will see that there is a number referring to views,do you think everyone of these people post??? Yes/No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

julep wrote:
    True I never did have a problem with them.
    Maybe there ought to be a "Warning: Here be knackers" forum where OP and others could post and exchange the same opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭CrazySka

You speaking for everyone there man? i for one would like to see the photos, i saw the damage travellers did in ballyboden and i think we should be aware that proper travellers (ie travellers who change sites regularly) dont give a crap what they do to the place they are in at a particular time. i call them travellers knackers and ill keep calling them what i like as long as they go round wrecking playing fields, parks and anywhere else they manage to stop their caravans.

padi89 wrote:
    Do you think that everyone that reads the boards has to post?????? EH?If you must know ive got too much time on my hands."A mere 3 months!",ewe your so much better than me..lol.If you look at the thread menu you will see that there is a number referring to views,do you think everyone of these people post??? Yes/No
    that wasn't a leet thing. it was more a 'how is it you have seen all these posts seeing as you only registered 3 months ago?'

believe me, i'm not gonna start calling anyone a newbie or noob or n00b or whatever. i hate that crap.

john_dub wrote:
    You speaking for everyone there man? i for one would like to see the photos, i saw the damage travellers did in ballyboden and i think we should be aware that proper travellers (ie travellers who change sites regularly) dont give a crap what they do to the place they are in at a particular time. i call them travellers knackers and ill keep calling them what i like as long as they go round wrecking playing fields, parks and anywhere else they manage to stop their caravans.
    Oh here we go again.Maybe you should go out with a camera to galway over the weekend and take pictures of all the civilised settled people dumping rubbish all over Eyre Square and the Spanish Arch.Their excuse????? Not enough bins?Then take it home with you.Same as your idea of knackers if you ask me.

julep wrote:
    that wasn't a leet thing. it was more a 'how is it you have seen all these posts seeing as you only registered 3 months ago?'

believe me, i'm not gonna start calling anyone a newbie or noob or n00b or whatever. i hate that crap.
    You do not have to register to read the threads,you should know this after two years.Like i said too much time on my hands lately.

Oh here we go again.Maybe you should go out with a camera to galway over the weekend and take pictures of all the civilised settled people dumping rubbish all over Eyre Square and the Spanish Arch.Their excuse????? Not enough bins,well take the piece of rubbish home with you.
    Few questions there on your watertight point man
    1. Do the people youre talking about set up tent and then stay in that one spot persistently dropping rubbish in that one area for weeks, months??

2. If you are talking about civilised settled people as you call them would you not agree that there is a good chance them same people pay a thing called TAXES which funnily enough are partly used to employ people whose job it is to pick up rubbish?? or am i just totally wrong on that notion?

3. most people dont do this anymore anyway, i dont, i dont know people who do so ill just have to take your word on it. do you do it?

i have never never seen a settled person pour the contents of a bin onto the ground in a built up area, i think what your talking about is the odd sweet wrapper or drinks can, totally irrelevant to the original point of travellers dumping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Haha I'm doing my Leaving Cert in my school about 4 minutes away from there...the cheek of them. As long as they stay away from my school for the next 2 weeks I don't particularly care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Oh uh more gypo's in Dublin.

john_dub wrote:
    Few questions there on your watertight point man
    1. Do the people youre talking about set up tent and then stay in that one spot persistently dropping rubbish in that one area for weeks, months??

2. If you are talking about civilised settled people as you call them would you not agree that there is a good chance them same people pay a thing called TAXES which funnily enough are partly used to employ people whose job it is to pick up rubbish?? or am i just totally wrong on that notion?

3. most people dont do this anymore anyway, i dont, i dont know people who do so ill just have to take your word on it. do you do it?

i have never never seen a settled person pour the contents of a bin onto the ground in a built up area, i think what your talking about is the odd sweet wrapper or drinks can, totally irrelevant to the original point of travellers dumping.
    Point 1.No to be honest i havent viewed anyone setting up camp in either areas i mentioned but the droping of rubbish was consitent throughout the weekend with the good weather.In fact eyre square is on a local paper today because of how dirty it was.Must have been one big traveller piss up.
    http://www.galwayindependent.com/news/7604.html

Point 2.See its this attitude that lets people think its OK to drop rubbish.I pay TAXES,sher if there wasnt rubbish there would be no jobs for the people to clean it up.Thats a pretty poor point.

Point 3.Try telling this to the council Nope i dont drop rubbish.Im very concious of it.Im sure there are plenty of times i done it throughout my life but i certainly dont do it now.But obviously people still do it and its not just travellers.

Theres a park i walk my dog everyday with a wodded area and many mornings ive had to go across the road to the council to tell them there are a load of black sacks dumped inside the wall.Pretty sad.The difference is travellers will do it in front of ya and not give a monkeys but the aledged settled people do it at night when no ones looking.Either way in each of my points im not tallking about the odd sweet wrapper,ciggarette butt etc as seen in picture( these all add up).All in all its pretty ironic that Galway just recieved a litter free award recently.

Point 1.No to be honest i havent viewed anyone setting up camp in either areas i mentioned but the droping of rubbish was consitent throughout the weekend with the good weather.In fact eyre square is on the front of a local paper today because of how dirty it was.
    Point 2.See its this attitude that lets people think its OK to drop rubbish.I pay TAXES,sher if there wasnt rubbish there would be no jobs for the people to clean it up.Thats a pretty poor point.
    Point 3. Nope i dont drop rubbish.Im very concious of it.Im sure there are plenty of times i done it throughout my life but i certainly dont do it now.

Theres a park i walk my dog everyday with a wodded area and many mornings ive had to go across the road to the council to tell them there are a load of black sacks dumped inside the wall.Pretty sad.The difference is travellers will do it in front of ya and not give a monkeys but the aledged settled people do it at night when no ones looking.Either way in each of my points im not tallking about the odd sweet wrapper,ciggarette butt etc( these all add up).

Eyre square doesnt stay dirty, its cleaned the next day. the people who are dropping litter in Eyre square (and im not saying its ok, im personally disgusted by it) are the people who are funding the local pubs, shops, hotels etc, take them away and what would the be economic effect? hate to break it to you man but most cities in europe have litter problems in their central areas. more people=more litter. statistically a certain percentage of people are going to drop litter. How many people pass through Eyre square of a day?
    In the travellers areas there are a small group of people consistently damaging the environment around them.

Thats not my point about taxes at all, you added quite a bit on there. iam stating the fact that people exist who clean up litter, they are paid for by taxes,do you disagree? you then decided i believe that if there was no rubbish then they wouldnt have jobs?

Who are the people who drop litter? Tourists, the kind of people who steal hubcabs?

You started talking about Eyre square not parks, im sure loads of rubbish gets dumped in parks, maybe its travellers?

john_dub wrote:
    Eyre square doesnt stay dirty, its cleaned the next day. the people who are dropping litter in Eyre square (and im not saying its ok, im personally disgusted by it) are the people who are funding the local pubs, shops, hotels etc, take them away and what would the be economic effect? hate to break it to you man but most cities in europe have litter problems in their central areas. more people=more litter. statistically a certain percentage of people are going to drop litter. How many people pass through Eyre square of a day?
    In the travellers areas there are a small group of people consistently damaging the environment around them.

Thats not my point about taxes at all, you added quite a bit on there. iam stating the fact that people exist who clean up litter, they are paid for by taxes,do you disagree? you then decided i believe that if there was no rubbish then they wouldnt have jobs?

Who are the people who drop litter? Tourists, the kind of people who steal hubcabs?

You started talking about Eyre square not parks, im sure loads of rubbish gets dumped in parks, maybe its travellers?

The reason its cleaned everyday is because noone would come here if it was in sh1t.I dont know how many people pass through Eyre Square but im sure it was a minority of them that decided to sit down and drop rubbish.Obvioulsy more people equals more rubbish but it still doesnt take much to gather up whatever you had and take it with you.I had a few drinks in the square and the arch over the beautiull weekend but i had the decency to dispose of it .do you not also think that a city full of rubbish would put people off coming here,thus affecting the economy.the tourist or local dumping rubbish is just making the place look wore for the next visitor.This could go on forever and to be honest im loosing interest now.Its just nit picking now and i just couldnt be arsed.I dont want to go into a never ending debate its pointless.I just think that before we go off on some travellers for wrecking the place we should take a look at ourselves and our own attitude to rubbish.We would have a clean country if it was just travellers that were littering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

The problem with Eyre Sq and the Spanish Arch is (imo) they don't empty the bins often enough. Galway has done great work in turning the rep around and it's unfair to compare it to the mess travellers leave behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭groundedplane

I am not much of a poster on these boards, but read daily, mainly cause I don’t have the time to post, but I will on this occasion. At the end of the day we cannot paint everyone with the same paint brush. When it comes to Itinerants, Knackers, travelers ect I would say 95% of them are vermin, its that simple.

Its easy for the person to say, well how can you say that about these people. Well they obviously never had a bunch of Traveler’s setting down in their area for an extend stay? They never had their cloths robbed of the washing line! They never had their area absolutely destroyed by their lack of morals and total disregard for them selves and for the area they decided to invade.

They are a law among them selves and know how to play the Garda and the Government big time. They know how to get money from the locals either by forceful means or by extortionate means. They know if anyone tries to do anything to them to get them to move on the will do one of two things. They will pull the victim/racist card or they will make your life a living misery every day until they get what they want and then move on to the next town and do the same. They make one hell of a living from this.

My own opining of these people is one of compete and utter disgust. They are the equivalent to a plague of locusts. They are fitly degrading excuses for Human beings, they really are. The give the f uck you finger to Society all the while having nothing positive to contribute to society, let alone dream of paying a bit of tax like the rest of us ****ing Idjets. They will take what they want when they want it and see what happens when you try and stop them. Even the guards or the government cannot stop them . They play the game very well, I will give them that.

Take a look at any area which they camped out and then vacated. The mess they leave behind for the rest of us to clean up. They have no right to do that at all.

There was a story recently where they are at a funeral and they fought each other while in with the body. All the pubs and shops closed that day not allowing any of them to drink ect. That tells you a story in its self.

Total scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Another day, another thread about travellers. Hey when you can debate intelligently about it maybe one might stay open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Pfft. Nice pic Amalgam.

Not sure why this thread was started in AH when there's a perfectly good Dublin forum where threads like this can widen out to discussions about dog poo and such. With that in mind I tend to see it as pointless my pointing out precise details of seeing "settled" people occasionally emptying out entire contents of litter bins on the ground in urban areas while sober.

I'm locking the thread. Try Humanities if you want a warble about groups of people you don't like or maybe regional boards for particular areas. Reasonable logic and civility desirable obviously lest you be put in my mind into the same cesspool as those who will insist on pooing on sidewalks or whatever.