Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbag Vandals

• 07-06-2006 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭

The scooter broke down last sunday in Walkinstown, so I pushed it into rathfarnham to Motomax and left it outside their workshop there. It turns out its closed at the moment so I went to their other shop and asked them to pick it up.

This morning I got a call from them saying it was no longer outside the garage. Eventually, (after asking 3 times) the guards said they had it and I went to the station to find the front panel ripped off, wires torn out and the steering lock snapped. Obviosly some shetehead tried to rob it but it wouldn't start for them.

I'd just love to know why it's impossible to have anything nice in this country, lest some scumbag will smash it up. Also love to get my hands on the fols that did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

That's Dublin for you... I had 3 cars here and all 3 were broken into... It's pathetic and it doesn't look like the Garda is doing much about it... :(

Anyway I feel your pain. Good luck fixing your scooter and try to focus on the bright/important things in life! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Did you have a lock on it, or was it just sitting there? Unfortunately the scumbags don't know it's broken until they've torn it apart trying to start it. Stick a lock on it, and they won't bother (though someone may still pick it up and throw it in a van).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

i live in a two bedroomed townhouse thats in a terrace with no front garden/driveway so i have my mojito 50 chained to a ground anchor outside my front window,nice and secure,not much chance of robbery,true,but that did'nt stop the bastards from slashing my saddle with a knife and pushing it over on 3 occasions cracking my left mirror and scratching the bodywork. i wanted to go out and buy a baseball bat but the wife would'nt let me!! nothing is sacred in this country,sorry,rant over!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭selephonic

Hey Lord, seems to be the thing with habana/mojito bikes. The current one is a 125 custom, and the previous one, a 50 cc, was also trashed on 3 seperate occasions.

Baseball bat would certainly be out if I knew who had done it, anyone see any bad people in Rathfarnham village this weekend gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭selephonic

seamus wrote:
    Did you have a lock on it, or was it just sitting there? Unfortunately the scumbags don't know it's broken until they've torn it apart trying to start it. Stick a lock on it, and they won't bother (though someone may still pick it up and throw it in a van).

In truth I didn't have a lock on it, I hadn't brought one because I had just rushed out to the shops, but I don't reckon I deserved what happened, they probably would have trashed it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Chunkylover

before I got the bike I was a boy racer (oh the shame) anyway I leftm y car in a private underground car park which you needed 3 seperate codes to get through each lot of gates, once they realised it was nt going anywhere they ripped it apart, took the display of the engine managment system, radio, tool box bent both doors back (maybe they forgot they they bent the 1st door back when they went over to the other side)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Didn't see anyone around the village. Just lots of kids in the castle park knacker drinking. Could have been some of them as I wouldn't put it past some of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Garibaldi

Ah yes. Wanton destruction, no respect for people or property, ineffective policing. Welcome to Ireland.
    Kids these days, eh. Tsk. How about introducing regular Electro-Convulsive Shock Therapy sessions into the school curriculum? Actually, that's not a bad idea. I'd love to see the Leaving Cert exam for *that* one. ;)
    Speaking as someone who's had two bikes stolen and one vandalised, where the Garda contribution was (despite a coincidental result, not because of any actual investigating) an offer of condolences and a shake of the head, I'd say either just forget about it and move on (you can't be hassling the crims, after all), or join the Gardai and rise to the rank of Chief Commissionaire (sic - or something equally prestigious), changing the force from within and wiping the criminal scum from the face of the Earth.
    Don't buy the baseball bat. The scummers will only take it off you and beat you into a coma. It's their deprived childhood, you see.
    Hmm....this is developing into a rant. I hadn't intended that when I started, so I'll just go out for a coffee in the sunshine and calm down. Sorry about the vandalism, but that's life sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Garibaldi wrote:
    but that's life sometimes.

No, thats Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Garibaldi

Isn't that what I said? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Finch-

Yup. Happened to me before. I had my scooter (Honda x8r-x) parked outside the studios I was playing with my band in. Went back out at about 9 o clock, was dark then, and the steering lock was broke, wire for the ignition ripped out and the brake disk lock was in half's. So i feel your pain lol nothin you can do though really.

I think there should be some sort of electric shock system built into the bike. If anyone goes near it with anything, they'll a nice shock tht'll send em flyin. Only id hate to forget it was on and i get shocked myself lol Many a time i forgot i had an alarm, set it off by accident :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

If you have no choice but to park overnight "al fresco" and in public, try to park the bike in the sight line of a security camera, could be a garda traffic or local council camera, or a commercial premises camera from a pub or warehouse or shop etc. Add a chain and lock as a visual deterant to the scumbags. I throw an manky "Argos" bike cover over mine every night as well as the 3 chains/steering lock. Outta sight, outta prying minds!!

**Don't let the bastards gind ya down mate...
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Garibaldi
    but that's life sometimes.

Originally Posted by K-TRIC
    No, thats Ireland.
    Agreed, that's Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Darando

Police in UK (London I think) actually have dummy scooters and bikes that they park up and just wait for them to have a go at (the scumbags just cant resist!!). Maybe a bit of this type of policing would help (although Im guessing some irish judge would throw it out of court for entrapment!!!)

Also good one I read was some scooter lunatic in UK wanting to wire the spark to the petrol tank!!! (just remember to disconnect before using!!!). At least mame the scumbag - sure would have wrecked the bike anyway!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Darando wrote:
    (although Im guessing some irish judge would throw it out of court for entrapment!!!)
    I don't think it could constitute entrapment.

Entrapment is essentially causing or having someone commit a crime when there may not have been the original intention to commit the crime.

So an undercover Garda walking up to people and asking them, "Do you want any drugs?" would constitute entrapment, since said person may not have had any plan to buy drugs. However, simple standing on the street corner and waiting to be approached wouldn't constitute entrapment, since the person clearly did have a plan to buy drugs.

There could be an argument that leaving the bike unlocked and with keys in it, may possible be entrapment, but leaving it sitting at the side of the road wouldn't - you'd only go for the bike if you had the intention of stealing a bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

When i had mine, malaguti Firefox (was a beautiful bike), i parked it in my front garden up against the window, with a chian on the front wheel locked to a tree, a disc lock and a U locke on the back wheel. Every night for 3 nights in a row they worked on the chain and broke off the U-lock, they were very close to getting the bike. So my dad being a mechanic got some sort of acid or something and covered the chain in the acid stuff. The scumbags tampared with the bike that night but only moved the chain, they didnt come back the next night! Little bastards hope they got their hands badly burned.

Although the bike was set on fire 3 days later!

On the other hand when I was sixteen I left the bike in the motorcycle park on the 3rd level of the square in Tallaght, with the keys in the ignition! Forgot to take them out! I was gone for four hours and the keys and bike were still there when i got back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Darando

Seamus I meant it in a tongue and cheek manner - not to be taken 100% seriously.

Also that bike-theft seems to be very low on the gardai radar - ask anyone who had one stolen (the response is usually the same - keep an eye out-but rarely found) . Also very low on council/government policy - how many places do you know with proper places to lock motorbikes/scooters? (and if so with cameras etc..) Look at stephens green for example. ground anchors?? bike only bays??? lots of places for cars but bikes - no.