Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are YOU a modern man???

• 06-06-2006 11:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭

Just curious to see the guys take on this.

On Sat myself & better half were shopping (don't get into the I don't do shopping thing, cos neither do I actually:- just had to rush through lots of shops looking for a particular handbag, anyway......back on topic)

We happened to walk past the bra section in Debenhams, & me knowing him lifts this really naughty looking bra, held it up (while others were around, imagine the shock of it, tut tut....:p ), & said "do you like this", "how would this look on me", sort of comments!!!:D Well he nearly died, couldn't get away quick enough. I could even see him putting the head down (well almost, you can imagine what I'm talking about) as if he didn't notice all the bras as we were walking past.

Before that, we were walking past Ann Summers & I tried to get him to go in (knowing he wouldn't):- NOT a hope in hell!!!!!!

Then, the following morning I needed the "DREADED" tampax. As I'd no car I asked him would he go to his local to buy me some. (again I knew there wouldn't be a chance that he would, I just wanted to see his reaction) So we both went (surprise!!) & I descreetly bought them (while he was chatting to someone he knew, pretending he didn't know the girl with the box of tampax in her hand).
    If I'd have plonked them on the counter while he was paying for his bottle of water or whatever, he'd have died!!!! (Doesn't even want to know I'm having my period, would almost blush if I mentioned it)

Now, this isn't a rant about my bf. This is just how he feels about those particular issues, & I'm perfectly happy with that, bless his little niave cotton socks!!;)

So, to all the male boardsters out there:- how are you around these subjects?
    Are you the epitomy of the modern man, or do you want to run & hide at the mention of "womens issues"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

your meeeeaaaann. poor guy, leave him alone.

are you going out with him long?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭RainbowBrite

Ah, I wasn't really being mean. We're kind of just like that around each other.
    Going with him 7 months, friends for a long time, & it's not like he's an innocent 16 year old who's new to the world of the alien species known as 'Women', he's 26!!!!!! :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Wouldn't bother me tbh, well maybe the whole "do you think this bra would look good on me" would be a slight bit weird, but prolly end up finding it funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

none of that would bother me, if you ever managed to get me into a shop with a woman in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm the same as your boyfriend tbh... I feel like everyone's watching me if I've to pass through a lingerie section in a shop or somethin.

"Look at the dirty fecker, leerin in the ladies' underwear section... The great big letch!"

OT, your title reminded me of George Carlin's bit on being a 'modern man'... (it has nothing to do with the topic)

I'm a modern man,
    A man for the millennium,
    Digital and smoke free.

A diversified multicultural postmodern deconstructionist,
    Politically anatomically and ecologically incorrect.

I've been uplinked and downloaded.
    I've been inputted and outsourced.
    I know the upside of downsizing.
    I know the downside of upgrading.

I'm a high tech lowlife.
    A cutting edge state-of-the-art bicoastal multitasker,
    And I can give you a gigabyte in a nanosecond.

I'm new wave but I'm old school,
    And my inner child is outward bound.

I'm a hot wired heat seeking warm hearted cool customer,
    Voice activated and biodegradable.

I interface from a database,
    And my database is in cyberspace,
    So I'm interactive,
    I'm hyperactive,
    And from time-to-time,
    I'm radioactive.

Behind the eight ball,
    Ahead of the curve,
    Riding the wave,
    Dodging a bullet,
    Pushing the envelope.

I'm on point,
    On task,
    On message,
    And off drugs.
    I got no need for coke and speed,
    I got no urge to binge and purge.

I'm in the moment,
    On the edge,
    Over the top,
    But under the radar.

A high concept,
    Low profile,
    Medium range ballistic missionary.
    A street-wise smart bomb.
    A top gun bottom feeder.

I wear power ties,
    I tell power lies,
    I take power naps,
    I run victory laps.

I'm a totally ongoing bigfoot slam dunk rainmaker with a proactive outreach.
    A raging workaholic.
    A working ragaholic.
    Out of rehab,
    And in denial.

I got a personal trainer,
    A personal shopper,
    A personal assistant,
    And a personal agenda.

You can't shut me up,
    You can't dumb me down.
    'Cause I'm tireless,
    And I'm wireless.
    I'm an alpha male on beta blockers.

I'm a non-believer and an over-achiever.
    Laid back but fashion forward.

Up front,
    Down home,
    Low rent,
    High maintenance.

Super size,
    Long lasting,
    High definition,
    Fast acting,
    Oven ready,
    And built to last.

I'm a hands on,
    Foot loose,
    Knee jerk,
    Head case.

Prematurely post traumatic,
    And I have a love child who sends me hate mail.

But I'm feeling,
    I'm caring,
    I'm healing,
    I'm sharing.
    A supportive bonding nurturing primary care giver.

My output is down,
    But my income is up.
    I take a short position on the long bond,
    And my revenue stream has its own cash flow.

I read junk mail,
    I eat junk food,
    I buy junk bonds,
    I watch trash sports.

I'm gender specific,
    Capital intensive,
    User friendly,
    And lactose intolerant.

I like rough sex.
    I like tough love.
    I use the f word in my email,
    And the software on my hard drive is hard core, no soft porn.

I bought a microwave at a mini mall.
    I bought a mini van in a mega store.
    I eat fast food in the slow lane.

I'm toll free,
    Bite sized,
    Ready to wear,
    And I come in all sizes.

A fully equipped,
    Factory authorized,
    Hospital tested,
    Clinically proven,
    Scientifically formulated medical miracle.

I've been pre-washed,
    Pre-cooked,
    Pre-heated,
    Pre-screened,
    Pre-approved,
    Pre-packaged,
    Post-dated,
    Freeze-dried,
    Double-wrapped,
    Vacuum-packed,
    And I have an unlimited broadband capacity.

I'm a rude dude,
    But I'm the real deal.
    Lean and mean.
    Cocked, locked and ready to rock.
    Rough tough and hard to bluff.

I take it slow.
    I go with the flow.
    I ride with the tide.
    I got glide in my stride.

Drivin' and movin',
    Sailin' and spinnin',
    Jivin' and groovin',
    Wailin' and winnin'.

I don't snooze,
    So I don't lose.
    I keep the pedal to the metal,
    And the rubber on the road.

I party hearty,
    And lunch time is crunch time.

I'm hanging in,
    There ain't no doubt.
    And I'm hanging tough,
    Over and out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Everyone has different comfort levels and what they consider to be polite behaviour.
    Delibratly putting your partner/bf/friend in a public sutuation like that and doing things you know will embarass them is imho an uncivil and awful thing to do to someone esp if you know it is one of thier foibles and you are expoliting it for your own amusement.

One people are more comfortible in those types of situations some are not,
    and being able to trawl through the underwear dept of a chain stores does not make a man 'modern'.

Thaedydal wrote:
    Everyone has different comfort levels and what they consider to be polite behaviour.
    Delibratly putting your partner/bf/friend in a public sutuation like that and doing things you know will embarass them is imho an uncivil and awful thing to do to someone esp if you know it is one of thier foibles and you are expoliting it for your own amusement.

and being able to trawl through the underwear dept of a chain stores does not make a man 'modern'.

Ah come on!!!!

There were people in the area, they did not hear me, I did not shout it out. I said it to him & only at a level that he could hear me.
    It was a bit of fun, he found it funny (but wanted to move away from the bra section). We've known each other a long time, I know his limits, & this wasn't anything near them, I just know he's a bit shy about the whole thing.

Honestly, I never would do anything to make him feel uncomfortable, nor would he to me.

I mean, I actually DID need to buy a strapless bra (& that was my best opportunity to buy one), but I didn't even look because he was with me & it wouldn't be fair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Never mind modern man, you sound like a good modern woman undermining your man slave at every opportunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

So, to all the male boardsters out there:- how are you around these subjects?
    Are you the epitomy of the modern man, or do you want to run & hide at the mention of "womens issues"

To be honest, none of it would bother me in the slightest and never has.

Besides, any query along the lines of "would this bra look good on me" should be met with "why don't we sneak into the dressing room and find out?". He's your boyfriend after all, no need to be getting shy about such issues. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

You dirty dirty girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

Thaedydal wrote:

someone needs a personality transplant methinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Yea thats just funny, I'd rather be able to have a joke with someone than be sensitive and politically correct all the time even if some people have "personal issues" with it.I'm not that easily embarrassed and often find it funny when people sneer at me in those sort of situations, especially if I've company. Though on the tampax front I'm afraid you'd be buying your own, womens issues are womens issues!!

el rabitos wrote:
    someone needs a personality transplant methinks

Why? Grand Master T ( sorry Thaedydal, i just keep referring to you as that! ) has a very valid point. Often times people think that making slight fun of something between girlfriend and boyfriend is all a bit of fun, but someone is taking it seriously and just not able to say so.

You think your having a laugh, but they think your a bully. Eventually things like this can chip away at a relationship, and a persons self confidence.

People seem to think that being in a relationship with someone leads to them being able to get away with more, or maybe says things they might not say to others.

It's important to remember that being in a relationship is a lot about helping, comforting and nurturing that person as well. And not doing anything that might make them feel bad because you find it a little funny.

I'm sure the OP wouldn't have meant to genuinely hurt her fella, which is good, but the simple fact is that she can't know what he's thinking, or how it's getting to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

I've learned NOT to go shopping with girls. No good can ever come from it.

Girls also have the feeling they can tell me anything, and I mean ANYTHING. So I'm well used to the tampax talk etc. No more deifying beautiful girls for me! Oh no! They're all filthy little minxes. Woof :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Quite pathetic, tbh :rolleyes:

You mean to say (as many others have apparently done in-thread) that your man:
    (i) couldn't go out on his own and buy you nice underwear for a special occasion?
    (ii) couldn't go out to do the weekly shopping, including tampax or serviettes as and when required?

A quick (cheap :D) one: does he buy his own condoms?

Or is it a maturity thing: how old is your BF?

Not wanting to derail the thread, but I think catholic goody-goody 'values' and the transplanting organ (aka 'The Church') still have a lot to answer for in 'Modern' Ireland...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

Being honest my view of "modern" men is footballer/designer haircuts, designer sunglasses and randomly coloured shirts.

Being honest modern men look gay.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I dont think I am like a "modern" man as you have described it and I definitely am not a "modern" man as I have described it.

Dermington wrote:
    Being honest my view of "modern" men is footballer/designer haircuts, designer sunglasses and randomly coloured shirts.

Being honest modern men look gay.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I dont think I am like a "modern" man as you have described it and I definitely am not a "modern" man as I have described it.

To be honest, most guys are pretty much crippling themselves doing one extreme or the other, and it's hugely entertaining.

Just be yourself guys.:)

In my opinion a modern man is someone who is unbiased, not sexist etc etc, and comfortable with himself, doesn't freak out around lingerie, gay people, other things men are stereotypically uncomfortable around. The problem is that it's a very subjective matter as to what sort of man this defines, some people seem to think this means one who discards all traces of manliness(fancy hair, face cream, tanning beds, etc etc) is a modern man, I think it's just a normal guy who has discarded those few traits. I wonder how long it will be before we can expect modern women?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

Dragan wrote:
    You think your having a laugh, but they think your a bully. Eventually things like this can chip away at a relationship, and a persons self confidence.

It's important to remember that being in a relationship is a lot about helping, comforting and nurturing that person as well. And not doing anything that might make them feel bad because you find it a little funny. .

you make it sound like the guy is a new pup or a hamster :eek:

the whole tampon thing i can understand, i'm the same. but the rest seems a bit odd, maybe i'm not modern enough?

i can certainly see how a girl who i'm assuming this guy likes, what with him being with her 7 months and all, holding up a bra and asking if he thinks it would look good on her would chip away at his confidence. poor lamb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Charm Offensive

Just curious to see the girls' take on this.

Last Saturday my girlfriend and I were shopping, and whilst in the women's clothing section of Debenhams a nice skirt caught my eye. Me being the joking type, I sauntered over to aforementioned skirt and picked a size 14 off the rack before holding it up against myself to see if it roughly fit, much to the horror of my girlfriend. Imagine her disgust when I took the skirt into the dressing rooms and emerged moments later to ascertain her opinion on how it looked. She nearly died - couldn't get away quick enough. I could even see her put her head down and turn away as if she didn't know me.

Then, the following morning I needed a packet of condoms and some lubricant (we'd run out). As I'd spent all night pleasuring her to the point of ecstasy I was fairly exhausted, so I asked her if she'd pop down to Boots and do the honours. I knew she wouldn't though. So we both went and I discreetly bought them while she pretended to be looking at shampoo. If I'd have plonked the items on the counter while she was paying for her Tampax or whatever, she'd have died!

Now, this isn't a rant about my girlfriend. This is just how she feels about those particular issues, and I'm perfectly happy with that, bless her naive little cotton socks.

So, to all the female boardsters out there: how are you around these subjects?
    Are you the epitome of the MODERN FEMALE, or do you want to run and hide at the mention of "men's issues"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭eiretamicha

Back when my husband and I were still a fairly new couple but living together, we'd go grocery shopping every Friday at the local Super Value. Well, that time would come and I'd need to buy some pads or whatnot, and I kid you not...my love would not even push the cart if there were pads in it!! I was in shock, and kind of embarassed to be honest. It just seemed weird that he was so worried about what others would think. We were living in a pretty small town where absolutley everyone knew everyone's business. I remember one time I bought this knitted hat with kitty cat ears, and he begged me not to wear it outside of the house! Now...I'm a yank, and I've been brought up not to give two ****s what others think of me. But for the seven months that I was living in his town...I actually started to get self-conscious because he was so worried about what others thought of me. Which truly was wrong. :(

So I dragged his ass to Florida and taught him how to be his own person and have fun without worrying about the rest of the world and their whispers. :)

And when we go back in a year...you can bet your ass I'll be wearing that cat hat in public. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Dragan wrote:
    TBesides, any query along the lines of "would this bra look good on me" should be met with "why don't we sneak into the dressing room and find out?". He's your boyfriend after all, no need to be getting shy about such issues. :D

Hammer. Nail. Head. Beat her at her own game I say :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

well if he is embarrased by womens under'things', the tampax thing is probably a bridge too far.

If it was me, I would of course have asked you to try the bra on, to conpensate for the indignity of actually being in the frilly section. (very unmanly area to be wandering around... up there with holding a handbag )

as for the tampax.. I'd have no issue with that, other than "what exactly" am I looking for, (maybe , god help me, to the point of bringing the empty box with me)

Last Saturday my girlfriend and I were shopping, and whilst in the women's clothing section of Debenhams a nice skirt caught my eye. Me being the joking type, I sauntered over to aforementioned skirt and picked a size 14 off the rack before holding it up against myself to see if it roughly fit, much to the horror of my girlfriend. Imagine her disgust when I took the skirt into the dressing rooms and emerged moments later to ascertain her opinion on how it looked. She nearly died - couldn't get away quick enough. I could even see her put her head down and turn away as if she didn't know me.

Then, the following morning I needed a packet of condoms and some lubricant (we'd run out). As I'd spent all night pleasuring her to the point of ecstasy I was fairly exhausted, so I asked her if she'd pop down to Boots and do the honours. I knew she wouldn't though. So we both went and I discreetly bought them while she pretended to be looking at shampoo. If I'd have plonked the items on the counter while she was paying for her Tampax or whatever, she'd have died!

Now, this isn't a rant about my girlfriend. This is just how she feels about those particular issues, and I'm perfectly happy with that, bless her naive little cotton socks.

Are you the epitome of the MODERN FEMALE, or do you want to run and hide at the mention of "men's issues"?
    Actually, I've bought plenty of lube for me and my husband. It's kinky. :cool:

el rabitos wrote:
    you make it sound like the guy is a new pup or a hamster :eek:

the whole tampon thing i can understand, i'm the same. but the rest seems a bit odd, maybe i'm not modern enough?

i can certainly see how a girl who i'm assuming this guy likes, what with him being with her 7 months and all, holding up a bra and asking if he thinks it would look good on her would chip away at his confidence. poor lamb

I'm making a generally reference to relationships with this as an example.

Simple fact is that i know very few guys who have not had, at some point, a girlfriend who they felt ( whether she meant to or not ) was chipping away at their confidence over things, especailly by playing on what they may have been uncomfortable with.

Like i said, just putting that out there, some guys do get worked over by that sort of thing dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Try going shopping for womens clothes with a guy for him to wear... now that pushed my comfort level to its limits and little beyond.

bealbocht wrote:
    If it was me, I would of course have asked you to try the bra on, to conpensate for the indignity of actually being in the frilly section. (very unmanly area to be wandering around... up there with holding a handbag )

as for the tampax.. I'd have no issue with that, other than "what exactly" am I looking for, (maybe , god help me, to the point of bringing the empty box with me)
    I like your style. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Rcuomo

i never get why some men think its embarassing to go into anne summers with the g/f? i have no prob with it....now if only she'd wear some of the stuff in there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Willymuncher

I don't understand the men that feel odd when buying tampax or anything like that, its not like its going to bite. Toilet roll is for shítty arses, do they get embarrassed buying that too?

toilet rool is for wiping off makeup, go away you:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

As for these guys who wouldn't push a trolley if there was a packet of pads in it - WTF?!

Do they consider it "unmanly" to be near such foul things? I find it amazing that a few fluffy cotton items wrapped in plastic can evoke such cowardly behaviour in "men".

Get over it lads. It is a fcuking sanitary product in the basket - not a kilo of semtex!

Willymuncher - I like the bog roll analogy. Spot on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Dreamer 7

Wow I must be a lucky one! My man buys my tampons if I need them, buys me underwear (right size and all!!) In general he does all the things Im too embarrassed to do...........mmm I thought all grown men would be the same..just goes to show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

OP, just be careful that it doesn't backfire one day, when your bf finally gets the hang of "womany"-things - like shouting across 7 supermarket aisles if you still want that lubricant...or the rash-creme (or something nasty...). Just a warning, a little bit of undermining now can't go horribly wrong when his confidence is up...

I personally can't be shocked anymore by "male" things (worked 3 months in the packaging department of a German porn factory...), and I would even go so far and buy bad German porn for my boyfriend - just for the laugh...The boyfriend is pretty confident and happy with it - he only got scared once when my mom and dad drove past the porn shop back home with us, and my dad asked us if we wanted to stop to have a look...the bf nearly died...But apart from that...;-)

ambro25 wrote:
    A quick (cheap :D) one: does he buy his own condoms?

Or is it a maturity thing: how old is your BF?

No, erm, I buy them:o

He's 26, & yes, I actually do believe that the catholic thing comes into play a bit (not that he's very religious or anything, I just mean the values he was taught during his upbringing.)

But hey, he's a pet & he's worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Well I've bought sexy underwear for my gf before. I have no problem with Ann Summers and have no problem buying 'toys' from there either.

If my gf needs pads, I have no objection going to the shop to get them and I won't be getting a plastic bag to wrap them in and scuttling away with my hood covering my face either. I take my time making sure I'm getting the brand and type she likes too instead of grabbing the first thing that looks pad-like and coming home with a pack of J-cloths!!

I couldn't care less. I love browsing the lingerie section and La Senza with her. If that makes me a modern man, so be it, if not, no skin off my nose :D

Actually I don't know what rattled your cage, but I'd roar my head off laughing, honestly!! (btw, I was the female holding up a female item, not a female holding up a male item, so you're man wearing a skirt isn't the same thing!:confused: )

As for the comdoms, as I've just said, it is me who buys them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Pah, I buy my own protection and have also bought sanitary items for old girlfriends, no shame in that.

galah wrote:
    OP, just be careful that it doesn't backfire one day, when your bf finally gets the hang of "womany"-things - like shouting across 7 supermarket aisles if you still want that lubricant...or the rash-creme (or something nasty...). Just a warning, a little bit of undermining now can't go horribly wrong when his confidence is up...

Would people actually be mortified by that?
    I'd just think "you cheeky beggar" & think fast about a smart reply.

I actually do believe that the catholic thing comes into play a bit (not that he's very religious or anything, I just mean the values he was taught during his upbringing.)

I'm 31 and was brought up in a strong Catholic household, went to Catholic schools with real Christian Brothers and nuns as teachers and I can tell you it didn't effect my thinking! I think it's less to do with his parents religious beliefs and probably more to do with their repression of any sexual expression. He probably wasn't allowed to watch MTV as a teenager or had his magazines vetted by his parents perhaps?

Yea, I guess you're right.
    To me, both of those go hand in hand, but I suppose that's not always the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

Would people actually be mortified by that?
    I'd just think "you cheeky beggar" & think fast about a smart reply.

Pretty sure a lot of people would be! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

You are awful to put him on the spot like that, tut tut, but what you posted wouldnt really bother me that much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

OP, from your posts it sounds like you're very loud, confident and outspoken and your boyfriend is very quiet and shy. I think putting him on the spot like that would hurt his confidence and I doubt he appreciates it. It's probably hard to understand if you're very confident and care-free.

I used to be pretty shy and small stupid things like that would make me very embarassed and unconfidant, but now something like that wouldn't bother me as much, so I know it's something you can definately get over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Every person has thier own comfort levels and it is not right to make fun of them or abuse them in such a fashion or turn thier weakness against them esp in public, you have to respect your partner/bf/gf/fb.

Everyone is different everyone has thier kinks, no gos and foibles.

Charm Offensive nothing you have described would ruffles me tbh just as long as you kept away from certain choice items in my wardrobe.

Dragan gah really a I am not a master wrong gender and really hiphop/rap sets my teeth on edge enough with out that phrase referenceing me , grand master flash and Masonary all in the one phrase.

Thaedydal wrote:
    Dragan gah really a I am not a master wrong gender and really hiphop/rap sets my teeth on edge enough with out that phrase referenceing me , grand master flash and Masonary all in the one phrase.

Fair then, to be honest though, maybe look a little deeper at the lyrics of some songs and you might find something you like, that what it took to get me into rap music.

Beat Street is a good tune i feel.

And the only reason i reference you as GMT is because the first time i read one of your post i was listening to White Lines, now i hear the funky intro whenever i'm reading your stuff.

People just get associated with music in my head or something.

Anyway, enough of this rambling.

Oh yeah, never would have guessed you were a girl btw :)

JC 2K3 wrote:
    OP, from your posts it sounds like you're very loud, confident and outspoken

I'm actually pretty much the opposite. I'll be the one sitting behind the person sitting at the back, trying not to be noticed, & that's the truth.

My bf & I just know each other so well that we can have a laugh like that.
    As I said:- I did NOT shout anything out that drew attention to us.

I didn't walk to the bra section on purpose, I was doing a scan of the shop trying to find handbags, & we walked past it. Seeing the "I don't want to be in the bra section" expression on his face, I simply picked one up as we were walking past & said some comment like "Does that look nice" or "would that look nice on me", to which he said something like "yea right", laughed, grabbed my hand & hurried us past the bra section.

Like I also said:- I did need a bra, (& urgently still do because it's for this Sat that I was shopping for) but I didn't dream of shopping then, because that would've made him embarrassed & uncomfortable & I don't do that to anyone, nevermind to one of the most precious people in my life

Hell, if I'm clothes shopping with him (i.e. not just running from shop to shop in 5 seconds like a mad woman) I tell him to go on to his sports shops, or sit on the bench or whatever he wants, because I know he doesn't like being in womans shops & doesn't care if my bum looks big in this......

Please people, I really know that I didn't embarrass my bf in any way with what I did, insisting we stayed there would have. (All I got was the 'move faster' type response from him like I was expecting. It was a little private joke shared between the two of us, that's all)

But it just made me think about his whole general attitude toward "women stuff" & I wondered if he was now in the minority or are most guys still like that.
    & just in case someone's only joining the thread here. I don't have a problem with his attitude whatsoever, whatever keeps him happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Just curious to see the guys take on this.

On Sat myself & better half were shopping (don't get into the I don't do shopping thing, cos neither do I actually:- just had to rush through lots of shops looking for a particular handbag, anyway......back on topic)

We happened to walk past the bra section in Debenhams, & me knowing him lifts this really naughty looking bra, held it up (while others were around, imagine the shock of it, tut tut....:p ), & said "do you like this", "how would this look on me", sort of comments!!!:D Well he nearly died, couldn't get away quick enough. I could even see him putting the head down (well almost, you can imagine what I'm talking about) as if he didn't notice all the bras as we were walking past.

Before that, we were walking past Ann Summers & I tried to get him to go in (knowing he wouldn't):- NOT a hope in hell!!!!!!

Then, the following morning I needed the "DREADED" tampax. As I'd no car I asked him would he go to his local to buy me some. (again I knew there wouldn't be a chance that he would, I just wanted to see his reaction)

how would like it if he smacked you in the back of the head just to "see your reaction"?

Bambi wrote:
    how would like it if he smacked you in the back of the head just to "see your reaction"?

Ah come on lads, get a grip!!!!!

One of your best friends in the world & you can't say to him (while no one else is in the room) will you go up to the shop & get me a box of tampax.

He knew I didn't actually expect him to go, as he knows I know him & he knows I knew what his reaction would be.

It's a small little local shop that's very busy. He knows absolutely everybody in the place, so there's no way I'd make him buy me those.

Again, it was a bit of messing between the two of us.

I seriously hope some of ye aren't as uptight in real life as what you're coming across here!!! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

if ye know he doesnt want to go then why are you asking him?

female mischief!

what's his email addy? i reckon he needs to get shot of you sharpish :p

I have to agree with RainbowBrite here :) My gf has sometimes had a laugh at trying to embarrass me and likewise me with her, it is a bit of fun and mild teasing. I'm sure if the guy felt really bad about it he would say it to her and ask her to lay off. They are together long enough for him to say 'hey, I wish you wouldn't do that ,it makes me really uncomfortable'.

I'm sure the OP is not a complete b1tch thinking up new ways to demean and demoralise her bf anyway she can :)

OP, I think the question you posed was really valid (and funny). When I was 18 I would perhaps have been embarrassed because at that age I was as innocent as...well, as innocent as Glyn in Big Brother :rolleyes: Nowadays, all that innocence has gone :evil laugh: :D