Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MMA League Website Updated

• 06-06-2006 10:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭

The League Tables have been updated with the Results form the Limerick leg of the League and you can access them now on http://www.mmaleague.com

Also, pencil into your diaries the next round of the League on the 5th of August in the Forum Leisure Center in Antrim Town Co. Antrim. The Entry Forms are available from the website as well so get them into the post as this one is sure to be even bigger!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭ShaneT

Looking forward to it! :D

Mark, is RDIII on the 5th or 6th? You post says 5th but the site says 6th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

My blunder the correct date is the 6th, the Saturday. With the second Semi Pro Series happening on the 7th in Antrim as well it will make for a great weekend of MMA!

Dude, Saturday is the 5th and the Semi Pro is on the 6th.... :o

Sorry to harp on. So, are we definitely saying:

5th - Saturday - MMA League
    6th - Sunday - Semi Pro Series

?

Yeah, sorry I mucked up again. The first Saturday in August is the MMA League, the 5th. The Semi pro series is the day after.

We'll be there shiny 'n new for both.

Looking forward to it.

-Shane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭weemate

are you putting anyone into the semi pro Shane?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Man enters veterans division, gets points in rookie division! :0

Also, what is the semi-pro series?

Its a Semi Pro rules show (although the main event will be a pro rules event). Its designed to be the next step up after the MMA League before graduating to pro shows like the Ring of Trut and the UFR.
    I'll put you back into the Vets division Roper sorry, wasn't working from my paperwork when I was updating it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

that's a good idea Mark. Is this the first semi-pro show?

Its the second so far and this is the brainchild of Davey Patterson.

weemate wrote:
    are you putting anyone into the semi pro Shane?
    No mate. We're preparing for two full MMA rules fights in October in Holland. Another is on the reserve list for the same event.

As far as I'm aware, no one's allowed in to the semi pro without first participating in the MMA League?

Roper wrote:
    Man enters veterans division, gets points in rookie division! :0

Also, what is the semi-pro series?
    I was wondering about that myself! :D Was well confused. I thought... eeeh??? If he's "Rookie" who the hell counts as veteran?? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I actually could have entered as a rookie on account of the fact that the bulk of my training has been in a non-MMA based art (TKD).

But then when I hulked out and turned green, people would have called foul...:)

Anyway thanks Mark, I don't think my 1 point will make a monsterous dent in either leaderboard but there ya go!

Roper wrote:
    I actually could have entered as a rookie on account of the fact that the bulk of my training has been in a non-MMA based art (TKD).

But then when I hulked out and turned green, people would have called foul...:)
    LOL!! :D

I thought you couldn't enter as a rookie with extensive background in a contact based striking art though? 3 years or something?

Actually, while we're on the subject....

Mark. Can you clarify something for me please? The rules seem to say "groin guards and shin guards a must"... but people keep telling me that "you can wear shin guards if you want." Do the lads need to get shin guards? Or can they participate without them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

Shin guards are mandatory for the MMA league. They also were for the last UFR semi-pro show. Safety first and all that malarky!:)

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    Shin guards are mandatory for the MMA league. They also were for the last UFR semi-pro show. Safety first and all that malarky!:)
    Cheers Tim! Note to self, buy in a load of Rouge Shin Guards. :D

ShaneT wrote:
    I thought you couldn't enter as a rookie with extensive background in a contact based striking art though? 3 years or something?
    If a competitor has been training in a single MMA discipline for 3 years or more he\she is similarily excluded from entering as a Rookie. Disciplines that would count towards this rule are Boxing, Thai Boxing, Full Contact Kick Boxing, Wrestling (Freestyle, Greco etc), or Jiu Jitsu.

Traditional striking arts such as Karate, Kenpo and Taekwondo are not considered to be constituent arts of MMA so you can have done them for as long as you like and still be a rookie.
    Tim Murphy wrote:
    Shin guards are mandatory for the MMA league. They also were for the last UFR semi-pro show. Safety first and all that malarky!

Tim is 100% correct, there must be protective covering over both the shin and instep before fighters are allowed to compete in League Matches.

I would consider Judo in the MMA Disciplines.

Evey effort is made to avoid Sandbaggin' mofos, but if a new club comes online and I don't know the instructor or anyone in it, I have to take people at their word.

I think the comments you made relating to sandbagging were to do with earlier incarnations of the league anyway. Have you fought in the League Elytron?

Hi Mark,

Full Contact Karate is not a constituant part of MMA?

Not meaning to answer for Mark but I would say yes it would be. It's easy to get bogged down by labels. If someone is doing Kyokoshin then they are effectively doing standup striking, which is part of MMA. This is a different world to somebody who did points karate or light contact TKD. It's not about labels, it's simply about how you train.

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    Not meaning to answer for Mark but I would say yes it would be. It's easy to get bogged down by labels. If someone is doing Kyokoshin then they are effectively doing standup striking, which is part of MMA. This is a different world to somebody who did points karate or light contact TKD. It's not about labels, it's simply about how you train.
    Would have thought so too. But, in truth, I am confused by the whole thing. :D Consider that boxing etc is considered relevant in this context. If a guy has been doing 18 months of grappling, he's a rookie. Another has been grappling for 3 months BUT he's been boxing for four years. The boxer must compete as a veteran?? Not sure how that makes sense since he is not allowed to box his opponent and is an inexperienced grappler. :confused: I'm confused.... :o

I think the rookie/vet idea does a good job of keeping things fair. However it's not an exact science, nor are the rules set in stone. It's more of a guideline. Remember, it's just about trying to match people up some way closely so that they get a competitive match. I'd imagine if the boxer came up to Mark on the day and told him he had very little grappling experience then there would be no problem putting him in the rookie division.

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    I think the rookie/vet idea does a good job of keeping things fair. However it's not an exact science, nor are the rules set in stone. It's more of a guideline. Remember, it's just about trying to match people up some way closely so that they get a competitive match. I'd imagine if the boxer came up to Mark on the day and told him he had very little grappling experience then there would be no problem putting him in the rookie division.
    That's good news. :D Thanks for helping me Tim. I have three lads that are REALLY looking forward to the League. :)

I have three lads that are REALLY looking forward to the League.
    Cool, the league is a lot of fun and is a great way for people to get some experience. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

I heard that the organisers of the IFL in America were inspired by the MMA League!

That's how much it rocks!

Clive wrote:
    I heard that the organisers of the IFL in America were inspired by the MMA League!

That's how much it rocks!
    Nothing would surprise me anymore! :D

:cool:

ShaneT wrote:
    Would have thought so too. But, in truth, I am confused by the whole thing. :D Consider that boxing etc is considered relevant in this context. If a guy has been doing 18 months of grappling, he's a rookie. Another has been grappling for 3 months BUT he's been boxing for four years. The boxer must compete as a veteran?? Not sure how that makes sense since he is not allowed to box his opponent and is an inexperienced grappler. :confused: I'm confused.... :o

Boxing is allowed in the League, but not to the head. If a guy had 4 years of boxing I would prefer him to be in the Veteran's division quite simply because if he had done a 'good' four years of boxing he could put down a rookie with a body shot. As Tim said though if his instructor or the boxer himself presented to me on the day that he had zero clinch and ground I would make an exception. The letter of the rules is set in stone, but the spirit of the rules is keeping fighters safe and having fun, so I am happy to compromise when I feel this is being achieved.

Shane I strongly suggest you get down to Galway for the boards meet or the MMA Weekend, a 5 minute conversation would clear up all your confusion far better than constant posting back and forth.

Sorry about that. Didn't realise I was irritating anyone. I thought we were just chatting in the discussion forum. :(

Although, thanks to Tim's help, things seem pretty clear now. We'll be there, we'll compete wherever you wish us too with pleasure and we'll have fun. However, we are entitled to have an opinion I believe?

In this case, I see where the rule set protects the experience grappler from the experienced striker. I simply don't see how the striker with limited grappling experience is protected from the experienced grappler. I didn't say it was bad or unacceptable etc. Just something that seems "uneven and/or unfair" if not simply grapple biased. Almost like penalising a person that wants to turn MMA for having a striking base rather than a grappling base. Not sure how realistic it is to suggest that the boxer can "box the body" against and experienced grappler in the veteran division. :(

But, we'll be there happy and jolly. You want to protect all competitors and of course, as an instructor I want to protect my inexperienced grapplers (not penalise them for having done a few years of boxing). That can't be a bad thing can it? I'm not questioning the rule. I am simply attempting to understand how "safe" it is to allow my inexperienced grappler to compete against experienced "veterans" when 95% of his training (as a striker) is "illegal" in the League. Good healthy concern for my lads can't be bad. :D

Can anyone tell me the "where and when" of the boards meet?

Cheers,
    -Shane.

Elytron wrote:
    Ah everyone knows the MMAleague is grappling biased. It's not a big deal.
    Where those competing are of similar GRAPPLING experience, you're right - it's not. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭crokester

Out of interest; what sort of guys are entering the semi-pro event? How many years experience would be typical? Might be something i look too in 6-12 months time.

ShaneT wrote:
    Sorry about that. Didn't realise I was irritating anyone. I thought we were just chatting in the discussion forum. :(
    You weren't irritating me, I think we have gone as far as we can through this medium, I think you'd have a better understanding if we had a conversation about it offline, I wasn't trying to offend you.
    ShaneT wrote:
    Although, thanks to Tim's help, things seem pretty clear now. We'll be there, we'll compete wherever you wish us too with pleasure and we'll have fun. However, we are entitled to have an opinion I believe?
    Glad Tim could help you out! Never said you couldn't have an opinion!
    ShaneT wrote:
    In this case, I see where the rule set protects the experience grappler from the experienced striker. I simply don't see how the striker with limited grappling experience is protected from the experienced grappler. I didn't say it was bad or unacceptable etc. Just something that seems "uneven and/or unfair" if not simply grapple biased. Almost like penalising a person that wants to turn MMA for having a striking base rather than a grappling base. Not sure how realistic it is to suggest that the boxer can "box the body" against and experienced grappler in the veteran division. :(
    If a grappler has a couple years experience he could face a striker with a couple years experience this is true. I feel that a striker can protect himself from an experienced grappler through a technique known as the 'tap'! I agree that thinking to KO someone with bodystrikes might be reaching a bit, but you have to draw the line somewhere when safety is the primary concern and I think ruling out head strikes is very necessary to achieve that goal. I suppose a good striker could head to the semi pro series if he wanted to get a chance to unleash head strikes?
    ShaneT wrote:
    But, we'll be there happy and jolly. You want to protect all competitors and of course, as an instructor I want to protect my inexperienced grapplers (not penalise them for having done a few years of boxing). That can't be a bad thing can it? I'm not questioning the rule. I am simply attempting to understand how "safe" it is to allow my inexperienced grappler to compete against experienced "veterans" when 95% of his training (as a striker) is "illegal" in the League. Good healthy concern for my lads can't be bad. :D
    Course it isn't, as for protecting your inexperienced grapplers, see my comments about the tap technique above ;)

crokester wrote:
    Out of interest; what sort of guys are entering the semi-pro event? How many years experience would be typical? Might be something i look too in 6-12 months time.

Generally if fighters have 'outgrown' the League I encourage them to enter the semi pro series, though people of that ilk are generally ready for the series long before I put it too them. If you think you would like to try the Semi pro series, why not talk to your instructor and ask him/her what their opinion is? Either way if you can win League matches and your striking is decent you could give it a go, there is no hard fast rule in terms of length of time training.

Elytron wrote:
    I dunno shane, you could say all MMA events are grappling biased. To be honest, I wouldn't pay much attention to the rookie thing. It's fairly random it seems who you fight and just cause a guy has fought before in the league or never before doesn't make a HELL of a lot of difference. You only get two 1 x 5 minute fights, I don't think the results go on the card! I say chuck them in Shane and it will be ok. If they loose in 10 seconds to a guillotine they'll train guillotine defence and not get caught the next time. If they get ankle locked in 10 seconds they can just say the other guy cheated ;)

The system for creating matches for the league runs as follows:
    Select random fighter A from rookie division,
    select random opponent B from rookie division,
    if opponent B is from same club as Fighter A then select a different oppoent at random from the same division,
    if opponent B has been fought in a previous MMA League that year by Fighter A then select a different oppoent at random from the same division,
    if opponent B is scheduled to fight Fighter A earlier that day then select a different oppoent at random from the same division,
    continue through this loop trying to find a matching fighter in the same division for 10*number of fighters,
    if we still have not made a match stop the matchmaking process and inform the user.

So it is random but subject to a variety of stringent conditions.

At NO time will a rookie division fighter face a veteran at random or without my knowledge. The only way that would come about was if there was only one rookie in a weight class and a few vets, the Rookie and his instructor would be asked if they want to take 2 default wins or to fight in the veteran division, it is completely up to them.

Your advice to Shane though is good, the League is a lot of fun, you just need to give it a go!