Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it Possible?

• 31-05-2006 1:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭

I've been going with my boyfriend 7 months now, though he was one of my best mates before getting together.
    (We're mid-20's)

I knew after only a few weeks of going out together that I loved him very much, & very shortly after that I wanted to spend the rest of my life with him. (& he felt the exact same way)

Is this normal, can it happen?

I've had several long long long-term relationships before this & never felt this way, though I loved them an awful lot, I just knew in my heart they weren't the one.

But my heart is telling me this IS the one. I am 100% certain of it. But I think the fact that I'm so sure of it, I'm starting to wonder "where's the catch", "there's got to be one" etc...., or "can things be this perfect"

Like, we even have a site for our house, though nothing will happen there for a few years yet.

The strange thing is, it doesn't feel strange or weird at all!!!!

What are your thoughts on this? Can you instinctly know something SO important in such a short space of time?

Like I said, we already knew each other long before this, so it's not the novelty aspect thinking (I'm nearly sure)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

ye its grand! go with it. congratulations. im kinda jealous. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Kermitt

It's nice to hear this with all of the relationship mind games that go on these days. I've been thinking this way myself about my girlfriend, we've been going out since August. Just can't imagine not going the whole way... Seems right. Go with it, that's what I'm doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Roll with it luv, you're a lucky one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

yes its possible, the exact same thing happened to me and my girlfriend.
    You're one of the lucky ones, so be grateful for it and make the most of it.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭RainbowBrite

Thanks guys!!!!

I've every intention on "rolling with it", it's just the way life seems to like throwing in a few nasty suprises here & there.
    I guess I'm just waiting for the nasty surprise!! Like, I find myself saying "what did I do to get this lucky"

But maybe that's just it, maybe some people do get that lucky!!!! Who needs the lotto!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭DubNside

Why am I getting images of the Subway ad??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭chuckles30

You're so lucky - go for it!! Yes it does happen - my brother and his now wife got engaged after only 4/5 months, but they didn't get married for a couple of years after that. But they're now happily married. Enjoy!!!!

DubNside wrote:
    Why am I getting images of the Subway ad??

I don't know the Subway ad.:confused:

How does it go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Dreamer 7

When i met my man, it felt like a part of me was always missing and it was him! e is the male half of me and i adore him as much as I did 6 yrs ago. I was v cynical before and never stayed with a man for long coz i got bored easily.
    So yes it can happen but no it wont be all perfect. But when you have ur man behind you every step of the way you will work thru any crap that lifwe throws at you
    Enjoy it , we are the lucky few who find our soulmates :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭niallb

Like, I find myself saying "what did I do to get this lucky"
    But maybe that's just it, maybe some people do get that lucky!!!!
    Who needs the lotto!!!:D
    I still feel like that after ten years.

Life's had its ups and downs, and it's sometimes felt like the
    two of us against the rest of the world,
    but when you fit together you know.
    Take care of it.
    This is what life's all about.

NiallB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Nasty_Girl

Hey I know how ya feel,

except I didn't know my fella at all before we started going out.

Its truly amazing.

I'm waiting for the nasty surprise as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

yes luv it can happen, and i know exactly how you feel except i screwed it up for years by being too cynical. i just couldnt believe this stranger whom i know nothing about and have no reason to be with besides sharing the same local was someone i could have something special with. thing is i never thought i was that cynical till i met her. like yourself i kept saying "theres got to be something wrong, nobody can be that amazing" so i congratulate you on how things have worked out for you. the very least people deserve is a little happiness so good for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I've been going with my boyfriend 7 months now, though he was one of my best mates before getting together.
    (We're mid-20's)

I knew after only a few weeks of going out together that I loved him very much, & very shortly after that I wanted to spend the rest of my life with him. (& he felt the exact same way)

Is this normal, can it happen?

I've had several long long long-term relationships before this & never felt this way, though I loved them an awful lot, I just knew in my heart they weren't the one.

But my heart is telling me this IS the one. I am 100% certain of it. But I think the fact that I'm so sure of it, I'm starting to wonder "where's the catch", "there's got to be one" etc...., or "can things be this perfect"

Like, we even have a site for our house, though nothing will happen there for a few years yet.

The strange thing is, it doesn't feel strange or weird at all!!!!

What are your thoughts on this? Can you instinctly know something SO important in such a short space of time?

Like I said, we already knew each other long before this, so it's not the novelty aspect thinking (I'm nearly sure)

Ah thats terrific, I had that once, lost it, sniffle.........

Fair play to ya go for it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Yeah, it's possible. Enjoy it! :)

Thanks all for your lovely replies.

I know I'm a lucky one & I've no intention of screwing it up.

I just have to make sure I never forget that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

I don't believe in "the one", but that aside, yep, sure it can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i fell in love in 3 weeks. of course it didnt work out (infact we broke up when we were going out 3 and a half weeks..) but i just think the timing was bad.....he now had a pregnant girlfriend 11 yrs his junior.....meh! his loss.

maybe i'm not good to give advice on this.....but go for it, if you love him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

With my boyfriend a year on Sunday. We only knew each other previously through boards but when we met at a beers that was it (I know, geeky or what). We just clicked. He's my best friend and my boyfriend.

I think you know when you can't remember what life was like before them and you don't want to imagine what life would be like without them. :)

We're planning to move in together in the next few months and I'm really looking forward to it.

It's definitely possible. Enjoy every second of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I met a lad at a party, took him back to my flat, we spent every night together from the night we met to when we moved in together 4months later....we married 4yrs after that & are still happily married & now have 2kids....so yes - it can happen! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Yes I believe you can fall in love like that and for you I hope it works for you ..but you truely don't know a person until you live with them...

That's where I found out the Love of my life was in fact a complete freak haha :D ended the 3.5 year relationship after living with her for 3 months.

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Hmm being thinking about this a lot recently...

It was me and my gfs anniversary there on Sunday or Monday (I can't remember, lucky for me she's not on boards :D). Anyways, well we get on really well and understand each other really well, almost on a different level at times, while at other times I think we're like chalk and cheese.

I have no plans to move in with my gf anytime soon, but I do plan on being with her for the forseeable future. So I'm sure at some stage we'll move in together.

I think when you find that someone that you can't believe you're lucky enough to find. It also becomes a bit intense that you can't and don't want to think what your life would be like without them. There's also the feeling of the time you spent together is actually a lot longer than it actually is.

I don't believe in The One but I do believe that you can meet someone that is a really good match for you, and you can get one really well, making each other happy. If you love the other person completely, don't have any doubts about your relationship, and see each other in your futures, then you're lucky enough to have found someone who might just be your potential life partner, and the chemistry you have for each other continues even after you leave the honeymoon part of your relationship.

I say yes it can and does happen.