Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Cup - Gresham Hotel

• 26-05-2006 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭

Anybody going to this event tonight or is everyone heading over to the Fitz to watch the SDPT main event.

I'm heading into the Gresham, my last chance to win a ticket for next weekends main event in the IPT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

what time does this kick off at - whats the buy in etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Ollie the game in the Gresham is 500 euro. I'll be playing the scalps game in the fitz, unlimited rebuys, expensive enough. I'm also playing the unlimited rebuys game on Sunday and then the RedCow on Monday. I shall be beering it up on Saturday. In between I shall be playing the WSOP at four on Sunday on PPP and bird watching for Kestrels in Wicklow on Monday. That is my diary for the next 96 hours. good day.

Fintan, I guess there'll be loads of single table sats for the games in CityWest on the day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

as far as i know there are STT's in the Gresham from about 3pm today (might be 5pm) the main tournement will kick off about 7.30 (the ulster cup started at 8pm). best of luck to anyone playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

Ollie the game in the Gresham is 500 euro. I'll be playing the scalps game in the fitz, unlimited rebuys, expensive enough. I'm also playing the unlimited rebuys game on Sunday and then the RedCow on Monday. I shall be beering it up on Saturday. In between I shall be playing the WSOP at four on Sunday on PPP and bird watching for Kestrels in Wicklow on Monday. That is my diary for the next 96 hours. good day.

Fintan, I guess there'll be loads of single table sats for the games in CityWest on the day?

Yea on the thursday night we hope to be running 300 sats every 15min. On Friday sats from 12 noon.
    Regarding the Gresham event starts at 7 sharp. There will be 50 sats from 15.00.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Yea on the thursday night we hope to be running 300 sats every 15min. On Friday sats from 12 noon.
    Regarding the Gresham event starts at 7 sharp. There will be 50 sats from 15.00.
    any one handed omaha about 6.30 in case I don't go to the pub this evening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

5starpool wrote:
    any one handed omaha about 6.30 in case I don't go to the pub this evening?

I'm sure we can squeeze 1 or 2 in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Lex

I'll be playing this. Won my ticket down in Lim a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

So when do you plan to sleep?lol gl mate and wp last Thursday from all accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Ollieboy wrote:
    Anybody going to this event tonight or is everyone heading over to the Fitz to watch the SDPT main event.

I'm heading into the Gresham, my last chance to win a ticket for next weekends main event in the IPT.

Okay so after much deliberation im going into the gresham.... skiving off work bout 5 and heading in. Might get a ST Satellite in. Lets pray everyone goes straight on the beer to save me the traffic jam from Parkwest into town.

C you later,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

i will be there about 6.30.
    I believe there is parking around the back, but im not sure exactly where, does anyone know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

i will be there about 6.30.
    I believe there is parking around the back, but im not sure exactly where, does anyone know.
    basically drive past the gresham if your comin from the river and it should be on the right hands side. the car park closes as far as i remember at1am but the gresham staff can let you out after that. not sure of rates :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Rob, Ollie and others... c u there!:)

hmmm, looks like this post was a bad idea, my chances of a win or ft are getting less....lol

don't worry about me, i haven't won a decent live tourney in the last year!

that means your due a win Ken !!!!!

Im putting my 100% record in the Gresham on the line (1 from 1).

Looking forward to it, they expect 160-180, should be a good one.

Hope so Rob!

Been catching up on your blog. Great record on the HUs so far! Just FYI, you also play against our friend Camel on Betfair 6pax, he is LoftusRd.

Cya l8r,

KP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Down to the 27 for tomorrow at about 4am. KP Nuts, MrPillowTalk and a certain BigDragon still in. Blinds at 1k/2k/100ante I have 29k, KP 24k and MrPT is fairing much better but dont know exact.

Short Stack Ninja Poker (c) tomorrow. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Well played lads, best of luck tomorrow (or today, I suppose).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

BigDragon wrote:
    Down to the 27 for tomorrow at about 4am. KP Nuts, MrPillowTalk and a certain BigDragon still in. Blinds at 1k/2k/100ante I have 29k, KP 24k and MrPT is fairing much better but dont know exact.

Short Stack Ninja Poker (c) tomorrow. :rolleyes:

I believe its actually down to 26 today as we lost a player on the last hand last night. Don't know most of you guys as I'm relatively new to boards but best of luck to all. Trying to put faces to names is fun ! See you at 2:00pm

PiperT wrote:
    I believe its actually down to 26 today as we lost a player on the last hand last night. Don't know most of you guys as I'm relatively new to boards but best of luck to all. Trying to put faces to names is fun ! See you at 2:00pm
    Table? Seat? I'll introduce you to us.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

I'm still in this too,on 37k average is 40k.
    Think I'm on Big Dragon's table (seat4?) I'm in seat 9.

GL to the rest of the boardies.

Hawk Eye wrote:
    I'm still in this too,on 37k average is 40k.
    Think I'm on Big Dragon's table (seat4?) I'm in seat 9.

GL to the rest of the boardies.

Yes if you were the one that made an all-in with T4o last hand as we made 27 making a guy lay down AJo????

BigDragon wrote:
    Yes if you were the one that made an all-in with T4o last hand as we made 27 making a guy lay down AJo????

yeah thats me, was desperate for that 19k pot on a rag flop.

Hawk Eye wrote:
    yeah thats me, was desperate for that 19k pot on a rag flop.
    Great play. Balls of steel mate.

Dave and Eoin in last 15.

Dave gots 110k Eoin's on 140k, chip lead is 170k, both players are in the top 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

gwan lads! great stuff :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Lplated

Best of luck lads.
    Got knocked out 18th (or 17th, not quite sure). Would be interested in your views on threads re Cup in Poker part of this forum.

nice tournament, i was 3 times average on 51k at the 2nd break, ended up with a few disasters after that and out in 40th.
    Ran aces in AQ which flopped a str8, got bluffed off a 40k pot (which i will do a post about at some stage), and ran QQ into KK.

gl to the lads still in.

Finished 13th in this. Pushed with an average stack with AK after Big Dragon's raise and Dave calls with JJ and it holds.
    Overall happy how I played and looking forward to the big game next Friday.
    Got really anxious on the bubble though, lost 2/3 of my stack and was left with 4BB after I was rivered by a 2-outer QQ v 44.
    Eoin and Dave where nearly double the average when I left.

Eoin and Dave are both on the FT and well above average stack size's. Waiting for more updates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

how much was the buy in for this?

never mind my last post just read the first page

5 left and the two lads are still there and ok

Dave got 5th for a ticket and 1500, wp mate. Eoin is chipleader

well done Dave mate ,fair play and u deserve it man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

I won a live tourney? no way how did that happen? lol

Ran well amassed a big stack when I doubled through Dave with 4 left he moved all in on the button with tens I woke up in the sb with QQ. We had margaret all in a few times when 3 handed but the dealer kept obliging her until eventually she couldnt get past Peters pocket fives.

Chips were even hu and prizes were €7k and €4k we decided to take €5k each and play for a grand, I caught some nice hands hu and Peter eventually moved in on me when I had 77 his 35 couldnt get there and I won a tournament :D

Have to mention that when down to 20 KP got DOGGED, Phil Harris moves all in on the button Ken calls for his stack in the sb, Phil AsQs Ken AcKh but three spades hit the board and Ken exits on a horrid beat outside the money.

Dave also played a mistake free game and was unlucky to go in fourth.

I won a live tourney? no way how did that happen? lol

Ran well amassed a big stack when I doubled through Dave with 4 left he moved all in on the button with tens I woke up in the sb with QQ. We had margaret all in a few times when 3 handed but the dealer kept obliging her until eventually she couldnt get past Peters pocket fives.

Chips were even hu and prizes were €7k and €4k we decided to take €5k each and play for a grand, I caught some nice hands hu and Peter eventually moved in on me when I had 77 his 35 couldnt get there and I won a tournament :D

Have to mention that when down to 20 KP got DOGGED, Phil Harris moves all in on the button Ken calls for his stack in the sb, Phil AsQs Ken AcKh but three spades hit the board and Ken exits on a horrid beat outside the money.

Dave also played a mistake free game and was unlucky to go in fourth.
    well done Eoin.
    great result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Gholimoli wrote:
    well done Eoin.
    great result.

Thanks Ehsan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

Ollieboy wrote:
    Dave and Eoin in last 15.

Dave gots 110k Eoin's on 140k, chip lead is 170k, both players are in the top 5

Great game guys. Went from 26 to 18 in about an hour and then 18 to 15 took what felt like forever. Never seen so many all-in moves with the weaker hands hitting, it was incredible. Felt it for Phil who started as overnight chip leader and ran into trouble against Eoin. That was the beginning of the end for him. Having started back today with 25k I was chuffed to finish 10th.

Great to meet some of the boards players and well done to Eoin, Dave and Mr Hawkeye (didn't get your name mate)....

Well done guys.
    PiperT

Firstly, thanks for the props all. Secondly, very well played MrPT Eoin Olin on winning a very tough tournament. With a mixture of good players and dodgy missiles fired in bad beat central it was a great display in a live tournament [ :eek: ] for Eoin

As ever, Donal and Fintan ran a great tournament. The clock and structure was great. If it was a pure $$$ structure then I would have asked for the blinds to be frozen at about 6 handed.

I started off determined to do well in this and was happy with my table. A few lunatics and some very weak players. Then I get Dusty McFadden with a big stack 2 to my right and Peter Haslin on my right. I must have re-raised Peter 4 times with big hands and caught him 'at it' but once he laid down AKs when I had KK.

I was doing nicely at the first break without much to show in terms of hands but 22k. I dropped to 16k when card dead and then raised preflop from MP with 44 and the SB tried to min raise but didnt put enough in. We saw a flop with a 4 on it and all the money went in 'in installments' before the turn and I had his AA locked up.

After that it was steady as she goes to the last 26 with 29k into this afternoon and time for Short Stack Ninja Poker (a registered trademark ;) ). In the BB first hand there are 4 limpers and little old me sees AA. I raise to thin the field...and they all feck off. After that I get a few blind/ante only pots and am up to 32k.

Then when UTG+2 there is a limp from UTG and UTG+1 makes it 12k and I push with KK. UTG dwells and calls for 95% of his stack (with AQo) and the raise-er calls all-in with QQ :eek: :rolleyes: Flop K99 game over TY. I win a few hands till we are on the ticket bubble (15 tickets). This bubble takes an age to end but Im still OK. When 12 left I take HawkEye's chips with the AKo v JJ hand when my JJ holds up despite a gazillion outs for Hawk on the river.

The final table was OK and I do alright esp when priced into calling an all-in when on the BB with K9 and beat AQo. Then Magaret keeps hitting when all-in and behind. I get the TT on the button and with the blinds at 20k/20k/1k-ante I push on the button into MrPT's QQ on the small blind and then go allin with J8o for 2xBB next hand and Margaret has A3o on the BB and calls. Goodnight.......

Thought I had a good chance at this one but not to be. Im delighted that Eoin took it down and Peter (from Drogheda-great guy!) took second.

This means that I get to play my first ever big buy-in deep stack tournament and am feeling refreshed about my game. See you all in City West next week.

BigD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

congrats Dave, keep it going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Congrats dave and eoin! wp nh gg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Well Done Dave and Eoin,
    I had a brain fart and decided that a player didn't have an Ace on a AQ7 flop with me holdin QJ, but after him betting all the way to the river and oh yeah an A on the turn I still called (for all my chips).

He turned over A 10 and i headed for the Marlborough Street car park. About half way home I managed to utter the words Gobsh*t..... I had so many chances to get away from the hand, but I had convinced myself that he did not have an Ace, so the 2nd Ace on the turn was irrelevant. (LOL)

I just reckoned he would raise with A on the Big bling preflop. My mistake, my walk of shame out the door. Ah well. Good luck one and all in the big game the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Well Done Dave and Eoin!