Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paranormal Forum Halloween Party!

• 26-05-2006 9:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭

Ok so i know its early but I'm thinking we need to have a big bash this year. The forum is growing all the time and i just think we need to let our hair down and have some good spirited fun!

Ideally i think I'd like to organise one and book out a room or large area in a pub. Fancy dress could be fun? If a room was booked and tickets were sold we could have it open to the whole of boards and invite other paranormal groupos from around Ireland.

Any money made after costs are covered could go to Charleville Castle as it is a charity.

Its only 4 month away and by the time we get enough interest and decide on ventunes etc it will be time to book a place. It will be Saturday 28th October.

Any ideas, suggestions or opinions?

6th

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

It would presumably have to be in a haunted castle somewhere ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Could work and i could see about having it at Charleville but maybe people would only be willing to travel into town?

Obviously i'd love it if it could be a bigger thing where i organise a bus going down and bringing everyone back to dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

As far as I know, there is always a Halloween bash at Charleville every year...

To be honest i dont think the castle would be the most realistic place for it. We want people to go and its a bit out of the way.

Any other suggestions people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭New_Departure06

Have it in Loftus Hall.

ND Loftus hall is not available plus going by the fact that Charleville is too out of the way, would you not think the same for Loftus?

This is about a social outing not an investigation.

6th wrote:
    To be honest i dont think the castle would be the most realistic place for it. We want people to go and its a bit out of the way.

Good point...

On a semi-related note, I think it'd be an interesting time to hold an investigation, given that the Earl died on the 31st of October, but that is for another thread, or conversation...

How about Bunratty Castle. They have banquets there I think.

I really dont think you are getting the it's a bit out of the way thing. I may have to wip off my sock and fashion a rudamentory puppet to explain it.

If you want to go really go a bit out of the way, how about coming along to England? ;)

Seriously though, do you think Dublin Castle (or any other place nearby) could hold some sort of banquet thing? I'd imagine it'd be a tad pricey, mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Dr_Darkness

I know I haven't been posting much mostly lurking around, but myself and my fiance would definately be up for a Halloween bash. I should have the car back on the road by then so anywhere is fine for me, once its not TOO pricey lol. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

how big is your house sixth?

Not big enough for some of the egos on here i'm afraid!

And please, its 6th .... its on all my stationary ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭rondeco

hellfire club?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

6th wrote:
    enjoy your party. :)

rondeco wrote:
    hellfire club?

You really think that would be a good place for a party at the end of october? Its not very partical seeing as this would be a social get together with a bar, some food and music. I think we need to do more as a community besides field trips and investigations.

Also this isnt just for people who post on paranormal. It would be a way of mixing with boards as a whole.

Big bash, have a laugh, dress up, meet people .... whats not to like?

6th wrote:
    Not much point having a party if there's no room for my ego
    rondeco wrote:
    hellfire club?
    I think the hellfire club tends to be 'pre-booked' most halloweens ;)

6th wrote:
    Also this isnt just for people who post on paranormal. It would be a way of mixing with boards as a whole.
    I think there's usually a boards beers around halloween, maybe we could do something with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

that and the hellfire club is often taken over by various sects and groups of scobes and scumbags with cans. Most castles will cash in on the halloween thing and have some sort of expensive events. Im sure there will be a boards beerage around the time. How about a Paranormal Beerage in, say The Brazen Head: Dublin's oldest pub dating from 1668 has seen alot of history. A good spot in the oldest part of dublin for a paranormal beers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

stevenmu wrote:
    I think there's usually a boards beers around halloween, maybe we could do something with that.
    Yep.... those feckin pagans have it all tied up.

*I can do dots again some how...*

see a good suggestion! there is hope!

Porterhouse and Koperberg FTW!!!!!!

Brazen head and porter house are 2 good suggestions

ah i saw you loved that stuff - i love the mixed berry never fails to get me there!

Well I was just thinking if you wanted to have a Paranormal Beers you would pick a place with a long and dark history. That said the Porter House also puts dry ice into its drinks on Halloween which its atmospheric at least. I was there last Halloween, it is My Birthday after all . :D

sure theres another reason!

I guess this means I have to make an appearance for the beers event... :p

Are the spirits invited?

Tequila , Vodka and Sambuca? The Three Greatest Spirits of Them All??

I'll take the first and the last, sod the middle... that's the devil's pee! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

There'll definitely be a repeat of the Samhain Fancy Dress Ball in aid of Féile Draiochta that was organised partly through boards.ie and partly through the Dublin Pagan community last year. You'd all be more than welcome at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Last Holloween there was a beers put together as a fundraiser for Feile Driochta and done with the conjuntion of the An Fainne group and the paganism forum here.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=299312
    There is the link to the thread about that event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Hrmm, wasn't the idea of samhain to allow the dead to return to their families for one night of the year?

As such wouldn't a seance or ouija session be more fitting than a piss up?

Yeah it would (there was going to be a "but" in there but you're actually right).

Anyway thanks for the invite Talliesin & Thaedydal maybe it would be a good indea to just join in with that. More people = More fun.

psi wrote:
    Hrmm, wasn't the idea of samhain to allow the dead to return to their families for one night of the year?

That depends on what your family is like.

Samhain and the date of holloween are not the same date as Samhain is specific to the full moon and that is when the veil is thin.
    And I certainly would not be intrested in a seance or ouija session on such an ocassion really you don't expect visiting relatives to turn tricks for the amusment of others.
    Holloween is more like the newyear eve of the pagan calendar.

psi wrote:

Personally, when I meet with those of my people that have passed I do it in private or with those close to me.

Both are appropriate (well, I have personal reservations about the Ouija as a tool). It is a time for meeting with those who have passed, because the veil is thinner. It's also a time for letting go and kicking back, because the veil is thinner and it's a time for misrule :)

i'd personally like to just have this as a social thing were we can all just get together and have fun. Alot of people on here have no one they can really talk to about the paranormal in their day to day lives.

We are a community after all and i think the more things we do that bring us all together the better.

Alcohol just help ;)

We could try and get in on a murder mystery in Charleville. Id prefer the "ghosts and vampire" theme on Halloween rather than the pagan view. As an aspiring digger guy I have my reservations about the meaning and origins of religious dates and festivals. A murger mystery in Charleville like the one that was on there last time would be pretty cool.

Grimes wrote:
    We could try and get in on a murder mystery in Charleville. Id prefer the "ghosts and vampire" theme on Halloween rather than the pagan view. As an aspiring digger guy I have my reservations about the meaning and origins of religious dates and festivals. A murger mystery in Charleville like the one that was on there last time would be pretty cool.
    Yep... I too wouldn't be too sure if I'd be happy with a religious element to the evening.

Murder mystery would be great though... I've organised such parties myself in the past and they are very good fun... and if we're supporting the castle while we're at it all the better.

Well as much as I appreciate the offer from the Pagan forum I'd agree with keeping in non-religious, though its not like they are trying to get us to sign up. The offer was made in a friendly outreach way i'm sure.

But maybe a shower of drunken non-pagans might not suit their celebrations?

We can talk to the castle on saturday about maybe doing something to support them and see if they have anything already in place.

6th wrote:
    But maybe a shower of drunken non-pagans might not suit their celebrations?
    Ha.. yes.. actually that's more what I was worried about... If someone started talking to me about thinning veils after I'd had a few I'm not sure how I'd react.

As an atheist I'm really not sure if I could show the proper ammount of respect at such an occasion.

The gathering in the gingerman pub did not have any religous aspects or any religious rites at all, well other then playing snap the apple. :)
    It was open to any one who wanted to come and attend and there were non pagan boards members there and nearly all in fancy dress.

The thread on the event shows this
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=299312

It was a hollween piss up in a pub, a socail gathering not a indepth disscussion group, the next will be the same.

Yep, it's quite definitely not a Pagan event per se, but a fancy-dress party, many (but not all, I'd say around 50% at last years') of the attendees being Pagan.

We could find some old ruin somwhere in the greater Dublin area , get dressed up and get a few tinnies and knacker drink?