Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xmen 3

• 25-05-2006 11:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭

Just saw this.

Very good film just not as good as the last two though. too many characters with too little time. that was the big problem i thought.

WHEN YOU GO SEE IT WAIT UNTIL AFTER THE CREDITS!!!!! i wont say why but it is interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭Simi

****e I got up at the end. I should have known they'd stick something in. Excellent film. Not nearly as good as the first two, but a real blockbuster all the same. The ending was a little bit disappointing imho. Definately recommend it. I agree with OP could have easily been an hour longer.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

just back from a preview myself,
    thought the film was pretty mediocre.
    prefered number 2 anyway,
    might have to watch it again to make sure i didn't miss anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,954 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Havent seen it yet but my expectations are not too high.
    Its only 100 mins ,so prob 90 mins without the credits which is at least 30 mins too short for a summer blockbuster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

Saw it tonight but I left the second the first name of the credits appeared. Thats what I get for breaking the seal... What happened after the credits?

About the movie, I thought it was very good but I thought they
    killed off too many of the bigs names too soon
    . Also, it could have been longer. There was a lot happening in a very short space of time. Overall though I was very happy with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭galactus

Spoiler follows...
    Apart from The Beast, it was awful. I mean Fantastic Four awful. I want a refund!! :mad:

OK, this had a lot to live up to. X2 was IMHO the Best. Superhero. Movie. Ever. In fact, X2 is simply a great movie. I expected a lot from this one and I was completely disappointed.

This was a lesson in how not to make a movie. Start with a weak script, poorly developed characters (apart from Kelsey Grammer as The Beast), add no dramatic tension and a liberal dose of predictability and you have this crappy movie.

I was wondering why so many people were starying to watch the credits....let me guess: Prof. X, Cyclops and Jean Grey are not really dead.

All this and Famke Janseen spent most of the movie looking like a zombie. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Going to see this tonight, looking forward to it :)

I last saw Juggernaut in the 90s cartoon so ive forgotton this but what is his mutant power apart from being strong or is that it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

can someone that stayed til the end post what happens after the credits in spoiler tags please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

galactus wrote:
    All this and Famke Janseen spent most of the movie looking like a zombie. :(
    Heh, she was still hott though, can eat my flesh anytime! :D

Agreed on Beast though, he was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Remember Xavier was asking students if its okay to transfer someones personality into an empty shell of a person? Well at the end the man thats shown in the video wakes up and talks to his nurse. It's Charles.

Slurms wrote:
    Remember Xavier was asking students if its okay to transfer someones personality into an empty shell of a person? Well at the end the man thats shown in the video wakes up and talks to his nurse. It's Charles.
    Well fancy that!
    I wonder does that mean there'll be another one so? And, does he still have his powers in the new body? Oh the possibilities!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

JohnK wrote:
    Well fancy that!
    I wonder does that mean there'll be another one so? And, does he still have his powers in the new body? Oh the possibilities!!!
    Well, when Ian McKellen was on Johnathan Ross he asked him if there was a scene with Magneto playing chess and there was. Johnathan instantly knew what he meant, so they have left it open for sequels. I'd say it all depends on how much of a success this film is.
    A Wolverine spin-off film is next though, I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

there is another thread in movie reviews which is developed a bit more than this one, but the wolverine spin off in the 'in production' stage, as well as a magneto spin off.

I'd prefer a magneto spinoff myself. I love that character and McKellen plays him so well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

i was disappointed there was no nightcrawler in this one. i liked him in the second one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭galactus

JohnK wrote:
    I'd prefer a magneto spinoff myself. I love that character and McKellen plays him so well :D

Pure class! Where do I sign up for a Magneto spin-off petition!! Some killer lines from X2, just looked 'em up on IMDB:

"You have no idea"

"Is that what they say"

"You are a god among insects. Never let anyone tell you different"

"There's something different about you today, Mr. Laurio."

Hardly any other actor could deliver these the way McKellen does. DeNiro, Pacino...who are ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

The ending with Magneto playing chess with himself seemed very familiar to me, like i've seen it somewhere else before, but I don't know where.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

i'll enjoy a magneto film,
    i still have issues with the casting of hugh jackman as wolverine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Slurms wrote:

I am so mad I didn't stay till the end!!!AAAHHHH! I agree it wasn't as good as X2 (how could it have been with that incrediblely awesome opening action sequence in the white house) but I really enjoyed it and it surprised me to be honest.

The Archangel was pretty cool. I was annoyed that the blue German dude (mentioned above) was completely absent! He was really entertaining.

But the worst thing I found with it was the casting of Vinny Jones, what a horrible, horrible mistake.

Overall, I was happy with the Triology. Probably the best 'comic book' adapted movies in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Honestly, would you tell someone like Vinnie Jones that "You didn't get the part!"

I'd do it but only from a panic room in the galapogos by satellite phone. :\

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

BopNiblets wrote:
    Honestly, would you tell someone like Vinnie Jones that "You didn't get the part!"

I'd do it but only from a panic room in the galapogos by satellite phone. :\

Vinnie Jones should be shot, worst actor ever!!!!!!!!! Worst casting move of the film!!!!!!

Beast was well played by Kelsey Grammar, although his fight sequences reminded me of some from "The planet of the apes" remake.

It was overall quite average. No nightcrawler, why I just don't know as he played quite a big roll in Xmen 2.

I didn't stay till the end but I did catch the scene over on youtube.com end scene

the actor who played nightcrawler had a schedule conflict, and thats why he wasnt in it. although what this film wasnt missing was more mutants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Stupid question time. After the bridge moving scene in broad daylight, why was it suddenly nighttime on Alcatraz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Thats true... but didnt Storm have a helping hand in that?

Rhyme wrote:
    Thats true... but didnt Storm have a helping hand in that?

Nope, it just went to midnight, must have been sloce to darkness :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

I have to say that i'm so dissapointed after looking forward to this so much. The basic story of a
    cure
    was a good idea, but everything else just sucked big time. X2 would be in my top ten film list, but X3 would be in my worst top ten.

What i didn't like:

The return of Jean into a nasty character wasn't a good idea, I felt that it gave 2 fingers to the ending of X2, and she should have been left to die.(A bit like Bobby in the shower)

That light to night scene at the bridge was something else that was a joke.

How come all the other mutants had to be dressed in black and looked like they had just attended a Metallica concert? It was a bit of overkill in terms of costume design in trying to show them as bad.

Cyclops dying was a minor side story for somebody who had been a major character in the past films.
    There are probably other things but i'm going to leave it at that. A shame tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

k just came back from watching, agree with the others X2 ways better, this felt really short, and there were no good fight scenes, I mean most of the fights were like "quick flashes", I loved the fights in X2.

Also why they didn't make Juggy fight the Colossus? that would have been so great!

Overall good movie, but not as great as X2, it missed something, can't quite put my finger on what.

I think it'll be beaten by Superman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Ok people as a morvel reader for 20 years i actually liked it though another hour would have made it great.

But why is no one mentioning the fact that Juggernaut aint a mutant? He should not have been affected by the boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

They changed that for the film. They made him a straight-up mutant. They also made "The Phoenix" a natural part of Jean Gray's mutation and they made Beast's fur and colour a natural part of his (rather than a serum testing gone wrong).

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Good film but very flawed. Full of major plot holes, continuity errors, poor music, dodgy one-liners, but still very enjoyable. As a fan of comic book films in general I found it best to think of it as standalone film, and not as a sequel to the previous two. Singer's two films were very grounded and intelligent, while Ratner's effort is a much more typical comic book film - dumb, but fun.
    Loved Storm's spinny thing outside the house, and thought Prof X's demise was quite moving. Shame Ratner had to wussy out and make the 'cure' temporary and bring back Xavier at the end.

i would think that while, yes, this film is more along the lines of your run of the mill, piece o crap, comic book film, that it wasnt too bad.

i found singers efforts a bit too grounded for my liking. i mean, yes we are talking about regular people, but come on, regular people with amazing powers.

and was it not mentioned in this or another thread that the first two bassically p*ssed all over the comics plot lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Mantel

JohnK wrote:

Looks like there will be both http://imdb.com/title/tt0499519/

As for
    the pheonix dieing... well she isn't called pheonix for nothing, they've still got the alien empire storyline, although that might be a bit too spacy

I can see them stopping for awhile to do spin off but the last one has to be about Apocalypse. Must.... wait... longer :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Omnipresence

delly wrote:
    I have to say that i'm so dissapointed after looking forward to this so much. The basic story of a
    cure
    was a good idea, but everything else just sucked big time. X2 would be in my top ten film list, but X3 would be in my worst top ten.

What i didn't like:

The return of Jean into a nasty character wasn't a good idea, I felt that it gave 2 fingers to the ending of X2, and she should have been left to die.(A bit like Bobby in the shower)

That light to night scene at the bridge was something else that was a joke.

How come all the other mutants had to be dressed in black and looked like they had just attended a Metallica concert? It was a bit of overkill in terms of costume design in trying to show them as bad.

Cyclops dying was a minor side story for somebody who had been a major character in the past films.
    There are probably other things but i'm going to leave it at that. A shame tbh.

Have to agree with everything there.. word for word...

Would've happily watched this one on TV3 sometime ... :D

Actually went to see MI:III (Don't ask, i went kicking and screaming i swear) and would say its actually better... :eek:

(b.t.w. I am a long time SciFi/Comic fan)

-Alan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

UGH!

Really tried to relax and just enjoy this movie, but with just so much wrong with the story line I couldn't stop nit picking!

I was very disappointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

I m so tempted to read the spoiler s but seen it soon so no,NO bold Goose!!!!!!

they made Beast's fur and colour a natural part of his (rather than a serum testing gone wrong).

I know they didn't actually explain it in the film but if you go back to watch the X2 film when Mystique is seducing the secuirty guard (from Magneto's prison) in the bar, there's a television in the background and Hank McCoy is on it as a human.

I know I'm a complete nerd but I only picked up on it the night before going to see X3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Dear Brian Singer,

Superman Returns had better be ****ing worth it.

Regards,
    Aidan

which can of course be explained in two ways

1) in the comics, he is human looking before he is tested with a serum that turns him blue

2) the scriptwriters are idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I enjoyed this movie as a piece of entertainment... i was shocked when cyclops and the prof died... No where near as good as either of the others. Still better than crap like Hellboy or Van Helsing :D Or worse.. League of extraordinary gentlemen... shudder :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

Dear Brian Singer,

Superman Returns had better be ****ing worth it.

Regards,
    Aidan
    Ha!, LOL classic, i concur;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

I know they didn't actually explain it in the film but if you go back to watch the X2 film when Mystique is seducing the secuirty guard (from Magneto's prison) in the bar, there's a television in the background and Hank McCoy is on it as a human.

I know I'm a complete nerd but I only picked up on it the night before going to see X3.
    I read about that TV thing on IMDb but they didn't mention that he was in human form. IMDb also said that they had chaged him to a straight-up human. Damn IMDb, making me look like a fool.

IIRC (which I probably don't :p) but I'm nearly sure he was a human in the TV.

Just watched it there, yeah he's in human form. ABout 45:30 into the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Concannon7

I enjoyed it, I think it was my favourite of the three. I never rerad the comic but I love the whole X Men idea and I wished they kept true to the story. Juggernaut is not a mutant, and the whole Jean Grey thing should have been somwhat different as well.

My main problem with the X Men films is there is no Gambit. My favourite character. This has annoyed me since the first film and they have yet to include him. Also why wasnt Nightcrawler in this film, he was my favourite in X 2.

I hope they dont end the series of films now, I dont have huge interest in a Wolverine spinoff, I would rather if they continued with the X Men franchise.

9/10.

I agree with everything you just said and I do hope that they continue it on but they screwed up big time by killing so many of them off, retards!!!!

Gambit, yeah WTF? I forgot all about him, I always wondered why they had so few numbers, I really need to watch the cartoons again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Saruman wrote:
    ...and the prof died...
    No he didn't, someone didn't stay till after the credits! :)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

azezil wrote:
    No he didn't, someone didn't stay till after the credits! :)
    In relation to the bit after the credits, there was about 6 or 7 skangers sitting in a row near me who waited as well and when they saw the scene I heard:"Ah Jaysus, I waited bleedin' 10 minutes for tha'" and on the way out the front door I heard the same skanger say:"Ah right, now I ged it".

the one thing about the xmen is that noone really dies the first or second time you see them die. plus we never saw cyclops actually die.

and nightcrawler wasnt in it due to the actors schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Sean7

That movie felt like being repeatedly kicked in the crotch. It is the worst of a trilogy of movie that had so much promise and potential but really didn't live up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

and nightcrawler wasnt in it due to the actors schedule.
    The actor didn't fancy getting in all that make-up again.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Saw this last night, and thought it was enjoyable enough (Note: Not a comic fan)

X-men 2 is better.

Thought the music was good. The whole bridge moving thing was pointless (Why didnt they just get a big boat and go across?) and at the end
    why didn't wolverine stab grey with the cure instead of killing her???? pure stupidity

haha. i cant believe noone has mentioned that plot hole until now