Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dubbed english ads:( Arrrggghhhh

• 25-05-2006 10:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Saw ad tonight for Daz or some soap powder staring Daisy Donovan except it seems that Daisy now speaks with a thick Irish accent. Why do they bother to dub these ads? Makes my blood boil.

Another dubbed ad is that Veet ad where they have thick Limerick accents. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

But I'm Fameeeeshed!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Gator

worst things ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Gator wrote:
    worst things ever

What about your ma??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Gator

Keyser....are we going to have to bring misses grey K into this conversation???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Gator wrote:
    Keyser....are we going to have to bring misses grey K into this conversation???

Shut it you filthy little toad!!!! Back to whatever crevice you crawled out from!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

"Ian! Didn't expect you back for ages, heard you were dying of flu..."

"I was"

This causes the red mist to come down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭sound_wave

"...sorts the men from the boys..." :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Why do the advertisers think that this dubbing is needed? We all speak and understand english?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

I prefer them dubbed. Don't want to listen to English accents trying to sell stuff in Ireland. But then there's those ads with the "mum" voice dubbed while the kids are Cockney... total cultural dissonance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Bond-007 wrote:
    Why do the advertisers think that this dubbing is needed? We all speak and understand english?

Because they want it to relate to us. Rather than relating to a product that "sounds English" or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I think the Kinder ad's are the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭APM

toothpaste adds also big offenders!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

luckat wrote:
    I prefer them dubbed. Don't want to listen to English accents trying to sell stuff in Ireland. But then there's those ads with the "mum" voice dubbed while the kids are Cockney... total cultural dissonance.

Speaking of Cockney, that Jamie Oliver show (school lunches one) has been on in the US and they have subtitles along the bottom so Americans understand it, very amusing for me who has lived in Ireland and England most of my life :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

luckat wrote:
    I prefer them dubbed. Don't want to listen to English accents trying to sell stuff in Ireland.

Even when it results in a horrible ad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

There was an ad on TV for (I think dulux) paint. This was late 1980's.

I saw the same ad on American network TV (can't remember which one?) in 1996 for an American paint manufacturer - ok maybe they owned the originator now - whatever - just found this disturbing!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

They should dub them all into German tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

The ad for the seatbelt campaign is kinda funny when you compare the North version with the South version. You know the ad - two couples in a Ford Escort, lad in the back doesn't wear his belt, accident happens, and he knocks his head off everyone else in the car.

In the Southern version, they use Gardai as the police that come to the accident scene, and in a generic Southern accident: "Der's tree dead in dis ve-hicle. Dey say the lad witou' the seatbelt did da damage"

And in the Northern version they have dubbed in Nordy accents as if it's the PSNI: "there's three dead in this wee vehicle, like. Theire sayin' the lad without the wee seatbelt did all the damage, aye"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

franksm wrote:
    "Der's tree dead in dis ve-hicle. Dey say the lad witou' the seatbelt did da damage"

"there's three dead in this wee vehicle, like. Theire sayin' the lad without the wee seatbelt did all the damage, aye"

I always wondered about that, who are the "they" that are saying things? The three dead people?

Some of the english ads are bad enough anyway
    "I'm feeling a bit bloa-ted"

or the irish meteor ones
    "I might of made a few calls"

:mad: :mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

THe ones I get really bothered by is when they use a famous person becasue they are famous and then replace their voice. Isn't the point we know the person hence we know what they sound like. Andy Mac Dowel has a texan accent I know this so why does she have a differnet voice in the ads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Bond-007 wrote:
    Another dubbed ad is that Veet ad where they have thick Limerick accents. :mad:

Ok have i missed something there? That ad doesnt have Limerick accents! :eek: Not the real Limerick accent anyway!

Oh the worst was something about some girls on a beach giving out about this other "perfect" girl there and then her wrap fell off and she had tights on or something?? They completely dubbed that one - they changed "wigan" to "winter"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I particularly hate that new bounty ad where curly-haired muppet tries to explain how the "thirst pockets" work to a kid, using a blatantly dubbed in voice, the voice of one of those people who voice 99% of Irish ads. I get sick of hearing the same handful of voices all the bloody time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

The "Carlsberg don't do housemates but if they did....' advert has English accents when ive seen it here in London, as oppposed to the Irish ones back home. Very odd indeed.

Stephen wrote:
    I particularly hate that new bounty ad where curly-haired muppet tries to explain how the "thirst pockets" work to a kid, using a blatantly dubbed in voice, the voice of one of those people who voice 99% of Irish ads. I get sick of hearing the same handful of voices all the bloody time.
    Or the paint ads - "can fleetwood find a colour for me, -and me - and me - and me"
    All the and mes have pictures of different women but it's the same bloody voice!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

bluewolf wrote:
    Or the paint ads - "can fleetwood find a colour for me, -and me - and me - and me"
    All the and mes have pictures of different women but it's the same bloody voice!!

THe radio is the worst for those. There was one ad that had an auction and the voice of everybody in the ad was the same guy and there were meant to be 3 or 4 people including the auctioner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Interesting they didn't dub the opel zafira ads with the two yorkshire lads, must be the universal appeal of kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

orla wrote:
    I think the Kinder ad's are the best.
    Absolutely! Especially when the voices are dubbed and someone has done a really really terrible job of superimposing the english packaging over the original and it jerks all over the screen. Comedy gold imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

I hate that Surf add with yer one. I know she's Irish and its not dubbed but there's somthing about it that really annoys me:mad: .

I you not happy lever brothers will give you your money back..:mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

Some steam cleaner ad was the funniest.. ''it's steam!!!'' while his mouth was doing 90, saying a sentence with 15 words

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Shabadu wrote:
    Absolutely! Especially when the voices are dubbed and someone has done a really really terrible job of superimposing the english packaging over the original and it jerks all over the screen. Comedy gold imo.

Here's a shot of the Iraqi Kinder Egg.

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/4543/kindersurprise7xj.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

The one for some kind of toothpaste or mouthwash with the line "Ask your Dentist" is the most ridiculous one, I think. See, it's such a stupid annoying ad, I can't even remember what the product is!!! That ain't good advertising!

The shiney smiley people they're interviewing might as well have the Stars and Stripes tatooed onto their foreheads. Yet they are dubbed into Dublin accents.
    There is a man one one of them who's about 40-odd, telling us how fantastic this stuff is and his name is given as Devon somebody or other.
    How many 40 odd year old Irish men do you know called Devon? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭carbonkid

The mother of all bad dubbed ads at the moment is the one for kitchen towels. You know the ones to do with thirst pockets where dad tells his son small wee elephants in the kitchen towel suck up all the water. Its so bad i have to change the channel till its over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Hagar wrote:
    I always wondered about that, who are the "they" that are saying things? The three dead people?
    The paramedics?

The one for some kind of toothpaste or mouthwash with the line "Ask your Dentist" is the most ridiculous one, I think. See, it's such a stupid annoying ad, I can't even remember what the product is!!! That ain't good advertising!

The shiney smiley people they're interviewing might as well have the Stars and Stripes tatooed onto their foreheads. Yet they are dubbed into Dublin accents.
    There is a man one one of them who's about 40-odd, telling us how fantastic this stuff is and his name is given as Devon somebody or other.
    How many 40 odd year old Irish men do you know called Devon? :D

What I absolutely hate about that is "It's my choice! Because the dentist told me! "
    wtf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Or the kittensoft thirstpockets ad.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Any ad from Nestle or Danone has to be in there as well i mean mouth open but no words classics