Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England World Cup victory parade already planned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Metacortex

Why do they do this to themselves every time the world cup comes around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Don't count your chickens....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

''culminate in tea with the Queen at Buckingham Palace''

Stupid. I kinda hope they get knocked out fast now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

They are always going to have a parade whether they win or not, usually it is because a dodgy call by a ref caused them to get knocked out, so they celebrate blaming that ref for their exit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

If this is the what we are subjected to before it even starts, imagine if they win it what life will be like:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Knocked out in the group stages, bottom of the table :) That shall be funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

darkman2 wrote:
    If this is the what we are subjected to before it even starts, imagine if they win it what life will be like:eek:

Last time I checked, England wasn't Ireland, The Times was a British newspaper, and we weren't being subjected to anything.

Watch RTE, read the Indo, and stop your whinging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

imagine that, they are forward planning

whats next

p.s. forward planning of an event of this scale means they won't end up with an English Joe Duffy and a park full of schoolkids greeting an embaressed team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Well, ya gotta be in it to win it!:D :p

Hate to burst your bubble or anythin lads, but this is actually quite routine. Most of the big teams plan parades once they return "victorious" well in advance of the tournament even kicking off, regardless of whether they are actually in with a shout of winning the bloomin' trophy. The authorities would look foolish and unprepared in the (unlikely) event the team won and returned to no parade, no celebration, nothin. Be just dumb to be that pessimistic.

EDIT: Basically, what therecklessone and MossyMonk said. Nice to see rational peeps on this site...

Last time I checked, England wasn't Ireland, The Times was a British newspaper, and we weren't being subjected to anything.

Watch RTE, read the Indo, and stop your whinging.

I think you will find differently when BBC and ITV are broadcasting the world cup....particularly the latter. They ruin it for themselves every bloody time. I was looking forward to see them do well, but in recent weeks the arrogance has gone to new levels and their star striker is missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,791 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

You people realise this is only a PLAN? Nobody has said England will win it, it's IF!

And why is it that this bothers you so much? Such a sad attitude to wish England to get knocked out....and yes we would have the parade for a ref's decision alright!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

darkman2 wrote:
    I think you will find differently when BBC and ITV are broadcasting the world cup....particularly the latter. They ruin it for themselves every bloody time. I was looking forward to see them do well, but in recent weeks the arrogance has gone to new levels and their star striker is missing.

Stop watchin the BBC and ITV then and stick to RTE instead.

darkman2 wrote:
    I was looking forward to see them do well, but in recent weeks the arrogance has gone to new levels and their star striker is missing.

What arrogance? Has anybody come out and said we are definitely going to win it? The players have confidence because we have a decent team and a CHANCE to win!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

p_larkin99 wrote:
    What arrogance? Has anybody come out and said we are definitely going to win it? The players have confidence because we have a decent team and a CHANCE to win!

They certainly have more of a chance than Ireland does. ;)

robinph wrote:
    Stop watchin the BBC and ITV then and stick to RTE instead.

After the last world cup I intend to. You have to if you want genuine unbiased views anyway.

darkman2 wrote:
    After the last world cup I intend to. You have to if you want genuine unbiased views anyway.

Have you not heard the RTE commentators when Ireland are playing rugby? You hear them for the Munster game?

robinph wrote:
    They certainly have more of a chance than Ireland does. ;)

You do realise we are still hearing about 1966. Just yesterday on Sky News it was 'the spirit of 66'.

Ireland are crap.

p_larkin99 wrote:
    Have you not heard the RTE commentators when Ireland are playing rugby? You hear them for the Munster game?

Ireland arent in the world cup so naturally its going to be unbiased (except for Greame Souness). I like the England team, dont get me wrong, theyve a very good team but I think the media put to much pressure on them with this sort of thing day in, day out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭DOLEMAN

I hope England do well. They deserve it. Their league is good and they've good players.

Unfortunately Sven Goran Eriksson is a ****ing retard so they haven't a hope in hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Funny email I just saw, kinda relevent...

BBC World Cup Guidelines for commentary team.

1 -Within 1 minute of kick off in the opening match (Germany v Costa Rica), the commentator must mention England.

2 - Should England bow out after the first stage, we must emphasise that it is a massive blow to football and a serious loss to the World Cup.

3 - The commentator shall refer to the Falkland Isles in passing at some point in the match if England play Argentina.

4 - Whenever a hat trick is scored, comparisons with Geoff Hurst will be made within seconds of the third goal hitting the net.

5 - Should England wear their red jerseys, then '1966' should be mentioned approximately 20 times.

6 - 1966 will be mentioned approximately 10 times a match, or only on 4 or 5 occasions for matches not involving England.

7 - Prior to the captain of the winning team lifting the trophy, the commentator will mention Bobby Moore. And 1966.

8 - When Germany are playing, they must be referred to as being arrogant by the commentator on at least 14 occasions. This must refer to their style, their passing, their haircuts and their general footballing ability.

9 - Should England play Germany, mentions of Winston Churchill, Dambusters, The Luftwaffe and Adolf Hitler will be compulsory. And 1966.

10 - All Scottish members of our commentary team must continue to refer to England as "we" and "us".

11 - We must ensure that nationlistic stereotypes are adhered to. Of course, the Germans are arrogant. The Spanish are bottlers, The Ivory Coast are fast but bad at defending, The Angolans are disorganised, The Argentinians are cheats and the French are only good because their best players play in England.

12 - For matches not involving England, we must only discuss the players that are playing in England.
    (eg - Holland v Argentina should be referred to as Van Nistelroy v Crespo).

13 - The mythical "bulldog spirit" phrase should be used as often as possible.

14 - Each match involving England should begin with the phrase "England Expects."

15 - Should any player be involved in an injury that involves the loss of teeth, then references to Nobby Stiles and 1966 are compulsory.

16 - If in doubt, mention 1966.

17 - Praise all of the stunning new stadiums in Germany but emphasise that they lack the presence of Wembley, the spiritual home of football since 1966.

18 - Commentators should feel free to imitate the style of Kenneth Wolstenholme, the hero of 1966.

19 - Should any team feature brothers playing together, then Jackie and Bobby Charlton of the England 1966 team, should be mentioned.

20 - Regardless of what two teams are contesting the final, England have to be mentioned within the first minute and we must again emphasise that it is a massive blow to football and a serious loss to the World Cup that England is still not there.... !!! Mention 1966!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

darkman2 wrote:
    You do realise we are still hearing about 1966. Just yesterday on Sky News it was 'the spirit of 66'.

Ireland are crap.
    just for you;)
    http://mrankin.home.cern.ch/mrankin/Sixtysix.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

p.s. forward planning of an event of this scale means they won't end up with an English Joe Duffy and a park full of schoolkids greeting an embaressed team.

QFT

If England do manage to win it...there will be millions in the streets of London. Sure look at the massive crowd when they won the Rugby World Cup.....and rugby is a minority sport.

I think it does pay to have a little bit of forward planning to cater for such a massive crowd.

Besides isn't there some sort of rule about posting soccer threads in AH?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Jello wrote:
    ''culminate in tea with the Queen at Buckingham Palace''

That's nuthin. So confident of victory at Eurovision was he that John O'Donoghue had already booked a table at McDonalds for Brian Kennedy and Mary McAleese weeks before last Saturday!

darkman2 wrote:
    Ireland arent in the world cup so naturally its going to be unbiased (except for Greame Souness).

You're telling me that if Ireland were in the World Cup you don't think the commentators would be biased!? Would you watch coverage of an Ireland WC game through a foreign network so as to not get a biased view? DOUBT IT!
    darkman2 wrote:
    I like the England team, dont get me wrong, theyve a very good team but I think the media put to much pressure on them with this sort of thing day in, day out.

So what is this arrogance you were talking about? u meant from players or press? because i have not seen any yet!

darkman2 wrote:

Three words for you:

Radio Telefís Éireann.

Good day.

p_larkin99 wrote:
    You're telling me that if Ireland were in the World Cup you don't think the commentators would be biased!? Would you watch coverage of an Ireland WC game through a foreign network so as to not get a biased view? DOUBT IT!

So what is this arrogance you were talking about? u meant from players or press? because i have not seen any yet!

Ireland are not in the world cup so the commentators are not going to be biased. They would be if they were though.

The media are the arrogant ones. Read the Sun anyday of the week until the world cup and you will soon see why.;)

county wrote:

66, 66, 66, 66, 66, 66, 66, 66, 66, 66, 66. If your not Englsih you could understand why ppl get a bit irritated hearing it. It was 40 years ago!

darkman2 wrote:
    Ireland are not in the world cup so the commentators are not going to be biased. They would be if they were though.

So you can't slate the English commentators/coverage for being biased then as in Ireland it would be exactly the same!
    darkman2 wrote:
    The media are the arrogant ones. Read the Sun anyday of the week until the world cup and you will soon see why.;)

They're not arrogant, they're obsessed with the national team....they have not said England will win it! I admit they are obsessed with the team (or any English sporting interest) but thats how they sell

darkman2 wrote:
    66, 66, 66, 66, 66, 66, 66, 66, 66, 66, 66. If your not Englsih you could understand why ppl get a bit irritated hearing it. It was 40 years ago!

Yeah...around World cup times we never hear of 1990 or 94 over here do we? Houghton's goal...bonner.....etc etc.... it's exactly the same here mate!

If Ireland were to win the World Cup one day (and i hope they do) then we would not hear the end of it here too!

If Ireland were to win the World Cup one day (and i hope they do) then we would not hear the end of it here too![/QUOTE]

I seriously hope that dosnt happen either tbh. I didnt mean this to be a serious thread just a jokey sort of thread......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

DaveMcG wrote:
    Funny email I just saw, kinda relevent...

BBC World Cup Guidelines for commentary team. ...etc
    Funny, I thought these off-the-cuff ones from blu_sonic were much better tho:
    blu sonic wrote:
    Cue Irish Commentators:

1. (when The Swiss play) this is the group we'd contest

2. (in the event of a Penno shoot out) memories of Bonner facing down the romians here

3. (if T&T go far) echoing Irelands progress in Italia '90

4. this would have been a fitting way for Roy to bring down the curtain on his international career

5. (when france play) its only a moment of magic from that man there Henry that kept Ireland out of these finals

6. There is a definite lack of colour in germany with the Irish contingent missing

7. Lots of talk about the upcoming Euro Champ qualifiers

8. Tlak of "the premiership" as our home league

9. slight begrudging of the Swiss and French

10. Slight support for the team england are playing

11. the phrase "steve staunton is sitting at home watching this game with interest"

12. The compleate blank out of 1966

darkman2 wrote:
    I didnt mean this to be a serious thread just a jokey sort of thread......

With a starting comment like:
    darkman2 wrote:

When in reality it would be the same in Ireland if they were to win it! I've made my point

p_larkin99 wrote:
    With a starting comment like:

When in reality it would be the same in Ireland if they were to win it! I've made my point

Ireland will NEVER win the world cup so its not going to be a problem. Surely you must admit that IF England did win it they'd make damn well sure we knew about it for the next 40 years.

darkman2 wrote:
    Ireland will NEVER win the world cup so its not going to be a problem.

I think Ireland will win it sometime, with Keano in the last WC who knows...but that another argument (Feckin McCarthy!)
    darkman2 wrote:
    Surely you must admit that IF England did win it they'd make damn well sure we knew about it for the next 40 years.

I'm not denying that one bit...i would be one person who wouldn't let my mates forget about it (just like Utd in 99)....thats the nature of football....and...my main point is that Ireland would do exactly the same...so don't be hypocritical!

Plus you don't have to read the English media/press/news..you can stick to Irish coverage where they are not at all biased towards home teams !!!!!!:rolleyes:

p_larkin99 wrote:
    I think Ireland will win it sometime, with Keano in the last WC who knows...but that another argument (Feckin McCarthy!)

I'm not denying that one bit...i would be one person who wouldn't let my mates forget about it (just like Utd in 99)....thats the nature of football....and...my main point is that Ireland would do exactly the same...so don't be hypocritical!

Plus you don't have to read the English media/press/news..you can stick to Irish coverage where they are not at all biased towards home teams !!!!!!:rolleyes:

You know its very Irish to support even slightly more the team thats playing England. Its just one of those things:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

darkman2 wrote:

DELANEY, DELANEY DELANEY, 56, 56, 56, 56, 56, 56, 56!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Iy was 50 years ago but it didn;t stop Ryle Nugent bringing it on at Cardiff! (Suspiciously no one got pissed off by it....)

We've been down this road. You love it. You love being pissed off at English media. It means you don't have to admit to hating them for historical reasons. Why else do you go out of your way to find it? I mean... The Times? ITV? Sky news?

Sky news is for people who are not intellectual enough to read the Sun.

That said, I agree with what you said about the media putting pressure on the players. But in all fairness, they are professionals and well used to it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

darkman2 wrote:
    You know its very Irish to support even slightly more the team thats playing England. Its just one of those things:D

Right, now we're getting somewhere...it's not due to the press/arrogance...it's because they're English :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭zuma

DOLEMAN wrote:
    I hope England do well. They deserve it. Their league is good and they've good players.

I'm not sure which leage you are referring to but some of the best players in the Premiership are NOT English and as such have no bearing on the quality of the national team.

Good leage doesnt automatically mean good national team and vice versa.

Case in point: France.
    Poor league but good national side.

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    DELANEY, DELANEY DELANEY, 56, 56, 56, 56, 56, 56, 56!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Iy was 50 years ago but it didn;t stop Ryle Nugent bringing it on at Cardiff! (Suspiciously no one got pissed off by it....)

We've been down this road. You love it. You love being pissed off at English media. It means you don't have to admit to hating them for historical reasons. Why else do you go out of your way to find it? I mean... The Times? ITV? Sky news?

Sky news is for people who are not intellectual enough to read the Sun.

That said, I agree with what you said about the media putting pressure on the players. But in all fairness, they are professionals and well used to it.

First of all, and I want to get this straight: Dont pass a comment off like that at me. You dont know me and I most certainly dont hate the English (Im half f**cking English for gods sake).

Secondly your taking this thread way to seriously. Lighten up.

zuma wrote:
    I'm not sure which leage you are referring to but some of the best players in the Premiership are NOT English and as such have no bearing on the quality of the national team.

Good leage doesnt automatically mean good national team and vice versa.

Case in point: France.
    Poor league but good national side.

Some are: Gerrard, Lampard, Terry, Rooney.....thats 4 of the best in the world surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

well, i was at 'that parade' when ireland got beaten by italy in the quarters.

i see no problem with forward planning.

arsenal had a parade planned in case they won the CL.

i'll be shouting for england. mainly becuase i drew them in the office draw, but id like to see them win. i think they have a great squad, and have belief inthemselves.
    best english squad ive seen for about 20 years tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭zuma

p_larkin99 wrote:
    Some are: Gerrard, Lampard, Terry, Rooney.....thats 4 of the best in the world surely?

One word.....Henry

p_larkin99 wrote:
    Gerrard, Lampard, Terry, Rooney.....thats 4 of the best in the world surely?

Rooney wont be playing in the WC though so..........they are qaulity players though.

darkman2 wrote:
    Rooney wont be playing in the WC though so..........they are qaulity players though.

ok doctor :D

zuma wrote:
    One word.....Henry
    Dont forget Zidane and Ronaldinho.

p_larkin99 wrote:
    ok doctor :D

He has broken ligaments in his foot. Anyway I dont think he will play.

zuma wrote:
    One word.....Henry

Another word....cake

I was merely saying that England's best players do play in their own league...but i don't agree with this support England because you watch the Premier League, doesn't make sense IMO

darkman2 wrote:
    Dont forget Zidane and Ronaldinho.

They don't play in England mate!

darkman2 wrote:
    He has broken ligaments in his foot. Anyway I dont think he will play.

That being the point, we don't know....depsite the English press following his every move (agreed - ridiculous).