Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So... Who have you backed for the eurovision?

• 19-05-2006 9:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭

Personally, I took Finland at 10-1. Death Metal ftw! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i think maybe...lithuania....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

would love to see the Finns win - thats the true spirit of Eurovision!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

10-1 you say....might have a bit of that!!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 398 ✭✭Benny-c

tbh wrote:

Saw them on the news tonight, definately getting my vote :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Finland. Stuck a tenner on today, 10-1 like nesf said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

my god. id put this into the music forum, but i dont think i could do music the dis-service....

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

We should have entered a piss-rip or a rap group instead of balladeer kennedy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Ukraine, Lithuania(dont like em but admitt that it is catchy) or Ireland(National pride)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Russia..........dark hourses at 28/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Must have a browse on the webby and listen, oh how I miss the eurovision :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

not a betting man, but dear god i hope the fins win. just for having the sheer balls to put that band in as their representatives. death metal is pretty much the last thing i think about when i think of finland.
    and please please please let them come on directly after brian kennedy. the sight would be too good to bear :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Lordi ftw :)
    Tempted to put a couple of quid on Finland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭MrSinn

i have €20 for brian kennedy to finish in the top 10 @ 12/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

You know the English entry is both terrible and gimicky enough to snatch it...though it seems block voting is the way its done these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

What's the bet that with all our new immigrants that poland gets 12 points from Ireland and Latvia gets 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Go Lordi!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭rogue-entity

Well, I would love Ireland to win again, but its very unlikly (prays that all the poles vote for us as a way of saying thanks).
    England? There song is rather catchy alright, and it could do it.
    Finland, I would pay to see them win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

nesf wrote:
    Personally, I took Finland at 10-1. Death Metal ftw! :D

Pfft, Lordi are not Death Metal by any stretch of the imagination.

This is Death Metal. And don't you forget it.

Actually, here is another good example. Now that I'd like to see on the Eurovision. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

Show me some talent and I might decide to support something. Joke of a competition if you ask me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭BlueSpiral

simu wrote:
    Go Lordi!
    Halleluyah!

I seriously fell off my chair laughing. My mum told me to get out of the room until I stopped.

Pfft, Lordi are not Death Metal by any stretch of the imagination.

This is Death Metal. And don't you forget it.

Actually, here is another good example. Now that I'd like to see on the Eurovision. :D

jaysus, thats awful shíte karl. :)

Ah fair enough so, here's something good instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

When is it on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

It is on tonight at 8pm

All the videos are availible in the multimedia section of the eurovision site http://www.eurovision.tv

I want lordi to win. If they do all the songs will be rock next year. Like lordi himself says. Any band can play in a rock festival, a good band can play anywhere, including Eurovision.

Oo live webcast, that'll work for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

It is on tonight at 8pm.

Excellent! A welcome break after study.

All I'll be missing is Marty Whealan's commentary, d'oh! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 bucket

Switched on the telly to a giant axe-wielding monster clad in the armour of hell. Thats good eurovision!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

All I'll be missing is Marty Whealan's commentary, d'oh!

You'll just have to put up with Terry Wogan then ;)

bbc.co.uk/eurovision will have the BBC stream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Catney

There is a theory that Lordi are Russian spies, their mission: To discredit Finland. Seriously.

I am all for them, they are great fun.

now that, is good.

In that case, how about this? 'Tis Mike Amott of Carcass fame, and a hot chick singing. Can't go wrong with that. Quite frankly, they should've been Sweden's Eurovision entry.

meh, i'll keep my fond memories of carcass in mcgonagles in 91. or was it 92. too long ago.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Awww, I wanted Iceland to win, Sylvia Night is the greatest in the world. The eurovision needs her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Agreed. :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

now that, is good.
    nesf wrote:
    Agreed.

That's it people, praise my favourite song, lavish it.
    I recommend you all go to see firebird on may 26th in dublin, bill steer baby, bill steer!
    Edit: No better use for my 11 thousanth post that to praise carcass and that song. :)

Go lordi.
    If I pass by a bookies, which I'm sure I will, few euro on those lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

Silvia Night didnt qualify... shame. She is so hillarious! "the votes are in, I'm gonna f*ckin win" :D:D

I've backed:
    Bosnia-Herzegovina e/w at 6-1
    Greece e/w at 9-2
    Sweden win at 3-1
    England e/w at 12-1

here's hoping!!

I'm not putting a bet on poor Brian, Eurovision is all about show nowadays, Brian needs to speed the song up by about 100bpm and add a few semi naked chicks and blokes prancing around him with some glitter and fluff and ribbons and then he would have a chance!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Lordi Ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

LOL only checked the entries out and far from slapping a DVD on tonight I just have to see Lordi on stage, jaysus would love to see them win it. The Finns are goind mad over them representing them LOL

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/4926020.stm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭zuma

Yeah Brian hasnt got a hope in Lordi's hell!!!

Either freak them out(Lordi) or throw out a couple of half naked girls for the sex appeal!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I'm not putting a bet on poor Brian, Eurovision is all about show nowadays,

Again, not nessecarily. A few ballads have done well. Malta took 2nd place last year with a ballad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Doc_Savage

C'mon Lordi..... \m/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

BuffyBot wrote:
    Again, not nessecarily. A few ballads have done well. Malta took 2nd place last year with a ballad.

Did they? Ah well thats good, cos I bet on Greece, its a kind of a slower song. But sure maybe Ireland will come good this year. I've a bet on Brian to finish between 9th and 20th place.

Shame Iceland didnt get through... Go Siliva!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭MySelf56

I am with macadonia or Ukraine.. god! all might!! they are so prettty!!!:D :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Atlas_IRL

omg how hot is Ukraine!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Don't know what made me think that it might be good this year! Lordi has been the best so far. Did ye see the state of las ketchup? What in the name of god were they thinking!!!!! *cringe* :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

text your vote 17 to 53125 for Lordi

(when the lines open of course ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭MySelf56

Ukranian is very tough girl i heard.. she solider went to Iraq, Kosovo even... my gosh!! I dont mind born again as gun in her hands... :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Ireland Is On Now!!!!