Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could I play GAA?

• 18-05-2006 11:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭

I've never played gaelic football in my life, but I've been following the sport for years and I love it. I'm 33 and I play soccer. Would I be able to pick it up, or have I left it too late? How useless can you be to turn up for training with some junior team? I live in Leixlip by the way.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Just pop round your local club mate, its never too late to pick up something new!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

Having played soccer will help you as well

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

im 29, thinking of doing the same thing for the summer season to get fit. GAA training is always a lot tougher than soccer!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

One warning for you. I was out injured for a couple of years at one stage, I went back to soccer about 6 months earlier then the Gaa, but when I went to GAA the first time I got the ball in a match, 4 or 5 of the other team closed in on me and started tackling me "vigourously". I was expecting the ref to blow the whistle thinking in soccer terms of fouls. It is much more physical then soccer, but this makes it much more enjoyable, once yu get used to it. Go to your local club some Saturday afternoon and make enquiries if they have a team suitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭RotalicaV

At 33 you'd get a game for one of the younger Leixlip teams, but none of the Confey ones! haha ;)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I know a lad from Newcastle in England that pops into training every now and again and is very welcome to. He isn't up to speed on soloing, tackling or fist passing but he is more than welcome to play and at times he can set up scores and even score a few himself.

I also heard of a lad from Nigeria playing for a team in Monaghan/Armagh, that couldn't solo the ball but still scored three goals in a challenge game and followed each of them up with several summer saults. :D

Everyone is welcome. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭solskjaer20

^ Hehe what a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Wasn't there a Croatian playing on one of the inter county minor teams last year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

Salthill had a Aussie playing for them last year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Everyone is welcome to play for their parish. The more the better. Just inquire, turn up to training and find out about matches. If ya show some willingness, it'll make everything much easier. I have gone back to my club after 2 years of not playin, and after one training session, was asked to play for the Junior team. Im only 17 but we have 15 year olds on it and the age ranges up to about 40 on our team so ya can never be too old to try it. Good luck to ya if you decide to take it up, its an enjoyable experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭seven stars

Thanks for the replies lads. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

another bit of advice ...do go to a local club with a team in Junion 5 or below. But also practice soloing, pickups and hand passing on your own. In my club we are often short on players and need to steal soccer players. some do amazingly well others not so well. There was one guy who was so good he now plays senior football in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Gaelic Football is not the most skillfull game in the world and that fact that you have played soccer, you should have no problems.

Hurling would be different altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

An Italian plays hurling for Sligo hurlers if I remember correctly.Fair few Africans play both codes down around here.

If it was Hurling I might so no,but as a soccer player trying out Gaelic Football then it shouldn't be to hard.Bit more physical of course,but that ony adds to the fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

Gaelic Football is not the most skillfull game in the world and that fact that you have played soccer, you should have no problems.

Hurling would be different altogether.

Gaelic football has a decent level of skill , I dont think its fait to try and compare championship football with say the premiersip cause its the differance between people to get paid lots and lots to play one sport and fellas who still have to work 9-5's !!!

but Compare Gaelic football to amature or semi professional soccer (even 3rd division english soccer) and i think the gaelic lads are infront.