Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster V Biarritz Olympique

• 17-05-2006 10:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭

There is a Load of Threads on The Heineken Cup Final, Etc so if the mods dont mind i am just making this one for Post/Pre Match talk. Rather than having a few on the go. I am Heading away tomorrow Morning,so wont be on till monday night i say.Might aswell start the pre match Warm up early by going over early..... Anyway it should be a cracker of a Match, I've about 250 Song cards is anyone is looking aswell. And for anyone going over without any tickets best of luck there should be a fair few flying about on Match day.

Come on Munster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭spanner

A notice to you munster men before you start singing, just read this warning...... it is a very serious matter

http://theeastterrace.com/cupfinal.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Heh Heh Heh.

Stick to 'De Banks' lads. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

De Banks isn't so well suited to roaring from the terraces. Plus it'd piss off all the Limerick fans... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Hehehe, i nearly got myself in some trouble after some woman commented on me "shouting for the wrong country" while shouting "allez les blues" - so i politely informed her that while i may be wrong about my country, at least i knew which province i was singing for. didn't go down well.

anyhow, onto the match - can't wait :) should be an absolute cracker of a game, and it'll be good to see the munster men going for it. Think its a bit dodge that August is back for this game (after what he did to Grewcock he shoulda been out) but I think he'll be handled :D

Seeing as i'll be shouting it enough tomorrow at the TV, i'll give yee guys a test run - G'WAN MUNSTER!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭PhoenixRising

Has anyone any idea if/when/where a torrent of the match might be available to download after the game? I'm going to miss the match due to work.:mad:

No discussion of illegal download of broadcasted material is allowed here, sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

come on munster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

immense.

Congrats to Munster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm a little damp eyed right now, that was awesome. An echo of Liverpool v Milan for me. (no higher priase!)

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Congrats, didnt realise Athenry was in Munster.

edit, just read the rest of the thread, seems Athenry isnt in Munster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Absolutely unbelievable. Stringer had the best performance I've ever seen. He kept lifting Munster when the heads were going down. He got a vital try, and over turned a vital ball at the end. Well deserved man of the match. COME ON MUNSTER!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

That atmosphere was something else. Almost the entire stadium was Irish. Its fantastic watching a team from your country do something like that. Amazing stuff.

Congrats Munster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i've said it before, Stringer is God-like, he was on fire.
    the whole team gave a huge effort.
    GO MUNSTER!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭RVN10

its even better wen its your team in it , wat a victory COME ON MUNSTER!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

It's going to be some night out in Limerick tonight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭tap28

What a game, what a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭The Free Man

that was a heart palpitating experience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

will something else when the team arrives in limerick tomrrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

For a few minutes towards the end I thought that Munster were going to bottle it again!

Fair play to them superb stuff.
    The intensity in Paul O'Connells eyes while he was sitting on the bench for the last five minutes.

Well done Munster. :)

Does this make the Celtic league the best league in Europe? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

I have an appointment with my cardiologist on Monday!!! :D:D:p:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Congrats Munster!

Need to strengthen for next season to defend the trophy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭Chong

I am pissed I couldnt get to see it but career comes first unfortunately. I was out in UL studying for my final final year exam on Monday, when the match started the library was like a ghost town.

Anyways I am delighted for Munster, come on the red army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Well done Munster. That's the monkey off their back. As jank said, I think improvements will be needed to defend the title, but for the moment, congratulations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭AngryAnderson

Absolutely cracking. I couldn't be happier for Munster and wish I was in Limerick tonight! Munster really deserved it after all these years. Makes me proud to be Irish.

streets will be mad tomorrow
    pity the weather not so good for it,wont matter much

Congrats to Munster and their fans.

Nobody deserves it more than they for all the commitment, effort and skill they have invested in contesting the Heineken Cup over the years. And they were the better, more committed and more determined team today.

Mind you, I really want to see Leinster kick their asses next year.

Preferably in a Heineken quarter final in Thomond. ;)

On Sky Sport=bull

Fantastic match. Just means we (me being a leinster fan) will have to step it up next year - its a hell of a thing to aim for :D

Such a beauty of a game :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭spanner

what a game!!! just brillant I kno all the posts are the same but so what. Munster did not only play with heart and passion but more importantly played with their head and composure, turning the corner that Irish rugby for so long could not get around.

What this is done for the game in rugby in both Munster and the rest of Ireland is amazing. Hopefully the generations will just keep coming through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

An excellent game and a greast result for Munster and for rugby in this country.

Its nothing less than many of these players deserved for their performances over the years, and in a high intensity match they fully deserved the win. It would have been a travesty if they would have lost it at the end as Biaritz were threatening and their back line was better than that of Munster. But this was a game all about the forward lines and Munster just about managed to come ouit on top.

Free-men of Munster or equivalent awards should be given to the likes of O'Connell, who was inspirational, and O'Gara, who had one of his better games. Finally he and his colleagues can wrench the yoke off their necks of bein 'nearly-men' in the 2000 and 2002 final defeats.

Well done Munster, enjoy the party!

redspider

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Trying to upload some videos from the lads coming home last night at Shannon Airport. Atmosphere was electric. You should have seen their faces when they saw the crowd! They had their own camera phones out taking videos of us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭arctic lemur

I'm a girly type not usually prone to tears but my heart nearly stopped in the final minutes of the game yesterday. I creid with joy with relief and genuine happiness. I love Munster!!

As regards a song maby they could alternate Limerick you're a lady with de banks, for a compromise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Thats a mighty fine banner you got there chubb where did you manage to find it.....If you asked maybe but not just taken it..

Anyway just back in cheltenham from the match yesterday what a match.. Atmosphere was something else.... Cardiff was a state last night! But the atmosphere around town was a good laugh. Biarritz put up some hell of a match and it was tense moments for the last 2 min. Stringer your some man for one man! Congrats Munster.
    Chubb76 wrote:
    its even better wen its your team in it , wat a victory COME ON MUNSTER!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

MarkR wrote:
    Trying to upload some videos from the lads coming home last night at Shannon Airport. Atmosphere was electric. You should have seen their faces when they saw the crowd! They had their own camera phones out taking videos of us!

Oh, do please :D

This is the worst weekend ever to be stuck in Dublin, I can't remember when I last missed home so much.

Oh, yeah, and
    CONGRATULATIONS MUNSTER!!!!!!

I've been waiting years to say that! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

The triumph of the province of 1.5 million over the provincial Basque town of 30,000. :rolleyes:

Can't understand the concept of a competition where certain countries can enter club teams and other countries enter provincial teams.

The structure of the competition is such that Ireland is effectively entering 3 'super' teams and at the moment Leinster & Munster can both effectively call on 9-10 current front line internationals. Should the French not also be fielding provincial teams representing say the Basque region, French Catalonian, the greater Toulouse area & Paris or England fielding regional teams representing the likes of the West Country, greater London area, the Midlands and the North?

And I guess we'll never hear the end of this victory.
    Munster still cannot shut up about their victory over a second rate New Zealand touring side in 1978.

People say England are bad with 1966.
    Munster are way worse.

The triumph of the province of 1.5 million over the provincial Basque town of 30,000. :rolleyes:

Do you have any idea of how much Biarritz spent on that team?

Beat me to it there Nesf :)

Can't understand the concept of a competition where certain countries can enter club teams and other countries enter provincial teams.

What? You mean like soccer where Bayern (ie Bavaria, a federal German state) and Lazio (an Italian province) can compete against Chelsea -- a mere borough of the city of London which is home to several more top class teams?

What chance does poor little Chelsea have? Should some 'affirmative action' be taken by the Champions League authorities to give Chelsea a bit more cash so that they could compete on a level playing field?

Should the French not also be fielding provincial teams representing say the Basque region,

They do. It's called Biarritz
    French Catalonian,

They do. It's called Perpignan
    the greater Toulouse area

I think you'll find that one's called Toulouse
    & Paris

..and that that one's called Stade Francais.

You're really talking about commercial entities taking on local teams with restrictive hiring practices, ie Biarritz can hire who they like whereas Munster has to restrict most of its players to those qualified to play for Ireland.

And so what if Ireland only has three teams into which it concentrates all its resources? (Actually it has four) Are you saying, to return to the soccer analogy, that Scotland should field as many teams in the Champions League as Italy or Spain because it's not fair on the latins if all Scotland's footballing resources are tied up in two teams?

What nonsense!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

The structure of the competition is such that Ireland is effectively entering 3 'super' teams and at the moment Leinster & Munster can both effectively call on 9-10 current front line internationals. Should the French not also be fielding provincial teams representing say the Basque region, French Catalonian, the greater Toulouse area & Paris or England fielding regional teams representing the likes of the West Country, greater London area, the Midlands and the North?

And I guess we'll never hear the end of this victory.
    Munster still cannot shut up about their victory over a second rate New Zealand touring side in 1978.

People say England are bad with 1966.
    Munster are way worse.

I think its all about the pool of players isnt it??

Anyway

http://images.excaliburfilms.com/dvd/reviews/imagesCH3WY/sour_grapes.jpg :)

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

For anyone who wanted to see my vids from shannon aiport, not great quality, but I think worth the watch. :)

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-8330308980660409507

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7128349121237959343

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-6002620514151691671

Munster - Great players, poor singers. :D