Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GJP: €100+15FO, Regency Hotel, Tuesdays!

• 16-05-2006 12:33pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Green Joker Poker is running a 100+15 FO in the Regency Hotel tonight, Tuesday 16th, this is a weekly tournament and the first night (last week) was great craic as beer and cards flew.

The game kicks off at 8pm and reg opens at 7, so please arrive BEFORE 8 if possible!

So if you are looking for a 100 freezeout tonight, with parking and on the northside, we hope to see you there!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Charter before I ban you from the website you own! Cut and paste from a previous GJP thread or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

lafortezza wrote:
    Charter before I ban you from the website you own! Cut and paste from a previous GJP thread or something.

:D Put the over/under at 6 mins. Owe myself €40.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

ban him! BAN HIM! :p

if he had used the charter i would know where the regency is etc etc! Planning on playing this tonight... what are blinds and starting stacks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Troll!

Wont be able to make this myself tonight Dev, but I would strongly reccomend it to any boardsies who fancy a game tonight (especially us 9-5ers who have to get up in the mornings!) to head along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

But it is on 'de Nortside'! The one flaw in the otherwise perfect plan...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

All levels 20 minuteds
    Dealers supplied

400/800 level added if less than 40 players.

5000 starting chips.

25/50

50/100

75/150

100/200

200/400

300/600

Break 15 minutes

500/1000

800/1500

1000/2000

1500/3000

2000/4000

3000/6000

5000/10000

8000/15,000

10,000/20,000

15,000/30,000

20,000/40,000

30,000/60,000

All levels 20 minuteds
    Dealers supplied

5000 starting chips.

25/50

50/100

75/150

100/200

200/400

300/600

Break 15 minutes

500/1000

800/1500

1000/2000

1500/3000

2000/4000

3000/6000

5000/10000

8000/15,000

10,000/20,000

15,000/30,000

20,000/40,000

30,000/60,000

Payout

10% of the field get paid
    100% Payout

EDIT: i was a minute late with that!!! ya try and do something nice but then they beat ya to it... typical! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

I know not many Dubs will want to enter as they know that the Drogheda guys willl be down to whup their collective butt again :)

Poker lessons available in The Star & Crescent, Drogheda on Mondays and Wednesdays. Guest tutors include Junior, Jimmy 'No Foldem' Flood and Pappy ' European No.1' Browne.

I can understand your fear, there is no shame in admitting defeat.

Shortstack wrote:
    I know not many Dubs will want to enter as they know that the Drogheda guys willl be down to whup their collective butt again :)

Poker lessons available in The Star & Crescent, Drogheda on Mondays and Wednesdays. Guest tutors include Junior, Jimmy 'No Foldem' Flood and Pappy ' European No.1' Browne.

I can understand your fear, there is no shame in admitting defeat.

i'm so confident of victory that if i make it i'll even let you buy a share in my victory!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

ditpoker wrote:
    i'm so confident of victory that if i make it i'll even let you buy a share in my victory!!

I'm shocked you haven't asked for a $5 rebuy sat to be setup

ntlbell wrote:

THERE'S SATALITES!!!!! i'll play i'll play!!! (my god im cheap!!) :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Just got back there. I got 3rd for 500. White Knight was heads up when i left. ill post a report on my blog tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

roryc wrote:
    Just got back there. I got 3rd for 500. White Knight was heads up when i left. ill post a report on my blog tomorrow

Well done Rory, you were nursing 3bb stack when I had my 10 3 cracked by QQ, how did he not put me on aces? must have been some comeback congrats.

Good to meet the infamous Gholimoli eventually. Who got the last longest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

ntlbell wrote:

NTL were you the chap who had the house fours and fives against me early on?

Trying to put names to faces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

Gholi took last longest for 5th place finish. Dont ask me how he finished 5th!

I was happy to take 1st place and 1300 euro! :D

My turning point was when it was down to 5 i went all in for 7k (135k in play) utg, 2 callers and then gholi goes all in for 11.5k and the other two call ... my AJ holds up against A6, and the remainder on a A5KA8 board and i quadruple up!

Thanks to mike and tom for the tourney!

ill blog it in work tomorrow .. no wait boss reads boards .. ill blog it on break tomorrow ;)

well done lads.. how many runners. how many paid etc etc?

27 runners, top 4 paid. 1400, 700, 400, 200 and the last longest bet was fun between the boardies ... me, rory and ehsan on the FT (although think about 8 or 9 turned up).

did a deal with 3 left to give 500 to 3rd as it was anyones game at that stage. (rory's idea of course!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

NTL were you the chap who had the house fours and fives against me early on?

Trying to put names to faces.

I am, and the one who blew up fairly quickly afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

I blew up when i went all in one too many with a-9 suited only to walk into Kings.

nice tournie though....i tihnk this one will be a nice success over the course of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Washout wrote:

nice tournie though....i tihnk this one will be a nice success over the course of time.

Yeah i agree. Especially if/when the 150/300 and the 400/800 level is brought in.
    Of course i'll still have to last to the 150/300 level first:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

oh man where do i start.
    i still dont know how i finish 5th when 5 handed i was chip lead.
    i played really well apart from one hand which killed me.
    from early on i wasnt getting hands so i picked my spots with stealing pots.
    then i got KK and got paid on it.my stack moving up and down around the 8K from the 5K starting stack untill out table broke and moved to a table with shortstack ,Mr pillowtalk,Roryc to name but a few.
    made a couple of moves there and got up to 15K.
    lost a big pot to shortstack when i limped with my KJ sooooted and got raised by him for another 2K.i called and check the flop when it came K high.
    he went all in for another 5K ,i called and he showed AK and i was down to nearly 7K or so.
    few hands later i hand won a few pots and back to nearly 12K where i knocked out shortstack.
    eventually we made the final table and i was on 25K and prob second in chips.
    Rory had about 2K with blinds at 1.5K he made an all in move from EP and i i had A7 in LP and i raised the pot trying to give him some protection and get heads up.woman to my left wakes up with KK and i loos 5K.
    no biggy.
    we loos a couple of players and its 7 handed.
    im on the BB with 77 and UTG raises it up to 6K with blinds 1.5K .
    he gets called by chip lead and i push for another 16K.
    UTG folds but chip lead calls with AJ and when i get a 7 on the flop im laughing.up to nearly 40K and chip lead.
    i loosen up try to bully the table and loos a 10K pot.
    still no biggy.
    few hands later im on the BB with 84o .
    couple of limpers including the SB.
    flop comes 8 4 2 with two dimonds.
    SB who has alot of chips nearly 24K leads for 6K and i go all in.every one folds and SB eventually calls with J8 and i win the pot and move back to chip lead position 6 handed.
    then comes two hands which cripple me.
    first hand im UTG with AQ and make it 12K with blinds at 3K .
    roryc goes all in from his BB for another 8K and i call.
    he has 99 .flop has an A but turn is a 9 and rory wins a pot of 40K.
    im down to nearly 40K my self and then the only hand where i think i played badly and really crippled me to death.

UTG limps and i have 22 UTG+1 .
    i make it 14K and evey one folds back to UTG who goes all in for another 14K to me.
    now i can possibly fold this even though i know more than likely he has an over pair.if i fold i have another 28 left but i have to call another 14K to win a pot of nearly 50+K so i make a crying call and UTG has KK.
    a K on the flop ends that hand and im down to 14K.
    loos a blind and im down to 11K and then last hand i played.
    i was on BB with T3s and called on a 3 way all in.i would have only have 6K left had i folded which was something like 1.5 BB and i wasnt gonna stick around with that.
    anyways it was a good tourney and i really thought i was gonna win it when it got down 6 handed.
    well done whiteKnight.
    the other chap had no clue to be honest and made some stupid calls like the all in call from rory with his KT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

nice effort from a lot of boardsies, well done.
    Ehsan, putting in 25% of your stack utg+1 with 22 !!!!
    You know better than that man..........

yeah, thats twice you have blown up with big chip lead (although last time was explainable!!). The 22 call vs KK i thought was strange other than that could not fault much with your play really. Who was the guy with the AK vs my AA?

blog updated with a long read from my point of view if any1 interested :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

nice effort from a lot of boardsies, well done.
    Ehsan, putting in 25% of your stack utg+1 with 22 !!!!
    You know better than that man..........
    i know but the thing was we are 6 handed.
    table was very thight and most raises won the pot uncontested.
    UTG limps which could have been anything really.
    there is 10K in the pot now and i have 22.
    i have to either fold or raise cuz i dont wanna play 22 after the flop against 4 ppl.
    blinds at 4K the only raise i can make to get ppl off is at least 4BB.
    after i made the raise and got reraised i was really commited to the pot and couldnt back down.he could have had AK ,AQ and i think i was getting the odds to call even if i knew he had an over pair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

you did have to call after he re raised. (calling and hoping to be 50/50, knowing whatever he has this is your best case scenario is not good).
    If you werent passing to a re raise u may as well have moved in, as u really dont want to be seeing a flop with 22 but id prefer to raise/try to steal with almost any other hand.
    the problem was the 14k bet before the flop pot committed u to 28k, or a huge amount of your stack, with a hand thats 50/50 against 7 3 off suit.
    There is no hand 22 is more than 52% fav over, apart from 2x, which is unlikely.
    Its just a hand i always bin, apart from levels 1, 2 where it has great implied odds if u set up and blinds are small.
    That said, its easy have a moment like this during the course of a long live tourney.

Who was the guy with the AK vs my AA?

It was i 'Le Clair'!
    Patience is a virtue that i didnt have last nite im afraid. Well done on the win. Good one!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

How is this tournie for newbies to the "live" seen, i play a lot online and am doing pretty well but not sure what to expect playing live, i have a tendency to take a risk or two now and again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭An Gaiscíoch

If u wanna win u gotta take SOME risks. Nothing too crazy !!! EG going all with 8 3 with two other players left and get called by A K ! Happened last night. Not a good move on his part !

It was i 'Le Clair'!
    Patience is a virtue that i didnt have last nite im afraid. Well done on the win. Good one!.

Ah right - nice to meet ya man! Yeah thought u seemed in a gambling mood even if u put me on QQ!

Yeah having a nice touch on Intersky Falcon in the 7.50 at Newton Abbot loosned me up too i reckon!. Thats the reason i was late!.
    It was good to see my chips put to good use!.