Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I have to buy a film slr camera ,which one??

• 14-05-2006 3:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭

I had a canon 500n in the house and it's disappeared ,I thinks someone knicked it when we had one of our parties :(.

Now i have to try and get a secondhand one ,anyone got any ideas on which canon is good secondhand ??

The camera that is gone used to belong to the old man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

I have a Canon EOS 1000FN which I bought secondhand here on boards and it works well. I am happy with it. The only issue is getting the frames converted to digital files.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭EireRoadUser

Thanks jools ,fajitas has one aswell I might get one of them .

The main reason I want to use the film slr is so I can get proper use from my full frame lenses really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Go for a Canon, you can still use your lenses! The 1000Fn is aging a bit at this stage, which'd be good if you want a cheap buy, but if you want a bit newer technology, maybe a 300v?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭FinoBlad

I had a canon 500n in the house and it's disappeared ,I thinks someone knicked it when we had one of our parties :(.

Now i have to try and get a secondhand one ,anyone got any ideas on which canon is good secondhand ??

The camera that is gone used to belong to the old man.

Theres an EOS 500 in Buy n Sell this week with 28-80 lens and 10 rolls of film for €100

For mind sake I couldn't buy the 500n on buy and sell ,for the one reason it might be the camera that's gone.

The 300V is a bit dear I wreckon for my purpose ,I don't need anything major just something to keep the film rolling.

Is there not an old favourite among canon users???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭peter1892

Fajitas! wrote:
    Go for a Canon, you can still use your lenses! The 1000Fn is aging a bit at this stage, which'd be good if you want a cheap buy, but if you want a bit newer technology, maybe a 300v?

I have a 300v, I would recommend it. I've seen a few EOS 300's (the earlier model) on sale 2nd hand for around €130 (body only) in some of the shops. I got the 300v kit brand new for 180 about a year ago, I think it's been discontinued.

Take a look on ebay as well to see if there's anything that might be going for a good price.

I'll stick with the 300 so ,I got the price mixed up with the 30V which is €450 on AC foto.

I'll start ringing around in the morro ,thanks
    Can't wait to actually get my money's worth on the lenses I bought.

Is there not an old favourite among canon users???

Well an old favourite would be a T90

I'm installing a T90 in a house tomorrow funnily enough :D

Looks a sexy camera alright ,nice shape and plenty of grip.

I'll miss the extra grip alright when I buy a small SLR ,I've gotten use to the battery grip for vertical shots.
    Won't stop me from buying a 300 though.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭ladgie353

I would go for a second-hand 30/30v on eBay.
    They are cheap so you can be very picky.

ladgie353 wrote:
    I would go for a second-hand 30/30v on eBay.
    They are cheap so you can be very picky.

only 3 30V's coming up on Ebay and they are all over 300 euro.
    I'll take a snake around town on thursday and see whats about.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

3000v is about €240 new in camera exchange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rob1891

The 30 sells for about 150 on ebay. Use the completed items option on the left hand side to see what you should be bidding. Main difference is E-TTL II is supported by the V model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

Go with ebay anyway. I've bought a few cameras there - a Canon 50e for about £40 which I use most of the time and I later got a 300v because I wanted to see whether I'd be more comfortable carrying something the size of the 350D when I do go digital. I'll probably sell that one on. (I also picked up a Rollei 35 there too, but that was really just for nerdy-ness.) The 50e is very solid - everything's on levers and knobs and I can make any setting without moving my eyes from the viewfinder.

This link might help:http://photonotes.org/reviews/5-50-30/

Thanks lads and Jlang ,I went for the 50e.
    I liked the look of it ,it looked like it could well balance the longish lenses and it does :)

I like the clunky look of it ,more nostalgic :D or whatever ....

It's amazing the different usage I get from my lenses now ,the 24-85 that I regretted I bought secondhand is now just what I needed ......

Feels more natural using a film camera ,hopefully it won't be just the film that will be getting developed , my skills also .

Cheers.

Best of luck with it Eire!

Fajitas! wrote:
    Best of luck with it Eire!

Thanks for the encouragement to get one ,film is what it's all about I think.

It's completely different for me now ,I have to look before I take the picture now:eek:
    The digital is great for learning what the settings do.

EDIT : Just thought I'd add ,the 50e has a thingy called eye control ,the autofocus senses which autofocus point you are actually looking at and focusses on it. Amazing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭TempestSabre

joolsveer wrote:
    I have a Canon EOS 1000FN which I bought secondhand here on boards and it works well. I am happy with it. The only issue is getting the frames converted to digital files.

Just curious. Where do people get their stuff converted to digital?

You can get a cd with your photos when they're developed
    You can scan most negatives now ,with film scanners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Just curious. Where do people get their stuff converted to digital?

The last place I used was Camera Exchange in Georges Street. They promised 8 meg TIFF files but they delivered 3 meg JPEGs. I got in touch with them afterwards and they said they would give me the TIFFs if I left the negatives and the CD back in. Would you believe them?

This is a question to the experienced users of SLR's .

Would it be right in saying that the small sensored Digital Slr cameras haven't really had much development in lenses ,except for the third party companies.

I couldn't believe the difference in the 24-85 canon lense on the 50e, I am actually shooting all the time now ,even though I only got the camera today.

Everyone who hasn't should try out a standard slr ,they really are great craic :D .
    I just shoot now and hope for the best ,not calculating everything.

Jools, if you want Georges St to do something for you out of the ordinary, you really have to hammer it into their heads. They just don't understand that I don't want my negs cut - Alot of my pics go over the standard frame because I'm using my 10-20mm or my Lomo Fisheye...And I've often ended up with 7 pics on a roll of film cut in half... To be told "You should have told us..." And that's when they don't lose your film for a few weeks...

Rant over...For the moment...

And the motto is: Head; Drill; Camera Exchange :p

I couldn't believe the difference in the 24-85 canon lense on the 50e, I am actually shooting all the time now ,even though I only got the camera today.

Everyone who hasn't should try out a standard slr ,they really are great craic :D .
    I just shoot now and hope for the best ,not calculating everything.

Great to hear this, enjoy!!

FinoBlad wrote:
    Great to hear this, enjoy!!

Thanks fino ,finally getting some use from the lense ,I found it didn't work at all on the 350D but works great on the 50e.

When I say didn't work ,I mean I found it almost impossible to manually focus with the lense at a distance . With it on my slr now ,I have enough view with it to focus on what I want in clarity.

Thanks for selling me the lense fino .

no worries, not sure why the focussing isnt great on the 350d, twas ok on my 10d. if you want a refund, i'm happy to meet ye

FinoBlad wrote:
    no worries, not sure why the focussing isnt great on the 350d, twas ok on my 10d. if you want a refund, i'm happy to meet ye

I'm happy with it ,better than expected when on the SLR.
    Cheers

EDITED : Drunken post ,had to be changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭TempestSabre

You can get a cd with your photos when they're developed
    You can scan most negatives now ,with film scanners.

My mistake I didn't ask the right question. I should have said where do people get the best results. As any time I've tried it I've got very noisy scans back. Best results I've got were from having slide film scanned. Not sure why that would be. I've an old Canon T70 that I'd like to use but I've stopped using it because the scans I got back aren't worth the effort. At the moment I'm waiting for funds to allow me to move to a DSLR like a D50.

Sorry ,I'm new to this end of things ,so I never thought of you having meant that .:(

Personally I'd be happy to have prints in hand ,I'm sure the technology for scanning will improve as canon haven't knocked Slr's on the head yet.

Feel sorry for manufacturers that have to stop making film cameras .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭edunon

Best Canon Film camera for me is the Canon Eos 3, with eye control focus. You can add a battery grip if you need extra handling.
    I'm selling my Canon 300D with battery grip, it's on the FS forum if you wanna have a look ;)

The setup now as I use it is

Canon 50e (eye control) ,canon 24-85 ,on/off 70-200 f4
    Canon 350D ,sigma 30 1.4 DC , on/off 70-200 f4

The shutter release I bought for the 350D works on the 50e :D
    Manfrotto tripod and head.

I'm well chuffed with the way things worked out in the end ,the 24-85 has a great angle with little or no distortion on the 50e.

The 30mm 1.4 on the 350D gives clear digital night shots.
    The 70-200 is great on the two but the 350D gets the fastest focus from the lense so I will have to use the 350 for sport and fast shots and use it on the 50e for portraits etc.

Thanks to everyone on Boards for answering all my questions over the past few months ,didn't think I'd get to this point at all.

Nice one fajitas and Finoblad.