Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bebo evidence

• 12-05-2006 9:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭

I was just wondering if anyone could help me with this: On a school trip to Croatia we were let go to the village every night where the only things open were pubs. The teachers on the trip had no real problem with us drinking, but they definitely knew.
    When we got back to school someone (we don't know who) graffitied the school a bit, and the teachers were looking for the person who did it on bebo. They suspended someone, but they didn't do it, there were just a few joking comments on their page. While on bebo the teachers looked at Croatia photos and suspended people, and gave detentions for people who were smoking, both of which are legal in Croatia. They didn't target everyone, only a few rugby players etc. Is this in any way illegal? Like in a breach of privacy kind of way? Or a "searching a house without a warrant" way? Any help would be appreciated.

Yes, looking back it was really stupid to put the pictures up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

No- you publish something on the net- its there for everyone to see.

Surfing the internet isn't like searching a house without a warrant. If they broke into a private internet site maybe. You should set bebo to only display photos to people on your friends list.

Had a big meeting with someone about this today actually. They got stung badly too. :D

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

No, there's absolutely nothing illegal about it. They're using a public website. It's actually quite clever.

We had a similar issue in here at one point when some poster came on to say he thought a particular lecturer of his was sub-standard. She heard about it, and registered an account to defend herself. Apparently he got some stick about it in college too, but that's what you get when you put things on the internet that you shouldn't.

By the way, schools can generally use what ever means they want discipline students, and rightly so. In my school, you were suspended/expelled for being drunk on the weekend if you were under 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

I'm not too firmiliar with Bebo, but don't you have to set yourself as a student or as a teacher when you join schools or colleges on bebo. Also don't you have to set what year you were/are in to view people of the same year/years. So a teacher went out of their way to look for their students and to spy on them as it were. Unless by registering as a teacher you have an unlimited overview of your school.
    Again I don't know exactly how Bebo works.

However aphex is right in the fact that they did not bypass private pictures or sections. It is unjust for people to be suspended based on comments left on a webpage. As mentioned some joking comments were put on the page, but it doesn't mean it's legitimit proof of the "crime".
    If someone else posts a comment on the page saying "so and so is a rapist" are the school going to call the gardaí and inform them of that. I don't think so.

Personally I think the school are in the wrong to punish students based on a webpage's comments, however they did not break any laws by viewing the information. I'm sure the parents can go to the school and have the principal let the suspended students return.

Out of interest, what have the parents done about their kids suspensions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Skud

I always find it funny that people decide to drink on school tours. I mean I understand wanting to have a laugh with your buddies etc and how at that age you are really into the whole forbidden thing, but tbh I dont think u have any case. Neither do your friends... Whether or not the teachers cared if you drank or not is irrelvant. If you are not over the age of 18 then you should have those privileges but at the end of the day you can't trust the teachers. One of them probably said it when they got back and now they are punishing ye. I would also like to know what the parents thought and also what were the nature of the bebo messages for ppl to be drawn to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Crimson...

I'd let it go man
    you had a laugh you got to drinking and go out and all that happend was you got suspended and some of ye got detention forget about it you made a mistake and u got caught happens all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

You have no case. Whatever about the legalities, you were there on a school trip

However, your parents just might have a case for them not supervising ye in a foreign country.

I hope that was the worst you got up to (no don't tell me, my mind won't be able to take it). :eek:

PS don't put stuff like this on bebo, for all you know, your parents have a key logger on your PC, they have your passwords and can see everything. Yes, they can see the porn the lads have, the girly bitching comments and the videos of the teenage sex at the bush parties. As to whether this is good or bad is another thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

They can see the porn?!?!?! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

DaveMcG wrote:
    They can see the porn?!?!?! :eek:

The average parent will have difficulty installing a keyboard, not to mind a key logger. Zip your porn in a password protected file and you will be fine :)

When you put stuff on bebo or the internet you are making it availabe to the world at large, and cannot have any expectation of privacy (none at all!). It was a silly thing to do and a good lesson learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

maidhc wrote:
    The average parent will have difficulty installing a keyboard, not to mind a key logger. Zip your porn in a password protected file and you will be fine :)
    Hmm, please continue to set a poor example for the kiddies.*

* Joking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Crimson...

Hahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Flashling wrote:
    I was just wondering if anyone could help me with this: On a school trip to Croatia we were let go to the village every night where the only things open were pubs. The teachers on the trip had no real problem with us drinking, but they definitely knew.
    While on bebo the teachers looked at Croatia photos and suspended people, and gave detentions for people who were smoking, both of which are legal in Croatia.

Get the people in trouble to constantly refer(indirectly) to the teachers who turned a blind eye to the drinking, that shut up the teachers.