Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who talks like this??

• 12-05-2006 6:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Scoops

I read this on overheardindublin.com -

Drinks round

I used to work in a busy city centre Bar and I once got the following order from a customer (of D4 persuasion):

Hi, could I have a Heino, a Probs, an AG, a VRB, a JDC and a GT.

AKA: A Heineken A Carlsberg, a Guinness (as in Arth Guinness), a vodka and Redbull, a Jack Daniels and Coke and a Gin and Tonic (that one's fair game).

What is the problem with being normal like everybody else and using the right names for the drinks!

Can anyone tell me - who talks like this? do you talk like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Aaagh god it's hideous.
    how do you get Carlsburg from probs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Scoops wrote:

Answered your own question there I think. Nobody talks like that (I hope).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Scoops

Aaagh god it's hideous.

From - Probably the best lager in the world - I presume

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Scoops wrote:
    From - Probably the best lager in the world - I presume
    gotcha:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭the Guru

Love it :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭singingstranger

Who talks like that? Probably the same sort of people who refer to them as 'Scoops'.

;):p Joke!

Who talks like that? Probably the same sort of people who refer to them as 'Scoops'.

;):p Joke!

Ha ha, I don't think so, If I tried to order like that in my local the barman would probably punch me and then bar me from ever coming back! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Unfortunately, there are plenty of people who insist on using contrived slang and speaking in contrived, pretentious accents (see: loads of radio and TV ads). They're infuriating knobheads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

LOL, omg that's class. rofl.

Yeah whoever ordered that sounds like a prize knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

roffl omg that is soooooo ott lollers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭AngryAnderson

Oooooooooooooh my god. You guys are just, like, sooooooooooo clueless. It's, like, tooooooooooootally normal to talk like that, roish? Now if you'll excuse me I'm off home to Daaawkey. The last Dort is in 5 like. Ciao.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Scoops wrote:

Girls who call their father "Daddy" well into their twenties

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Aaagh god it's hideous.
    It was originally "probablies" from the ad....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

a little off topic but...

"Every time a church bell rings, Mr. T pities a fool."

Hahahaha best quote ever!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,960 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

a little off topic but...

"Every time a church bell rings, Mr. T pities a fool."

a little off topic? i like it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    Girls who call their father "Daddy" well into their twenties

Why do you care what ppl call there parents..'Daddy' is just as bad as 'Da' iimo..

ans thats gas..the poor bartender!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

I blame that abomanation that is Ross O'Carroll Kelly.

People who order drinks like that take them books as their bibles.

I mean come on he was on Tubridy just before the leinster v munster match wearing a pink shirt, I sat there hoping Ryan would rip him out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

Who was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Who was?
    That Paul Howard gimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

That Paul Howard gimp.

yeh his name eluded me there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

overheardindublin.com is really justsomethingImadeup.com

sinecurea wrote:
    overheardindublin.com is really justsomethingImadeup.com

Do you think so? They can't all be made up can they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭pantar_dubh

Scoops wrote:

What is the problem with being normal like everybody else and using the right names for the drinks!

No, that long string of drinks sounds strange. But then again, the next time you are in a pub, see how people order a Budwiser. What do they call it?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

Time=Money. That guy probably saved himself 3-4 seconds ordering like that rather than usiing full names.

No, that long string of drinks sounds strange. But then again, the next time you are in a pub, see how people order a Budwiser. What do they call it?:D

Agreed they order a pint of bud, even the heino thing is acceptable (barely!) but a probs for a carlsberg and a VRB for a vodka and redbull?? Come on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

0utshined wrote:
    Time=Money. That guy probably saved himself 3-4 seconds ordering like that rather than usiing full names.

Well only if the barman completely understood the order , otherwise he just wasted 9-10 seconds .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

you answsered your own question. because they're knobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Why do you care what ppl call there parents..'Daddy' is just as bad as 'Da' iimo..

ans thats gas..the poor bartender!
    qwerty, people.
    typing "ppl" is just as bad as ordering a vrb and almost as bad as drinking one.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

0utshined wrote:
    So how much extra money did he have at the end of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

not very much if he was drinking in the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Scoops wrote:
    Agreed they order a pint of bud, even the heino thing is acceptable (barely!) but a probs for a carlsberg and a VRB for a vodka and redbull?? Come on!!
    I can vouch for probablies and I've heard VRB used but never heard it ordered (they say it but not to the barman)

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Oooooooooooooh my god. You guys are just, like, sooooooooooo clueless. It's, like, tooooooooooootally normal to talk like that, roish? Now if you'll excuse me I'm off home to Daaawkey. The last Dort is in 5 like. Ciao.
    I actually got embarrassed when I was reading this post.

Anyone else notice the irony in someone called "Scoops" giving out about words people use for drinks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭DOLEMAN

Cremo wrote:
    I mean come on he was on Tubridy just before the leinster v munster match wearing a pink shirt, I sat there hoping Ryan would rip him out of it.

I know wearing a pink shirt is difficult for the average terrified sheep to comprehend.

/the problem is with you
    //think about it

Anyone else notice the irony in someone called "Scoops" giving out about words people use for drinks?

Ah come on, there's slang and then there's the ridiculous. A Scoop is a fairly widely accepted slang word for a pint. An AG is not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Hmmm! I have heard people ask for "a pint of Arthur" before but never an AG!

I agree, call it by the proper name. When I worked behind the bar I used to feign ignorance.

Knobhead: A Heine please.
    Me: Excuse me? (confused look)
    Knobhead: One Heine please.
    Me: (Looking at spirits bottles after grabbing a measure) Erm..
    Knobhead: No, a pint of Heine!
    Me: We don't serve spirits in pints pal!
    Knobhead: Heineken, you fool, a pint of Heineken.
    Me: Well, why didn't you say? Now because you've called me a fool, you'll have to wait until I serve the more civil customers, it'll give you some time to cool down.

I was only 18 and it was a stupid power trip for me but they didn't ask for a Heine next time they came to the bar!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Scoops wrote:
    Ha ha, I don't think so, If I tried to order like that in my local the barman would probably punch me and then bar me from ever coming back! :D

And he'd be well within his rights. Anyone speaking like that in a bar deserves a good kicking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

DOLEMAN wrote:
    I know wearing a pink shirt is difficult for the average terrified sheep to comprehend.

/the problem is with you
    //think about it

I think you'll find that the average sheep is sporting a very fetching pink shirt this season. Gob****es the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

And he'd be well within his rights. Anyone speaking like that in a bar deserves a good kicking.

Someone talking like that anywhere deserves a good kicking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Scoops wrote:
    ...and a GT.

AKA: ... and a Gin and Tonic (that one's fair game).

Fair game = thin end of the wedge. Once you accept one abbreviation like that, it's only natural that the rest follow.

I have overheard a certain well known rugby player ask for a pint of Ken in Club 92. The bartender just turned away.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Yeah but most people that would be partial to a tipple would know a G&T, not a feckin AG or VRB!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Scoops wrote:

Drinks round

I used to work in a busy city centre Bar and I once got the following order from a customer (of D4 persuasion):

AKA: A Heineken A Carlsberg, a Guinness (as in Arth Guinness), a vodka and Redbull, a Jack Daniels and Coke and a Gin and Tonic (that one's fair game).

who cares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Catney

who cares?

Unfair, merits as much conversation as anything else.

poor interjection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭electric69

if you think those ones are bad... i once heard a guy asking for a "pint of ken and a mullingar"..

Aka... pint of heineken and a cigar

go figure :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Dudess wrote:
    Unfortunately, there are plenty of people who insist on using contrived slang and speaking in contrived, pretentious accents (see: loads of radio and TV ads). They're infuriating knobheads.

Those meteor muppets fit this bill perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Catney wrote:
    Unfair, .

no.
    Catney wrote:
    merits as much conversation as anything else.

that may be so, but that doesnt actually mean it merits conversation.
    Catney wrote:

poor interjection.

what are you?

the interjection police?

i believe im allowed to voice my opinion as much as anyone else, and following that logic, i believe my interjection is as valid as any other here.

but thanks for your feedback. i'll take it on board...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Man, I'd say Budweiser...I'm so out of touch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Nobody speaks like this, its yet another lame overheardindublin invention designed to reinforce negative stereotypes - half the site is rubbish about 'scobes', the other half about 'D4' types. Give it a rest.

Incidentally, why is there never anything about our rural cousins coming up to the big smoke and insisting on calling everyone, male and female alike, 'lads'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Years ago when I lived in Enniskillen I knew the bar man and drank Carlsberg, when I would walk in he would roar

"Pint of Probably?"

I would say back

"Most definitely":D