Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stag Night & Strip Club

• 11-05-2006 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭

Hey all,
    Just trying to plan a stag night in Galway and was wondering what pubs/strip clubs are good craic.
    Any info and suggestions on the above is good :)

Thanks,
    Rob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

There is a strip club on Dominic street but I haven't been. Prob King's Head or Living Room would be good pubs for yous. Just stick to Shop street in the city centre and you'll find loads to do/drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

thanks Biko,
    you wouldn't happen to know the name of the Strip Club? I've googled around, tried galway sites, but different sites say they're no longer around or the phone numbers don't seem to be in use anymore.

Thanks,
    Rob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

you should go to stranos on dominic street, tell them some guys on the internet recomended it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭thenakedchef

JIZZLORD wrote:
    you should go to stranos on dominic street, tell them some guys on the internet recomended it!
    dont be a muppet,thats a gay bar,the guy is looking for suggestions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

The Merlin, Mervue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

SyxPak wrote:
    The Merlin, Mervue

Nothing wrong with the place!
    Just because you go to your fancy pubs in town!

JIZZLORD wrote:

I laughed so hard at that that I'm coughing like crazy now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

SyxPak wrote:
    The Merlin, Mervue

Would the name of the pub "The Merlin" not hint to you thats its not in Mervue?

Anything east of The Huntsman is bandit country as far as I'm concerned.
    The pub is 'nearby' Mervue so. I've no idea in which exact townland/rabble estate the Merlin is offically recognised to be in, and I could honestly care less. You're lucky you're even getting this reply smile.gif.

Also, Knocknacarra's a hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

that nearly happened to me on my first week in Galway, there was a boards beers and i had no idea where the blue note was. Silverlining said to go to stranos and tell the barman i'm looking for some guys i met online, it wasnt until i asked a guy i know where stranos is that i knew what was going on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

JIZZLORD wrote:
    that nearly happened to me on my first week in Galway, there was a boards beers and i had no idea where the blue note was. Silverlining said to go to stranos and tell the barman i'm looking for some guys i met online, it wasnt until i asked a guy i know where stranos is that i knew what was going on!

haha Gus you gob****e! dammit milk is all over the keyboard at work now ya bastards. the lot of ye bastards i say!

SyxPak wrote:
    The pub is 'nearby' Mervue so. I've no idea in which exact townland/rabble estate the Merlin is offically recognised to be in, and I could honestly care less. You're lucky you're even getting this reply smile.gif.

And where my friend,do you rest your head at night........or is it an address you wont grace us with:rolleyes: ,your obviously not to hot on your geography and coming out with such remarks about the east side deserves a good whipping:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

deserves a good whipping

He would just enjoy it:D

ARGINITE wrote:
    He would just enjoy it:D
    HeHe,:D :D:D

SyxPak wrote:

Ok Syxpak lets figure this difficult one out.Lets see ,The Merlin?????? Would it be by any chance be Merlin Park?????????.I thought the land mark of a hospital might have helped you out on that one."Mervue is nearby", yes it is but Ballybane and Renmore are much closer.By your knowledge of Galway City it seems to me your just another blown in making comments about areas you dont know anything about.So like was earlier said where do you rest your head so we can all by houses there and not live in Bandit country or holes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Arse Bandit country more like.. strange goings on in those parts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

The Merlin is right in Merlin Park. How you could class it as Mervue is beyond me!

and lol@ the gay bar thing....I didn't even know that place was a gay bar and I've been living here since I was born :D:o

Arse Bandit country more like.. strange goings on in those parts.
    And your ar$e smells of roses

padi89 wrote:
    Ok Syxpak lets figure this difficult one out.Lets see ,The Merlin?????? Would it be by any chance be Merlin Park?????????.I thought the land mark of a hospital might have helped you out on that one."Mervue is nearby", yes it is but Ballybane and Renmore are much closer.By your knowledge of Galway City it seems to me your just another blown in making comments about areas you dont know anything about.So like was earlier said where do you rest your head so we can all by houses there and not live in Bandit country or holes?

I'm from Moycullen, though living in the city centre for the past few years (college+work required such drastic action). There's sfa I've ever had to go to the east of Galway City for, aside from driving to Tuam or Dublin. None of my mates are from that side of town, for a long time there was nothing of interest for me between Lough Atalia Road and Oranmore - aside from industrial parks and housing estates. So of course my knowledge of the exact areal boundaries are going to be limited to ignoring the AA traffic reports. Because it's uneccessary, wasteful knowledge. Like FA Cup trivia.
    It's all a sprawling mass of shít and concrete to me. At least there's a cinema and an Empty Pockets there now. There's hope for ye yet.
    'The Merlin' is within walking distance of GMIT/Mervue Roundabout/GSH.
    Ergo, it's in the Mervue area.
    It was a joke. You are a pedant and missed it completely. I called Knocknacarra a hole. Because it is. Badly planned, not nearly enough ammenities, just cheap(er) mass housing for those with cars. It's going to be a right troublespot as the kids grow up because there's nothing for them to do. I don't give a flying fig whether Mervue is closer or not. I thankfully don't live there. Go rice up your Corsa before I knock the peak from your waterhead.

smile.gif

Oh, and Moycullen's a kip too. Turning into another Barna for the middle-aged middle-class. All development, population growth and nothing to actually do.

SyxPak wrote:
    I'm from Moycullen, though living in the city centre for the past few years (college+work required such drastic action). There's sfa I've ever had to go to the east of Galway City for, aside from driving to Tuam or Dublin. None of my mates are from that side of town, for a long time there was nothing of interest for me between Lough Atalia Road and Oranmore - aside from industrial parks and housing estates. So of course my knowledge of the exact areal boundaries are going to be limited to ignoring the AA traffic reports. Because it's uneccessary, wasteful knowledge. Like FA Cup trivia.
    It's all a sprawling mass of shít and concrete to me. At least there's a cinema and an Empty Pockets there now. There's hope for ye yet.
    'The Merlin' is within walking distance of GMIT/Mervue Roundabout/GSH.
    Ergo, it's in the Mervue area.
    It was a joke. You are a pedant and missed it completely. I called Knocknacarra a hole. Because it is. Badly planned, not nearly enough ammenities, just cheap(er) mass housing for those with cars. It's going to be a right troublespot as the kids grow up because there's nothing for them to do. I don't give a flying fig whether Mervue is closer or not. I thankfully don't live there. Go rice up your Corsa before I knock the peak from your waterhead.

smile.gif

Oh, and Moycullen's a kip too. Turning into another Barna for the middle-aged middle-class. All development, population growth and nothing to actually do.

Oh calm down and take a breather,no need to get so upset.First off let me tell you im not pedant i was just correcting your obvious mistake,or would you also be stupid enough to say the Salthill Hotel is in the Claddagh,probably,but listen its just a bit of common scence.
    You seem to know everything about nothing,if its not the East side its the West side if its not Barna its Moycullen,if your so critical of the areas where would you suggest then?Yes Galway is a badly planned town but it doesnt take a genius to figure that one out.Cheaper housing in Knocknacara?.....Where ???????? You obviously dont follow the market.
    "Rice up my opel corsa?".Oh thats a good one coming from a kid like you,just because its every little knacks wet dream to own one doesnt mean its the same for everyone else."Knock the peak from my waterhead",oh please give me a break,threats online wwooooo just shows your intelligence,love to see you try mate.
    Syxpak anonymity is a great thing and i think the internet is great for people like you.Its safe to say your well able to mouth off about areas online but im sure you wouldnt have the balls to do so in real life.

troll.jpg

No-one's getting upset. As I've stated before, I am joking, exaggerating sterotypes, tryign to get a rise out of you and talking bollocks while making an attempt to get a semblence of a point across. I'm amusing myself. If others get a smile out of it, fair enough. If you take offence, well, you're welcome to be offended.

*sigh* The Merlin comment was an off-the cuff remark. I was joking about the pub, and although I know quite well that it's near the Merlin Park Hostpital, that area is a mish-mash in my head as I've never lived there. Mervue is a rough approximation of it's location. I was not insulting Mervue (originally). But needless pedantism annoys the piss out of me, so I widened the scope of my jibes. Whoever said specifics and accuracy were a pre-requisite to humour?

Come for a pint and this'll all be resolved.

Jeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesus

I lived in Barna for 12 years up until 2 years ago when the development started. Its amazing to think that 5 years ago there were absolutely no estates in Barna, and yet the place is covered in them now! It was somewhat depressing going out there recently and realising that not only had our house been knocked down, but also that right where it used to be is an estate. It's amazing to think that where 3 houses used to be, there is now 30+! It's bizare!

I would have actually thought that "The Merlin" and areas like that are in Merlin Park, but I guess by that description that SyxPak gave, it does sound about right to be Mervue.

I lived in Barna for 12 years up until 2 years ago when the development started. Its amazing to think that 5 years ago there were absolutely no estates in Barna, and yet the place is covered in them now! It was somewhat depressing going out there recently and realising that not only had our house been knocked down, but also that right where it used to be is an estate. It's amazing to think that where 3 houses used to be, there is now 30+! It's bizare!

I would have actually thought that "The Merlin" and areas like that are in Merlin Park, but I guess by that description that SyxPak gave, it does sound about right to be Mervue.
    i can confirm its not in the burough of mervue,there is the burrough of murrough and ballybane to be considered on this one,but who gives a toss,im from the east side.........and proud of it

So, back on-topic: hookers and blackjack...

SyxPak wrote:
    So, back on-topic: hookers and blackjack...

Hah, that made me laugh.

I wouldn't actually trust any of the stripclub(s) around Galway to be perfectly honest. Not after how.. meh.. the strippers in Angels were! Being honest, I even doubt that Galway would be a good location for a stag night.

Just exactly what is there to trust about stripclubs???? Im intrigued.You pay your money get a dance and if you really want some action im sure you can have it for a price.
    Id say galway is a great spot for a stag night great atmosphere,great pubs and a strip joint ,what more do you need,everyones gonna be p1ssed as farts anyway.Im sure youll meet a hen party or two along the way too.

padi89 wrote:
    Just exactly what is there to trust about stripclubs???? Im intrigued.

Point taken.

Best thing that ever happened to Galway was Angels....it shut down Liquid...WooHooo!

Go karting in Tyna for the day, head into town on a beer crawl, claim purchase on some Karma clientele, puke in the cab home and pass-out on the couch.

SyxPak wrote:
    Go karting in Tyna for the day, head into town on a beer crawl, claim purchase on some Karma clientele, puke in the cab home and pass-out on the couch.

Its Tynagh Syxpak,Tynagh!!!:mad: ....Im only pissing with ya.

Bugger.

I should've just linked.

This is all because I can afford a car, but can't afford to insure or run it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

And your ar$e smells of roses

Tulips actually.

LOL:D :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

padi89 wrote:
    Just exactly what is there to trust about stripclubs???? Im intrigued.

Women!!!!

Nude Women!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Doesn't everyone know that strip clubs with the happy hookers and their big scary Latvian "boyfriends" are the best place to be? I trust dodgy people implicitly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

biko wrote:
    I trust dodgy people implicitly.
    more likely Lithuanians than Latvians and they are called pimps not boyfriends :D

Birthing Partners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Sponge Bob wrote:
    they are called pimps not boyfriends :D

Without a shadow of a doubt!