Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Internet dating

• 10-05-2006 10:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭

Having seen my marraige crumble after 5 yrs, I have now dusted myself off and have decided to try again. Opinions needed on internet dating, sites etc, infact any input greatly appreciated, thanks. Mark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

from what i've heard it the same as real life dating, some good eggs, some rotten apples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

ferdi wrote:
    from what i've heard it the same as real life dating, some good eggs, some rotten apples.
    Lots of total time wasters though...

A lot of the women who use the sites seem to just use it to pass the time in work or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭singingstranger

It can happen. Beware of false advertising though, naturally enough...

yep.... if a girl describes herself as having a 'bubbly' personality she is more than likey overweight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Coney Island

Some definitions women will use online, and their translations:

'bubbly' - fat
    'curvacious' - fat
    'cuddly' - fat
    'larger than life' - fat
    'BBW' - very fat
    'my friends say I'm attractive' - unattractive. You're friends would say that, otherwise they're bad friends'
    'I'm not bad looking' - I'm average
    'english rose' - plain
    'i like romantic evenings in' - slightly needy
    'not looking for sex' - looking for sex but trying to justify herself
    Any kind of pre-introduction, i.e. 'So, about me', 'a bit about me', 'what I'm looking for' - slightly insecure
    'Message me' - Don't message her. She's overselling herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Definitely lots of time wasters on the dating sites in Ireland. My advice would be to go speed dating, or get yourself involved in some sort of hobby that will involve actually meeting people who have decent hearts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

And congrats on getting back on your feet! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Well done for getting back on your feet. Internet dating is fine but obviously be careful who you are meeting and make sure you know the person well beforehand.

Yep. Be careful out there... ask Achilles for advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭MarinoMark

yep.... if a girl describes herself as having a 'bubbly' personality she is more than likey overweight.

LOL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭MarinoMark

'bubbly' - fat
    'curvacious' - fat
    'cuddly' - fat
    'larger than life' - fat
    'BBW' - very fat
    'my friends say I'm attractive' - unattractive. You're friends would say that, otherwise they're bad friends'
    'english rose' - plain
    Any kind of pre-introduction, i.e. 'So, about me', 'a bit about me', 'what I'm looking for' - slightly insecure

Only saw this now !! so so funny, You have cheered me up, cant stop laughing....thanks !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭pantar_dubh

Whether you meet in a class, soc, church, pub, club, or on the Internet, be prepared to kiss a lot of frogs before you find your prince. By chance I met a grand prince on the net.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yep. Be careful out there... ask Achilles for advice.

lol :D:o

OP, my brother tells me that his friend met his girlfriend through an atheism website..... and they're goin out long-term now.

There's been a few threads on this subject before actually, and there were a surprising (for me) number of 'successful' relationships spawned from the internet, or so it appeared.

Good luck to ye anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭meowCat

Again. An internet dating thread. Somehow I have the feeling that comes up again and again.
    See this random selection:
    internet dating
    Internet dating? Anyone try it?
    Internet dating sites??
    Single Mothers & Internet Dating

Comes up a lot in PI, too.

How about some mod makes the topic a sticky???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Cutie18Ireland

try faceparty.com its not exactly a dating website more for chatting really might work better...

i met my boyfriend there and we have been going out for nearly 2 years :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭holly_johnson

'bubbly' - fat
    'curvacious' - fat
    'cuddly' - fat
    'larger than life' - fat
    'BBW' - very fat
    'english rose' - plain

That's a bit harsh... I'm sure the same could be said for mens comments, but if someone is a bit overweight, the last thing they want is to be slagged off!
    What's wrong with someone trying to show the best in themselves? It's not all about looks you know, and no, I have never registered on one of these sites or described myself with those terms, but don't knock someone for trying to get a bit of happiness! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

That's a bit harsh... I'm sure the same could be said for mens comments, but if someone is a bit overweight, the last thing they want is to be slagged off!
    What's wrong with someone trying to show the best in themselves? It's not all about looks you know, and no, I have never registered on one of these sites or described myself with those terms, but don't knock someone for trying to get a bit of happiness! :)
    Yeah... I'm not exactly honest in my own online dating profiles as I claim to have a tail and live in a piano.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭holly_johnson

very funny:)
    I'm not having a go; I just thought the post sounded a bit harsh that's all.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I dated the internet once...bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭elmyra

hehehe.

Mmmm....can't say I've ever tried it though I have met people online aside from on dating sites who happened to be perfectly lovely and eligible.

I think I'd agree more with what people are saying about joining something that interests you where you can meet people. I imagine there'd be all kinds of pressure to put yourself across favourably and keep up the witty/interesting chat with someone on a dating site when you both know what the aim is.

Just my two cents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Not always a bad thing in my opinion ;)

Anyway I have a few friends who met their partners online - 2 on maybe friends, it gets knocked alot but they are both long term now and living together. Its becoming alot more socially acceptable.

best of luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭whizzbang

Yeah... I'm not exactly honest in my own online dating profiles as I claim to have a tail and live in a piano.

Grand or Upright?

whizzbang wrote:
    Grand or Upright?
    Upright of course... I'm not made of money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭whizzbang

Pauper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

But apparantly made of monkey.

sorry everyone

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Crucifix wrote:
    But apparantly made of monkey.

sorry everyone
    You are the real victim here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭comer_97

6th wrote:
    Not always a bad thing in my opinion ;)

Anyway I have a few friends who met their partners online - 2 on maybe friends, it gets knocked alot but they are both long term now and living together. Its becoming alot more socially acceptable.

best of luck with it!

I agree with 6th, only because he is referring to me. I met my girlfriend online on maybefriends. I would recommend it. It's a fun site!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

actually ur only one of the people i'm refering to you self obsessed bast**d!!

Welcome aboard! but whats with the 97? you counting the hairs on ur chest again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭comer_97

i first used the name in 97, im old school!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I met my ex on OKCupid, didn't work out, but then again I don't really blame that on internet dating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭MrScruff

I think the rule is:

attractive, single, mentally stable - pick two!

MrScruff wrote:
    I think the rule is:

attractive, single, mentally stable - pick two!
    Jaysus, just like in real life. :/

I don't know... I'd kind of like to be able to choose a partner with a pulse as well... but maybe I'm just an old fashioned romantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,077 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Internet dating - probably a bit like those columns in the newspapers:

"The odds are good, but the goods are odd." :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

try http://www.sparkireland.com/

Most online dating sites are spamtastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Dors1976

www.maybefriends.ie speed dating on the increase too, I believe.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

yep.... if a girl describes herself as having a 'bubbles' personality he is more than likey overweight.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Some industrial archeologist dated it to 1969

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Izzyone

Getting married four weeks from today after meeting te man of my dreams on unattached.com . Give it a go, its not as bad as some people make out and who knows, if you dont find love out of it you might make a few friends.

Good Luck!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Yes... the internet is a cruel and harsh mistress!!!

One i know all too well :mad: