Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Extra study space in the Hamilton Building next week

• 10-05-2006 1:40pm

Hey, just to let you know the SU has organised extra study space for students for next week (15th - 19th of May) in the La Scala restaurant in the Hamilton (towards the end of the Hamilton ground floor corridor). This is thanks to the catering department who have given us permission to use the premises.

The area should open at 8:30am and close at 8pm each day.

Please note that if there is any disturbance or mess made that the premises will close and will not be re-opened. If, however, no disturbance or mess is made, then they will be opened for an additional week.

Study on,

Dónal (Edumacation officer)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Well done, Dónal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

The SU do nothing useful, ever, for anyone.

Well done lads, fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

/me glances over at Right_Side - gwan, just try and drag this in that direction :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

Kudos to the SU

/me follows crash's glance and awaits ensuing conversation :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Right_Side

Well done, this is a fantastic achievement. This, I dare say, is the kind of thing elected officers are remember for. You have managed to climb above the bureaucracy and achieve something tangible. The first time is always the hardest and future Education Officers will have no trouble getting this repeated if it is successful as it will be the "norm".

This, I believe proves that change is possible despite the considerable obstacles.

I would also like to point out that in the library thread I was not attacking the Education Officer, even though I acknowledge it may have appeared that way. I was merely trying to point of the inadequacies of the mentioned 24 hour space.

Right_Side wrote:
    Well done, this is a fantastic achievement. This, I dare say, is the kind of thing elected officers are remember for.

Heh. Thanks, but I sincerely doubt that! Services (unless extraordinary) aren't always remembered, rather physical items are those which get remembered (couches, water coolers, etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

<Myth and Right_Side engage in a big hug.>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Right_Side

Myth wrote:
    Heh. Thanks, but I sincerely doubt that! Services (unless extraordinary) aren't always remembered, rather physical items are those which get remembered (couches, water coolers, etc.)

Well I'll remember you for it. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Myth wrote:

Now persuming I'm recalling the correct election, and persuming I'm now talking to Donal, you gained allot of support from the Engineers when you went for election due to gaining access to LG12 for all second years. Though the CS people probably hated you for it.

LiouVille wrote:
    Now persuming I recalling the correct election, and persuming I'm knowing to Donal, you gained allot of support from the Engineers when you went for election due to gaining access to LG12 for all second years. Though the CS people probably hated you for it.

LG12, LG37 & ICT II :p

And for some reason, my swipe card still works for LG37 though I'm off books this year.

Myth wrote:
    LG12, LG37 & ICT II :p

And for some reason, my swipe card still works for LG37 though I'm off books this year.
    probably hated him for it? i detest him at the moment for it :P ****ing 2nd year engineers are the biggest abusers of these labs at the moment.

&#231 wrote: »
    probably hated him for it? i detest him at the moment for it :P ****ing 2nd year engineers are the biggest abusers of these labs at the moment.

You see, I know exactly the type of thing CS people get up to. Do I have to mention Ivan + Baldy limerick guy + milk + Moi and Moi's friend. That said, the second years do seem rather stupid this year.

On a serious note. CS students constantly log in a **** off during lunch time locking the computer. Thats the peak time. Back in the day I used to turn the machine on and off.

the people you talk about atm arent around no more - so tis a bit of a moot point. the second years are just annoying the crap out of me though at the mo - very loud and abrasive and have no problems nicking your chair so their mate can sit down across the ****ing room

i was quite annoyed with that one.

Niel, and no offense to donal btw, your average civil engineer has the IQ of a half defrosted bag of pee's. Guys acting hte muppet are usually headed in that direction, I know how to speak to them on their level, just point them out next time I'm in the lab and we'll have words.

Btw the civil department are getting more computers this summer, so i'd imagine numbers will be way down.

Oh i ripped it out of the fella cus i was in a pisser of a mood :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

LiouVille wrote:
    your average civil engineer has the IQ of a half defrosted bag of pee's.

Ooh the ironing is delicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

&#231 wrote: »
    the people you talk about atm arent around no more - so tis a bit of a moot point. the second years are just annoying the crap out of me though at the mo.

Ah, in fairness now Neil, the 2nd year CS students are HARDLY much better. In fact I'd notice them guffawing loudly in large groups over the latest inane SA article much more than the engineers. MUCH more.

aye actually - though not my crowd - mine are quiet :)

Oh, and double bah! It didn't open until 9 o'clock today.

Because a picture was found smashed (framed in glass), the study space shall be closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I was wondering how long it would last. Some people are just jerks Mr Dónal.

Yep.

That pissses me off - i was actually using it from time to time as were other people. Dickheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

ouch, i don't suppose the place has cctv so ye can see who it was?

and wee in their tea

Yay, just received an e-mail back from Eugene McGovern, it will remain open until next Friday (26th) :)

Well, unless someone else fucks things up.

Get a lecturer to supervise lol

Just a reminder that this will be open from tomorrow (Monday the 22nd of May) to next Friday (26th of May) from 8:30am - 8:00pm. I think there was some problem with it closing an hour early on Friday, so hopefully that won't be happening again.