Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bus

• 07-05-2006 1:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭

There was a mad story on radio at 2 about a bus that was stolen in Rathcoole wreaking havoc on Naas Road. A number of cars were damaged as well as a few Garda cars. The "bus" driver was eventually arrested. Lots of traffic restrictions.

EDIT: http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0507/dublin.html

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

My brother was on the LUAS it stopped.
    He said the scene is like something out of a film, with at least one person's body completely covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Clearly influnced by that episode of The Cracker.

Shame on you Robbie Coltrane... shame!

Either that or Cliff Richard in Summer Holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

Apparently when they caught him he had an axe with him.
    Buckin loon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Caryatnid

spurious wrote:
    My brother was on the LUAS it stopped.
    He said the scene is like something out of a film, with at least one person's body completely covered.
    Covered in/by....?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,660 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Do they mean a bus as in a Dublin Bus double decker?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Caryatnid wrote:
    Covered in/by....?
    As in covered by a sheet.
    He believed she was a female cyclist.

ferdi wrote:
    Yeh, but with at least one real person in hospital!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

anyone remember the final episode of the young ones when the steal the bus and drive through a billboard of Cliff Richard and then off a cliff. Quality

by the way "A spokesperson at St James's Hospital said they have two people in Accident and Emergency with minor injuries that could be related to the stolen bus."

Yeh, but with at least one real person in hospital!
    jesus, i'm sooooooo sooooo soooorrrrrrrrryyyyy

He was my brother!!
    /sobs

And my lover!
    /sobs more

spurious wrote:
    As in covered by a sheet.
    He believed she was a female cyclist.
    Whi? Yikes. According to the rté website only one person got injured. It's not cool to be covered by a sheet if you're not dead.

**** one, rip.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2006/05/07/story257603.html

Breaking news are announcing a fatality - an elderly woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Damomanye

from BreakingNews.ie::: An elderly woman has been killed after being knocked down by a coach involved in a garda chase on the Naas dual carriageway in west Dublin today.

now RTE confirming it.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0507/dublin.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭easy_as_easy

just watching this on the news now, its pretty hard to udnerstand whats happened, the gardai car was smashed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭raheny red

Terrible news about the old lady.

There are some crazy people out there alright. Any time I'm on a bus (I know he wasn't the bus driver, just saying is all) I begin to think what if this driver has just had a **** day (trouble with the wife/husband or whatever). They could just go off on sort of rampage and cause a lot of havoc and grief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Just seen the news flash on rte there, wrecked a fair few cars, just wondering, how would you stop a stolen coach? By the looks of it the gaurds tried a road block with their car but with little success as the car ended up wrecked

so what type of bus? was it a small coach or a double decker or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Ridiculous stuff, I heard they tried to shoot the tires out. Apparently the guy hit 15 cars and three Gardai are in hospital.

Old woman killed. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Rte just said it was a coach, this has me thinking bus eireann size buses but in the clips there is a mercedes sort of mini bus so I dont know if they are calling this a coach. Still not clear.

Holy sh!t this is crap! Did this just happen like at lunch time today? That's mental. How did the guy steal the bus? That makes me so mad. The annoying thing is, that if the guy that did it is only fifteen, he'll practically get away with it, being a minor. He deserves to go down. It might be funny to rob a bus, it's not funny to kill someone. I hope he feels sick with guilt.

no RTE said he was in his 30's. Interesting to see how he did take the bus, he must have had passengers on the bus at some stage, was he just trying to make money?

Why so?

how did he get the bus? Im assuming he just walked onto one and forced the driver out, but Im also assuming its a Dublin Bus bus.

Stealing one from the bus depot. would be pretty hard to do I imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Emerson

It's a Dualway bus.. I thought I heard that it was a Dualway driver. Incidently, Dualway goes out to Rathcoole. He kept to the route, even during a chase!

no RTE said he was in his 30's.
    Thank God. I hope he goes down for ages.
    This is a crazy story. If it was in a film, you'd think it was a far-fetched story.

I spotted that on breaknews.ie but thought it was just a file photo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Caryatnid wrote:
    Thank God.

I always find it fascinating when people say that after something like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Caryatnid wrote:
    Thank God. I hope he goes down for ages.
    This is a crazy story.

Its a pity in this country life doesnt mean life.

You'd wonder about the equipment the guards have though - do they not have those spikes that you can pull out across the road and stop a vehicle?

I would have thought they'd be standard in every squad car. Cheap and effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

Shots fired?

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    I always find it fascinating when people say that after something like this.
    Why?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,660 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Do many Gardai have advanced driver training to deal with these type of situations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Im not sure about what training the Gardai have in this situation, if any. Yer man who stole the bus will probably get off anyway, plead insanity or something like that:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Peanut

Ruu wrote:
    ..Yer man who stole the bus will probably get off anyway, plead insanity or something like that:rolleyes:
    Well he'd have a pretty strong case... I mean was he just doing it for the laugh?
    Doesn't seem likely..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

What sort of training would exist for dealing with a loon who robbed a bus and is driving around wrecking everything..

true! lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭anthonymcg

Jesus, just watched that amateur footage that TV3 got. Shocking stuff. The bus was big, not like the one shown in that pic from breakingnews.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

So he stole a bus at 06.40 and 13 injuries and 1 fatality later he wasn't stopped until after 13.00? How can someone drive around Dublin in a stolen bus for over 6 hours? What were the Gardai up to for all that time?

Id a feeling that was just a random file photo, I hope RTE show the amateur footage as well, no TV3 I have!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Shocking stuff alright, It was only reported to the gardai at 12:30pm.

It Hasnt emerged yet if the detective was trying to shoot the tyres or the driver.

After he killed the woman lethal force would be considered suitable to put a stop to him.

Fair play to the Gardai for puting themselves in the path of the bus and engaging in such a dangerous persuit and capturing him. Hope all those Gardai injured are not serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

spurious wrote:
    You'd wonder about the equipment the guards have though - do they not have those spikes that you can pull out across the road and stop a vehicle?

I would have thought they'd be standard in every squad car. Cheap and effective.

They tried them, didn't work. Treads on bus tyres are very thick.

Chief--- wrote:
    Fair play to the Gardai for puting themselves in the path of the bus and engaging in such a dangerous persuit and capturing him. Hope all those Gardai injured are not serious.

what fair for the gardai for actually doing their job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Peanut wrote:
    Well he'd have a pretty strong case... I mean was he just doing it for the laugh?
    Doesn't seem likely..

Aye but hes probably more a twisted focker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Peanut

Ruu wrote:
    Aye but hes probably more a twisted focker.
    It'll be interesting to hear the circumstances. It seems a bit unusual that he worked for the bus company and wasn't just a random joyrider so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Just saw it on the news...looks pretty...bad.
    Think the driver's been playing too much Grand Theft Auto and Driver........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The chase didn't begin until about 12.30 according to the RTE news when he tried to run over the son of the bus company owner near Heuston.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Peanut wrote:
    It'll be interesting to hear the circumstances. It seems a bit unusual that he worked for the bus company and wasn't just a random joyrider so to speak.

He went postal so to speak. He may have been pissed off with society or something and decided to go on a Carmageddon-like rampage, resulting in the unfortunate death of someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

what fair for the gardai for actually doing their job?

They put themselves in harms way, didnt see you trying to stop the bus.