Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Interesting things to tell tourists about trinity

• 06-05-2006 2:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭

Okay I have a Canadian cousin coming over with his girlfriend next week. I'm going to bring them on an unofficial tour of trinity (prior to a pub crawl). I thought this might the best place to find out interesting stories about the place I can fill the tour with.

For instance a friend told me that, back in the 1800's there was a lecturer who lived in the rubrics that nobody was too fond of. The students one evening started throwing stones at his window. None too pleased about this he took a gun and fired at them. So the students, who in turn were none to pleased, went back to their respective homes and dug out their own fire-arms. The lecturer was then "mortally wounded" as this student prank turned awry.

This I think is a great story to tell them when pointing out the rubrics. Anyone able to substantiate/correct this particular story? Or anyone have any similar stories or neat little facts? Old library, book of kells etc? I know nothing about them. Cheers! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

There's always the old tradition of people not walking under the Campanile, either due to it being unlucky, or the bell will ring when a virgin walks under it!

Catholics hung from the Campanile, the old one about it legal to shoot a priest (again, Catholic) on a certain day (which varies) once done from the top of the Campanile, OH! The old about Mary Harney (allegedly) getting serviced in the GMB is always a good one. Apparently the last one is fact, though.

Charlie Haughey & other UCD'ers storming Regent House... I know you're looking for generic tales of chivalry and such, but ah sure it's all good fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Dubliniensis

ApeXaviour wrote:
    For instance a friend told me that, back in the 1800's there was a lecturer who lived in the rubrics that nobody was too fond of. The students one evening started throwing stones at his window. None too pleased about this he took a gun and fired at them. So the students, who in turn were none to pleased, went back to their respective homes and dug out their own fire-arms. The lecturer was then "mortally wounded" as this student prank turned awry.

That is indeed true and well documented! The man in question was Edward Ford, son of the Archdeacon of Derry. He was elected FTCD in 1730 and was living in House 25 (Rubrics). His rooms were directly over an arch in the middle of the Rubrics, which are now closed up. The story is that he was the Junior Dean but that wasn't the case. On 4 March 1734, a bunch of students gathered below his windows and started throwing stones, smashing his windows. Ford took a pistol and fired in the direction of the students. The students, ran off and returned with pistols (forbidden by College at the time!!) and in the wind up they ended up fatally wounding Ford and he died the same night.

Board investigated and suspicion was that a student named Cotter was the person who fired the fatal shot. Cotter had rooms near by and that evening had been hosting a piss up with 3 other students. The 4 were put on trial but a key witness absconded, identification couldn't be proved and they were acquitted! Needless to say, Board sent down Cotter and his 3 friends.
    ApeXaviour wrote:
    This I think is a great story to tell them when pointing out the rubrics. Anyone able to substantiate/correct this particular story? Or anyone have any similar stories or neat little facts? Old library, book of kells etc? I know nothing about them. Cheers! :)

I've loads of random facts about Trinity...I might post a few later if I get a chance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

The old about Mary Harney (allegedly) getting serviced in the GMB is always a good one. Apparently the last one is fact, though.

Apparently a hist fresher a few years back asked her (when she came in to speak) if the story was true; her only response was "We all do things as undergraduates". So yeah, fact. *shudder* And for that extra bit of information (it's the details that help you build up a really good/disturbing/permanently-scarring mental picture), it allegedly took place on one of the pool tables upstairs.

I had to show a few English guys around back in January; when we went to see the Book of Kells, the thing they were most interested in was the fact that a scene in the first Star Wars prequel had been filmed in the Long Library, so if that sounds like something your cousin might care about that could help.

shay_562 wrote:
    I had to show a few English guys around back in January; when we went to see the Book of Kells, the thing they were most interested in was the fact that a scene in the first Star Wars prequel had been filmed in the Long Library, so if that sounds like something your cousin might care about that could help.

http://www.irish-architecture.com/news/2002/000238.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

That'd be it alright. So 2nd Star Wars prequel and not filmed, but copied. Eh, close enough. I know little or nothing about those movies, I think they're kinda ****.

Oh, and topic: among the more entertaining of the random college legends to tell people who don't go to the college would be either the one about being allowed to shoot people from some window in the Rubrics without facing prosecution (after a Provost's son accidentally hit someone with a bow and arrow from that room) and the one about getting an automatic First for the year if you can climb the Campanile and hang on while the Provost shoots at you with a crossbow. Probably completely false, but funny all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

The catacombs under Trinity. I've been in alot of them and they're quite cool if not a little sore on the back bending down.

They bury provosts in Challoner's Corner between the Buttery ATM and the launderette... :)

Beautifully fitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

shay_562 wrote:
    Apparently a hist fresher a few years back asked her (when she came in to speak) if the story was true; her only response was "We all do things as undergraduates". So yeah, fact. *shudder* And for that extra bit of information (it's the details that help you build up a really good/disturbing/permanently-scarring mental picture), it allegedly took place on one of the pool tables upstairs.

If it's true, fair play to her.

shay_562 wrote:

The horror. The horror.
    shay_562 wrote:
    a scene in the first Star Wars prequel had been filmed in the Long Library, so if that sounds like something your cousin might care about that could help.

Not forgetting the scene in Educating Rita were Michael Caine stumbles in drunk to a lecture was shot in the Exam Hall.

That's always a good one for random factoids, the amount of stuff filmed in Trinity.

The scene in 'About Adam' when one of the sisters goes to see the play about vampires was shot in the Samuel Beckett centre. I think some of the 'Michael Collins' was filmed in Trinity too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

shay_562 wrote:

*shudders* *can't stop*

The Treaty debates scenes from Michael Collins where filmed in Trinity. And also the Star Wars thing was very popular with my American cousins when I told them... now I have to show Yanks round Trinity when they come to Ireland in the summer :rolleyes:

/makes note to dig up this thread beforehand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

Ag marbh wrote:
    The catacombs under Trinity. I've been in alot of them and they're quite cool if not a little sore on the back bending down.

catacombs? are they under front square?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Harney had sex on one of the snooker tables back when she was heavily involved in the Hist(She was the first female Auditor)

It's all recorded in the minutes books in the Hist, there were jokes made about it for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭nutball

PHB wrote:
    heavily involved
    That's a pretty unfortunate turn of phrase.

PHB wrote:
    Harney had sex on one of the snooker tables back when she was heavily involved in the Hist(She was the first female Auditor)

It's all recorded in the minutes books in the Hist, there were jokes made about it for years.

Somehow i doubt she's the only Hist auditor to have ever done so. It's one of the perks of society committee-ing, the keys to a room on campus for 'meetings'.

Ape, if they're any way scientific minded you can always show them the Schrodinger lecture theatre,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭MrSinn

It would be interesting if you told them that this place is full of middle to upper class kids that most likely end up working for the government in one form or another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Yes, with his physics degree he'll certainly end up being a civil servant..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Point out any begrudgers as well who suggest with more than a whiff of arrogance that socio-economic background is the over-riding entrance pre-requisite to the College, despite what would appear the empirical evidence of the users of this board...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

It would be funny if i looked over your previous posts and decided that you're nothing but a troll in relation to the trinity forum....OH WAIT!.

banned until you can argue a reason why you should be allowed back in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭MrSinn

Pet wrote:
    Yes, with his physics degree he'll certainly end up being a civil servant..
    yea it should get him or her into the dept of agriculture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Point out any begrudgers as well who suggest with more than a whiff of arrogance that socio-economic background is the over-riding entrance pre-requisite to the College, despite what would appear the empirical evidence of the users of this board...
    You callin' me a povver, hack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

....povver. :)

:( I don't understand this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Trinity has just unveiled the Samuel Beckett stone/plaque (beside the entrance to House 39) - it's good luck to rub it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

It took me nearly three hours to give my girlfriend a guided tour of Trinity: I was inserting so many stories, "factoids", traditions, historical nuggets, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Cinamon Girl

I used to work as a secretary in Trinity and was also a part-time student there. I was in an office with the Registrar's secretary who kept a flick knife in her drawer to eat her morning apple with. But when the Registrar ticked her off she would wave it around threatening all sorts!!
    It was nice in the summer though as there was a glass door looing out onto the Provost's garden and the Provost's cat would wander in for titbits from the mad woman mentioned above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

That is indeed true and well documented! The man in question was Edward Ford, son of the Archdeacon of Derry. He was elected FTCD in 1730 and was ...
    Hey cheers man, that's perfect :)
    Hermione* wrote:
    The Treaty debates scenes from Michael Collins where filmed in Trinity. And also the Star Wars thing was very popular with my American cousins when I told them...
    Yes I'll have to mention that, thanks to the person who posted the link to the star wars lib pics :). Also for anyone who is interested, a film called The Blue Max had a lot of footage filmed in trinity (I think which was supposed to be WWI berlin).
    catacombs? are they under front square?
    Yeah where abouts are they? Are these the tunnels crash and lego-head were taking pictures of?
    Cuckoo wrote:
    Ape, if they're any way scientific minded you can always show them the Schrodinger lecture theatre
    Unfortunately they're not. My cuz is a professional ice-hockey player (plays for the hannover indians) and his girlfriend is the speechwriter for the governor of wisconsin. So my summation of trinity's scientific achievements will be "You know the first person to split the atom was Irish? Yeah he was a student and professor here." Actually im not sure, is that something you arts heads know?
    europerson wrote:
    It took me nearly three hours to give my girlfriend a guided tour of Trinity: I was inserting so many stories, "factoids", traditions, historical nuggets, etc
    Examples matt please? :)

ApeXaviour wrote:
    So my summation of trinity's scientific achievements will be "You know the first person to split the atom was Irish? Yeah he was a student and professor here." Actually im not sure, is that something you arts heads know?
    Of course it is!
    Examples matt please? :)
    Well, most have been given already: I probably just drew things out a bit! I'm really not a very good person to ask. Ask Enda: he'll know a lot more than I do!

There are some great books in the library about College too. You'll find them in the Education section. They have great stories about the characters from College's past, etc.

ApeXaviour wrote:

Unfortunately they're not. My cuz is a professional ice-hockey player (plays for the hannover indians) and his girlfriend is the speechwriter for the governor of wisconsin.

wildly off topic: i did a J1 in Madison, Wisconsin. Beautiful place, lovely people and lovely cheese and ice cream - it's real dairy country. Well, dairy and corn fields.

europerson wrote:
    There are some great books in the library about College too. You'll find them in the Education section. They have great stories about the characters from College's past, etc.

Trinity College Dublin - the First 400 Years by JV Luce is a good one to start with.
    http://www.tcd.ie/Library/Shop/product.php?productID=654

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

If you're browsing, go to the Lecky lower floor, and near to the entrance to the Ussher, locate 378.415 (it's in the back of the first row on your right as you enter the Lecky from the Ussher). That's University education -- Ireland, and most of the main books about Trinity are there.

I'd strongly recommend you trawl 'RB McDowell: Encounters with a Legend' (order from Stacks: PL-390-725 or PL-390-726) - the anecdotes include some of the more common ones (e.g. right to alcohol during exams) as well as some new ones. It's very readable/skimmable if you just want some stories rather than a lengthy academic history.

The most complete collection, actually, is located in 'behind counter reference' in the Berkeley - note, this is NOT the 'counter reserve' section that people are more familiar with. You can't browse this section - you have to fill out a docket and ask for it at the counter, but you'll get it on the spot. As well as all the various versions of the college statutes etc (hi Myth!), there are various histories, such as:

McDowell and Webb, Trinity College Dublin: an academic history (1592-1952) - B/C REF 378.415 M2*1
    Luce (see above) B/C REF 378.415 N22

Isn't there a (holy?) well buried under the Nassau street entrance?

Right well, what can I think of....

Answering Thirdfox's question, as you enter the Nassau St. gate, (well actually as you turn to enter the gate; directly from the entrance there is a fence, then a wall, then a fence - it's the fence nearest the road) look down to what you think would be the sewer on the Grafton St. side. You will see a little cubby into the underworld of Nassau St., perhaps with a few syringes beside it. That's the holy well of Nassau Street, which I believe is origin of the street name.

Furthermore, look to the right to view the service yard area between Nassau St. and the Ussher library. Rumour has it three young gents by names of Angry Banana, Europerson and b.ie_curious (soon to make a dramatic entrance, methinks) stole a desk from the Arts Block and studied hypothesis testing out there.

Entering the Arts Block you are greeted with the Douglas Hyde Gallery, named after Dr. Dubhghlas de hÍde, alumnus extraordinaire (his grades were pretty awe-inspiring), the first President of Ireland, founding member of the Gaelic League and advocate of Irish culture, and defeated applicant to the post of the Head of Irish in the College because of said activity in the Gaelic League. Hyde, born in Roscommon but a Leitrim man at heart (Hyde Stores in the town of Mohill should clarify this) was the son of Church of Ireland rector; and studied divinity for quite some time. His two elder brothers also studied in Trinity and thus Douglas was refused access to the College as a sizar (distinct from a pensioner, which most all of us are - the reason for this factoid is for a rant on sizarships. Basically, fee-paying students are deemed pensioners of the College and sit below Scholars in the hierarchy. Students of "small means" but educational merit can become sizars and get Commons free - however they must do so at the expense to their hirearchical order: sizars are below pensioners in the food chain. Incidentally, when people claim there hasn't been social progress in the last century and hark on about the good old days I tend to think of this.)

Enough about Doug. Passing the DHG brings you to the BESS office. BESS was the best faculty of the College until circa last year, with such prominent graduates as Michael O'Leary, David MacWilliams, Mary Harney, Pat Cox, Michael O'Leary, Richard Bruton, the keyboardist in The Thrills, Michael O'Leary and, of course, Andrew Payne. However more recently BESS has suffered a dramatic series of assaults by unknown Professors, thought to be living in Number 1 Grafton Street. Investigations by the UN, much like those carried out in Sudan and Rwanda, have concluded it's not genocide but merely a civil war.

You then have the Arts Block, the ugliest building in College. Enough said.

Stepping out past the ramp into Fellows' Square you are greeted with the Book of Kells, housed in the Old Library. Found by the Germans in 1904, the Old Library translats into Irish as "the whale's vagina". You know, when in Rome. The arches on the ground floor of the Library actually were arches when constructed; as College is so close to the Liffey the building stood on stilts to protect it from flooding. Star Wars; we all know that. As well as holding the Book of Kells and an original 1916 Proclamation, it holds the 'Brian Boru' harp which dates to c. 1600; several centuries after Brian Boru's death. This harp, the national emblem of Ireland and thus (at this point get your coins out) embedded on all our national documents and mint, is also Ireland's oldest harp.

Looking over Fellows' Square, one sees the Berekely Library. Despite its awesome amount of awfulness, it's regarding in architecture circles as a bit of a landmark. It was, apparantly, Ireland's first building made entirely out of concrete. Now I don't know how verifiable these claims are; they're based entirely on a group of German students whose only knowledge of the College of the Holy and Undivided Trinity of the Most Serene Queen Elizabeth near Dublin (quickly [i.e. two paragraphs later] renamed the College of the Holy and Most Undivided Trinity of Queen Elizabeth near Dublin) was of this monstrosity.

To the west of Fellows' Square and behind the Postgraduate Reading Room is the College four hundreth anniversary (quartercentenary) commemoration tree of 1992. I have a bone to pick with this tree. It celebrates, as does College, the birthday sometime in April. Now in my mind the College's birthday is March 3rd, as that was when the seal of Serena (see above) was stamped founding a body corporate of Fellows and Scholars. (Er, that means the Charter was stamped on March 3rd). Nonetheless, it's nice.

The 1937 Postgrad Reading Room was opened by Eamon 'Longfellow' Fenian guttersnipe de Valera, a former student of the College. As ISAW informed us before, it is one of at least three area of remembrance of the Great War. We no allowed in there cause we just undergraddies and we not degree have yet.

PS: as yer walking into Front Square beside the 1937 stop at the back door of the Old Library. Behind that big heavy door is a massive painting of the Battle of Kinsale. No wonder the door is so heavy, let's not let anyone see that!

Unto Parliament ("Front") and Library Square we go; clockwise from the Exam Hall, round by Front Arch and over the the Chapel. Not much of note, except for the American tourists who entered the Exam Hall during Schols thinking it was Kelly's book. Ooh except for perhaps House 4. Dónal very keenly noted that a University Reading Society was approved by board in (I think, and I'm not going to check anytime soon) 1839 which was to be given board in House 4. As it was approved by Board, one could argue it needed to be dissolved by Board, which I don't think occured, and thus it may still exist. However, resurrection is going to be difficult. A bit like the Stonecutters, you have to be nominated for membership by a current member.

Yes, there are a system of tunnels under Front Square. They are seperate from the tunnels under New Square, outside Ronny's gaf. There are, in fact, at least two wine cellars. One is in front of the Dining Hall (see below, I'm sure I'll mention it, ah feck it I'll do it in this paragraph) which is accessible from the stairs to the Senior Lecturers' Common Room in the room (under lock and key) to the right of the foyer of the Dining Hall. The other, less used (and presumably more valuable) selection of wine is accessible from Chalinder's corner beside the ATM at the Buttery. So back to the Dining Hall. College Catering is headed by Eugene McGovern (M.A.) who's been with the company since 1991, originally as the Purchasing Manager. Eugene, thought to be a hit with the ladies, is said to have the unusual ability to never look anyone in the eye while serving them. This is thought to be a turn-on for many of the Catering staff, but our dear Theresa of the Dining Hall variety is true and loyal to her husband. Theresa, originally hailing from around Avoca in Wicklow, moved to Dublin while married and has (iirc) three children. Preliminary investigations suggest none of them have ever studied in the College.

Swiveling round to the Campanile (or as Pat Kenny pronounced it, Campa-nee-lay). The four horsemen (hehe) stand for the four original faculties. It has two bells. This, arguably, is the building in College to benefit least from the EU-funded College Sandblasting Action Plan (CSAP). Take, for example, the Exam Hall. Look at how much better it is now. I have a photo in an encyclopedia my dad bought in the '60s of the GMB, and it was filthy! The stone most of the buildings in Trinity were built in have a certain chemical in them (I don't do science) which makes them unclean far quicker than, say, the Bank of Ireland. I say we need a College Cillit Bang Action Plan, with Barry Scott to head the team.

The GMB is most famous for the displaying the slogan "Your Ma" during this year. This, it is said, is also the work of one Angry Banana (op. cit) without the prior knowledge and consent of his two colleagues in the first event of his College-take on Fight Club's Operation Mayhem. The plan to photograph Matt the Jap on the trampoline in the Provost's garden were rudely cut short by Board's approval of the renovation of the stables. Damn construction sites. Aside from "Your Ma", the GMB is accepted as one of the most important Gothic(-esque) buildings in the country. It is also the adopted home of Matteo "the Jappeo" Matubara, who seems to live off a local salary of €20 from Joe O'Gorman to piss off every Tuesday. I need not speak all of the tales of Matt. I'm sure the Law Class photo of 2005 will do the job.

And I'm bored at this stage so I will end with the Rubrics, already known for it s murder. The Rubrics is the oldest building in College being built in 1701. Now that's a helluva long time. Think about it, that's 75 years older than the USA, a good two centuries older than Canada. (They got indepenence just a wee bit before us, didn't they?) When Wolfe Tone was knocking around, that dirty Prod from the GMB he was, that building was pretty much 100 years old. It is also said to be the coldest place in Ireland, but that's just by me.

So that's enough from me for now! I'm off to the economics thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭gilroyb

^^^ great post, very impressed how people find these things out. Some of the issues raised remind me of issues a friend of mine in college has regularly brought up. I'll have to look around the who's who thread and see if I can spot a connection.

I'm not sure if it's been mentioned before, but Newstalk did one of their 'Hidden Dublin' series on campus. It's available on podcast through iTunes. I haven't listened to it in a good while, but I think it has some interesting stories about the 'main' half of campus (it doesn't make it past the museum building).

People, don't forget the newest attraction... unveiled at House 39 - the magical Samuel Beckett stone! Rub it for exam luck! (I have rubbed it vigorously many times to test out this hypothesis...)

^^^ Give that man a job with Trinity Tours.

Enda's post is just hilarious, yet factually accurate. Ah, hypothesis testing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott

MrSinn wrote:
    yea it should get him or her into the dept of agriculture

Have you considered some sort of English course, at all? Not one in Trinity, I mean, naturally. :)

Thirdfox wrote:
    Isn't there a (holy?) well buried under the Nassau street entrance?
    Yes, the 'Yellow' Holy Well, which miraculously replenishes itself every weekend.

I must check out the 1937, since when was it made Post-Grad only?

Always reminded me of the tardis - much bigger on the inside than it looks on the outside.

And a little OT, you might bring your tourist friends to see the original preserved Irish House of Lords in the BOI across the road in the old parliment buildings. I heard it's really something to see. BOI allow public access, but don't shout about it as they are legally obliged to open it for public viewing but don't want to encourage streams of tourists into a working bank environment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭RDM_83

Haven't seen it but part of Educating Rita was also filmed in the Botany Lecture Theatre (which I will hopefully see the last of this week,damn two years of wooden benches).Also heard that when they were building the Usher they unearthed a few skeletons because it was on the site of a old anatomy department burial ground/dump

Human remains and (if I remember correctly!) camel remains!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Eugene McGovern (M.A.) who's been with the company since 1991, originally as the Purchasing Manager. Eugene, thought to be a hit with the ladies,

Swiveling round to the Campanile (or as Pat Kenny pronounced it, Campa-nee-lay).
    LMAO!! :D (at both of them).

Cheers enda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

That's the holy well of Nassau Street, which I believe is origin of the street name.

Not quite. The street was originally named after the well, rather than the other way round as you suggest. It's called St. Patrick's well, and thus Nassau Street was originally called St. Patrick's Well Lane. The Street was renamed in the 1700s, after the Royal House of Nassau. The well actually dried up in 1729
    with such prominent graduates as Michael O'Leary, David MacWilliams, Mary Harney, Pat Cox, Michael O'Leary, Richard Bruton, the keyboardist in The Thrills, Michael O'Leary and, of course, Andrew Payne.

RAOTFLMAO
    College Catering is headed by Eugene McGovern (M.A.) who's been with the company since 1991, originally as the Purchasing Manager. Eugene, thought to be a hit with the ladies, is said to have the unusual ability to never look anyone in the eye while serving them.

Eugene never 'serves' anyone; you're thinking of the man who I think is actually called Patrick. Eugene's job covers a hell of a lot, but not actually working as a server in the Buttery. His office is in the Dining Hall complex.
    Swiveling round to the Campanile (or as Pat Kenny pronounced it, Campa-nee-lay).

That's not inaccurate. That is one of the accepted ways that you can pronounce Campanile. Most people seem to pronounce it campa-neele, although Americans seems to favour campa-nee-lee.
    The stone most of the buildings in Trinity were built in have a certain chemical in them (I don't do science) which makes them unclean far quicker than, say, the Bank of Ireland.

This is a bit pedantic, but I'm pretty certain that the BoI on College Green is made of similar materials, as I vaguely remember it being very dirty when I was a kid, but then being magically cleaned up one day, in the same way that the Chapel, Exam Hall, front facade etc all were.

stargal wrote:
    This is a bit pedantic, but I'm pretty certain that the BoI on College Green is made of similar materials, as I vaguely remember it being very dirty when I was a kid, but then being magically cleaned up one day, in the same way that the Chapel, Exam Hall, front facade etc all were.
    Hmmm... sand-blasting...

stargal wrote:
    Not quite. The street was originally named after the well, rather than the other way round as you suggest. It's called St. Patrick's well, and thus Nassau Street was originally called St. Patrick's Well Lane. The Street was renamed in the 1700s, after the Royal House of Nassau. The well actually dried up in 1729
    Sorry, you mis-read me. I meant the street got its name from the well. We finally agree on something :D.
    Eugene never 'serves' anyone; you're thinking of the man who I think is actually called Patrick. Eugene's job covers a hell of a lot, but not actually working as a server in the Buttery. His office is in the Dining Hall complex.
    Ouh, europerson was right!
    That's not inaccurate. That is one of the accepted ways that you can pronounce Campanile. Most people seem to pronounce it campa-neele, although Americans seems to favour campa-nee-lee.
    Yeah, it was more a comment on the face of Prof. Kennelly when he said it though!
    Yep, that's pedantic. And also incorrect :P. Yep the BoI was dirty and got a clean like we did at around the same time. But look at the buildings in Front Square, they're dirtier than BoI (and are more sheltered from pollution?). The difference is some chemical or something. I can't remember; I suppose it's a bit like the difference between hard water and soft water. Ask my mammy. Trinty gets dirty quicker than BoI, and both are relatively easy to clean.

P.S. Born in the US of A?! :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

stargal wrote:

A ha, your actually wrong. the cleaning of the BOI took years, or at the very least several months, not a day. A friend of my fathers, long dead, worked on the cleaning crew.

LiouVille wrote:
    A ha, your actually wrong. the cleaning of the BOI took years, or at the very least several months, not a day. A friend of my fathers, long dead, worked on the cleaning crew.

Sorry, I actually meant that because I only got brought into town on special occasions when I was a kid that I noticed everything that had changed - so when I saw BoI was clean, it could have months earlier, it's just that I hadn't been around to see it! It'd be pretty incredible if it had been done in just one day!

Christine I humbly accept that you were correct in everything that you said and bow down to you in awe. Bravo.
    Thanks Enda, that's decent of you to say
    P.S. Born in the US of A?! :D.

Yes. They taught me how to kill the yellow man. Good times.