Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pregnant or Not???

• 05-05-2006 11:55am

There been a lot of speculation in the media lately (more so than usual) as to whether or not Britney (as well as several other celebrities) is up the duff

again I was just thinking yesterday if she is then fair play if not , you can be sure she feels so great about the whole thinking it!:o

Wouldn’t it be completely embarrassing someone accusing you of being pregnant if you weren’t?
    Has anyone ever done this accidentally accused someone of being pregnant when they aren’t or said congratulations or something else along that line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

I think the bigger question is; why should *anyone* care?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

I'm sure someone does

....tumble weed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

C'mon now CoolSmileyGirl, surely there's more important things on your mind?!

What about the front page of the Herald AM; Grainne Seoige leaving Sky News and going to RTE... OMG now that's alot more noteworthy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭RotalicaV

My younger sister works in a hair salon, one of the girls there (not the smartest girl in the world) once asked a large lady whome had just sat down to get her hair done.. "when are you due?"

The big bird went nuts and left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭ChityWest

I have seen that in films and on Tv and I have said to one person about another to find out that the other person wasnt actually preggers.
    Never actually said that to the person who looked pregnant though - soo dodged that one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Don't know if it's true, but apparently some journo asked Britney recently if she was up the damien to which she replied "no, I'm just fat". :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Wouldn’t it be completely embarrassing someone accusing you of being pregnant if you weren’t?
    Has anyone ever done this accidentally accused someone of being pregnant when they aren’t or said congratulations or something else along that line?

Since when did being pregnant become something you are "accused" of?
    It's really not a crime, even if you are a celebrity.

To charge with a shortcoming or error.
    To charge formally with a wrongdoing.
    To make a charge of wrongdoing against another.

Anyway, my GF used to work in Mama's and Papa's and she said to one woman

"So when's your baby due? Looks to be soon if you ask me"
    The woman replied

"I had my baby 2 months ago"......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

My friend in work has been asked twice or three times in the past year or two whether she was pregnant, or she was simply congratulated..
    The poor girl gets awful upset by it as she's been really trying to losing weight and then when this happens it really gets to her.
    I'd say if you aren't certain that someone is pregnant, don't say anything to them as it can be quite a hurtful question when they aren't.

Sleipnir wrote:
    Since when did being pregnant become something you are "accused" of?
    It's really not a crime, even if you are a celebrity.

To charge with a shortcoming or error.
    To charge formally with a wrongdoing.
    To make a charge of wrongdoing against another.

Anyway, my GF used to work in Mama's and Papa's and she said to one woman

"So when's your baby due? Looks to be soon if you ask me"
    The woman replied

"I had my baby 2 months ago"......

If someone said that to me , i would just die!
    I worked in a clothes shop a couple of years ago and a friend of mine was convinced that another one of the girls was pregnant and was spreading rumours around for months!!
    Now I admit I suspected it myself since she had confessed to me earlier in the year that pulling out was the only method of contraceptive her and her fella used and she had def gained a boob size and had a belly that was noticeable but I knew she wouldn’t be knocking back the vodka like she was if she knew she was pregnant
    It all came out in the end turns out the girl had went on the pill and put on weight and gained big boobs and she said told us another girl in the shop was actually 4 months pregnant and how had she missed her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Winters wrote:

Im with you, cant understand peoples being so obsessed with celebrities atm at all. I just dont get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭RotalicaV

Handbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Winters wrote:

i subscribe to your way of thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

RotalicaV wrote:
    Handbags.

Oooh Errr. *gets out pepper spray*

http://www.sky.com/showbiz/article/0,,50002-1216794,00.html

its articles like this that feed our noseyiness
    Not only about our celeb pregnancys but our neighbour's, friends etc there's always speculation if someone is seen having a "fat" day that they might be having a baby?
    But being wrongly suspected would be the worst, i'd say for anyone! or even wrongly suspecting and then saying it to the person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

one of the famous comedians summed this up before "never assume a woman is pregnant unless you can actually see a baby coming out of her".

Britney looks pregnant if shes not shes certainly let herself go. she used to look fantastic before she went near that federline eejit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

I remember meeting some distant friend of my girlfriend before when we were out and I was p****ed drunk. The girl had a fair size belly on her and she already had a kid, now I don't know why, but I held my tongue (something I never do drunk). Only when she was gone was I informed that the girl just had a *ahem* fat gut.

The biggest ever sh1t that was close ensued.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Young people today...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

What goes in and out of Britney Spears vagina is noones business but her own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Alli Babba

It happened to me I put a bit of weight on and it was mainly on my tummy but uit didnt bother me until some1 I wasnt fond of went out of their way to ask if I was pregnanent.
    I was annoyed that they said it to my face as I wouldnt do that but wat can u do
    Needless to say wen I told her I wasnt she was mortified ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Better to say nothing no matter what you suspect.

Tbh, a pregnant belly looks quite different to a fat one - it's solid rather than flabby and has a pretty distinctive shape. And people gain weight suddenly for all sorts of reasons so it's not even worth specualtion if sb who has gained a bit of weight is pregnant imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

A couple of days before my mother gave birth to my youngest brother one of the neighbours who hadn't seen her in a month or so, came running up to ask her if she'd had a boy or a girl. She was shocked when my mum told her she hadn't given birth yet. My mum was enormously flattered.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Ah when my first son arrived our next door neighbour asked if we were babysitting. When we said "ah no, he's ours" she nearly collapsed saying that she never had an idea that my girlfriend was pregnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

Why does *anyone* still care about that pop queen hasbeen(or any celeb for that matter?)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

im locked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

Winters wrote:
    im locked!

Oh snap!

Party in mine dude, come on over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Darz0re

Winters wrote:

Quoting for truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Winters wrote:
    Because some people are so brain dead and/or live such boring lives that they've nothing better to do than comment on the banal happenings in some retarded z-list celebrity's life.