Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Law against parking trucks in housing estates - Fingal

• 05-05-2006 9:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭

I was pretty sure there was a law against parking trucks in housing estates but now can't find any reference to this anywhere. I live in Fingal.

Can someone please recommend what I should do about someone regularly parking a huge truck in my estate. It's causing a safety hazard.

I'd like recommendations from people that have been through this, specifically in Fingal rather than "call the Gaurds" which I have thought of already and which I will do if all else fails (they have enough to be dealing with aside from this so I'd like to avoid going to them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Devon

Can't park a vehicle more than 3500kg in a residential estate. A guy across the street from me had his clamped for this much to my amazement. Didn't think the clampers were allowed to come out to D10 but there you go. Complain to the council and your boy will have a nice yellow boot on his wheel in a few days' time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Best bet is either to give Fingal county council a call and find out.
    (01) 890 5000 or www.fingalcoco.ie

An ex-neighbour in Malahide used to do this. Afaik, he didn't get pulled up over being a hazard to small children in the area, but for cracking paths / kerbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭m_stan

Contacted Fingal and they were very helpful. Unfortunatly since the estate is not in the charge of the council yet, there is nothing they can do.

Looks like I'll have to go to the Gardai about it. Pains me to do that, but I have genuine concerns about safety. This guys is seen reversing this huge truck around corners every morning to weave his way out of the estate. There are lots of kids around and I shudder to think what could happen.

Other truck drivers have the decency and the cop on to park out on the main road and walk into the estate if they are parking overnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

m_stan wrote:
    Looks like I'll have to go to the Gardai about it. Pains me to do that, but I have genuine concerns about safety.

I wouldn't worry about it too much tbh. As Devon said, they might have the truck clamped. He doesn't seem to realise /care, so a wake-up call is in order. If he doesn't have the consideration to park it outside the estate, then I doubt a friendly request from neighbour to neigbour would work. If you went to the gardai about it, at least your request remains anon and official.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

If their is a company name or phone number on the truck phone the company.
    Ask to speak to their transport or logistics manager and tell them your concerns and the drivers behaviour. If their is no livery on the truck, ask around your neighbours. It shouldn't be too hard to find out.
    If he's an owner/driver then your only options are the guards or your residents association (if their is one).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

have you not asked the guy about it.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Complain to whoever the Managing Agents are for the Estate. Let them deal with it. If you are renting, speak to your landlord and get him/her to do it. I assume its a modern private housing develpment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭m_stan

County Council can't get involved
    Have only seen the guy from a distance and haven't had a chance to approach him
    No management company
    No name on the truck. All I have is a reg
    No residents association
    I'm not renting

I'll either approach the guy or ask the Gardai about it in a gently gently kinda way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

If there is no management company, the developer is probably still responsbile for the estate. Mention the insurance risk and he might do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Some clown on my estate has abandoned a 94 ford escort, flat tyres all round. No tax / insurance on it and I said it to the council. They then told me they needed to write to the last registered owner before they could move it. They can came back and said that the owner would fix the flat tyres.....ehhh WTF? So what ! What about bringing the piece of shoite to the dump?? Just cos he offered to pump up his tyres doesnt escape the fact the car is dumped on a public road :mad:

Where to next? Anybody got any experience on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭b3n

Sizzler wrote:
    Some clown on my estate has abandoned a 94 ford escort, flat tyres all round. No tax / insurance on it and I said it to the council. They then told me they needed to write to the last registered owner before they could move it. They can came back and said that the owner would fix the flat tyres.....ehhh WTF? So what ! What about bringing the piece of shoite to the dump?? Just cos he offered to pump up his tyres doesnt escape the fact the car is dumped on a public road :mad:

I understand its a pain in the backside but everyone deserves the right to have their car parked on the public road, all be it a heap of junk or a shiney 06 merc.

My advice would be to keep pressure on the council but do so after waiting a while to see what comes of it, does he fix the car etc. He has , as do you, the right to park his car there, if its an eyesore you just have to put up with it and go through the proper channels.

Also if the council don't seem to be making a move on it, email or ring your local councillor and ask them to make respresentations on your behalf. But the time is the factor, you have to give the guy time to fix his car etc. Ya know yourself.

My tupponce anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Call the gardai. Theres a law banning anything over 3 tonnes in housing estates unless making a delivery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

The guy across the road from me (i think) fixes cars or something, but he has 15 cars parked on the paths on his side of the road, across the other side of the road and on the adjacent main road. And whenever people come to see him they park in front of our driveways so we can't get out.
    *Argh*
    I think he should get a premises cos 15 cars and a recovery truck is pushing it.
    Probably nothing i can do about it, its just incredibly rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Sizzler wrote:

This one is pretty simple actually. Assuming he's abandoned it and it's not a runner, he won't be keeping it taxed. It's an offence not to posess & display a tax disc for any private vehicle in a public place, even if the vehicle isn't moving. The Gardai are the folks to call for this one.

For the truck, it's tricky as the state hasn't been taken in charge. to my knowledge there is no law prohibiting ANY type of vehicle from entering/parking in any type of housing estate. A by-law is most probably what people are thinking of. This is passed by the local council and they'll have to erect 3 tonne parking restriction signs at the entrance to the state to make it enforcable. I live in Fingal and my estate had a problem with them and that was what happened, but the estate was taken in charge decades ago! Messy, the developer might well be the way to go for now, AFTER you've approached the owner/driver of course!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Sizzler wrote:

Ring the Gardai get them to issue tickets.

Its an offence to have a car on a public road not displaying current tax and insurance disks.

After a few tickets yer man should move it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

The guy across the road from me (i think) fixes cars or something, but he has 15 cars parked on the paths on his side of the road, across the other side of the road and on the adjacent main road. And whenever people come to see him they park in front of our driveways so we can't get out.
    *Argh*
    I think he should get a premises cos 15 cars and a recovery truck is pushing it.
    I'd say there's a lot you can do about it. He's running a business from a private address. He could be in breach of a number of regulations there, not least a failure to pay business rates to the council! remember, businesses still have to pay rates. The council should be interested in his activities and if necessary a by-law can be passed placing parking restrictions on the area. You mention his parking vehicles near a junction? There are minimum distances you must park from a junction. I think it's 5m. It's an offence to block any private entrance onto a public road too AFAIK, so the Gardai should be called whenever that happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Sizzler wrote:

If a car has no number plates on it is deemed abandoned ( within Dublin City Council areas anyway) . Sneek out at night and remove them then call the COuncil and report it as abandoned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭b3n

murphaph wrote:
    This one is pretty simple actually. Assuming he's abandoned it and it's not a runner, he won't be keeping it taxed. It's an offence not to posess & display a tax disc for any private vehicle in a public place, even if the vehicle isn't moving. The Gardai are the folks to call for this one.

Not as simple as that, if you own your car and its sitting outside your house with no tax you have the right to keep it there. The Gardai are the people to call but in the end just because he hasn't got his tax up to date doesnt give the council the right to remove the car.

To Johnny Rotten : Even if the plates are missing the council still have to write to the last legally registered owner of the car, ive heard of chassis numbers and all sorts being resorted to, they cant just remove it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dermot_sheehan

*Argh*

Change of material use of premises, contact council planning dept. and see if he got planning permission, if not get them to serve an enforcement notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

Call the gardai. Theres a law banning anything over 3 tonnes in housing estates unless making a delivery

love to know where as i need the reference!

seanin4711 wrote: »
    love to know where as i need the reference!

Thread is 7 years old.

Perhaps try the legal discussion forum? Legal advice is not permitted so please read their charter before posting.