Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airport Police

• 03-05-2006 11:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭

Have been thinking about getting out of IT and given that my dad worked in the airport for years, I thought about joining the airport police.
    I've looked on the airport website but can't find any info on the job specs/recruitment process.

Can anyone point me in the direction of some info ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Not wanting to sound too cheeky, but its usually printed on their jackets.

Either that, or ring Dublin Airport (01 814 1111), and ask what company does the airport use for securtiy. Say that you're looking for a job there. You'll proberly be told the company name, and a telephone number for them.

Failing that, you could just ring the airport police (01 814 4300), and ask where could you send in a cv.

http://www.dublinairport.com/contact/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭odarallo

they only hire like every 4 years or so and christmas this year was the last time the hired.

Give em a shout, if they are recruiting it will be advertised in the papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

to clairfy Airport Police are different from Airport Security.
    Within the Airport, Airport Police have the same rights of arrest/search etc as Garda. They have the same rank structure as Garda. In other countries Airport Police/Regular Police are normally the same with the Airport Police station just anothere regular station.
    Airport Security are just the same as any other security as you would get in a shop they cannot arrest/search you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Andrew_M

the_syco wrote:

Either that, or ring Dublin Airport (01 814 1111), and ask what company does the airport use for securtiy. Say that you're looking for a job there. You'll proberly be told the company name, and a telephone number for them.

Failing that, you could just ring the airport police (01 814 4300), and ask where could you send in a cv.

http://www.dublinairport.com/contact/

The airport police, are not a security compant like MCM, Top-Secuity etc. They are a highly trained police force like the Gardai, except that their powers are confined to the air and landside boundaries of the airport. They are appointed powers by the minister for justice, unlike a security guard.

It's a fanatsic job in regards money, it's better paid than the gardai. The training is excellent. They are also fully trained fire-fighters, hence the full name, Airport Police/Fire Service (APF) So if you couldnt decide between a fireman or a garda, then this is the perfect job for you.

The downside to the job from my perspective is interest. There is alot of boring work involved in it (as in every job i guess). For example being on patrol on the RAMP at night(QUIET, VERY QUIET). Also being on the forecourt on a busy sunday morning, hectic to say the least.

If you're interested Cork Airport will be recruiting in September, another way of getting in is through job progression, by joining the Airport Search Unit, (ASU) they are the people who screen you and you hand luggage as you enter the departures hall, recently alot of APF have been hand picked from here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Sgt Slaughter

You sure there is no difference between Airport Police and Airport Fire Service? Didnt know that myself i thought they were two different services. Are they really better paid than the guards? Id have thought they werent, and i heard powers of arrest were minimal and similar to security guards as they can only hold u until a guard arrives? Also, is there a garda station or presence at the airport aswel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Litcagral

Yes, there is an Airport Police station and a Garda Station.

The Airport police station is located in the terminal building on the arrivals road beside the taxi rank. (Tel. 8144300).

The Airport Garda Station (callsign Hotel Delta) is located further over, near the old terminal building. ( Tel.6664950).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

I too understood that their powers were much more limited even on the airport grounds when compared to the guards.

Surely thats the reason for the Guarda station at the Airport?

Plus I've heard they hate each others guts.

I can only speak for Cork airport, but APF do policing and firefighting. Yes they are better paid than gardai and they have the same powers of arrest as a garda, within the airport grounds, at present they are being given increased powers, such as on the spot fines.

As for APF and Gardai hating each other, thats a bit of a childish comment and a slight generalisation, sure they have to deal with each other everyday, when handing over detainees, so they must have a professional relationship.

As for a Garda presence at Cork Airport, emigration control is the only garda presence, but there are several garda stations within a close rasius.

I can try dig out the pay scales if anyone is interested

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Well I wouldnt go that far, I know the Airport Police have no authority over regular Gardai but regular Gardai do have authority over Airport police, so thats bound to cause tension sometimes.

I know a few gardai alright, one of whom used to be based in Swords and was out in the airport regularly and always found the guys in the airport police fairly sound. There was always one or two who has issues with the Gardai coming onto their "turf" but apart from them few he had no problems with them whatsoever.

I think the "issues" between gardai and airport police gets blown completely out of proportion sometimes.

Tox

Yes i dont think they hate each other now in fairness. But wasnt the reason that the garda station was put in the airport because the airport police couldnt do the job. They have less powers aswel, a lot less even in the airport than guards. Would be a nice job, especially with the firefighting element, but without being disrespectful they are below guards and not on a level playing field as is the case in other countries. If they were id say i would have applied. Wouldnt mind seeing a comparison of pay if anyone has one

Well as for APF pay, i couldnt find an up to date scale, but i know that an APF sargent at the top of his scale will earn 65k basic, i know of one APF whos in the job 6 years, that earned 100k last year, in saying that, the guy practically lived at work for the year, he was saving for a house, and said it was worth doing every bit of O/T possible for 12months.

I personally would much prefer to be a garda, but being an APF would not be too bad either;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 CrazyGirl

Apply for the Airport Search Unit. I know loads of PFs that were ASU before.

Have a look at Dublin Airports website if they recruit for the Search Unit and Apply. It's a handy, wellpaid job! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭EducatedGuess

The Airport Police/ Fire Office has not recruited since 1999, a friend of mine works in the Garda Station out there. He said it comes around every 8 to 10 years and very hard to get a place because the lack of recruitment campaigns. However, the ASU would be a good move to get into the Airport Police Section asand when the needs arise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

I wouldnt be surprised if they recruit this year. The amount of work going on with all the porta cabins and marquee they are going to put on the car park suggests to me that they might need some extra security. Joining the ASU now could be a good move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 SETANTA05

I wouldnt be surprised if they recruit this year. The amount of work going on with all the porta cabins and marquee they are going to put on the car park suggests to me that they might need some extra security. Joining the ASU now could be a good move.

I'm thinking of this.
    What kind of pay scale for the airport search unit?
    and for the airport police?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Just saw this thread and thought I'd give it a little bump in case anymore had some extra info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 ducksie

Does anybody have any detail on the pay scales for the Airport Search Unit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

Just saw this thread. Dublin Airport has now seperated the two services ie you will either be Airport Police or Fire & Rescue. Shannon & Cork still operate a combined service. According to some of the lads in Shannon, the DAA who still have control of the airport want the Airport Police out of the terminal &to be replaced by a security company. Next time I'm out there I'll ask them for an up to date payscale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

IIRC, the Gardai refer to them as Joeys.. Wouldn't say they hate each other. More so that the Gardai consider them to be idiots and have little respect for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

IIRC, the Gardai refer to them as Joeys.. Wouldn't say they hate each other. More so that the Gardai consider them to be idiots and have little respect for them.
    I thought they called them 'Plastic Policemen'?

A neighbour is a retired A.P. Sergent. He loved it. Pay and conditions were great.

OP - you might also consider a career in customs. Why are you getting out of I.T.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 eibp

Does anyone know how to get a job with customs, do they recruit through public jobs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭mick.fr

buzzman wrote: »
    the DAA who still have control of the airport want the Airport Police out of the terminal &to be replaced by a security company.

Hu?
    They have not much rights compared to a police force, airport/garda/customs.
    I do not believe they will be able to validate incoming/outgoing people visa validity, proceed to anal searches etc.
    Many airports/train stations/ports are using private security companies but the only thing they do is to search cars and luggages. They are not even allowed to open your car, you have to open the boot yourself, they can't force you. Well not a reason to mess with them as they are backed up by cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

eibp wrote: »
    Does anyone know how to get a job with customs, do they recruit through public jobs?

Have enquired and you'd have to apply through public jobs, sit the exam, get placed somewhere (I don't know if you've any choice in where you go), get moved to revenue after an undetermined period, and then move to customs after a further undetermined period.

It didn't sound like it could be done in two years all in all.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Why did they separate them from the gardai in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 superreds

looking for some info on the airport police,re: recruitment, pay scales? failing that, contact info would be great,

Anybody got details on payscales for the Airport Police and the Airport Search Unit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭d-redser

How do people get into the Aiport Police and the Search units??

Is it advertised on the daa site or adverts in the papers?

Does anyone know how often both recruit??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 cabbages

d-redser wrote: »
    How do people get into the Aiport Police and the Search units??

Is it advertised on the daa site or adverts in the papers?

Does anyone know how often both recruit??
    Hi d-redser,

I believe there will be a recruitment drive later this year, probably in the Autumn. Keep an eye on the national newspapers like The Sunday Independent for example. But, it will only be as an Airport Police Officer. Brush up on The Air Navigation and Transport Act and have a knowledge of the Board of the DAA and it's core values.
    Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭d-redser

Thanks Cabbages,

Will do all that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 soldierblue

cabbages wrote: »
    Hi d-redser,

I believe there will be a recruitment drive later this year, probably in the Autumn. Keep an eye on the national newspapers like The Sunday Independent for example. But, it will only be as an Airport Police Officer. Brush up on The Air Navigation and Transport Act and have a knowledge of the Board of the DAA and it's core values.
    Best of luck

Interested in the airport police so would appreciate as much info as possible; age limit, education,etc. thanks

How many new recruits will be taken on this year? What experience is required? Is it true that the Airport police are recruited from the ASU?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 sparky1977

Hi there everybody Im new to this and I was hoping someone could tell me if the Airport Police will definitely be recruiting this year? If so what are the criteria one needs to know what I mean by this is there any specific material one needs to know prior sitting the interview? Also is the recruitment process similar to the Gardai as in aptitiude tests? Would be really great if someone can get back to me on this.
    I have been in touch with the Airport regarding this query and to be honest I only received some very vague feedback. Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Surprising lack of information about the Airport Police isn't there!

Hi Dave didnt quite get what you mean there do you have any more details regards the Airport Police

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

No I meant that there are quite a few Gardaí and fire fighters registered on boards, so if you ask about either of those you are likely to get a few responses from members with up to date information; whereas there's obviously not alot of Airport police on boards, so you get alot less :) Plus, their website is (apparantly, I haven't checked) not the most helpful!

I wonder if this were to be moved to the Emergency Services forum, would it get more responses?

Yes good idea Dave perhaps moving this site to the Emergency Services would perhaps get a better reply what is the site for the Airport Police/ Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Magnum

Anymore info on this guys, is there an age limit for the Airport Police........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 markoneeyeball

To join the Airport Police / Fire Service at one of the State Airports (Dublin, Cork or Shannon) you should contact the relevant HR department by phone or email.
    Recruitment is usually internal to the airports but they will advertise in the newspapers and their website when vacancies can not be filled internally.

Minimum education requirement is Leaving Cert. Having third level education, a trade, airport or airline experience,other emergency service experience, military experience or other relevant work experience would be a bonus. There are aptitude tests and an interview process.
    You need to be physically fit to pass the relevant fitness tests.

I won't go in to pay and conditions here but they are in line with other emergency services.

As regards the interview, you should:

Have your homework done on the airport you are applying for.
    Find out as much as possible about the Airport Police and Fire Service.
    Use the internet to research Garda recruitment, DFB and other Fire Service Recruitment and Paramedic recruitment - The interview and testing process is similar for these jobs and there is more information out there on them.

The roles of an Airport police officer / firefighter are many and varied.
    The primary purpose of the Airport Police / Fire Service is to respond to any aircraft accident or incident that may occur at or near the airport. The crew will also respond to other duties during their shift, including

Response to building/hanger fire alarms on airport property
    Response to road traffic accidents on airport property
    Response to medical emergency cases at the airport or on incoming aircraft

Police duties would include

Securing of airport property and aircraft
    Traffic management
    Crowd control
    VIP escort duties
    Meeting inbound aircraft to deal with problem passengers
    Dog unit

Check out page 6 for information on the dog unit at Dublin Airport. www.dublinairport.com/about-us/community-affairs/YA07.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,177 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Mark

Who do you send the e-mail to? Is IT the DAA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 markoneeyeball

billyhead wrote: »
    Mark

Who do you send the e-mail to? Is IT the DAA

You could send a CV and cover letter to the airport you are interested in which I believe they will keep on file.

Another option is an email to the HR department in the relevant airport seeking information on the next recruitment.

http://www.dublinairport.com/
    http://www.corkairport.com/
    http://www.shannonairport.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭lisnsooz

Folks - just found this - might be useful!

DAA recruiter info...
    http://www.multiflex.ie/daa/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 CillitBang2008

Ok Lads here goes,

The airport police have similar powers as the gardai within the grounds of the airport. That is, they can demand name and address from any person within the airport grounds (which does not only extend to the conventional airport grounds that ordinary persons know of) but they do not need suspect an offence to have taken place in order to do so,unlike the Gardai.

However, when they arrest a person under the air navigation and transport act, they must hand that person over to the Gardai. They have the same 'powers' as any other person outside of this Act, that is, powers of arrest for 'arrestable offences' under the criminal law act. These 'arrestable offences' are offences which carry a penalty of 5 years of imprisonment or more and if they (airport police) arrest a person for such an offence (e.g. theft or breach of the peace at common law),they must hand this person over to the Gardai.

Similarly, Customs Officers and Garda Immigration Officers have certain powers not ordinarily conferred onto ordinary members of the Gardai.

The Airport Police Fire Service's pay scale resembles that of the Gardai an was designed to do so but its periodical increases are more frequent but of a lesser increase. So all in all, they're much the same pay scales if you're gonna stick it out for the long run.

I know if i had the choice, I'd be choosing the job with the lesser physical and social risk.......APFS

Hope that helps y'all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭AlanD

Anyone know if they are hiring Airport Police for Shannon? Should I just email the HR dept at the Shannon based DAA or is there an SAA now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Airport

Shannon Airport Authority is down there, you can email there HR Dept but i think like the rest of the DAA group it internal recruitment now a days mainliy into the Airport Police. But no harm emailing them to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Persol

Airport Police in Cork Airport are interviewing candidates at this very moment. They are looking for 12 new staff. A friend of mine is a selected candidate and he is nearly in the final stage.

Just a quick question to anyone who may know if the Dublin Airport will be recruiting in 2009.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭civildefence

sparky1977 wrote: »
    Just a quick question to anyone who may know if the Dublin Airport will be recruiting in 2009.?

I would say absolutely not, or in 2010 or 2011 for that matter. DAA use Multiflex recruitment agency (www.multiflex.ie/daa) and they have suspended all planned DAA recruitment indefinitely. They even closed the ASU waiting list which anybody could join anytime for the foreseeable future. I also heard from a reliable source that around 10 people have been recruited internally to the APFS just last month which I think is an absolute disgrace. Just because you work in the airport doesn't mean you will make a good fireman or policeman nor should it warrant this unconstitutional "internal recruitment" bulls**t. There are people who would wait their life for these jobs and spend their hard earned money on ambulance training, fire training, truck and bus lessons etc in order to make themselves stand out at such an interview, then idiots like DAA HR decide "oh well this fella searches peoples trouser pockets for a living so he'll do fine". I believe there was once a time (in the not to distant past) when these jobs weren't so exclusive, what a dive this country has truly become.

PS. DAA is not a state body. It ceased to be when Aer Rianta was dissolved. Aer Rianta and the APFS was once under the control of the Dept. of Enterprise Trade and Employment and never the Dept of Justice as stated in a previous post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

I would say absolutely not, or in 2010 or 2011 for that matter. DAA use Multiflex recruitment agency (www.multiflex.ie/daa) and they have suspended all planned DAA recruitment indefinitely. They even closed the ASU waiting list which anybody could join anytime for the foreseeable future. I also heard from a reliable source that around 10 people have been recruited internally to the APFS just last month which I think is an absolute disgrace. Just because you work in the airport doesn't mean you will make a good fireman or policeman nor should it warrant this unconstitutional "internal recruitment" bulls**t. There are people who would wait their life for these jobs and spend their hard earned money on ambulance training, fire training, truck and bus lessons etc in order to make themselves stand out at such an interview, then idiots like DAA HR decide "oh well this fella searches peoples trouser pockets for a living so he'll do fine". I believe there was once a time (in the not to distant past) when these jobs weren't so exclusive, what a dive this country has truly become.

PS. DAA is not a state body. It ceased to be when Aer Rianta was dissolved. Aer Rianta and the APFS was once under the control of the Dept. of Enterprise Trade and Employment and never the Dept of Justice as stated in a previous post.

Bitter much?

The DAA recruit internally because it's cheaper and less hassle. If you were on your toes you would have joined the DAA as a trolly collector or toilet cleaner because even they could apply. Instead of coming on here moaning about it. Anyone would have a much better chance of getting in aswell than if they recruited externally, brining thousands upon thousands of applicants. What they did was good for the chances of anyone with their ears open.

Had they built a second runway they would have had to recruit again because that would require its own fire station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Just because you work in the airport doesn't mean you will make a good fireman or policeman nor should it warrant this unconstitutional "internal recruitment" bulls**t

Haha, bitter!

If you're working there already you've proved a few things ie, you have adapted well to shift work, you're used to the incessant staff screening, you can put up with people complaining to you about every aspect of their holiday etc... It's also a major plus that you will have knowledge of all the airport grounds, all the small little hallways that lead to nowhere - which really does take a while!