Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nicknames

• 03-05-2006 12:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Nicknames are great aren't they. Pigheads had many nicknames over the years, some cruel(Splinter), some majestic(Chief) and some very apt (loverman).

Everybody has a nickname of some sort. From the crap( Damo, Byrnser, coolsmileygirl) to the great (Bareback-Beruthial, ronoc the cnut, wetpisskid). One of my old pals from college used to be called Sledge. Reason being he was always getting pulled by dogs. Poor Sledge never quite mastered the art of taking home the pretty girls.

Unfortunately some nicknames can be pure cruel: Everybody knows a "Mongo" or a "Smelly Smelly Fat Fat" .
    I often call Sarky J.K Rowling because he talks the greatest load of ****e you'll ever hear. In fairness to him he takes it well. What was/is your nickname. And Pighead wants the nasty ones too.
    Post edited by Sephiroth_dude on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

mine is the same as my username. since first year.

used to be 'gaz' in primary school. i thought that was cool at the time. and some people still call me that now and again, which i hate :mad: , and they don't get a very nice reaction to it when they do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Darth Ratz

I've been Ratz since sixth class, and before that was Ratilis in primary school, all very boring...it comes from my surname in Irish, O'Raghailligh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

- bo - wrote:
    mine is the same as my username. since first year.

used to be 'gaz' in primary school. i thought that was cool at the time. and some people still call me that now and again, which i hate :mad: , and they don't get a very nice reaction to it when they do!

Gaz is a pretty rubbish one alright.But at the same time you have to appreciate that the people who call you Gaz don't know any better. Perhaps you could compromise and change your nickname to Gazbo.

Pighead wrote:
    Gaz is a pretty rubbish one alright.But at the same time you have to appreciate that the people who call you Gaz don't know any better. Perhaps you could compromise and change your nickname to Gazbo.
    Or even gazebo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Merrick

Merrick, biatch, whoor, knacker, more words along those lines, and pretty much anything containing the letters "ash".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

lol genius

I'm usually just called 'Dave', as bland as that is. When I was younger (primary school), I used to be called 'Ginn', cos it's part of my surname (still get that from time to time actually), and for the more daring of people, 'Ginzer' :D

Now I'm just Dave or David. yawn :(

My boards nick isnt very original i know :)
    I used to be called byrner (my second name is byrne) I guess thats not very original either
    I'm still called that by my brothers mate's or else they call me lil sis even though I'm the older one hehe

bluewolf wrote:
    Or even gazebo
    We have a winner! Thats brilliant. Bo from this day forth you shall be known as Gazebo. Magic

coolsmileygirl out of the three crap nicknames I gave as an example you've admitted to having two of them. Pighead sees a pattern. Own up buddy and admit your first name is damo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I used to be called Chucky, I hated it for a while, but then I liked it a bit.

"Hey, wanna play"
    /holds knife.

Now this Sparky name gets used on me now, mostly because of my job.

There was a guy in our class years ago, he was overweight, so some lad called him 'private pile', so that stuck to him.

Pighead wrote:
    you shall be known as Gazebo.

oh dear.

ok well once it stays within boards i suppose it ain't so bad...

Nah I've no more nickname pighead sorry most people just called me by my first name :D

Merrick wrote:
    and pretty much anything containing the letters "ash".
    You mean to tell me people call you ashtray head, rashy knickers, flashy bum ,moustashface and pashion killer. Kids are fcuking cruel.:mad:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Pighead wrote:
    to the great (Bareback-Beruthial

that's all in your head there piggie
    that's not a nickname I've ever heard of.

I don't have any in fact, this might be due to the fact that anytime someone came up with the idea of one, normally got a beating for it, thus ending the discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Just a play on my surname: Gracie.

Beruthiel wrote:
    that's all in your head there piggie
    that's not a nickname I've ever heard of.

I don't have any in fact, this might be due to the fact that anytime someone came up with the idea of one, normally got a beating for it, thus ending the discussion.
    I hear ya sweetcheeks. Some nicknames are best left outside of the public domain. What happens in your 4 poster pine finish King sized bed stays in your 4 poster pine finish King sized bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭BlueSpiral

Sue,su-su, Suuuuuuziiiiie, part time bitch and Busty-loo.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Pighead wrote:
    I hear ya sweetcheeks.

would it be very bad of me to site ban piggie?

Some nicknames are best left outside of the public domain. What happens in your 4 poster pine finish King sized bed stays in your 4 poster pine finish King sized bed.

that's about the size of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭jabberwock

got mine way back in six class - Chin chin.
    some people still call me it and thats over 15 years ago.

jabberwock wrote:
    got mine way back in six class - Chin chin.
    some people still call me it and thats over 15 years ago.
    The bastards. Just because you're chin was slightly longer than your classmates. they made a point to ridicule you. I bet they called you chinocchio too and when election time came they shrieked "Who are you voting for jabberwock, chin fein again is it" Cnuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭RotalicaV

We used to call a guy Taf, he never knew why..

Its fat backwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

RotalicaV wrote:
    We used to call a guy Taf, he never knew why..

Its fat backwards
    So he was anti-fat?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

depends.
    i do a tour or two every year for the enjoyment of sport and beer in a foreign country for a weekend, and they always have silly names.

i think the last 2 were kissenger and sauce.

kissenger becuase im so politically correct, and sauce becuase i was very drunk on the sauce when we made it up.

other than that, most people just call me by my name.

or whitewash.

or wánker if the dont like me. im ok with that. people are allowed to not like me. im not to everyones taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Growing up I shared first name with quite a few friends so to make it easier we started using last names instead. Not very exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Pighead wrote:
    You mean to tell me people call you ashtray head, rashy knickers, flashy bum ,moustashface and pashion killer. Kids are fcuking cruel.:mad:

No you've actually given me a few more.

(And bo, I'm telling everyone about the Gazebo thing.
    <insert evil laugh here>)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

I never got a nick name! Just a shortened down version of my own first name

gazebo..... I like it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

My dad calls me Runt..at lest I think it's ru.....

Merrick wrote:
    No you've actually given me a few more.

(And bo, I'm telling everyone about the Gazebo thing.
    <insert evil laugh here>)

no no no no no, they still haven't even caught onto bo at college. i've been called it about twice since last september.

or i could just start calling you by all them names above.

heheheheheheheheheHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEE (<--- evil laugh by the way)

Ah come on, thats not that evil...

Ah jaysus, you call that an evil laugh!? Bo has caught on a little more than that now, and it's too late, others already know about GAZEBO. And you know you're in for a world of pain if you start calling me them.

Mwahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha. Now that's a proper evil laugh.

lol
    I didn't think gazebo would be so popular

well yous certainly showed me then i guess :o

i cannot believe i'm being named after a pavilion structure commonly found in parks, gardens, and spacious public areas. let's just call me gaz or something eh?

bluewolf wrote:
    lol
    I didn't think gazebo would be so popular

ha! bet you wish you had my nickname!

Not really, just happy to have created it ;)

my name is a bit short to try turning into a nickname anyway so I don't really have one
    apart from bluey I suppose

You shall now be forevermore known as bluey.

or just plain 'ol wolfy. actually wolfy's not so bad.

eh wolfy? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Are you sure that's how they spell it?

Merrick wrote:
    You shall now be forevermore known as bluey.
    I already am...
    blue, bluey, wolf, wolfy, blueywolf, bluewofl
    Mostly bluey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

I was mostly called my surname, or Gazza, but I've had a few others. In school I used to hang around with a tall skinny pale guy, so we were nicknamed pinky and the brain. I've also had strange ones like Zulu Warrior (long story) and Action Man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I never had a nick name, but I guess if it is the name you get called the most besides your given name then it has to be over the years then Bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Katykaboom

Imoan. Basically cause my name is Naomi. I love it. People get great craic out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Seánie, it started and stopped in primary school cause I used to kick the shít outta anyone who called me that cause I thought it sounded girly :P... but now thats not an issue! :p

Doc briefly in late primary / early secondary

Terminator, about 4 years in secondary school, cause I was quiet and if someone slagged me, I'd just stare at them till they felt really unconfortable, or grab a pressure point... lol

And since hanging out on boards, az

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Just the highly unoriginal 'Sully' at school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

I never got a nick name! Just a shortened down version of my own first name

so is Fuzzywiggle short for Fuzzywiggleton or Fuzzywigglick? Sorry, that last ones not meant to sound so rude, ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Gunther for awhile. And briefly Darkman.
    Never really had one that stuck though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭munkeehaven

Name is Chioma,(like "Ch" in China) so either Chi or ChiChi..

Pighead wrote:
    ronoc the cnut

Good thing I'm wearing my Troll proof suit :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Well Pighead, my nickname in primary school was "Peter the Metre". I was given the nickname in second class, because at the back of the class was a cardboard cut out of a guy called Peter, who was a Metre tall. I was the exact same height as it, and my name is Peter so the nickname stuck.

I also have a friend called Smelly, if you try to call him anything else, like his real name, he freaks out. He wants to be called Smelly. I also know a guy called Mongo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

Mine was casanova because of my wily ways.